Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

jonny4
post Sep 9 2010, 01:39 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(ckh93 @ Sep 9 2010, 12:46 AM)
Hi guys, after reading some previous page of this thread, I decide to get some face care product.
I was thinking to buy a cleanser and moisturizer. For cleanser i think nivea face wash should suits me.But for moisturizer, any suggestion?

p/s: i was a student with limited budget( not so expensive, light product would do ) smile.gif
Try Simple Hydrating Light Moisturizer http://simpleskincare.my/hydrating-light-moisturiser.php

It's a very basic moisturizer. I'm not sure of the price but should be within your budget. U can get it at any pharmacy.
rockets
post Sep 9 2010, 03:50 PM

No Recoil
509 posts

hey guys, any recommendations for dark eye circles? preferably one used at night.

working in front of the computer too much lately flex.gif.
de.crystal
post Sep 9 2010, 07:05 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Sep 9 2010, 03:50 PM)
hey guys, any recommendations for dark eye circles? preferably one used at night.

working in front of the computer too much lately flex.gif.
i use the saloon one but am a really lz person bought a lot but nvr used at all!
zzzxtreme
post Sep 17 2010, 02:37 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

(not sure which section to post this topic)

any guys who have had skin problems, and also sensitive to many products out there,can recommend a COMPLETE men's skincare line (like sothys, thalgo, clinic, kose, etc.. etc..) ?

me have problems with blemishes, uneven skintone, dark puffy eyebags. Hope to find ONE skincare line (few products from same brand) that does all - protection, anti-aging, skintone (not whitening), eyes, blackheads, blemishes for sensitive skin.

thanks in advance

notworthy.gif
jind86
post Sep 17 2010, 04:25 PM

1,507 posts

Thread title "skincare for men?" by zzzxtreme merged..
SUSMNet
post Sep 17 2010, 11:23 PM

11,954 posts

use neutrogena
~Battousai~
post Sep 18 2010, 01:36 AM

4,477 posts

is the mentholathum OXY series any good ? at the moment im using their acne killing gel and also trying the free sample of face wash..
jonny4
post Sep 19 2010, 11:02 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Sep 17 2010, 02:37 PM)
(not sure which section to post this topic)

any guys who have had skin problems, and also sensitive to many products out there,can recommend a COMPLETE men's skincare line (like sothys, thalgo, clinic, kose, etc.. etc..) ?

me have problems with blemishes, uneven skintone, dark puffy eyebags. Hope to find ONE skincare line (few products from same brand) that does all - protection, anti-aging, skintone (not whitening), eyes, blackheads, blemishes for sensitive skin.

thanks in advance

notworthy.gif
I don't think the Holy Grail of skincare brands exists. U just got to read reviews, look at ingredients and what they do and experiment to see what works and what doesn't.

Added on September 19, 2010, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Sep 18 2010, 01:36 AM)
is the mentholathum OXY series any good ? at the moment im using their acne killing gel and also trying the free sample of face wash..
The OXY pimple medication with benzoyl peroxide should be good for light to moderate acne. But it really dires out the skin so after u apply the medication wait 10-15 mins n apply an oil free moisturizer. The face wash should be alright for oily skin but if u got drier skin then u got to watch out as its kinda harsh. Ingredients wise the face wash is real simple and doesn't really do much in controlling oil or treating pimples.

Added on September 19, 2010, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(abcdegf @ Sep 18 2010, 11:29 AM)
any of you guys ever heard of a brand called NIA24?
know where can I get it?
NIA24 is highly raved about on forums and blogs due to its high percentage of niacinamide in its products. I have not come across NIA24 over here but even if its available it's going to cost a bomb. U can try the Olay Regenerist line as a cheaper substitute for NIA24. Regenerist products also contain a considerable amount of niacinamide...of coz lower than NIA24.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Sep 19 2010, 11:10 PM
~Battousai~
post Sep 19 2010, 11:18 PM

4,477 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Sep 19 2010, 11:02 PM)

