5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

DENON AVR Discussion Thread, Lets find more about DENON Brand

TSmikapoh
post Apr 30 2009, 10:52 PM

1,263 posts

IMHO, Denon is not "complicated" to operate. The manual makes it more complicated to read. It is straight forward if you have been using an old AVr before. Most settings are done by Audyssey that comes with a mic.

It is true Denon is a bit pricey compare to other brands but its strength is the excellent separation and dynamic presentation across all channels. It main weakness is the slightly lower output compare to Onkyo.

It is true the 3 series is considered Denon mid-range products. Price wise is also a huge gap. I am using HD-support AVR-1909 and have been amazed by its dynamic presentation compared to my old school Marantz AVR. Even listening to FM station is enjoyable........cheers.

TSmikapoh
post May 1 2009, 12:05 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Apr 30 2009, 11:29 PM)
I am glad that you like your AVR1909.  I'm very tempted to upgrade to those HD audio thingy, but so far not willing to pay for the high price of bluray movies.  Will sick to my HD mkv collection for now...350movies and counting.smile.gif

Htkaki..its time to consider the new Marantz amp now..hehehe
cheaper and just as good.
Me too.....very tempted to get my AVR to read those Magical words out of its large LCD panel at front. Thats why I say now hands get itchy to get the Tvix Dvico 6500 to stream the HD-Audio like what HTkaki is doing.....upgrade from WDTV. But at this moment, the 6500 is way too expensive. I am damn sure its price will dips sooner or later. Other than that, it is a joy to enjoy my WDTV feed to my Denon AVR-1909.

Wahlau, 350 hd movies! It is like a dream to me..... drool.gif How can you download so lightening fast?

Anyway, you have to start collecting those un-touched BD ripped with HD-Audio around 30gbs at least. When ready, just grab the Dvico couple with HD support AVR, this is what I called TrueHD movie experience with those countless sources in your video library................

TSmikapoh
post May 1 2009, 04:47 PM

1,263 posts

But HTkaki is getting 1:1 ripped. Those files are extremely space hungry. I think 5TB isnt enough to house your video library. Imagine you can only save around 30 full ripped ISO/m2ts file in 1TB HDD......scary.

TSmikapoh
post May 1 2009, 11:40 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 1 2009, 07:24 PM)
Bro mikapoh, it is less than 30 movies in 1TB since most of it exceed 40GB/movie. But for mkv in 1TB, it's easily exceed 110movies.

Now, I have my softcopy as well as hardcopy. But, I am lazy to pop in those BD in my PS3. Then again, I like to see those 'magical words' on my AVR.
HTkaki, you are poisoning me.......

WHAT ?! 1 file can exceeds 40BG shocking.gif shocking.gif

You must be joking with such a HUGE file. BTW, did you do back-up all your huge video library? What if one day one of your hard disk crash? Then again, backing those files are also HUGE effort sweat.gif

I might think twice before I get my hands on movies with those magical words.....hehe.

TSmikapoh
post May 2 2009, 09:51 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(kevloke @ May 2 2009, 05:27 PM)
Denon made in japan AVR-3808A at S$1899 3 days only at Singapore this weekend.
How come in M'sia never have this kind of sales?? vmad.gif

TSmikapoh
post May 5 2009, 08:41 PM

1,263 posts

Another webpage is HiFi For Sale in M'sia. Tonnes of 2nd hand equipments......

TSmikapoh
post May 11 2009, 09:13 PM

1,263 posts

Good to hear you like the Denon sound. I was actually a Yamaha potential buyer until changed my mind to Denon. I would say it is the right choice and I am a happy user of AVR-1909. One thing for sure, if you aint aiming for high output or driving hardcore speakers, its dynamic and sound separation will sure to thrill you.

TSmikapoh
post May 23 2009, 12:30 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ May 23 2009, 12:14 PM)
(1) remove the existing cable / connection bar that connects your top and bottom terminals on your speakers
(2) connect the top pair of the speakers' terminals to "Front A" on your avr.
(3) connect the lower pair of the speakers' terminals to "Surround Back" of your avr.
(4) now assign the "Surround Back" amplifier to the front speakers. Not sure how your menu looks like on the 3805. Basically, go to "Option Set Up" and then "Power Amp Assign". Select "Front A" so that the surround back amplifier will replicate the output of the front A.

Hope that helps.

Added on May 23, 2009, 12:17 pm

The new 4310 got.  brows.gif
What is your point in wanting 2 hdmi ouputs??

TSmikapoh
post Jun 4 2009, 11:34 PM

1,263 posts

Denon 1909 should be compared with the like of Yammy 663, Onkyo 606 & Marantz 5003. I do not know others but What HiFi reviewed Denon 1909 won over Onkyo 606..... *_*

TSmikapoh
post Jun 5 2009, 11:54 PM

1,263 posts

Bro, according to the manual, the following is the right sequence to where you should place the mic:-

4 6 5

2 1 3

Anyway, listening to music is not decent to crank up the bass. Most prefer direct mode to get the purest sound. But if you still insist to get bass for rock music especially, just gain a few db in the LFE until to your liking. Mind you when switching to movie, the bass maybe over-blown.

