114 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

jonny4
post Oct 2 2010, 11:11 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 2 2010, 07:49 PM)
Thanks for the advice and recommendations.Really appreciate it.Is it necessary to use moisturizer since I have oily face?
U got to test n see how it goes. normally i use a hydrating alcohol free toner in the morning n a really light moisturizer...it works for me. However if u gonna use the Biore sunscreen then i really suggest u use a light moisturizer as the Biore can be really drying.

At night I use a heavier moisturizer as I sleep with the air cond on.
sickboy
post Oct 3 2010, 01:42 AM

473 posts

I'm looking for a light moisturizer as well as the Aqualabel i'm currently using is considered a heavy of type and i only want to use it at night. It's too oily for me tho.

Toner wise, i'm considering between Oslee and Laneige
SUSStarleo1212
post Oct 3 2010, 07:46 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 2 2010, 06:11 AM)
U got to test n see how it goes. normally i use a hydrating alcohol free toner in the morning n a really light moisturizer...it works for me. However if u gonna use the Biore sunscreen then i really suggest u use a light moisturizer as the Biore can be really drying.

At night I use a heavier moisturizer as I sleep with the air cond on.
Ok noted.Currently am using neutrogena oil free moisturizer.And any idea on how to get rid of blackheads?MY nose is filled with them. cry.gif Thanks alot notworthy.gif
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 08:34 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(sickboy @ Oct 3 2010, 01:42 AM)
I'm looking for a light moisturizer as well as the Aqualabel i'm currently using is considered a heavy of type and i only want to use it at night. It's too oily for me tho.

Toner wise, i'm considering between Oslee and Laneige
U can try the Laneige Homme Sebum Free Multi Fluid...they call it a toner+moisturizer in one. It's my daytime moisturizer and it's quite good to use. Clinelle makes a decent toner called the Purifying Toner...decent ingredients that put the higher end toners to shame biggrin.gif retails for RM34 ,200ml

Added on October 3, 2010, 8:39 am
QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 3 2010, 07:46 AM)
Ok noted.Currently am using neutrogena oil free moisturizer.And any idea on how to get rid of blackheads?MY nose is filled with them. cry.gif Thanks alot notworthy.gif
Depends on how stubborn your blackheads are. A product that has decent amounts of salicylic acid (beta hydroxy acid) will help loosen the blackheads and make them easier to get rid of. After that u can start maintaining by using a clay mask regularly to prevent blackheads. However if u got the really stubborn type of blackheads then best to head to a beauty center and get them to remove it.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 3 2010, 08:39 AM
SUSStarleo1212
post Oct 3 2010, 12:08 PM

210 posts

Oh and do I need to reapply sunscreen throughout the day?
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 01:04 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 3 2010, 12:08 PM)
Oh and do I need to reapply sunscreen throughout the day?
If u are outdoors a lot then u will need to reapply but the frequency all depends on the SPF of the sunscreen. Google it as there is a way to calculate how long a certain level of SPF can last in the sun. I'm mostly indoors so I don't reapply.
SUSStarleo1212
post Oct 3 2010, 02:02 PM

210 posts

love the biore suncreen.Control my face oil pretty well =)
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 02:13 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 3 2010, 02:02 PM)
love the biore suncreen.Control my face oil pretty well =)
Yeah the shine control is really good. But was too drying for after 2 months of daily use. Some more the matte powdery look was a bit uncomfortable. A few girls even asked me if I using some kind of BB Cream/foundation. malu wei ! haha. That's why now I am using Sunplay Skin Aqua Moisture Milk SPF50. Shine/oil control not as good as Biore but keeps me relatively shine free with a healthy glow without the powdery zombie look of Biore.

How long u been using Biore sunscreen ? the white one right ?

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 3 2010, 02:15 PM
SUSStarleo1212
post Oct 3 2010, 03:55 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 2 2010, 09:13 PM)
Yeah the shine control is really good. But was too drying for after 2 months of daily use. Some more the matte powdery look was a bit uncomfortable. A few girls even asked me if I using some kind of BB Cream/foundation. malu wei ! haha. That's why now I am using Sunplay Skin Aqua Moisture Milk SPF50. Shine/oil control not as good as Biore but keeps me relatively shine free with a healthy glow without the powdery zombie look of Biore.

