5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

DENON AVR Discussion Thread, Lets find more about DENON Brand

TSmikapoh
post Sep 12 2009, 12:27 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Sep 12 2009, 12:04 AM)
After went thru few shops (desa,a&l and cmy) and demo yammy,onky and denon, I'd decided to go with denon.Yammy 1900 also good but want to change taste a bit with diff. look and sound an of course HD things.
Went to audition for 2310  at cmy and almost made up my mind on that model (4.2K+free radio+free installation) but decided to give one last shot at 2809 by calling Perfect HiFi at IOI mall and they confirmed got stock with black color. So today just go and grab it. Also consider not a downgrade with yammy 1600 ( 115w vs 120w on yammy).
Still in the box. Is it diff. to set up denon avr?
WOW, the power of Sky Dragon has pulled a yammy owner to change and come into the dark side...... rclxm9.gif Congrat.

Denon 2310 is in fact next year model. Can you see last 2 numeric of "2310". Denon 2809 is year 2009 model, 3808 is year 2008 model.................

Certainly not a downgrade from yammy 1600.........Hear it and you will feel its dynamic sound. I am also a hardcore yammy fan last time but no regret of not getting it and finally owned Denon at last. Still loving its details presentation. Of coz, there is some difference in setting up. We use Audyssey Multi EQ here compare to YPAO in yammy. But, I am only use it for setting up and fine tuning. I feel it sounds better with the Audyssey turn off during movie watching. On the other hand, late nite watching might be a bonus to you......

Enjoy & Cheers.

TSmikapoh
post Sep 12 2009, 12:46 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Sep 12 2009, 08:04 AM)
enjoy ur 2809 smile.gif bet u will love the surround steering like i do smile.gif sky dragon rokzz biggrin.gif
YEAH, I bet he will loves the Denon's good separation across all channels. The surrounds will pound with tonnes of details. According to a local hifi shop owner, a customers came to audition avr of Onkyo, Marantz & Denon, they test them straight out of their boxes without fine tuning for 3 hours! Finally the customers decided to grab the Denon due to its dynamic and yet details presentation especially the surround effect. The Onkyo sounded complex, and Marantz is safer....etc

Added on September 12, 2009, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 12 2009, 09:24 AM)
This thread has overtook Marantz by popularity. Soon gonna pwn Yamaha thread. nod.gif

More and more people has good taste nowadays. biggrin.gif
Slowly but surely the Dark Side II is heading that direction........pounding Yammy and then......Onk................. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Sep 12 2009, 12:49 PM
TSmikapoh
post Sep 12 2009, 05:31 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Sep 12 2009, 04:46 PM)
good things no need publicity one ma biggrin.gif
Spot On. icon_rolleyes.gif

TSmikapoh
post Sep 13 2009, 09:57 AM

1,263 posts

Wow, another black beauty is coming.............

Expected sooner a deadly anthrax will strike in this thread and giving no rooms for peasant like us to breathe. sweat.gif

ar188, what is your contingency plan to counter react to the bombing of 4310, one after another.....just drool can;t help or thinking of upgrade together lar brows.gif Get someone to order in batches!!!!

TSmikapoh
post Sep 13 2009, 01:26 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 13 2009, 12:07 PM)
I'll buy whichever got good deal..

anyway I wonder 1610 how much locally? dun say reaching to 2k..  biggrin.gif
I think should be more than RM2k easily after katam's import tax. You see the Denon DHT-390 5.1 HT system with only basic 5.1 DTS decoding already selling like RM2.3k and dun think this model can be cheaper than its predecessor!

TSmikapoh
post Sep 13 2009, 01:29 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 13 2009, 01:26 PM)
I think should be more than RM2k easily after katam's import tax. You see the Denon DHT-390 5.1 HT system with only basic 5.1 DTS decoding already selling like RM2.3k and dun think this model can be cheaper than its predecessor!
SORRY for mis-understanding. DHT-390 is more like HTiB incl speakers. I just recall that Denon 1610 which can support TrueHD is selling something like RM1.8k. Should be around that region. Remember this is TrueHD support Receiver but still below RM2k.

TSmikapoh
post Sep 16 2009, 06:51 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 16 2009, 11:54 AM)
It won't be for long, bro. Only another 7 days
HTkaki, that will be over the Raya festival. Better get it and play it during the long weekends, and can invite some more Malay friends come over to do demos. Sure they will get poison by this black beauty sound..... rclxms.gif

Added on September 16, 2009, 6:52 pmThen this Sky Dragon club will soon become multi-racial rclxm9.gif You know 1 M'sia Concept.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Sep 16 2009, 06:52 PM
TSmikapoh
post Sep 19 2009, 08:07 AM

1,263 posts

Welcome to the Sky Dragon Club......... rclxms.gif

But, try to give this babe a little space to breathe. I think the ventilation is not doing anything good to your 1909 tongue.gif

TSmikapoh
post Sep 19 2009, 05:35 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(cloud4822 @ Sep 19 2009, 02:46 PM)
[attachmentid=1206218]

To all seniors,

Are these surround speakers's height appropriate?? Bcos I feel that the surround sound are not strong enough!
Seems like I still have to rearrange my speakers & my amp location again!
Sorry for the poor knowledge of HT! tongue.gif
If you do not wish to drill another pair of holes to relocate your surround, I think it is still ok because Audyssey MultiEQ of your 1909 will tune it for you. Suggest you run the auto set-up in all 6 positions and mutliEQ will fine tune your rear position. If you still unsatisfied with the surround effect, you can manually over-write in your 1909. Auto setting is just a guideline and I always tweak a little to my likings.