TSmikapoh
post Jun 6 2009, 10:51 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jun 6 2009, 12:31 AM)
oh i see, the manual is horrible, lol,

anyway i retune several times it detect my front as small weird, could it be my room too small?

as for bass, i m not looking for massive boomy feel, just tat abit more natural, now i feel like my sub is not kick in or running ,the crossover just dont seems right...

hmmmm......?
The Multi EQ mostly set front speakers as small. This is always a preferred one if you read many online famous audio magazine. Unless your main can produce frequency level as low as 30, it is always best to leave them as small. This gives the sound more head room. They preferred the sub to do the job.

TSmikapoh
post Jun 23 2009, 10:49 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(gigco04 @ Jun 23 2009, 04:54 PM)
Wassap everyone,

I wonder have you guy's stumble this blog?
http://soundfusionsb.blogspot.com/ it's in kuching i guess..

rgrds..

ps: nice thread n very 1337's.. bleh kopak ooo poket smile.gif
Oh yeah, it is from Kuching. Do you wanna come here for holiday and sapu kau kau?

If look for Denon or Marantz, look no further. Just make a trip down here. Yamaha or other brands......suggest don't come to Kuching, laugh.gif

TSmikapoh
post Jul 9 2009, 09:57 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Jul 9 2009, 11:46 AM)
Bro, he mention another one la... for new setup  tongue.gif

Bro Hwoarang, 1909 can set front speaker to Small or not after audessey set it to large... or i need to set all manually? my front not good la handling the low freq.. boomy  rclxub.gif
In 1909, you can tweak the front speakers to small. All other channels can be done individually. But normally it will set your front to small. Then, you can also change the frequency cut-off for front, center and rear channels. I set my front to small even they have woofer and frequency cut-off at 80hz. I feel this open up the dynamic effect and better control bass as my sub is able to handle LFE well....

TSmikapoh
post Jul 10 2009, 11:43 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 9 2009, 10:10 PM)
ya... get the sub to do more LFE work

btw mikapoh u using velodie ? SVS ar?
Ha, I am not in the elite club yet. Hopefully in future. I am using Mordaunt Short Genie Sub. I set LFE cut-off at 120hz and I am so used to the sound. But what I like better is the dynamic & openness of the 1909. Denon is a bit pricey but you get what u paid for... tongue.gif

TSmikapoh
post Jul 23 2009, 09:37 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(DrgnT @ Jul 23 2009, 08:39 AM)
denon thread so quite...

is it because everybody is enjoying their denon???
just become part of denon family by purchasing the 1909.

bought it with higher price, but enjoying the sound...
Welcome to join Denon and be part of the family.... rclxms.gif

One thing for sure, you will never be disappointed by its dynamic sound presentation. Enjoy bro.

TSmikapoh
post Jul 26 2009, 12:08 AM

1,263 posts

Yes, like many people say, Marantz is very musical and Denon is suitable for watching movies. This has become the general rule of thumb. But in reality, the difference between the 2 gladiators are just minimal (if comparing the same range). unless you are choosing their higher-end models, you should be more concerned about their outlook. So, choose the design that appeals you the most....

TSmikapoh
post Aug 6 2009, 09:39 PM

1,263 posts

Glad to know so many Denon owners nowadays. I guess once Denon come out with new production line, the slightly older models become more affordable and hence, ppl are now starting to SAPU Denon whenever, wherever & whichever they can. rclxms.gif

I have tested its 3808A and one thing for sure, the sound is beautifully presented especially watching concerts. For movies, it is even more dynamic than my 1909.... cry.gif
But if getting this babe, you will also need to upgrade your whole speakers system to match its standard.......phew, this is the consolation for me to stick to my reliable 1909. Just that, I get a little poisoned by experiencing 3808A. tongue.gif

Added on August 6, 2009, 9:42 pmDenon newer model, 1910 seems to sell like hot cake in Kuching here. I guess other models are getting a back seat at the moment.

Added on August 6, 2009, 9:44 pmI guess other BRANDS (correction) are getting a back seat at the moment.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Aug 6 2009, 09:44 PM
TSmikapoh
post Aug 7 2009, 11:24 PM

1,263 posts

Denon 1910 is selling in the region of RM2.6k - RM2.8k......

Denon 3808A is more or less like RM6k+ (very addictive)...Haha.

TSmikapoh
post Aug 11 2009, 10:20 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Aug 10 2009, 10:14 PM)
That one is mosquito bite...Real poison is this one...

This babe is drop dead gorgeous and sexy from every angle you look at it. I am pretty sure the sound is awesome too. The price should be eye-catcher ...around RM8k if not mistaken. At the meantime, just appreciate my 1909............ rolleyes.gif

TSmikapoh
post Aug 13 2009, 12:01 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(cloud4822 @ Aug 12 2009, 12:17 AM)
Maybe some misunderstand la... Not clear of my explaination!!
Whole Q. Acoustic package included Denon 1909 = RM6800
So, you recommend Audica's ??? I've never heard about it b4!
Better than QA??
Just small room size (9x8)sqft, Q Acoustic enough kot??
My budget around RM6K

Yea.. I will become the Denon member soon..

Many people grab for 1909.........
I just go for either 1 la.....
If you want a decent AVR which can support True Audio, Denon 1909 is the answer. Listen to its sound presentation and you sure will immediately fall in love with it. That's why it is selling like a hot cake now! tongue.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0943sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:15 AM