Added on September 19, 2010, 11:06 pm
The OXY pimple medication with benzoyl peroxide should be good for light to moderate acne. But it really dires out the skin so after u apply the medication wait 10-15 mins n apply an oil free moisturizer. The face wash should be alright for oily skin but if u got drier skin then u got to watch out as its kinda harsh. Ingredients wise the face wash is real simple and doesn't really do much in controlling oil or treating pimples.

so could u recommend me a face wash that does the above ?

its wash face then moisturiser right ?
xander
post Sep 19 2010, 11:30 PM

Finally
836 posts

just wondering.. had any1 tried using sk II on ur face huh
jieguoleh90
post Sep 20 2010, 09:13 AM

recently theres alot of pimple on my face..so i bought a NuTeen cleanser and acne away gel..after applying the acne gel..the pimple is gone but it leave a obvious red mark at there..any idea to make it gone?or i should continue applying the acne gel on the red mark at my face ..or should i change product?any recommend?i have oily face..im new to this..sry

This post has been edited by jieguoleh90: Sep 20 2010, 09:17 AM
jonny4
post Sep 20 2010, 10:33 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(jieguoleh90 @ Sep 20 2010, 09:13 AM)
recently theres alot of pimple on my face..so i bought a NuTeen cleanser and acne away gel..after applying the acne gel..the pimple is gone but it leave a obvious red mark at there..any idea to make it gone?or i should continue applying the acne gel on the red mark at my face ..or should i change product?any recommend?i have oily face..im new to this..sry
What is the active ingredient in the Acne Away gel ?

Minor pimple marks will fade away naturally but it takes a long time. Try using a stable vitamin c serum in the day and apply a good sunscreen on top. In the night use a retinol product. The combo of these 2 things will help to fade your acne scars gradually over a period of a few months.
jieguoleh90
post Sep 20 2010, 07:59 PM

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Sep 20 2010, 10:33 AM)
What is the active ingredient in the Acne Away gel ?

Minor pimple marks will fade away naturally but it takes a long time. Try using a stable vitamin c serum in the day and apply a good sunscreen on top. In the night use a retinol product. The combo of these 2 things will help to fade your acne scars gradually over a period of a few months.
ingredients : Delonized Water..Glycerin...Mineral oil...Sodium Acrylate..Sodium acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer...Isohexadecane...Polysorbate 80...Thanakha (Limonia Acidissima) Extract...Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Extract...Lythrum Salicarla Extract Prunella Vulgaris Leaf Extract...Oldenlandia Diffusa extract Licorice (Glycyrrhiza Glara) Extract...Biotin...Phenoxyethanol...Triclosan...Salicylic Acid...Vinegar...Allantoin...Fragrance...Triethanolamine...Methyparaben...Propylparaben...Menthol...Methylisothiazolinone..

Type this according to the ingredients at the acne gel box..sorry if it look confusing rclxub.gif
should i continue applying this product to my red mark spot and those new pimple tat keep coming out icon_question.gif
jonny4
post Sep 21 2010, 12:36 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Sep 19 2010, 11:18 PM)
so could u recommend me a face wash that does the above ?

its wash face then moisturiser right ?
Unfortunately face washes don't help much in controlling oil. In fact many of those face washes that promise to control oil instead are really harsh n dries out the face and as a result more oil is produced. I've tried loads of oil control foams, gels and washes over the years.

As for treating acne, the face wash is on the face for probably at most a minute and then it's washed off. They can put 100 premium ingredients and it do much good LOL. Concentrate on specific acne gels n creams to treat the pimples.

Better 4 u to look at oil control moisturizers or mattifying sunscreens to reduce oil/shine.

Added on September 22, 2010, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(abcdegf @ Sep 19 2010, 11:21 PM)
is niacinamide any good? any side effects? im currently using an AHA mouisturizer.
It's supposedly very beneficial to skin at certain amounts and even helps with acne. Some ppl on other blogs and forums consider it to be some kind of miracle for skin. I did use the Olay Regenerist Serum for a few months and did notice some improvement to my skin but I stopped using it because I couldn't take the fragrance in the serum. I don't think there are any particular side effects if correct concentration is used. But skin is subjective so always patch test first.

