QUOTE(Fireken @ Dec 17 2018, 10:12 PM)
It seem you are quite familiar with Bangkok Tailor. Mind recommend Bangkok tailor for me. I'm planning to get a Dark Navy Casual Suit and 1 pant (possible 2). Casual mean the suit can go for formal and as well with Jean. I'm allocating budget of RM500 to RM600. Is the amount reasonable or do i need to up my budget? This is my first tailor made suit and really need guidance on this matter. I see many information on the internet but lack of guidance in term of material, style, pocket, button and any other things i need to take know. Appreciate assistance and thanks in advance.
Note: I like the KOTMJ latest picture suit but i believe it definitely going to cost me a boom. At the moment, i'm tight on budget and i hope one day i could own one as well.
I've been using The Prince, which is located at Erawan Plaza, for several years, as have the other guys in my company when we travel there. If you do end up wanting to go there, ask for John, and if you tell him I recommended him to you (please feel free to send me a PM), then he may give you a bit of a discount or at least a little extra attention. I am afraid, though, that his prices may be a bit higher than the range you've given. Well, maybe I should take that back. I tend to pay a bit more than that (more like 1000 ringgit for a suit) because I insist on an all-wool fabric, but he might have some blended options that could suit you in that price range.
Basically -- and in my opinion, at least -- all the tailors of this type, of which there are dozens and dozens in the Sukhumvit area alone, are very similar. They can turn around a legitimate made-to-measure-ish suit in a very short period of time and at a very reasonable price, which to me represents great value, at least at suits of that level. I've found it to be more a case of finding someone you like working with and can communicate with well, and who seems to have your best interests at heart. That's the reason I have stuck with the Prince, despite knowing that there are dozens of others in the area who could do the same job and probably do it cheaper, if that was my number-one priority.
Here is what I would do if I were you. I'd try to budget 800 ringgit for the suit, and no less. You could walk into any standard Bangkok tailor and come out with a pretty good product for 800, I think. My next question would be how long do you want it to last. If you plan to use the suit for more than 30 or so wearings, I'd try really hard to up that budget to 1000-1200, so that you could invest in a better fabric. That's really the sole reason for the price to go up, and that's important to know in order to play the game, so to speak, with these kinds of tailors. Presumably their overhead costs are the same regardless of the cost of the piece goods, so if you are going to pay more you better be getting a better fabric. (This can be a little tricky and complex -- as, for example, if you ask for a nice all-wool lightweight worsted and demand nothing in a blend, they may take you as someone with deeper pockets and aim higher when they quote a price -- but it's easy enough to manage once you realize the basic formula, which is that cheap fabrics result in very cheap suits in Bangkok and moderate fabrics result in cheap to moderate priced suits.)
So, decide if you want something mostly disposable (occasional wear, like once a month over two years) or if you want something to last through many more wearings, and then budget accordingly. The cheap fabrics will suit you fine if you won't spend a lot of time in them. And from them, either take a recommendation (such as mine), or just walk around and visit some shops and see what feels right. Stick very firmly to your budget, as long as you have enough time in the city to shop around. Trust me, as soon as you walk away from one offer because it feels too high to you, you can find that exact same offer at another place just down the street. Now, the flip side of that is that you shouldn't think you could walk around long enough to find someone who will make you a piece from luxury fabric for 500 ringgit, because that is never going to happen. It's more to say that you shouldn't feel compelled to take what feels like a bad deal. There is more supply than demand in Bangkok, so be sure you don't let yourself get forced into a bad deal.
When it comes to "style, pocket, button" and such, I really don't think you should have concern, especially since you are going with something traditional (an excellent strategy for your first buy, I say). Any shop you go to will be well versed in classic and current trends, I'd imagine, and will be happy to talk you through it. (John at the Prince certainly would.) These days we are probably still going with the standard two-button jacket, perhaps a narrow lapel (notch, not peaked) if it suits your body type, standard pockets, plain-front pants, and so on. Pleated pants seem to be coming on, but depending on your body type and how ambitious you want to be, you are probably entirely fine going with plain. You can choose to have a plain hem on the pants or have them cuffed (turned up). None of these things are really critical, though, and if you don't have strong opinions about them coming in, then I wouldn't worry and I would let the tailor guide you. After all, that's what they are there for.
I hope this helps somewhat, but please do let me know if I could answer any other questions. Oh, I forgot to mention shirts. To me, that may well be the better buy in Bangkok, as you can get something quite fitted to you for only 120-160 ringgit. It's really important to get the collar and sleeves right. You may be one of the lucky ones who can buy off the rack and have both these details fit precisely, but if not, you should really ask your tailor to make you a couple pieces. You won't regret it.