And uh, do you mean a streak from the middle left to the top right? That's not a crack
iPod |||[iPod Touch User Favourite Thread]||| V2, iPod **The Funnest iPod Ever Is Here*
Feb 6 2009, 11:05 PM
1,704 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Oil Town |
Gratz on your new unit! Only connections with strong enough signals will be detected. You can also try getting apps that scans for WiFi network, such as WifiTrak. Tends to show network with weaker signals which is undetected by the original. Not sure how good the speed will be after you connect to those though.
And uh, do you mean a streak from the middle left to the top right? That's not a crack |
Feb 7 2009, 12:40 AM
Well, it's just part of the logo. And uh, regarding your wifi signal, well, can't help you there :-\
Feb 8 2009, 01:32 AM
Does anyone here use a remote desktop app on their touch?
Feb 8 2009, 02:28 AM
How's Jaadu VNC? Worth the price? Any idea what difference there is between that and Jaadu RDP? Same price, seems same features to me
Feb 8 2009, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Feb 8 2009, 02:28 AM) How's Jaadu VNC? Worth the price? Any idea what difference there is between that and Jaadu RDP? Same price, seems same features to me Got my answer from Jaadu support QUOTE Jaadu VNC uses the VNC protocol, while Jaadu Remote Desktop uses the RDP protocol. There are a number of differences between these two protocols: a) RDP supports audio streaming and encryption. VNC does not support audio streaming, but an upcoming update will add encryption support. b) Only Windows supports RDP, no other mainstream operating system does. c) Windows, Mac, and Linux all support VNC (as do many touchscreen devices, e.g. AMX touchscreens). d) With RDP, your remote computer automatically gets locked (by Windows) when any client connects to it (including Jaadu Remote Desktop). With VNC, the remote desktop is still active. e) VNC comes bundled in with Mac, but can be installed on Windows. RDP comes bundled in with Windows but cannot be installed on anything else. Added on February 8, 2009, 10:27 amHey allvin, have you tried using the Jaadu VNC using public wifi connections, such as Starbucks? Is it smooth? This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 8 2009, 10:27 AM |
Feb 8 2009, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(allvin @ Feb 8 2009, 01:09 PM) No try. err i bet it is slow. why? the dl speed is no problem but the problem is upload speed(server side). U know la, our screamyx upload speed sux like hell. Last time i got try Remote my desktop via my macbook. Yea. hell lag. For real? Aww, was planning to get it. I tried before remote control (PC to PC la |
Feb 8 2009, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(allvin @ Feb 8 2009, 01:49 PM) Yeah I'm deciding between Jaadu and LogMeIn. It's just $5 more anyways. I already have a LMI Free account. Used to access my desktop back at Miri from here Added on February 8, 2009, 2:30 pmLMI has a looooot of complaints regarding its memory issue. No idea whether it's fixed already or not. Bleh. This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 8 2009, 02:30 PM |
Feb 8 2009, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(civic98 @ Feb 8 2009, 03:17 PM) I bought LogMeIn and it works flawlessly, but you should know that LogMeIn can be accessed via browser (tried Safari on iPod but cant work though). Another thing is it requires adequate bandwidth. Nice! A LMI user here! May I know what screen resolution you have running on your desktop? Also the upstream connection on the server side, and downstream connection on your iPod when you used it. Would it run smoothly with the typical public wifi connection? |
Feb 9 2009, 11:36 AM
There's one guy selling it for RM750 at the Garage Sales. Another for RM750 at the Bulk Orders IINM.
Added on February 9, 2009, 11:39 amIs there a shortcut to scroll all the way top in Safari? This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 9 2009, 11:39 AM |
Feb 9 2009, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Feb 9 2009, 01:22 PM) The cheapest u can get is buy in Aus..in fact most those doing bulk order for ipods are buying from Aus...and it's cheap with the official price, it gets even cheaper if it's bought in bulkl That's probably true. After GST, costs less than RM700 after conversion for 8GB.This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 9 2009, 01:37 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 05:35 PM
Feb 9 2009, 11:10 PM
Just a note to those using US iTunes Store account and do not know about this yet.
