The Tailoring Thread, Bespoke. Nothing beats a perfect fit

beau
post Jul 18 2010, 08:37 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 18 2010, 03:41 AM)

The correct kind of trousers to wear with a black suit jacket.
Nice-Where did you get them from?

I've seen these types of trousers worn at weddings in the UK with a morning coat & by litigators in England with their wig & gown. Very elegant.

They were selling these at Moss Brothers in the UK marked down during the sale period but the fabric was too thick for our climate. How's the fabric on these?
beau
post Jul 18 2010, 02:24 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 18 2010, 12:05 PM)
I kept telling a freshly-graduated lawyer previously on this forum that if he absolutely MUST wear a black jacket, he must pair it with trousers like this. As you can imagine, he thought I was stupid or something.

I found these at a bundle shop for RM5. They do not fit me -- they were made for a fat and very tall Japanese. I bought them because I am interested in tailoring and to use as a sample for my next trousers. The fabric is the thickest I've seen. The trousers are very, very heavy and stiff.

Added on July 18, 2010, 12:10 pmuser posted image
I once saw a similar patterned trousers in a lighter fabric ( Linen/Silk/Cotton) at a factory outlet in Italy. Unfortunately it wasn't my size although the price was extremely tempting ( 10 Euros )

You can see similar type trousers at the following sites:-

1. www.edesandravenscroft.com -Edes & Ravenscroft is the official supplier to the legal profession

2. www.favourbrook.com-Favourbrook on Jermyn Street specializes in waist coats & party wear . There is a picture of a stripe pants with fish tail/brace back which is quite nice.

The court room lawyers (in England) wear these pants with a black jacket & waist coat with their gown & wig.
Don't see any lawyers wearing these in Malaysia. I thought I was at an undertakers convention when I dropped a lawyer friend at the Jalan Duta Court Complex sometime back.

I have seen some French and Italians wearing similar type stripe trousers with their black dinner jacket. Not sartorially correct but interesting nevertheless.

Got an interesting pair of trousers at an army surplus store which might be interesting.

It's a khaki cross over trousers with self belting similar to the type worn by British Army officers. I'll post pictures of it later.

beau
post Jul 18 2010, 08:06 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 18 2010, 05:56 PM)
Yeah, I'm also wondering who beau is. Such a big timer appears all of a sudden out of nowhere. He might be a friend of the Tan Sri.

But, in the meantime, a question for Beau et al:

CONTEXT
I will be going to Europe on a 2-3 week business trip sometime this autumn. I will be meeting with the MD of the company in Europe who also happens to be the Senior VP of the business unit my company here in Malaysia belongs to. I've interviewed with him before a couple of months back when he was here on a trip. I'll be mostly holding small 1-to-1 to 4-to-1 workshops/conversations on a variety of operations management topics with our people there. I am very new to this company, having just joined it. I am not quite 30, and have an advanced engineering background.

QUESTION
How the f*** do I dress? This is an engineering company and suits are just too formal. It might scare the natives. Going with casual wear (you know, Jack Wolfskin and jeans) OTOH is inappropriate for the position I am in and the task at hand. Everything has to fit into suitcase and weigh no more than 20kg. Thanks.
1. The British would prefer dark suits ( Charcoal Gray,Navy Blue, light blue or white shirts black shoes. The French & Italians allow more latitude in dressing.

2. What nationality of the MD?

3. Will there be any dinners/functions to attend?

4. Will you be traveling around to different business locations/ countries

5. Will there be any possibility of customer or external party interaction?

4. I generally pack 2 suits ( Navy & Dark Grey- BTW I usually make my suits with 2 trousers ) , plain colored shirts & ties ( knitted as it travels better. I will include 1 or 2 khakis & a jumper ( round or v neck in plain colors ) for business casual.
I use a Barbour Jacket with a detachable hood as out where to protect me against the elements .

I would strongly suggest you wear a suit & tie the first day you turn up at the office. Assess how your co-workers dress before adjusting your dress code accordingly.

