DENON AVR Discussion Thread, Lets find more about DENON Brand

TSmikapoh
post Dec 23 2008, 02:24 PM, updated 16y ago

1,263 posts

DENON AVR-1909 IN COMPARISON TO 2309:-

Due to some curiousity from some forumers, I have extracted below post from AVForums & hope it helps,

Q. I noticed that the AVR 2309ci/889 is only a couple hundred more. Is it worth it to step up to the higher model?

A. The primary benefit of the 2309/889 vs the 1909/789 is the addition of the fourth HDMI input.

Both 1909/789 and 2309/889 have identical audio decoding capability, identical video processing capability, identical multizone functionality, and identical Audyssey feature sets.

This is a list of features you gain stepping up from 1909/789 to 2309/889:

1. 2 lbs heavier, and slightly more power (100Wx7 instead of 90Wx7)
2. A fourth rear HDMI input
3. A fourth rear S-video input
4. S-video and optical audio inputs on front auxilliary input
5. Dedicated phono input with pre-amp stage
6. Component video bandwidth is rated at 100MHz (up from 60MHz on 1909/789)
7. Slightly better DAC
8. Detachable power cord
9. RS232 and 12V Trigger ports (2309ci only)

Only you can decide if these features are "worth it", please do not ask

Q: I’m afraid to buy a Yamaha because it clips the HDMI video signal, and I’m afraid to buy a Harman Kardon because of all the problems with the PS3. Please tell me the Denon works?

A: Denon seems to get HDMI implementation correct.

At this point, there are no known bugs at all with the 1909/789 and the PS3. Enjoy!

The Denon 1909/789 will also correctly pass BTB/WTW signals over HDMI (no video clipping), and test patterns have confirmed that it does not touch digital video while passing it through.

The only thing generally wrong with Denons is the sucky manual!

Q. Does the AVR 1909/789 screw up the video at all?

A. Not that we know of. As noted above, all Denon AVR’s correctly pass BTB/WTW.

The 1909/789 will not do ANY processing to HDMI video. The only thing it will do is pass the video through. There is NO processing and NO degrading/clipping of HDMI video at all.

The only video processing available is analog-to-digital transcoding and scaling. The analog>digital transcode may soften the picture slightly, although you probably will never notice it. If you leave all the video settings at the defaults, the Denon will take any analog signal you input and output it via HDMI at the highest resolution setting your TV accepts.

The Faroudja scaler in the Denon does a good job in general with standard definition material (as it was specifically designed for 480i deinterlacing in progressive DVD players), but it is no great shakes in terms of scaling and HD processing (especially 1080i deinterlacing).

However, it may still be better than the video processing in your TV. You will have to test this out yourself and see which does a better job.

If you would like to disable the video processing on an analog source, set “i/p Scaler” to OFF under MENU > INPUT SETUP > VIDEO. When the scaler is set to OFF, it will just pass through analog signals to the HDMI output at the same resolution they came in, with no processing or scaling.

Q: I'm afraid to buy an Onkyo because people say it runs so hot. Does the 1909/789 run hot?

A: The 1909/789 does not run very hot. AVS member Bugs has graciously tested this out for us, his results are pasted below:

Temperature

The 1909 is a relatively cool-running component. Installed in a 5.1 system, on an open shelf, with 8" of clearance on the sides and 5" of clearance on the top and back, the 1909 had a temperature rise of 26F -28F (14C - 15C) after running for 2 hours at a volume of -18dB.

For a comparison, an Onkyo TX-SR606 installed in the same system had a temperature rise of 50F - 52 F (28C - 29C) under the same conditions.

Anyone owned a DENON AVR currently? Which model do you think is BEST value for money?

Any potential buyer, please share your view.......

swine
post Dec 23 2008, 02:26 PM

157 posts

1st post to reply
overfloe
post Dec 23 2008, 02:30 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,211 posts

I would like to know the price of 1909 and 2309 (or other denon range) and where to get them.. been thinking to upgrade my pioneer VSX-812..
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 02:34 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Dec 23 2008, 02:30 PM)
I would like to know the price of 1909 and 2309 (or other denon range) and where to get them.. been thinking to upgrade my pioneer VSX-812..
2309 cos nearly 3k
CMY do have denon on the shelf tongue.gif
rthj
post Dec 23 2008, 02:37 PM

1,048 posts

if i remember correctly...3808 is about 6-7k and 4308 is around 11k....these are in msian ringgit.
overfloe
post Dec 23 2008, 02:38 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,211 posts

Rm3k? pengsan!

what about 1509 and 1709?
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 02:43 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Dec 23 2008, 02:38 PM)
Rm3k? pengsan!

what about 1509 and 1709?
Msia seldom bring in 1509/1709..so far never seen any..
the entry level i saw 1909 is almost 2k+
nadky
post Dec 23 2008, 02:44 PM

117 posts

2309 - rm3.4k
2809 - rm4.6k

Added on December 23, 2008, 2:45 pm1909 - RM2.6K

This post has been edited by nadky: Dec 23 2008, 02:45 PM
TSmikapoh
post Dec 23 2008, 03:52 PM

1,263 posts

Nadky,

Where do you get that prices from.....? Seems very attractive huh?

