4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Defects of Nokia 5800 that you should know, ~ 50% sets have earpiece volume problem!

alpha_company
post Jan 9 2009, 12:50 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

they just want to have a great start in touchscreen device market so that they will make their presence known to the people and it will make it easier to promote n97 and later touchscreen devices that they will bring out into the market.
lordskarn
post Jan 9 2009, 04:46 AM

157 posts

1 thing i do notice.. the 5800 is very sluggish, when responding to the menu, esp when launching programs etc.. as compared to my old sony ericson. hmm.. maybe all nokia phones are like that? no idea.. but i sure dont like to click and wait for something to load.. and sometimes the whole interface crashes and goes into something like safe mode kinda environment, with low-weight menu etc.. anybody else experiencing the same?
cool__ice
post Jan 9 2009, 12:16 PM

my friend bought a new 5800 jst 3day then d earpiece some time no sound. aiksz .
sonyclie77
post Jan 9 2009, 05:06 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(lordskarn @ Jan 9 2009, 04:46 AM)
1 thing i do notice.. the 5800 is very sluggish, when responding to the menu, esp when launching programs etc.. as compared to my old sony ericson. hmm.. maybe all nokia phones are like that? no idea.. but i sure dont like to click and wait for something to load.. and sometimes the whole interface crashes and goes into something like safe mode kinda environment, with low-weight menu etc.. anybody else experiencing the same?
Which Sony Ericsson are you comparing to?

I've kinda played with the 5800xm some days back, and IMO the menu navigation is quite smooth, not much lag or whatsover.

panasonic88
post Jan 9 2009, 05:13 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Jan 9 2009, 05:06 PM)
Which Sony Ericsson are you comparing to?

I've kinda played with the 5800xm some days back, and IMO the menu navigation is quite smooth, not much lag or whatsover.
not getting one for yourself? smile.gif

it is really a nice phone.
kyosho
post Jan 9 2009, 09:35 PM

206 posts

i got my 5800 at RM1470 last sunday. went home happily because of the original AVAXX price. with this price tag, to get this phone, it is expected as the pre-released already shown that the phone is priced at 279 euro, approx RM13++.

i've been using nokia phone ever since i started to carry handphone in my pockets. my first phone is nokia 3210, solid built phone that allows me to drop it couple of time with crack line at the back, but the phone is still functioning normal.

then i got myself n-gage classic, solid built phone as well. from this phone, i was amazed and attracted to s60 platform. no doubt this phone served me well, but also brought me quite much of embarrassment because of the way i picked up the call and chat.

after graduated, started working in Intel, which does not allow camera phone in the production line, still stick to this phone.

resigning from Intel, i decided to purchase N80 as it has all i need; bt, wifi, good screen resolution, s60, 3rd edition etc etc... phone is nice for the first 1 year. after that, problems come.

1. earpiece no sound: in which i think this is exactly what happened here. i checked on the earpiece speaker by opening up my phone (because it is AP CSL from singapore - too f*** up with CSL service center, call no answer), then it was due to the ribbon cable from the slide, changed it and the phone is back to normal.

2. front metal panel loosen, what the hell man, such nokia built with this quality. i have taken care of it quite well, except putting it into my jeans most of the time. damn, the camera mode switch at the back torn couple of my jeans' pocket. glue it back with Dino Glue. Everything is back to normal.

3. white screen sometimes, disco screen sometimes. decided to change the ribbon cable as i bought two spares when the first breakdown occurred. fixed!

at that moment, i realize that for Nokia products, no matter how expensive or how cheap it is, there will be some problem that comes along with it. now that i knew this issue with 5800, it doesn't give me a shock at all. online review shown quite a positive sign of the phone during the pre-launch in russia; record breaking sales as what MobileBurn/GSMArena told.

the first day i got the blue color 5800, reach home, i was playing with it, found couple of dead pixels on the screen. damn frustrated, went back and changed. the stupid AU2 nokia center lady, wanted to change the show unit for me, i damn pissed off and make huge noises there, they said they went out and get a new set, come back with the set, i am pleased with the new set of phone, bring it back, been using until today (friday), the phone so far doesn't give me any problem. i will just wait until the problem come.