BTW-Business casual does not mean collarless t-shirts. For senior positions, it just means that you don't wear a tie & might wear khakis with your jacket but the shoes should still be leather & you should wear a jacket. The lower grade the job , the more casual it gets-unless you happened to the the boss in which case anything goes. Some of your ALT offerings look fine.

Let me know if this helps
beau
post Jul 18 2010, 10:25 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 18 2010, 09:28 PM)
This is the land of four rings and the three-pointed star.

I know how the inmates there will be dressed. Incredibly casual, essentially clothes you'd wear at home. Except for senior management, they will be dressed as you'd expect of senior management. I'm in middle management.

2. He's a native of that land, but spent several years studying on *that* island.

3. Unlikely, but you never know. When there, I represent the Malaysian branch.

4. Will be at 2 facilities, both in the same country and a short train ride from each other.

5. Unlikely. I'm not in sales.

I think I need a navy in heavy cloth (13 oz). Outside temperatures will be 15 degrees Celsius with strong winds and indoors will be around 19-21. I was thinking maybe the charcoal 2-piece and this navy suit. The navy suit will be a DB with swappable buttons so I can turn it into a blazer to wear with odd trousers.

And yes, of course, always English welted shoes. I'll bring 3 pairs along.
The Germans & English share similar sartorial taste. Dark suits are the order of the day with simple pattern ties. If you are aspiring to Senior Management , dress accordingly .

13oz may be a bit heavy as our Teutonic friends tend to have well insulated modern offices with very efficient central heating. I'm thinking more 10 to 11 oz . Not too sure the double breasted suit. Single breasted may go down better .
Don't forget a scarf & the fact that night temperatures may go below 10 C. The neck, chest & feet need to be well covered if one does not wish to succumb to the elements. Lip balm & a good face cream will help with the dry & cold climate.
Shopping wise, things are generally more expensive in the land of the ultimate driving machine than in other parts of Europe.

If time permits take a train ride to Paris. The transport system's excellent in Europe ( The budget airlines are much cheaper than our AirAsia )There's an excellent factory outlet outside Paris called La Valle Village where you might find discounted stuff. Northern Italy isn't too far away either & a good place to source for discounted fabrics.

Depending on where you are, day trips are not out of the question.

Good Luck & do us proud-Malaysia Boleh!!

In the meantime here the pictures of the cross over pants I picked up from an army surplus store for STG5 which might be of interest. Do you think Ah Loke will tear his hair out if I get him to do these for me with some modifications? ( the buckle's not great but for 5 quid I'm not complaining )

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image
user posted imageuser posted image

beau
post Jul 19 2010, 09:56 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 18 2010, 10:51 PM)
I think those are called Gurkha trousers, and I estimate that there is a fair possibility that AL will make them for you if you leave him the sample to copy from. They look very special.

Of course you can hint to him that lanatir will be a huffin and a puffin to his shop to get himself a pair right after you take delivery of yours.

Added on July 18, 2010, 11:06 pmI have several very dear friends who have been extraordinarily kind to me during my years there so if I do any private traveling it will be to visit them. I also have this urge to visit a former professor of mine to see if he has any sage advice for me -- my job is challenging and he is an old hand at this. It is unlikely I will be on any sartorially-linked trip.

Thanks for mentioning toiletries: I almost forgot about the dry winds!
A trench coat is a good idea. The flea markets or the Oxfam style shops there stock them at reasonable prices. A friend recently picked up a single breasted Burberry with removable wool lining at a weekend market in Holland for 20 Euro !! Has a very Michael Caine look. He got the boutique in Singapore to replace the buttons for free and paid a nominal sum for it to be refurbished.

The trousers are a copy of fifties style drill trousers issued by the British Army. They come in shorts as well ( see the Silvermann's website ).They were a steal at STG5. I find it useful for going thru airports as it doesn't require a belt which speeds up the security process.

BTW the land of the 3 point star has stringent airport security checks way before 9/11 & Al Queda became a major influence on air travel. Be prepared to take off your shoes, take out your laptop & cellphone , remove the batteries, boot up the device etc. They had experience dealing with terrorist groups way back. The checks are way more thorough as compared to the ones currently conducted in the US.