How long u been using Biore sunscreen ? the white one right ?
Yes,I'm using the white one and I just bought it yesterday.But when you say it gives you the powdery look,I begin to worry.lol.
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 04:14 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Starleo1212 @ Oct 3 2010, 03:55 PM)
Yes,I'm using the white one and I just bought it yesterday.But when you say it gives you the powdery look,I begin to worry.lol.
It might work for u hehe. I read tons of reviews about the Biore sunscreen before buying it. Almost everyone agreed it was cheap and perfect for oily skin. I'm caught in 2 minds because I want a matte finish but at the same time I don't want to look too polished cause it ain't natural especially for a regular guy like myself to look like that. If it gets too powdery use a heavier moisturizer under it.
dmz_eleven
post Oct 3 2010, 10:18 PM

hi guys, i m not sure if this is the right place, but is there any product that can make face skin look/appear young?
jonny4
post Oct 3 2010, 10:50 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(dmz_eleven @ Oct 3 2010, 10:18 PM)
hi guys, i m not sure if this is the right place, but is there any product that can make face skin look/appear young?
depends on your age. If u r below 30 use a sunscreen to prevent premature aging. den at night u can use something like Olay Regenerist (serum or cream).

If u r over 30, u can try using retinoids to reduce fine lines. Avene Diacneal although touted as an acne cream does a really god job in getting rid of wrinkles. However use of retinoids will cause breakouts (in varying degrees) initially as the skin is renewed and the dirt from your pores rises to the surface. It will take a few months to see the result. No pain no gain haha.

Another option is using a vitamin c serum to stimulate the skin to produce more collagen. this will make the skin suppler and looking younger. only drawback is that vitamin c serum r very expensive...good ones can cost RM150 or more for 30ml.

Sunscreen is still the most important thing when it comes to anti aging. spending loads on cash on creams n serums is useless if the skin is not protected fr the sun in the daytime.
dmz_eleven
post Oct 4 2010, 08:52 PM

thx for the input. funny that i dont spend much outdoor, work in office till sunset but after 1 year of work i look 3-4 years older... perhaps stress? i think i will get the olay regenerist, googled it and looks pretty good
jonny4
post Oct 4 2010, 09:07 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(dmz_eleven @ Oct 4 2010, 08:52 PM)
thx for the input. funny that i dont spend much outdoor, work in office till sunset but after 1 year of work i look 3-4 years older... perhaps stress? i think i will get the olay regenerist, googled it and looks pretty good
Men punya skin tends to age drastically compared to women. Get the serum as it is lighter. There is a new one called the olay micro sculpting serum which is supposedly really good.
rockets
post Oct 5 2010, 04:24 PM

No Recoil
509 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Oct 4 2010, 09:07 PM)
Men punya skin tends to age drastically compared to women. Get the serum as it is lighter. There is a new one called the  olay micro sculpting serum which is supposedly really good.
the micro sculpting serum is not available in malaysia i think last i heard from my gf.
jonny4
post Oct 5 2010, 04:47 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Oct 5 2010, 04:24 PM)
the micro sculpting serum is not available in malaysia i think last i heard from my gf.
It's out already at the bigger Guardian and Watsons outlets. Retails for RM130 (50ml).
silverwave
post Oct 5 2010, 08:35 PM

4,082 posts

jonny4, care to share how you know so much about all this? biggrin.gif
jonny4
post Oct 5 2010, 10:31 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 5 2010, 08:35 PM)
jonny4, care to share how you know so much about all this? biggrin.gif
Blogs, forums and websites man hehe. usually the ones dedicated to women's skin care...they give the best reviews and honest opinions with pictures. Some eye candy also as some of them are hot tongue.gif

one of the best skin care blogs for men here

I also experiment a lot with products to see what works. But I don't do it totally blind la...I rely on those sources above for some info, tips and reviews.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Oct 5 2010, 10:33 PM
ftptwistedclown
post Oct 6 2010, 04:16 AM

242 posts

Hi, recommend me product for moderate to severe acne.

And where i can get them. Thanks. Currently using origins pore cleanser and mask.

But i think i need to be more comprehensive now.
jonny4
post Oct 6 2010, 08:25 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(ftptwistedclown @ Oct 6 2010, 04:16 AM)
Hi, recommend me product for moderate to severe acne.

And where i can get them. Thanks. Currently using origins pore cleanser and mask.

But i think i need to be more comprehensive now.
Avene Diacneal. It's a retinoid that is just as or more effective than Retin A but with less side effects. Not only gets rid of acne but the scars too at the same time. But it takes a few months or more to work and your acne will get worse before it gets better. Retails for RM70 (30ml) and is available at some Guardian, Watsons and Caring outlets (usually those in shopping malls). If u do decide to use Diacneal or any kind of retinoid, pls do research online on the proper way to apply, amount to apply and most important of all is the use of sunscreen.

114 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:26 PM