Fitness MOST of the female affraid of weight lifting!, Scared of big muscle!
Jan 12 2009, 04:28 PM
1,016 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
i prefer girls not so muscular though..
Jan 12 2009, 05:40 PM
339 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Cyberjaya |
there are just too many articles that tell women that weight training do not turn them muscular overnight.
i think its just a matter on whether they wanna believe it or not. a pt once told me that from his 10 years exp bbing, he told me to give up finding a female training partner. to the ladies, if you all want nice sexy legs, bodies, etc...they dun come overnight either. so dun be afraid. |
Jan 12 2009, 09:41 PM
3,980 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: HeAv3N |
QUOTE http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/carmen11.htm There is a misconception about female weight training and how we should be eating, supplementing our bodies and exercising. I will reveal a few facts that contradict the old myth about women who lift heavier weights resulting in a 'huge... Today I know from experience that females do not become huge by simply lifting heavy weights. In fact, if you are trying to narrow down certain areas in size like your waist, arms or hips, pumping iron is the best way to achieve trimmer and firmer areas. When I began to lift weights, it seemed as though I was getting bigger and bulkier at first. This was because I had not been really lean to begin with. It is plain and simple to say that I wasn't eating right. QUOTE ![]() http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/women_trai...differences.htm One question many women ask themselves is how they should be training different from their male counterparts. Women have a tendency to think that they have special needs being a female and if they trained in a similar manner to that of a guy, they would start resembling a guy; growing more muscles then they desire. Unfortunately, this is a big mistake on their part. The main thing you have to keep in mind here is that, yes, there are hormonal differences between males and females that will cause them to react in slightly different ways to exercise, and sure, most females probably will struggle a little more with that last little bit of stubborn body fat (probably not what you wanted to hear), but physiologically speaking, both males and females do still have quite a bit in common and females don't need a completely special way of training. The fact of the matter is that most females are just not going to grow that big. You do not have the testosterone present in your body to do so, so unless you are supplementing with additional testosterone (which 99% of you aren't), building massive muscles should be the least of your concerns. So, that means, lifting heavier weights does not necessarily translate to a large degree of muscle mass built for you. Point two to this is that females typically do develop muscle at about half the rate of men, thus, again, this even further proves that you should not be concerning yourself with the thought that you'll spout gigantic muscles overnight if you so much as pick up something heavier than 10 pounds. http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/hardy3.htm This post has been edited by yeah_guyz: Jan 12 2009, 10:03 PM |
Jan 15 2009, 05:21 AM
59 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Gunung Celaka |
Yup.. i have been trying to convince my girl frens the same thing too.. n yet they dont believe me.. i said the most they will get is a body like jessica biel.. which is nais
This post has been edited by Hadey: Jan 15 2009, 05:22 AM |
Jan 15 2009, 06:45 AM
3,726 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Jan 15 2009, 07:45 AM
405 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Yeah, right. Show em a picture of Brad Pitt circa his Fight Club days and ask them to compare that to, say, Sanjaya Malakar.
Now let's see if they scared of muscle. |
Jan 15 2009, 09:15 AM
1,522 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Jan 15 2009, 10:31 AM
2,272 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Jan 15 2009, 12:45 PM
24 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kota Kinabalu |
I've been weight-lifting for a year and I must say, weight-lifting + cardio exercises really work better than only cardio alone.
Most of my female friends do not weight-lift because of the myth that girls will get large and bulky~ which I think is stupid...cuz they don't know how hard it is even for a pro-body builder to build their bodies. I think more ladies should read what TS has posted to clear their doubts.. |
Jan 15 2009, 04:30 PM
161 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Cheras |
Jan 15 2009, 04:33 PM
1,593 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Mars |
Jan 15 2009, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Elala @ Jan 15 2009, 12:45 PM) I've been weight-lifting for a year and I must say, weight-lifting + cardio exercises really work better than only cardio alone. nice reply, female word works far more than male talks! lolMost of my female friends do not weight-lift because of the myth that girls will get large and bulky~ which I think is stupid...cuz they don't know how hard it is even for a pro-body builder to build their bodies. I think more ladies should read what TS has posted to clear their doubts.. QUOTE(danny_ptlm @ Jan 15 2009, 04:30 PM) damn it...can you FUCxing Stop spamming? i hope mod reduce your postcount by half |
Jan 15 2009, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(Elala @ Jan 15 2009, 12:45 PM) I've been weight-lifting for a year and I must say, weight-lifting + cardio exercises really work better than only cardio alone. yeah we need more ladies here. wonder where Syd G, kirakracus and all regulars goneMost of my female friends do not weight-lift because of the myth that girls will get large and bulky~ which I think is stupid...cuz they don't know how hard it is even for a pro-body builder to build their bodies. I think more ladies should read what TS has posted to clear their doubts.. Chow |
Jan 15 2009, 04:58 PM
1,016 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
haha, seems guys more concern, what to do..
Jan 15 2009, 04:59 PM
read HERE
i believe its pizzaboy's blog. im not here to advertise his blog or something, just his writing caught me up Chow |
Jan 15 2009, 05:50 PM
Maybe because most of the ladies are busy creating their own thread and crying for help, asking how to tone their tummies, buttocks and legs instead of trying to get some information from useful health and fitness magazines or websites.
Jan 15 2009, 05:56 PM
367 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Ronald McDonald |
this is good...
but i heard that there's certain technique for weighlifting or else u'll do it wrongly and become more bulky.. any simple exercise for ladies to slim up the arms without using dumbbells? |
Jan 15 2009, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Jan 15 2009, 05:56 PM) this is good... You will only become bulky provided if you lift HEAVY, together with supplements and all that. Again, female are 10 to 30 times less likely to become bulky like men because of the difference in our hormones.but i heard that there's certain technique for weighlifting or else u'll do it wrongly and become more bulky.. any simple exercise for ladies to slim up the arms without using dumbbells? Anyone who lifts weights should do it correctly to prevent injury. It's not that when you do it incorrectly, you'll become bulky. As for the simple exercise.... I don't know..because I am using dumbbells and barbells. Maybe you use some of the machines provided in the gym.. This post has been edited by Elala: Jan 15 2009, 06:05 PM |
Jan 15 2009, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Jan 15 2009, 05:56 PM) this is good... push up is nice, if u can't push up (support with toes) then do the knee versionbut i heard that there's certain technique for weighlifting or else u'll do it wrongly and become more bulky..<<----BULLSHIT any simple exercise for ladies to slim up the arms without using dumbbells? |
Jan 15 2009, 06:23 PM
2,491 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: KL |
ladies, it's NOT THAT EASY to get bulky. most of the guy here spend up to 5 days in the gym and it doesnt turn out to be the way all of us wanted.
| Change to: | 0.0221sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:27 PM |