The checks are usually fine so long as one is cooperative & humble. I've seen uncooperative travelers get taken aside for additional "checks". Believe me , you don't want to go through that.

I've not had good Chinese food there ever. The decent & reasonable priced foods tend to be Middle Eastern/Turkish style cuisine ( not surprising given the large Turkish population there ), Italian & Northern Indian.

German cuisine can be a trite challenging for Asian -Having sliced meat for breakfast is not my idea of how to start the day. The beers ( both light & dark ) are a joy to drink & very necessary if you wish to bond with your co-workers. Germans are extremely particular about their beer & how it's served ( preferably with a large head to denote it's freshness , unlike the English who think they are being cheated if they are served the amber liquid in a similar manner ) .

Plenty of pork too, the pork knuckle being a particular favorite amongst out Teutonic friends.

The museums & galleries are worth a visit , many have nominal or no admission charge. If you happened to be in Cologne, the art museum at the basement of the Cathedral is a must see , particular if one's a fan of pop art & Paul Klee/Warhol.

My general observations about their working style is as follows:-

1. Come early to work. It is common for people to turn up as early as 6.30 am/ 7 am to work and seen as a sign of an industrious employee. Late comers are not well regarded .

2. Closely linked to the above is the need to be punctual-meetings & training etc need to start & finish on time . The Malaysian tardiness will not do & you find people either walking out on you or refusing to meet at best.

3. Working hours are more intense. Unlike Asians who generally like to linger on late at work ( Civil Servants being the exception, ) our beer drinking friends like to leave work on time or early . Leisure time is sacred and any intrusion into that it not welcome.

4. Be organized & precise. They dislike vagueness & chaos. Be direct but polite & diplomatic.As with any culture, a gentle word of thanks is well appreciated.

5. The Northerner tend to be more formal & reserved, the Southerners, warm & friendly.

6. You may be asked to come to a colleague's house for dinner. This is common as eating out is expensive & tends to be reserved for weekends or special occasions. A bottle of wine for the host as well as flowers or chocolates for the hostess.

7. The Polizei ( Police ) is similar to that of Malaysia in the sense that they accept payments on the spot for traffic infractions. The only difference is they carry a handheld device which they will scan your credit card for payment & issue a receipt!! No negotiations or pleas of poverty there but cashless payments for fines are all legal. Any offers of inducement will see you as a temporary resident of some Stalag!!

8. Remember the words "Ausgang" (exit) & "Flughafen" (airport) . Very useful if you need to get out of a building or mall or get to the airport. If you plan to drive, try to rent from a local agent as opposed to the branded international agencies like Hertz or Avis. Most rentals are diesel engine and one can rent a nice C class for very little money & certainly much less than using taxis to get around. Observe the electronic signboards at the autobahn & stay out of the outer land ( unless you drive a supercharged AMG Mercedes or Ferrari ) Speed limits may be imposed due to traffic & weather conditions & their traffic police are very efficient in enforcing the rules !!

The most important thing is to have fun & build relationships with your colleagues there. They tend to be reasonable consensual .

Have a good trip and let me know if there is anything else I can help with.

p.s. The above is based on my personal viewpoint & experience. It may be different for you.

beau
post Jul 20 2010, 12:38 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 19 2010, 02:42 PM)
You seem to have encyclopedic knowledge about UDM land. Your observations tally completely with mine, though I have no problems with cold meats for breakfast. I even look forward to the Blutwurst.

I speak the language there fluently, and will conduct business in that language. I know the people there all too well, but it is good to be reminded of the very different work culture. I see you’ve had to learn a few painful lessons there yourself in dealing with them. I was once denied the opportunity to interview with someone because I was an hour late. Not my fault at all – the train was late. I even called them beforehand but it was to no avail.

I especially look forward to the cheap, cheap wine! I love wine and used to drink several glasses a day. Shopping for wine used to be a hobby of mine.