if you guys out there is willing to wait for a while, i am sure nokia will come out with 5800i or 5800ie; just like my nokia N80ie <- which once updated with NSU, N80 or N80ie, it doesn't matter anymore.
Lineage
post Jan 10 2009, 01:51 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

before it start selling in Malaysia, my heart is 100% love this phone, but i'm keep monitoring the price..from 2000 then now come to 1300+..already suspect about the quality..finally, i already know the answer, luckily i didnt fall in "love" and sell off my G900 icon_rolleyes.gif
tunertoobe
post Jan 10 2009, 02:05 AM

9,309 posts

Well if you did sell off your G900, you at least "fell" for something. laugh.gif
guest321
post Jan 10 2009, 02:16 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 10 2009, 01:51 AM)
before it start selling in Malaysia, my heart is 100% love this phone, but i'm keep monitoring the price..from 2000 then now come to 1300+..already suspect about the quality..finally, i already know the answer, luckily i didnt fall in "love" and sell off my G900  icon_rolleyes.gif
why everyone suspect cheap then of course it's bad quality? shakehead.gif
vo0de3_x | oum@n
post Jan 10 2009, 03:09 AM

SEE ALL MY BINTANG
1,453 posts

QUOTE(guest321 @ Jan 10 2009, 02:16 AM)
why everyone suspect cheap then of course it's bad quality?  shakehead.gif

some ppl tot in chinese "便宜無好貨" in english called cheap stuff sure bad quality tongue.gif

hanieyf
post Jan 10 2009, 06:22 AM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

oh shi......nak beli tak nak ni ..
tunertoobe
post Jan 10 2009, 01:37 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Jan 10 2009, 06:22 AM)
oh shi......nak beli tak nak ni ..
Tggu la 2 minggu.......
Bulan depan ke. Watch closely the user complaints here. Once most die down, it's safe. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Jan 10 2009, 01:39 PM
sjz
post Jan 10 2009, 05:54 PM

3,874 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 10 2009, 01:37 PM)
Tggu la 2 minggu.......
Bulan depan ke. Watch closely the user complaints here. Once most die down, it's safe.  laugh.gif
Some more maybe the price will decrease ...
Nokia should have correct the problem on their second batch production.
sonic_cd
post Jan 10 2009, 09:46 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 10 2009, 01:37 PM)
Tggu la 2 minggu.......
Bulan depan ke. Watch closely the user complaints here. Once most die down, it's safe.  laugh.gif
better wait till after cny ... tongue.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Jan 10 2009, 10:21 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jan 10 2009, 09:46 PM)
better wait till after cny ... tongue.gif
hows ur unit lol...
eddyann
post Jan 13 2009, 02:23 PM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

at 1st thinking of getting one. but the lagging thing, changed my mind. better wait for the upcoming N97, surely beats 5800 anytime. by the way price in malacca is RM 1390 zitron set. cheap or not
tunertoobe
post Jan 13 2009, 03:29 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Jan 13 2009, 02:23 PM)
at 1st thinking of getting one. but the lagging thing, changed my mind. better wait for the upcoming N97, surely beats 5800 anytime. by the way price in malacca is RM 1390 zitron set. cheap or not
Quite good.
In Sabah Zitron set here is still selling at 1499 in official Nokia store.
panasonic88
post Jan 13 2009, 03:34 PM

37,028 posts

nokia centre should be tagging at RM1499.

that's the official retail price.

however, you may get it cheaper from handphone shops out there.

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Jan 13 2009, 03:35 PM
tunertoobe
post Jan 13 2009, 03:48 PM

9,309 posts

OIC.
I just poisoned my mum as well. laugh.gif My god I should be a promoter. laugh.gif
wayfeel
post Jan 13 2009, 10:49 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Jan 13 2009, 03:29 PM)
Quite good.
In Sabah Zitron set here is still selling at 1499 in official Nokia store.
some typical sellers who look to fast profit, even dare tag their xm 1.599k in kk lol

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 14 2009, 12:02 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0214sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:40 PM