58 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*

cygoh9
post Feb 20 2010, 07:46 PM

146 posts

good luck cgan.

limeuu mentioned ppl got into dentistry with BBB, not mbbs i think.

cgan: what makes u wanna be a doctor? passion? nothing better to do? or $? or the perceived fame and respect?
cgan
post Feb 21 2010, 02:01 PM

83 posts

interest does play a large part of it. not so the money. as a matter of fact parents are not too happy for me to do med. With reasons that life is difficult as a doctor in Malaysia, and doctors are no richer than engineers, lawyers, pharmacist, dentist, etc. im a person who love to make a difference - and i guess i dream to make am impact to the healthcare system in Malaysia. Though one person can't do much, collectively a change can be made. Many ppl today have lost hope of the healthcare in Malaysia and many doctors today prefer to migrate to other countries, eg australia, where they can certainly earn big bucks and enjoy a higher quality of life. i am well aware of the difficulties in being a doctor here. but i do want to make a diff in my part
wgy589
post Feb 21 2010, 02:20 PM

759 posts

you should consider joining political parties...
sanesaint
post Feb 21 2010, 03:12 PM

359 posts

damn.

that was good statement man. use it in an interview lol

This post has been edited by sanesaint: Feb 21 2010, 03:14 PM
onelove89
post Feb 21 2010, 06:05 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 21 2010, 02:01 PM)
interest does play a large part of it. not so the money. as a matter of fact parents are not too happy for me to do med. With reasons that life is difficult as a doctor in Malaysia, and doctors are no richer than engineers, lawyers, pharmacist, dentist, etc. im a person who love to make a difference - and i guess i dream to make am impact to the healthcare system in Malaysia. Though one person can't do much, collectively a change can be made. Many ppl today have lost hope of the healthcare in Malaysia and many doctors today prefer to migrate to other countries, eg australia, where they can certainly earn big bucks and enjoy a higher quality of life. i am well aware of the difficulties in being a doctor here. but i do want to make a diff in my part
good to hear that. All the best in your journey. =)
cgan
post Feb 22 2010, 08:10 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 21 2010, 02:20 PM)
you should consider joining political parties...
doh.gif sweat.. i kena bomb at lowyat forum pulak. embarrassing sial

epplegaara
post Feb 23 2010, 07:17 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 21 2010, 02:01 PM)
about the doctors are not richer than engineers...it is so not true -.- doh.gif
any way,good luck thumbup.gif
cygan,i assumed you took your Alevels this year,since you said at 2011 you would complete your Alevel.i'm taking STPM this year.aiming to be a doctor too..but my reason is totally different than yours tongue.gif

if you really want to make a difference,try not to get ABB doh.gif math che and bio are core sucjects if you want to become a doctor.be like me aim all A smile.gif

ATTENTION TO ALL STUDENTS WHO TOOK SPM YEAR 2009!!!RESULT WILL BE RELEASED AT 16 MARCH 2010

This post has been edited by epplegaara: Feb 23 2010, 08:10 PM
limeuu
post Feb 23 2010, 08:00 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(epplegaara @ Feb 23 2010, 07:17 PM)
ATTENTION TO ALL STUDENTS WHO TOOK SPM YEAR 2009!!!RESULT WILL BE RELEASED AT 16 MAY 2010
that cannot be right.......it should be out in next month..........
epplegaara
post Feb 23 2010, 08:09 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 23 2010, 08:00 PM)
that cannot be right.......it should be out in next month..........
LOL OMG ITS MARCH NOT MAY<SORRY ERROR ,corrected

Added on February 24, 2010, 4:59 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 19 2010, 08:09 PM)
people have got into imu medicine with this.........

people have got into imu dentistry with bbb...........
ppl who took SAM with TER 80++ also got into dentistry and medicine...

This post has been edited by epplegaara: Feb 24 2010, 04:59 PM
cgan
post Feb 24 2010, 06:35 PM

83 posts

Added on February 24, 2010, 4:59 pm
ppl who took SAM with TER 80++ also got into dentistry and medicine...

[/quote]

Yea basically at the end of the day, one has to always try to score as high as possible for their pre-u or else be prepared to reconsider on some other options, other than MBBS or BDS cause entering into med and dental is one thing, while staying and passing exams in med/dental school is another (i know a few frens who drop out cause they just cant cope). But one thing is certain:

passion + hardwork = success biggrin.gif

To epplegaara: I actually took my A-Levels last year - July intake smile.gif . cause i kena national service second batch
epplegaara
post Feb 24 2010, 06:43 PM

52 posts

soo.. you did 18 months Alevel??

is it true a lot of medicine student drop out half way course?

This post has been edited by epplegaara: Feb 24 2010, 06:45 PM
cgan
post Feb 24 2010, 06:51 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(epplegaara @ Feb 24 2010, 06:43 PM)

Yea. That is memang the duration for A-Levels - 18 months. Er.. about the medical students dropping out, its better u ask limeuu. he would know better cause im also just an A-Level student. But what I can say on my part is I know 4 friends who drop out during their clinical years. And they are quite bright students - 11 A's at least for their SPM. But i guess they just din have the interest to study med. After all intelligence alone may not get u far when it comes to studyin med. the passion must be there
cygoh9
post Feb 24 2010, 07:23 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 24 2010, 11:51 PM)
Yea. That is memang the duration for A-Levels - 18 months. Er.. about the medical students dropping out, its better u ask limeuu. he would know better cause im also just an A-Level student. But what I can say on my part is I know 4 friends who drop out during their clinical years. And they are quite bright students - 11 A's at least for their SPM. But i guess they just din have the interest to study med. After all intelligence alone may not get u far when it comes to studyin med. the passion must be there
Mind to tell where did they drop out from? They got kicked out or they voluntarily quit the course.