I, too, thought I’d never find good Chinese food there until I became acquainted with a Malaysian graduate student in a certain port city. She brought me to a restaurant on the Reeperbahn run by Honkies and Malaysians, and I had the shock of my life when 1) she ordered steamed fish in 2) Cantonese(!) to the waitress, who was 3) Malaysian! The food was very authentic, but the chef has to be told he is cooking for Chinese customers. We returned there many times. It became our favourite restaurant.

Well anyway, the place is a sartorial wasteland.
I like some of the rye breads & cut meats like Landsjaeger.

The dark & light wheat beers are my favorites, not a big fan of Reislings. The best value wine I bought was a 10 Euro wine in a box from a German supermarket which astounded some of the wine snobs.

Thanks for pointing out the fact that I should have requested for food to be cooked "Chinese Style" . The taste may have been modified . Good tip for future trips.

I agree the place is a sartorial wasteland. A German friend was thrilled at finding a 24 hour tailor at Batu Ferringgi !!

I would like to seek your advice/help on the following:-

1. The name & address of the Japanese bundle shop you seem to find cheap & nice stuff from. I've searched the threads with little success. FYI , I used to look for vintage clothing from thrift shops which I would have tailored. An example is a 1920's peaked lapel dinner jacket I found at the Paris flea market for 5 euro which was successfully copied with lighter fabric & less padding. Pictures to be posted at a later date.
2. The buckle for the drill pants is anemic & cheap. I was thinking of replacing it with brass buckles . Would you have any source (local or otherwise) that sells these items?
3. I found that having thicker shirt buttons makes it easier to button one's shirts. Have you come across any source that makes thicker shell/MOP buttons? I am also looking for horn buttons for jackets which have curved bottoms ( the Italians call it boat buttons ) . They make the jackets easier to button & gives it a nice touch. Any information on the source of these items would be appreciated.
4. Real West Indian Sea Island Cotton shirting fabric. This fabric has a nice luster & the feel of silk & wears well. Any source or information on where these can be purchased would be appreciated.
5. How's ALT for shirts? Does he do single needle stitching & align the stripe or checks with split yokes? Removable collar bones ? etc.

Thanks -It looks like you're all set for Europe. Great to find someone who supports the artisanal arts .

Added on July 20, 2010, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 20 2010, 12:35 PM)
That's for small timers like you, spending time fishing in dark, smoke-filled bars. Beau has girls delivered to his suite.
I don't know about having women delivered to my hotel room but I would be careful about "fishing" on business trips in case you find your wallet missing or become a victim of a spiked drink ( yes it happens there as well )

I had to bail out a Singaporean & Malaysian colleague from a bar at a certain port city close to Denmark when the owner insisted that they pay a 100 euro exit tax to leave because they did not exceed the minimum spent !! They were lucky their cell phones worked & I was not asleep at that time!!

Go north of the border ( or to the land across the water where most of our maids come from ) have fun without the ensuing problems.

As Jack Nicholson puts it, " You are not paying for sex, you are paying for the woman to leave"!!

This post has been edited by beau: Jul 20 2010, 12:49 PM
beau
post Jul 20 2010, 04:24 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 20 2010, 03:23 PM)
I am generally very protective of my sources because I happen to have so many and the others here so few. I am very happy to TRADE sources though -- something like a button source for a thrift shop source. I used to be open to sharing but came to realise I was almost the only one with sources worth anything. The others just did not go past the beaten path, i.e. shopping malls. Topman la, KLCC la, Pavilion la, you get the idea. Yawn. It actually takes initiative and curiosity to source for exotic stuff, especially exotic stuff at super low prices. And once there, you need an eye and touch for quality to separate the blehs from the hahs.

1. It's not a Japanese bundle shop. 95% of the stuff is bottom-of-the-range Levi's. It just so happens that some of the stuff are from Japan, and it is those I'm interested in, not jeans. Talk to your Malay colleagues, especially those who earn less. They will know of some.

2. Those buckles look very common to me, they are found in women's wear. I think AL may have them, otherwise they can be found in Malaysia's largest button shop (Dexon on Petaling Street). There are other sources, but they are cunningly clever ones and not to be revealed.

