122 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Bottom

Nokia ♪♥ Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE" V5 ♪, WE'VE MORE THAN 200 TUBIANS NOW!!!!

all_creation
post Jan 22 2009, 01:12 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(chris2k @ Jan 22 2009, 01:08 AM)
I'll answer those which I'm able to...

2) The map usage is free as long as you have already loaded the map into your phone using the map loader software, available on Nokia's website for free. However if you're using the Assisted GPS option then you may incur a few sen usage, this is just to help your phone get the positions.

3) Is there a new firmware update for the 5800 via NSU? Am not aware of this.
2) How would I know if I'm using A-GPS. Is it when at the start they ask me whether wanna go online? I assume online means that I will be connected to the service provider which then means A-GPS

3) There is no new firmware at the moment but I'm refering to the future in case they update their software etc. Will be hard for me to keep going to the service center coz I'll be leaving overseas after CNY.

Kaizzya
post Jan 22 2009, 01:15 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(ridzyroo @ Jan 22 2009, 01:12 AM)
just as long as u don't tear any Zitron/Avaxx/Sapura stickers, it will be okay...

anywho, I'm off...I need to get ready by 8am for my driving test...see you guys soon~
good luck weyh bro flex.gif
hvaly
post Jan 22 2009, 01:15 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(all_creation @ Jan 22 2009, 01:12 AM)
2) How would I know if I'm using A-GPS. Is it when at the start they ask me whether wanna go online? I assume online means that I will be connected to the service provider which then means A-GPS

3) There is no new firmware at the moment but I'm refering to the future in case they update their software etc. Will be hard for me to keep going to the service center coz I'll be leaving overseas after CNY.
2) yes you are correct

3) In future, if you wish to upgrade firmware, mostly the NSU is simple and successful. dont worry too much even if it fails. only go to service center at that case.
RiuK3n
post Jan 22 2009, 01:17 AM

The Pursuit of Knowledge Dies With Age, Not Time
1,391 posts

QUOTE(all_creation @ Jan 22 2009, 01:04 AM)
Oh ok.

This is the list of questions.

1) Is there anyway which I can improve the resolution of 176x144 watching youtube on my 5800?

2) Is the GPS on the phone free (as in no charge by the service provider)? I seem to be able to use the map plus positioning but the 5800 package said that it comes with a 7 day free trial for positioning. Quite confusing.

3) Does the phone brick (cannot start) easily? When I first got it, I used the nokia software updater and my 5800 immediately bricked. I sent it to the repair centre and they reflashed the phone for me. They told me not to use the updating software provided by the nokia CD. How am I going to update it next time?

4) Correct me if I'm wrong but my understanding is that at the moment the tube can only play .mp4
files smoothly. When I read about the 5800, a site said it supported many other file types but when I played them eg.avi, rmvb, they either lag or can't play at all. How come?

These would be the questions for the moment. Sorry if noob questions but I've been trying to get use to the phone for the last week. Thanks.
1) sorry but I have no idea on the you tube coz i'm not a fan of it

2) 7 days = voice assisted, Free = without voice. Both are able to utilized the Positioning and Map function FOC

3) Nop it won't brick that easy depending on what you did., it's just tat 5800 is so newly launched. Considering M'sia is always slow when it comes to technology it's understandable that the CD for updating is not that updated either. For example, just go to the website and go to the 5800 page. You can't even find the OVI softwares inside. Best is to just give NCC to update since it's already covered in warranty.. at least they will be help responsible while you can go shopping or something while waiting tongue.gif

4) The tube can play MP4 and WMV file without problem for now... whereas the rest.. no news yet =/
It depends on the video's setting/personalization... even if you put in an MP4 file, if it's not converted properly it still can't be played

chris2k
post Jan 22 2009, 01:17 AM

104 posts

1) This is just a guess because I don't have the phone yet. Does mobile Youtube display video in this small resolution? Have you tried using the normal Youtube?
all_creation
post Jan 22 2009, 01:18 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(hvaly @ Jan 22 2009, 01:15 AM)
2) yes you are correct

3) In future, if you wish to upgrade firmware, mostly the NSU is simple and successful. dont worry too much even if it fails. only go to service center at that case.
Thanks. Questions 2 and 3 are answered.

Added on January 22, 2009, 1:20 am
QUOTE(chris2k @ Jan 22 2009, 01:17 AM)
1) This is just a guess because I don't have the phone yet. Does mobile Youtube display video in this small resolution? Have you tried using the normal Youtube?
I guess that's right. I was told that the web browser for nokia 5800 renders the videos smaller that it's suppose to be.
I don't know how (if it's even possible) to use normal youtube on the phone.
For the same video when I watched it online with my PC its much higher resolution.