And "passion" is over-rated ler, lol.

This post has been edited by cygoh9: Feb 24 2010, 07:23 PM
epplegaara
post Feb 24 2010, 08:03 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 24 2010, 06:51 PM)
there is 11 months Alevel rolleyes.gif
not every college offer it,e.g disted stamford in penang offers 11 or 18 months Alevel
mind telling me your SPM result tongue.gif just curious

This post has been edited by epplegaara: Feb 24 2010, 08:04 PM
TSCyberSetan
post Feb 24 2010, 10:41 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(epplegaara @ Feb 24 2010, 06:43 PM)

I can say for certain that some bright students (straight A's SPM / 4.00 CGPA Matriculation) - upon entering MBBS program - like to slack-off, didn't go for lectures and clinical postings, like to play more than studying, etc etc...

Not many of them though... as a result, some of these students failed their professional exam or got barred from taking the exam due to attendance shortage and have to repeat year...

limeuu
post Feb 25 2010, 12:43 AM

12,295 posts

people drop out for many reasons.......and whatever reasons it is, it's bad for a country's healthcare manpower needs.........it cost a lot of money to train a doctor (and hence the high fees when fully charged), the later a student quits, the more money already spent and wasted.........

which is why well managed countries choose their med students carefully, one of the requirements being a low risk of the student quitting.......and the more matured the student, the less likely......which is why some countries have graduate entry med programmes......eg us and 1/2 of oz unis........

people loose interest, finds other things they rather do..........that's the usual reasons people in well managed countries drop out for........

the one reason people should NOT drop out for, is INABILITY to cope with the course, for it means poor selection process.........mediocre students who cannot withstand the rigors of the demanding course......

and guess what happens when a 3rd world med school is coupled with oecd clinical schools.......like imu.......a high drop out rate........

the other oddity in some countries (msia particularly, but also india) is people forced to do medicine by their parents........and some of this group will rebel by purposely flunking out, although they are intellectually able..........
cgan
post Feb 25 2010, 11:35 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(epplegaara @ Feb 24 2010, 08:03 PM)
there is 11 months AlevelĀ  rolleyes.gif
not every college offer it,e.g disted stamford in penang offers 11 or 18 months Alevel
mind telling me your SPM resultĀ  tongue.gif just curious
I sat my SPM in 2008. I got 10 A's. Haha but its only 4A1 6A2 tongue.gif . Guess I was too playful during my form 5

Added on February 25, 2010, 11:47 amTrue. I guess before one really pursue a medical degree that person has to see if he/she is really interested in med and has the brains for it (or not, at least the willingness for plenty of sacrifice and hardwork). Just as brains may not be sufficient for one to do well in med, sadly passion may also not be sufficient as well. Its a combination of brains and interest.

This post has been edited by cgan: Feb 25 2010, 12:02 PM
onelove89
post Feb 26 2010, 07:43 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(cgan @ Feb 25 2010, 11:35 AM)
I sat my SPM  in 2008. I got 10 A's. Haha but its only 4A1 6A2  tongue.gif . Guess I was too playful during my form 5

Added on February 25, 2010, 11:47 amTrue. I guess before one really pursue a medical degree that person has to see if he/she is really interested in med and has the brains for it (or not, at least the willingness for plenty of sacrifice and hardwork). Just as brains may not be sufficient for one to do well in med, sadly passion may also not be sufficient as well. Its a combination of brains and interest.
yeah combination of both is needed. It doesn't mean that you're failure if you do other courses. Like limeuu said, in particular Chinese families, they tend to have a thinking that their sons and daughters/ grandsons and granddaughters must be doctors/dentists/lawyers to be successful. Other than that, they are failures. I'm a chinese but my parents just let me choose my own career, but the older generation will definitely have that kind of thinking ie grandparents or other aunts/uncles.

To have an idea of what's inside medicine, try going to a medical library and flip through some of the books, eg biochemistry, embryology, AnP, pharmaco etc etc. Get an idea what you're going into and then reflect whether you are still interested in all these.

But I have to admit, the uni experience in Aus and in Msia is very very different. Esp in terms of the medical course. but yeah, this is off topic. =P
Gorila_
post Feb 26 2010, 12:41 PM

483 posts

Not all family does that. Mine doesn't...

There is once my mom ask me why do i choose to study medicine, why not engineering. If i choose engineering, I'll be sure get a place in IPTA, and they can spend the money to travel or investment. This question is asked when UPU rejected my aplication tp IPTA medic...

Until now I still doesn't have the answer. And I'm happy that I'm in a med school.
MBBS siang
post Feb 26 2010, 01:27 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Feb 26 2010, 08:43 AM)
yeah combination of both is needed. It doesn't mean that you're failure if you do other courses. Like limeuu said, in particular Chinese families, they tend to have a thinking that their sons and daughters/ grandsons and granddaughters must be doctors/dentists/lawyers to be successful. Other than that, they are failures. I'm a chinese but my parents just let me choose my own career, but the older generation will definitely have that kind of thinking ie grandparents or other aunts/uncles.

To have an idea of what's inside medicine, try going to a medical library and flip through some of the books, eg biochemistry, embryology, AnP, pharmaco etc etc. Get an idea what you're going into and then reflect whether you are still interested in all these.

But I have to admit, the uni experience in Aus and in Msia is very very different. Esp in terms of the medical course. but yeah, this is off topic. =P
Absolutely true but nowadays more and more parents had become more open minded toward their children own career. smile.gif

58 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:57 PM