3. I have the opposite experience. I much prefer thin buttons. But if you go on Alibaba and search for MOP buttons you will find one company in China which specializes in >3mm buttons selling wholesale. You have to buy a whole "gross", but it's not expensive. Remember to buy them in two sizes: 16L and 14L. I'll PM you a local source of thick horn buttons with a bowl bottom retailing for RM4.50 each. Otherwise you can buy them online from theliningcompany.

4. Can't help you there.

5. If you go back several (dozen?) pages in this very thread, I have extensive pics of AL's shirts for me. What I've come to realise is that FIT is ueber alles. AL is accustomed to my unreasonable demands as to fit, which is his #1 advantage for me. Yes, it's single needle high-density stitchings, unfused collar and cuffs, split yokes, removable stays yada yada bleh. But even more important is the curvature of the collar band, the way the yoke sits on your shoulders, the front and back drape and the tapering at the belt level. Everything must be juuuust so. Other tailors look at me like I came from Mars when I talk about these things with them. About the workmanship: I believe he uses at least one outworker for shirts, but my shirts are made by his younger brother. The shirts are not perfect. If you look closely, you will see signs they were handmade, and sometimes by apparently not very stable hands. On two shirts I have had to remove small blood stains. Either he's clumsy or they are not easy to make.

It looks like besides UDM land, I might have to go to the country that makes Vass. We have a facility there. The trip would be longer that way, maybe 3 weeks instead of two.
Hey no worries-It's just that I'm new to Malaysia ( after having left for many years ) & the reason why I join this forum was to garner information to enable me to make informed decisions & to localize my clothing supply.

The buckles that came with the trousers are made of thin metal which makes it look cheap & I would not have bought the trousers if not for the fact that they were extremely cheap. I could probably buy them when I'm next in the US but prefer to source things locally where it makes sense to do so.

The reason why I switched to thicker buttons is the fact that they are more durable & less likely to break. I have had to endure unprofessional hotel laundry & replaced buttons on numerous occasions. That was also one of the prime drivers for my insistence at hand made fully canvas suits which withstand abuse better than the glued variety.

The only shirtmaker I've found to have properly fitted & made shirts is Ascot Chang in HK. They made very meticulous measurements -I have two measurements there, one for formal work shirts & another for casual wear. The only annoying thing is their insistence on pushing out the high thread count ( read expensive ) fabrics before they show the "cheaper " stuff with disdain . Their prices are close to what many high end shirt makers charge for their RTW versions.

I once was politely asked to leave a workshop in Italy when I insisted on having the yokes measured separately ( as should be the case given the fact that our left & right shoulder has slight anatomical variations ) . The artisan/sifu was apparently upset at my "unreasonable " demands ( as translated by my friend !!) My Italian friend had to look for a new shirt maker himself after that incident.

I don't mind being guided & an open to suggestions but as the customer I would like it done my way & learn from my mistakes. The big difference I find between Asia & Europe is the detailed instructions one has to give when instructing tailors whereas the Europeans would tend to raise issues & ask whether certain features are required eg where you wear your watch & whether the watch you are wearing is normally this size. I recalled an incident where I was once asked by a trouser maker which side I lie on ( ie which side my little brother falls on ) This apparently has the effect of causing the trouser drape to fall differently , depending on whether one's little brother falls to the right or left.

Many good tailors would have specialist in making different parts of the suit, the trouser maker would be different from the waist coat maker etc. The only constant is the cutter. I have some Italian friends who are so fastidious that they would have the jacket & trouser made by different tailors in order to achieve their desired look.

A trip to the old outpost of the Hapsburg empire may require a heavy overcoat (22 oz ) The cold winds from the Russian steppes which sweep through their can be very biting. It may be a sartorial trip yet as many of the big brands have outsourced their manufacturing their. I've not been there myself but my European friends go there for their cheaper shopping ( or at least it was until they joined the EC ).