TSmikapoh
post Sep 19 2009, 05:48 PM

1,263 posts

My wife and kids are back hometown for couple of days. Therefore, movies time all the way..........from morning till night rclxms.gif

Just crank up the volume, relax and lean back for the surround movies...................pity my Denon being work OT while I am on holiday! blush.gif

TSmikapoh
post Sep 21 2009, 06:24 PM

1,263 posts

Wah, Sony Avr pop-out in Sky Dragon thread? Guys, deserve any comments? tongue.gif

TSmikapoh
post Sep 22 2009, 10:44 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Sep 22 2009, 10:34 PM)
tell us how good is the audisi in sky dragon blood biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

btw make sure it is darnn quiet when u run ur audisi smile.gif
HTkaki, make sure too to turn the Audyssey off when watching movies!

But I would like to hear from you with Multi EQ On & Off and tell me which one is better sounding. I find with it turned off, the sound is more open up and natural. Also bass is not so boomy........

TSmikapoh
post Sep 24 2009, 09:54 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(pillowman @ Sep 24 2009, 02:09 PM)
have been following this thread for a while now...but i found the discussion is mostly on high end 4310 and 4810 models...

i am considering to get a denon amp too...was advised to get 1610 due to tight budget. but would like to get sifus advice on whether to top up for 1910, or 1610 for 5.1 movie viewing is sufficient.

=D
Budget is the most important issue in choosing denon model. If your ur moo is below RM3k, get 1910. Below RM2k then 1610 is suitable. For 5.1 & trueHD support, both are more than sufficient to meet your needs. You cant go wrong choosing either one coz they have "Sky Dragon" ingredients......

But i m afraid 1610 cant go for 7.1 set-up!

TSmikapoh
post Sep 24 2009, 10:19 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 24 2009, 10:00 PM)
if no budget then no need sky dragon lor.. features more important than brand.. if budget is not there.. then look at equivalent other japan brands lor... IMHO
Hahaha............no budget? Sure got if not, how to play HT. Closed 1 eye and grab this Sky Dragon and u cant go wrong in the longer term!

If choose other Jap brand, more or less the same. Worse, choose substitute products, ie HTiB. Full features, plug and play.

TSmikapoh
post Sep 27 2009, 11:09 PM

1,263 posts

Do you all think it is better to leave the receiver ON few hours to warm-up like hifi amp, before seriously get it to pump up for the movie?

I leave it on standby and will only ON if I wanna do watch movie.

TSmikapoh
post Sep 28 2009, 11:23 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Sep 28 2009, 09:02 PM)
aww why dont get 1910 or hunt for 1909? for tat price u can get liao leh... i got my 1909 at $1899 only during offer, kat DESA lowyat, after tat was 1.9 on ta dot. last week i still saw one there..

and yes audyssey works nicely for me, helps alot, at first i dunno how sweet it is.
after while , its a must On feature hahaa, i put on on Flat and only EQ mode only for digital inputs, for music in stereo i put pure,
Bro, at first Audyssey also work wonder for me but after turning it off makes the sound more open up and natural so to speak. nod.gif

Listen with it turned off, you will greatly appreciate the true dynamic of Denon sound. I also find LFE is over-rated with it ON too.........

Give it a try first & let me know yeah?!

TSmikapoh
post Nov 4 2009, 10:42 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Nov 4 2009, 09:59 PM)
the prices of denon's XX10 range is fantastic high..
I think it is better to get 2009 model, XX09. SHould be identical sound.

TSmikapoh
post Nov 5 2009, 08:40 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 5 2009, 06:23 PM)
Ei taukeh dun spread marantz poison in Denon thread tongue.gif
You are right about this issue. P/s be reminded this is DENON thread icon_idea.gif

TSmikapoh
post Nov 6 2009, 11:08 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 6 2009, 09:58 PM)
It has its own Emo-Q™ automatic multi-channel room correction and loudspeaker setup. Calibrated measurement microphone included.

Probably it won't be as effective as Audyysey MultEQ XT. I guess it sld be similiar to MCACC and YPAO.
HTkaki is spreading the Sky Dragon's poison slowly but surely........ icon_idea.gif

Are you still using the Multi-EQ on when watching movies? Have you tried to leave it off and see how your 4308 perform?

TSmikapoh
post Jan 18 2010, 06:55 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(radovantz @ Jan 18 2010, 03:58 PM)
Denon AVR1910 has no Bass & Treble adjustment.
So we don't have to check our setup every time to make sure Bass & Treble always set at "zero"

Added on January 18, 2010, 4:36 pmI think there is high probability that most forumers in this thread are Denon users.

So, why Denon?
I think there are bass & treble control in Denon AVR1910. Try go into the main setting menu, browse inside you can find adjustment in digital form where you can boost the bass & treble.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0539sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:02 PM