Make sure u use sunscreen if u r using an AHA product. AHA is a chemical exfoliator and makes the skin more receptive to sun damage.

Added on September 22, 2010, 4:23 pm
QUOTE(jieguoleh90 @ Sep 20 2010, 07:59 PM)
ingredients : Delonized Water..Glycerin...Mineral oil...Sodium Acrylate..Sodium acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer...Isohexadecane...Polysorbate 80...Thanakha (Limonia Acidissima) Extract...Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Extract...Lythrum Salicarla Extract Prunella Vulgaris Leaf Extract...Oldenlandia Diffusa extract Licorice (Glycyrrhiza Glara) Extract...Biotin...Phenoxyethanol...Triclosan...Salicylic Acid...Vinegar...Allantoin...Fragrance...Triethanolamine...Methyparaben...Propylparaben...Menthol...Methylisothiazolinone..

Type this according to the ingredients at the acne gel box..sorry if it look confusing rclxub.gif
should i continue applying this product to my red mark spot and those new pimple tat keep coming out icon_question.gif
Looks like a good combo of ingredients but the inclusion of mineral oil is strange. Mineral oil is known to clog pores n acne. It's 3rd on the ingredient list too which means there is quite a high concentration of mineral oil in the product. That probably explains why u getting new pimples. Other ingredients are natural but of unknown concentrations so they might or might not be of benefit to soothe/treat acne. Salicylic acid is good for treating acne n clogged pores but once again the concentration is unknown...i reckon it's probably 0.5%.

This post has been edited by jonny4: Sep 22 2010, 04:23 PM
BL!Tz^_^
post Sep 22 2010, 08:36 PM

202 posts

hi guys, anyone can recommend me a product which can help to reduce pore size?
i found that my pores are big, especially nose area, big pore and oily...
jonny4
post Sep 22 2010, 08:44 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Sep 22 2010, 08:36 PM)
hi guys, anyone can recommend me a product which can help to reduce pore size?
i found that my pores are big, especially nose area, big pore and oily...
Products that contain a lot of sillica powder and silicones can help reduce pore size but its only a temporary measure. There isn't much u can do to reduce the pore size permanently. I normally use Biore sunscreen/Shiseido Men Anti Shine Refresher to hide pores in the day. U can try buying those oil absorbing blotters (Gatsby). Once the excess oil is absorbed the pores will look less obvious n smaller.
BL!Tz^_^
post Sep 23 2010, 12:21 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Sep 22 2010, 08:44 PM)
Products that contain a lot of sillica powder and silicones can help reduce pore size but its only a temporary measure. There isn't much u can do to reduce the pore size permanently. I normally use Biore sunscreen/Shiseido Men Anti Shine Refresher to hide pores in the day. U can try buying those oil absorbing blotters (Gatsby). Once the excess oil is absorbed the pores will look less obvious n smaller.
hmm....
i used to tried nivea and loreal paris men oil control cleanser and moisturiser, mud mask, oil purifier product, all seems not effective to me... cry.gif
forehead and nose are most oily...i use gastby oil clear sheet too....
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 08:44 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(BL!Tz^_^ @ Sep 23 2010, 12:21 AM)
hmm....
i used to tried nivea and loreal paris men oil control cleanser and moisturiser, mud mask, oil purifier product, all seems not effective to me... cry.gif
forehead and nose are most oily...i use gastby oil clear sheet too....
Most of the men face products at pharmacies are quite crap tbh. Harsh ingredients and empty promises mostly.

I have spent hundreds of $$$ on oil control products and the best one I have used is Biore UV Perfect Face Milk SPF50 sunscreen. It controls oil n shine like no other. It's quite cheap too.
rekaito90
post Sep 23 2010, 12:13 PM

181 posts

I want to buang bulu roma from face?how? use Veet facial wax can meh?
jonny4
post Sep 23 2010, 12:45 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(rekaito90 @ Sep 23 2010, 12:13 PM)
I want to buang bulu roma from face?how? use Veet facial wax can meh?
Why don't u test n let us know..

114 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:21 PM