I will probably give ALT a try with a pair of trouser & shirt first as it does not require too many fittings. Once we develop some understanding I will look to having a suit made. Hopefully our collective demands will not bring him to an early demise !!
beau
post Jul 20 2010, 09:55 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 20 2010, 06:43 PM)
My demands didn't kill him, but I think yours will!
I'll make sure to wear a bespoke black silk arm band with hand rolled edges if it happens!!

BTW I met with a person from the Fatherland who disputes the fact that the Fatherland is not a sartorial twilight zone despite the great number of his fellow country man than think Ravi Tailor on Soi Cowboy is the height of sartorial elegance.

According to him the centre of bespoke tailoring was Munich but has moved to Dusseldof due to the high density of Japanese living there. He recommends Heinr Westhoff where he makes his suits. The cut & fit was not as tailored as your Huntsman styled efforts . Think Cary Grant in "Charade" & you will get some idea of the design.
beau
post Jul 21 2010, 09:43 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jul 20 2010, 10:36 PM)
It is how the edges of the denim are finished off with self-edging to prevent fraying. Definitely a sign of quality.

Added on July 20, 2010, 10:41 pm
If you are chinese, just tell her: "Ngo yiu tip keok. Sat dou hou chi bao jung gum yong"

Better yet, show her a picture of skinny fit on your handphone, laptop or printed paper:
That's the problem with our retailers here. They don't carry trousers & shirt sleeves of differing lengths. This is compounded by the fact that our consumers are not well informed. It's the case of the unscrupulous meeting the gullible.

The US is one of the few places where there is a great variety of sizes to cater for the consumer ( partly due to the fact that alteration costs there are astronomical )

By way of an example one can purchase a 501s in a shorter length that would ensure a more proportional fit ( within reason ) or a shirt with the correct sleeve length.

This should be a good lesson in steering away from making an emotional buy when the item itself is clearly unsuitable.
beau
post Jul 23 2010, 10:16 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 21 2010, 04:26 PM)
What fabric could be so heavy that they would weight down such stiff pants? I think the other purpose of theirs you allude to -- their function as stiffeners to avoid a break of the trouser line -- is more likely. I was also made to notice that the leg opening is concave at the front -- this would be a more elegant solution than cutting the opening at an angle. I wonder if I should get AL to make my next pair of trousers like this -- with a crescent of fusing (or maybe horsehair) and a concave curve to the front. I've not seen such elaborate trouser hem construction mentioned anywhere, not even on Sator's forum.

Which brings me to my second thought: Do you think the stiffener is padded to the trousers?!! What material is it of? I am most hesitant to unpick it.
Saw a similar patterned fabric at textile centre when I was on a day trip to Singapore yesterday. Very thick too. Unfortunately one has to be a fan of polyester before having anything made in that material!!
beau
post Jul 24 2010, 09:40 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 24 2010, 01:49 AM)
I have always liked a thick, substantial, yet soft (and floppy) kind of collar. I have searched far and wide. And now, finally, I have solved the issue: heavy, dense, white cotton muslin.

http://books.google.com.my/books?id=9H06BY...rfacing&f=false
This person has a tailoring blog on sewing button holes etc.

If AL still has the Hilditch & Key shirts at his shop, perhaps you can persuade him to open one up to see what lies beneath. H & K's collars are not substantial -it would be Harvey Hudsons or T & A you are looking for . They come up on EBay from time to time

Added on July 29, 2010, 7:34 am
QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 24 2010, 01:49 AM)
I have always liked a thick, substantial, yet soft (and floppy) kind of collar. I have searched far and wide. And now, finally, I have solved the issue: heavy, dense, white cotton muslin.

http://books.google.com.my/books?id=9H06BY...rfacing&f=false
Here's pictures of a shirt I made sometime back.

