The Tailoring Thread, Bespoke. Nothing beats a perfect fit

raul88
post Sep 9 2010, 09:45 PM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

hi

i often send my tshirt and jeans to tailor for alteration
most of the time is just to cut the length of the jeans or shorten the long sleeve
so i was thinking to buy a mini sew machine to do this simple alteration myself in the future
but i need suggestion which "kind" to buy
there are 2 type..
1.user posted image
this kind of mini sew machine can be found in tesco,carefour and many other hypermarkets
~rm75 brand: smart lady,global
2.user posted image
this portable sew machine is only rm10 but its manual operated
can be found in pasar malam

my question is it easy to learn to sew?
i'm afraid i buy later cant sew cause its too hard
and which of this 2 type i should buy
dont suggest me to buy bigger sew machine as i only want to do simple alteration not open a boutique ok!
beau
post Sep 9 2010, 11:07 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Sep 9 2010, 02:32 PM)
I haven't finished but what happened at Huntsman?
I had a quick glance when it first came out and decided not to purchase it as it was too technical ( from a tailoring perspective ).

On reflection it would have been a good guide for instructing our local tailors who need more guidance and detailed instructions as compared to their brothers on the Row & Italy.

I'm not sure if the Huntsman episode was covered in the book but I heard anecdotally that Huntsman was faced with financial difficulties which resulted in Richard Anderson's departure.

As you are no doubt aware , Huntman is reputed to be the most expensive tailors on the Row. It was subsequently reorganized and now offer Made to measure as well as a Bespoke service along with a Ready to wear range. Goes against tradition on the Row but with escalating rents in Mayfair I guess they need to change their business model in order to survive.
malutapimau
post Sep 10 2010, 12:20 AM

751 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Sep 9 2010, 09:45 PM)
hi

i often send my tshirt and jeans to tailor for alteration
most of the time is just to cut the length of the jeans or shorten the long sleeve
so i was thinking to buy a mini sew machine to do this simple alteration myself in the future
but i need suggestion which "kind" to buy
there are 2 type..
1.user posted image
  this kind of mini sew machine can be found in tesco,carefour and many other hypermarkets
  ~rm75 brand:  smart lady,global
2.user posted image
  this portable sew machine is only rm10 but its manual operated
  can be found in pasar malam

my question is it easy to learn to sew?
i'm afraid i buy later cant sew cause its too hard
and which of this 2 type i should buy
dont suggest me to buy bigger sew machine as i only want to do simple alteration not open a boutique ok!
can that machine takes wide range of needle sizes? //for jeans we'll need heavy duty needle & thread---- ~ needle no.90/14,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
kotmj
post Sep 10 2010, 12:42 AM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

Lifetime supply

malutapimau
post Sep 10 2010, 12:56 AM

751 posts

Added on September 10, 2010, 12:57 amonly a dozen / two? ---i think you need to buy more,,,,,

This post has been edited by malutapimau: Sep 10 2010, 12:57 AM
gshen
post Sep 10 2010, 01:05 AM

116 posts

Ooh those hooks look bulletproof. Cost much?
bloke1
post Sep 10 2010, 03:38 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

What about these instead?
beau
post Sep 10 2010, 05:01 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Sep 10 2010, 03:38 PM)
What about these instead?
Don't have the same solid look as the German versions . The test is seeing & touching both versions in person
kotmj
post Sep 11 2010, 02:25 AM

3,802 posts

The hooks are a ransom. 0,50 Euros per bar-hook couple. I typically have 2 on a pair of trousers (extended waistband), so that's RM4.22/trousers in hooks alone.

Yes, these are indestructable. They have that solid metal "klunk" to them.
kotmj
post Sep 12 2010, 01:22 AM

3,802 posts

#150 Guetermann thread. 1000m of it; sufficient for 10 light blue shirts.
kotmj
post Sep 12 2010, 07:36 PM

3,802 posts

BTW I forgot to mention that these cloths are waiting for me back in KL:

Pls dun ask me for the sourceit is top secret.
beau
post Sep 12 2010, 09:43 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Sep 11 2010, 02:25 AM)
The hooks are a ransom. 0,50 Euros per bar-hook couple. I typically have 2 on a pair of trousers (extended waistband), so that's RM4.22/trousers in hooks alone.

Yes, these are indestructable. They have that solid metal "klunk" to them.
German engineering
raul88
post Sep 13 2010, 01:42 AM

░░Madridista ░░
2,280 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Sep 10 2010, 12:20 AM)
can that machine takes wide range of needle sizes? //for jeans we'll need heavy duty needle & thread---- ~ needle no.90/14,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
orly?
hm..never thought of that
need to check first la like that
bloke1
post Sep 13 2010, 03:46 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Pick stitches on denim shirt.

This post has been edited by bloke1: Sep 13 2010, 04:05 PM
gshen
post Sep 13 2010, 04:30 PM

116 posts

Italians are finally picking up on the finer points of Ah Beng fashion!
beau
post Sep 13 2010, 06:30 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(gshen @ Sep 13 2010, 04:30 PM)
Italians are finally picking up on the finer points of Ah Beng fashion!
Only in Italy!!
bloke1
post Sep 13 2010, 07:26 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Speaking of which, what happened to the highlights on your hair, gshen? brows.gif
U+FFFD
post Sep 13 2010, 07:34 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Sep 13 2010, 07:26 PM)
Speaking of which, what happened to the highlights on your hair, gshen? brows.gif
I have never seen pictures of him with his hair highlighted. What you should be asking is "What happened to the piercing on your left earlobe, gshen? brows.gif "

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Sep 13 2010, 07:41 PM
bloke1
post Sep 13 2010, 07:42 PM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

I have pictures of him in highlighted hair. He looks sokiut.

This post has been edited by bloke1: Sep 13 2010, 07:45 PM
U+FFFD
post Sep 13 2010, 07:47 PM

2,356 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Sep 13 2010, 07:42 PM)
I have neither seen him with piercings. I have pictures of him in highlighted hair though. He looks sokiut.
Seriously? I do not have pictures of him with highlighted hair. I think the both of us should stalk harder... wait, I think we should trade pictures.

149 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:38 PM