This post has been edited by all_creation: Jan 22 2009, 01:20 AM
chris2k
post Jan 22 2009, 01:23 AM

104 posts

Try clicking "view desktop version" on the bottom of the page.
mikehwy
post Jan 22 2009, 01:27 AM

17,100 posts

too many threads about this, but i wish to ask a simple question: -

is the audio good for palying songs? i am beginning to think abt this phone.

thanks.

all_creation
post Jan 22 2009, 01:37 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(chris2k @ Jan 22 2009, 01:23 AM)
Try clicking "view desktop version" on the bottom of the page.
Wow it really works!! It's a little slower but definately what I wanted. Thanks.
Question 1 answered.

Question 4 also answered.
chris2k
post Jan 22 2009, 01:39 AM

104 posts

You're welcome. Just hoping you're using WLAN or an unlimited data plan... smile.gif
all_creation
post Jan 22 2009, 01:40 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(chris2k @ Jan 22 2009, 01:39 AM)
You're welcome. Just hoping you're using WLAN or an unlimited data plan... smile.gif
yeap using wlan.
thx for reminder
freeman1314
post Jan 22 2009, 01:43 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(hvaly @ Jan 22 2009, 01:05 AM)
glad to hear that finally u solve it. hehe sorry cant help much.
but before u soft reset, you could backup ur data/contact/setting first.  sweat.gif
I back when I restore, the file will go back in there.
Jer
post Jan 22 2009, 01:58 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Jan 22 2009, 01:27 AM)

thanks.
To my surprise, it's really not bad after all. To be honest, as an audiophile I'm really impressed because I've never own a Nokia XM before and I don't usually trust any phone sound quality be it SE or others. I can give two thumbs up for this. thumbup.gif
freeman1314
post Jan 22 2009, 02:11 AM

376 posts

Is it normal the picture quality very blur when taking pictures but after taking it the picture quality is actually better then what the preview shows.

When I aiming, the quality seen is very blur like a picture taken from vga camera, but after snapping it the preview of the picture becomes better by alot.
Apis_LuaLua
post Jan 22 2009, 05:46 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

thanks.
Dude.. u asking for the capability of Nokia XpressMusic line up phone??
finch!
post Jan 22 2009, 06:37 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(freeman1314 @ Jan 22 2009, 02:11 AM)
Is it normal the picture quality very blur when taking pictures but after taking it the picture quality is actually better then what the preview shows.

When I aiming, the quality seen is very blur like a picture taken from vga camera, but after snapping it the preview of the picture becomes better by alot.
thats because ur 5800 has auto focus feature. it focus on the object before snapping it. smile.gif

if u want to see objects clearer when previewing (before actually snapping it), just press the camera button halfway until the white rectangle in the middle of the screen turns green.. and press the camera button the whole way to snap the picture.

hope i give u the right answer.
ivanlmh
post Jan 22 2009, 06:48 AM

Dark Knight
829 posts

QUOTE(Jer @ Jan 22 2009, 01:58 AM)
To my surprise, it's really not bad after all. To be honest, as an audiophile I'm really impressed because I've never own a Nokia XM before and I don't usually trust any phone sound quality be it SE or others. I can give two thumbs up for this. thumbup.gif
An audiophile can give two thumbs up for a phone's speakers..that's something new notworthy.gif
reevephon
post Jan 22 2009, 07:00 AM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

Guys , how to solve the Youtube problem? My tube can load the video but only sound come out, no video/picture.
snakevenom
post Jan 22 2009, 07:52 AM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

I'm surprise no one mention about the OTA firmware update function available in the Nokia 5800. You can easily update ur firmware even without sending over to NCC or connect to PC.

This post has been edited by snakevenom: Jan 22 2009, 07:53 AM
silencer
post Jan 22 2009, 08:14 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

thanks.
Link >>> http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_5800_xpressm...eview-308p6.php

Excerpt-"The phone flaunts an amazing frequency response keeping within the +-1db range effortlessly. Furthermore, for most of its range it is right on the perfect track. Noise level and dynamic range readings are also praiseworthy and so is THD. IMD and crosstalk are not as impressive but still quite good. All in all, you will be enjoying some of the industry best quality audio with Nokia 5800 XpressMusic."

Test Frequency response Noise level Dynamic range THD IMD + Noise Stereo crosstalk
Nokia 5800 XpressMusic +0.09, -0.77 -92.2 92.1 0.013 0.297 -75.0
Nokia N85 +0.28, -1.19 -94.4 95.4 0.305 0.701 -88.1
Nokia N96 +0.52, -2.14 -90.6 90.7 0.016 0.364 -73.5
HTC Touch HD +0.20, -2.29 -86.7 89.2 0.024 0.253 -86.1
HTC Touch Diamond +0.35, -1.12 -85.3 87.9 0.027 0.267 -86.3
Apple iPod Touch 2G +0.04, -0.05 -91.4 91.5 0.0027 0.012 -90.0
Apple iPhone 3G +0.52, -1.05 -89.9 90.1 0.0033 0.016 -93.1

Conclusion: The audio quality is excellent but still not at par with Apple iphone and Ipod products. My advise is if u already own a full fledged handphone, and an audiophile type of listener, get the ipod touch 2G.

This post has been edited by silencer: Jan 22 2009, 08:29 AM

122 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:21 AM