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by beau: Jul 29 2010, 07:34 AM
beau
post Aug 2 2010, 01:20 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 1 2010, 11:26 PM)
Pics of the planet's greatest trousers will soon be posted right here in this thread. Watch out.
3 possibilities:-

1. You've beaten AL into submission & he's decided to make your pants with a higher rise or,
2. Antonio Ambrosi made a pair of pants for you or
3. You've discovered a new "pantalonaio" (trouser maker)

Added on August 2, 2010, 1:23 am
QUOTE(diversity @ Aug 1 2010, 04:24 PM)
i would like to ask if is it possible to shorten the length of a formal shirt? because it is too long for me
Yes you can shorten it but the question is should you? Having longer shirt tails ( within reason ) helps stop your shir from riding up your trousers .

Added on August 2, 2010, 1:26 am
QUOTE(bloke1 @ Aug 1 2010, 05:29 PM)
Beau,

Are those buttonholes handsewn? They look extraordinary.
Yes they are. The button were sewn to sit on a purl & not on the fabric to ensure the longevity of the fabric

Added on August 2, 2010, 1:27 am
QUOTE(sasuke123 @ Aug 1 2010, 06:07 PM)
any of you chose velvet material as your tailored suit?
Not me ( unless I was sniffing glue at the time I was at my tailors )

This post has been edited by beau: Aug 2 2010, 01:27 AM
beau
post Aug 3 2010, 12:00 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 2 2010, 11:35 PM)

Added on August 2, 2010, 11:36 pmuser posted image

Added on August 3, 2010, 12:19 amI just put on the above-pictured trousers and the waist fits perfectly, i.e. the previous owner was as lean as myself. However, the legs are baggy beyond belief. This gives me an idea of just how incredibly baggy traditionally-cut trousers are. Very, very baggy.
At least it won't be crotch constricting a' la ALT. Any plans to have him replicate this in a slim down design?
beau
post Aug 4 2010, 10:48 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 3 2010, 07:41 PM)

Added on August 3, 2010, 7:46 pmI put on Zuperpent+ during the lunch hour, this time properly with braces, and once again after work (I'm wearing it right now), and wow, just wow. I now understand what the line is all about. Zuperpent+ isn't baggy, it is perfect when worn with braces. I totally understand why old dead men wanted their trousers this way.

Added on August 3, 2010, 8:39 pmuser posted image
Braces allows the trousers to fall properly especially when worn with a suit.

Having said that , braces tend to work better with the full cut Saville Row style pants as opposed to the Italian low rise cuts as it would probably cut into the "family jewels" a la ALT pants. BTW have you managed to persuade AL to make you trousers with a higher rise?
beau
post Aug 6 2010, 07:52 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 6 2010, 04:35 AM)
My latest pair of ALT trousers do not cut into the family jewels. He will cut you anything, you just have to insist on it for long enough.

He said trouser forks are like armholes: the higher the better. His sister joined him, saying it will make going up stairs easier. Etc.

But what use are all these when my testicles are gangrened?
Pictures please.

Your comments have made me looked at the construction of my clothes more closely .

Trousers are not as simple as two straight tubes of cloth. There is a great deal of "engineering " involved.
1. The traditional Italian tailors include extra internal fastenings which allow the trousers to stay flat & neat during wear.
2. The Italian also include internal pleats in the waist band to facilitate movement & mobility
3. The "V" cut at the rear allows the waistband to flex especially after one too many Nasi Lemaks
4. Side pads at the bottom part of the trousers , which if correctly positioned will reduce friction when wearing the trousers & increase it's longevity.
5. Half lining also increases the comfort of wearing the trousers.

I'll pose pictures once my download limit is lifted.

p.s. The cutter on the Row will ask you which side do you sleep , a euphemism for which side little P falls on , left or right. Apparently this affects the cut & drape!!
beau
post Aug 8 2010, 09:02 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 7 2010, 07:58 PM)
Haih, about 70% of the jackets there are fully canvassed, but none of them are bespoke! They are factory-made garments and have minimal handwork.

The problem with this shop is they are too new, and have not had the chance to accumulate unsaleble stuff.

I did see a navy club blazer with an embroidered emblem on the chest pocket with.....swappable buttons!