Certain states in U.S. charges tax for digital downloads (which includes your iTunes Store purchases). I didn't know about this earlier, and used a totally random address for my account, and now I've been charged for about $10 for tax ![]() Taken from CNET News Change your billing address to states that are in red. This news was published 3 years ago though, so if some other states has adopted digital download sales tax, try another one lah Now..gonna change mine Added on February 9, 2009, 11:16 pmAnd now, I've just moved from Louisiana to Los Angeles, California! This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 9 2009, 11:16 PM |
Feb 10 2009, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(xsara @ Feb 9 2009, 11:53 PM) hey dude My account had $8 credit in it just now when I changed it. Just click on the Edit Payment Information button at the Apple Account Information page. If you mean you have a credit card attached to the account, then I don't think you can change it, must match the credit card info.how u change address if ur acc still have credit inside? mine adress got tax charge but cant change address due my acc got credit |
Feb 10 2009, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(weingseen @ Feb 10 2009, 01:15 AM) Previously I've did some research and found out that California is going tax for digital download sales. Thanks for the info! I looked it up and it seems to be all about the proposal only. Can't seem to find about the actual implementation. Will find another state this afternoon I'm not really sure about it anyway and it was half year back for your info. I just clicked the Edit Payment Info and to my surprise, it's my current home address which I was really weird off. It was suppose to be a NY address. Oh ya for your guys info, every state tax differently too. NY tax approximately 8.5% for digital download sales. I got this figure by counting it myself though. LOL at your address Oh and, Louisiana's tax is around 9.2% Added on February 10, 2009, 1:55 amApparently NY doesn't have it..YET, but it's proposed. This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 10 2009, 01:55 AM |
Feb 10 2009, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(weingseen @ Feb 10 2009, 01:55 AM) Mind sharing it to me too. I'll definitely share the result when I've got it.It took me more than 5 hours Googling before I decided to purchase my first iTunes Gift Card. I guess we should find the states with the least tax since States politician are proposing tax on digital downloads. You can try searching in Wikipedia, and as far as I know(if it haven't change yet), Kansas didn't charge for digital downloads. Added on February 10, 2009, 2:05 amhttp://news.cnet.com/2100-1028_3-6060749.html Look what I've found? The state that tax digital downloads. Maybe not. I've seen this date for several times, 17 or 14 or maybe 19 April, which denotes mostly after this date, the US will tax every state for digital downloads, I think. I'm not pretty sure about it but I can tell you I don't really like it. Hmm, I guess it was the hype back then. But I'm pretty sure that not all states tax digital downloads. Not yet anyways, as I've read something about Obama going to implement it Added on February 10, 2009, 9:34 amA minor update: QUOTE (The five states that don't have a sales tax -- Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon -- aren't hurt at all.) Taken from Nolo This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 10 2009, 09:34 AM |
Feb 10 2009, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(Clavicus @ Feb 10 2009, 03:14 PM) Lets say i got my touch and i want to enable genius and whatnot. I need a credit card number and some details, right? Are local card numbers applicable for this purpose? And what details do i give? My real details or do i cook something up? You'll need a U.S. iTunes Store account in order to have Genius working. There are two ways to create the account. One, is to download a free app at the U.S. iTunes Store, where you'll be prompted to login or create a store account. Choose to create an account, then choose None for payment method, enter a U.S. address (choose a state that doesn't tax digital downloads if you're planning to do purchases on a later date) and you're good to go. The other way is to get yourself a U.S. iTunes Store Gift Card/Certificate redemption code. There are a couple of sellers at the Garage Sales zone, myself included. When at the U.S. store page, click on Redeem, enter the code and you'll be prompted to login or create a store account, and after that it's the same. Added on February 10, 2009, 3:48 pmHmm, I've just changed my address to Delaware. Can't be bothered to do more searching anymore. Will just stick to that and see if there's still tax. This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 10 2009, 03:48 PM |
Feb 10 2009, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(ThEoN86 @ Feb 10 2009, 05:35 PM) Excuse me , i m a new onwer for ipod touch. I'm using InvisibleSHIELD here. Though I didn't install it properly, I'm still happy and awaiting my replacement unit (and hopefully this time I will have better finger-control I would like to get suggestion for all current user for suitable protection for touch. Are u all using invisible shield and bodyguardz? How about protection case. any suggestion? Btw, i dun like the case which looks like skeleton and shark fin == |
Feb 10 2009, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(Clavicus @ Feb 10 2009, 09:25 PM) So if i want to purchase any apps from the store, i will need a gift card and use the second method to get myself registered? For paid apps, you'll need to use store credits, which is attainable through gift cards/certs. Either that, or you'll need a U.S. issued credit card, or PayPal.Mind filling me in on more details about how the redemption code works and how it is taxed? At the main U.S. iTune Store page, you'd see a Redeem link under Quick Links at the upper-right corner of the page. ![]() Or alternatively, you could just click here (it opens up the page in iTunes). You will now have a text box for you to enter the gift card/cert redemption code. Enter as provided by your seller, and click the Redeem button. Next, a window will pop up requesting your login information. Click on New Account at the lower-left and proceed with the procedures. For the address and phone number column, enter a random U.S. one. For the state selection however, I would recommend you to choose either Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, or Oregon as they do not tax digital downloads (I am not 100% sure on this, but it should be correct). If you choose other states, you'll be charged more than the listed price. Here is a partial section of my receipt: QUOTE Subtotal: $17.94 Tax: $1.66 Order Total: $19.60 $17.94 is the total amount of listed price for the music/video/apps that I've purchased in iTunes Store. But due to the fact that Louisiana taxes digital downloads, I had incurred a tax of $1.66 as well. This will be deducted from your iTunes Store credit (assuming you're using gift cards/certs) automatically; you do not have to do anything to be charged Btw, if you can't understand my steps, here's Apple's one. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on February 10, 2009, 10:46 pm QUOTE(weingseen @ Feb 10 2009, 10:24 PM) Ahhh, I got IS too but sadly I'm just like you, not good at sticking those stuff. Try asking for a replacement As for now, there's a lot of dust at there and I'm embarrassed to show it. QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Feb 10 2009, 10:38 PM) An AUS itunes gift card won't work on a US itunes account right?? No. It'll only work with the iTunes account of the respective country.i'm wondering, once i'm in aus, where can I find us itunes gift card... You can still get em online This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Feb 10 2009, 10:46 PM |
Feb 10 2009, 10:56 PM
Feb 10 2009, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Feb 10 2009, 10:59 PM) Oh crap! I totally forgotten about the TAC Ooops, getting off-topic |
| Change to: | 0.0354sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:38 AM |