In the end I ended up buying 3 remarkable ties for RM8, one of them is a Stefano Ricci.
Don't forget to visit these places when you are in the Fatherland. Found an old Welsh & Jeffries Dinner Jacket with Shawl lapel for STG5 at Oxfam during my student days. It was probably a 1940's vintage ,very well constructed ( but heavy ) & served me well for black tie dinners until the grosgrain wore off.

Pity I gave it away during my frequent house moves as it would have been an excellent template ( or challenge ) for ALT to follow.
beau
post Aug 15 2010, 10:20 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 15 2010, 03:31 AM)
hahahaha.......it was so colorful...but found out all of those material couldn't be found under sale section anymore....
Who are you using to tailor the shirts? ALT?
beau
post Aug 16 2010, 08:49 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 15 2010, 05:04 PM)
Yup...had tailored 11 shirt frm ALT in the last 2 months...and so far I have no complaint beside the charges that keep increasing...
Ah-The price of fame. More Galley Slaves to power the ALT Barge besides the two.

He made a reasonable copy of a Jermyn Street shirt with some minor Italian undertone for me but ( eg shirt buttons that sit on a purl with shanked buttons etc ) Unfortunately the fit was too tight . I have since taken measurements from another custom made shirt for a second attempt with some additional details.

He was in pain when I explained to him that I wanted cuffs with larger circumferences on my watch wearing arm etc. , gathered cuffs etc .

If this second attempt works out, I will start him working on my better fabrics.

The workmanship is in my opinion is not bad. Once the fit issue is resolved , it should be 75 to 80% close to the better European Shirt makers.

Added on August 16, 2010, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(bloke1 @ Aug 16 2010, 07:59 PM)
On sleepless nights, I spent quite some time doing pickstitching on my pants, jackets, shirts, wallet, shoes, everything. Perhaps you can evaluate my handwork some day.

Added on August 16, 2010, 8:19 pmWith respect to pick-stitching, do you think the needle should go all the way down, piercing both layers of the cloth OR just a running stitch on the right side of the cloth? The former would result in visible stitches on the underside of the fabric, the latter doesn't.
I would be interested to view your efforts in particular the cuff button holes & lapels. Can't advise you on the techniques but if you do a good job, we should outsource the finishing of our ALT's to you!!

This post has been edited by beau: Aug 16 2010, 08:52 PM
beau
post Aug 17 2010, 04:37 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 17 2010, 03:15 PM)

Two 100% linens. The sky blue on the left is already a shirt, the one on the right soon to be.

Good job-I was trying to persuade AL to make the thread slightly longer at the collar as it would be more comfortable but he was giving me grief for it. Managed to persuade him to make the collar buttonhole asymmetrical as this would make it more comfortable button up.

Is he making your new shirt with matching patterns & a split yoke ?

Added on August 17, 2010, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 17 2010, 10:46 AM)
Sir, this here is one of the best idea that comes out of this thread. Majority of the other posts were more like "This is what I have, but I aint sharing the source/idea with ya! nyeh nyeh!"
Thanks-I've had to cater for larger watches which is all the rage these days!!

This is a normal question raised by many of the better shirt makers overseas. Our local tailors are probably unused to a more sophisticated & demanding clientele which in turn lowers the standards for bespoke products. It's a vicious circle!!

Added on August 17, 2010, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(bloke1 @ Aug 17 2010, 12:39 AM)
My services can probably cost you both of your kidneys. I might even have to take away your lungs if you request for super high density pickstitching(9 spi). brows.gif
But a running stitch can be made to look like pickstitching. icon_idea.gif After all, pick stitching on pants are merely for aesthetic reasons. Lapels are of course a diff story. Personally, I find that running stitches are much easier to execute.
The lungs you can have if you want to tar the highway but your head & testicles we will take if you ruin the super fine Vicuna fabric we send your way!!

This post has been edited by beau: Aug 17 2010, 04:45 PM
beau
post Aug 17 2010, 10:17 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Aug 17 2010, 09:45 PM)
Just replaced all buttons on my 'linen' pants.
[attachmentid=1732050]
Button fly too?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0592sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:18 PM