Avr 1509/1709, I think you have to ask Junwei.......maybe he does carry these models.

If you would like to get a loseless audio DTS-Master, Video upscaling etc features, you have to buy at least avr-1909 onwards. Avr-1709 does not decode HD-Audio, only offer 7.1 DTS channels.

Added on December 23, 2008, 4:03 pmI would like to know are there any other brands owners switch that have or going to switch to Denon??

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Dec 23 2008, 04:03 PM
rthj
post Dec 23 2008, 04:05 PM

1,048 posts

Denon was one of the last 3 models I was considering before making the last decision.....it was a 3-way fight btwn Onkyo-Denon-Marantz.....think you can guess which won.
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 04:28 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Dec 23 2008, 03:52 PM)
Nadky,

Where do you get that prices from.....? Seems very attractive huh?

Avr 1509/1709, I think you have to ask Junwei.......maybe he does carry these models.

If you would like to get a loseless audio DTS-Master, Video upscaling etc features, you have to buy at least avr-1909 onwards. Avr-1709 does not decode HD-Audio, only offer 7.1  DTS channels.

Added on December 23, 2008, 4:03 pmI would like to know are there any other brands owners switch that have or going to switch to Denon??
Bro nadky is going to get his 2309 soon..
surely he will bring this thread alive tongue.gif

Added on December 23, 2008, 4:36 pm
QUOTE(rthj @ Dec 23 2008, 04:05 PM)
Denon was one of the last 3 models I was considering before making the last decision.....it was a 3-way fight btwn Onkyo-Denon-Marantz.....think you can guess which won.
denon is my next target IF the price is reasonable.. tongue.gif
it just got a bit part from marantz & onkyo..to make it stand in between them..
and i think it is the only AVR still made in Japan, marantz from china, onkyo from Msia..
so thier reputation for quality is certainly there.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by swine: Dec 23 2008, 04:36 PM
TSmikapoh
post Dec 23 2008, 04:54 PM

1,263 posts

I nearly or in fact paid a "deposit" to order a Yamaha 663, until out of nowhere, this person introduced me Denon. I have known this brand before but not really bother to see it not to mention test it.

Now that I owned Avr-1909 and is very pleased with its all-round movie presentation. I must say its strength lies on its all channels sound separation whereby front, centre & rear are clearly feeded from the amp. The dynamic effects generated from the surround is second to none. These strengths are partly due to its "softer" approach to sound being amplified. Unlike some other brands which produce warmer & omph sound.

The LCD display at front panel is LARGE compare to its rivals. I think Onkyo is the worst. It will reads DTS SURROUND in BIG font at the panel or DOLBY DIGITAL, DTS-MASTER etc... when difference sources are detected. The smaller 7.1 speakers boxes signal will also lit telling you how many speakers are in active.......for different listening.

Even switch to Astro FM radio, you can even sense its dynamic sound. Test it and you know what I mean.

The cons are many features are hiding no thanks to its unfriendly manual. Eg, for manually ajusting the speaker levels after running auto set-up, I have to re-read the manual few times. The steps are not in sequence. The volumme of 90W per channel might not be sufficient for very large room, I guess. There are also no pre-amp out to add more power in the future. However, to me I dont listen even at reference level. I even have to run Audyssey EQ at nite and I must say it spice-up all the speakers at lower volume like -28db and above. Just love the babe................cheers.

rthj
post Dec 23 2008, 05:10 PM

1,048 posts

the whole denon range are made in Japan? the 3808 i saw...think it is not japanese made.

and onkyo 905 i saw was made in japan as well.

swine
post Dec 23 2008, 05:26 PM

157 posts

i tried the 2309 b4 finally get my hands on 805..
was surprise this entry level 2309 beat my 805 in terms of dynamic on the same set of speaker use for audition..
the sound separation is far better than 805, and it is very good for gaming if u plug in for PS3..
entry level amp made from japan hard to believe huh..
and not to mention i think denon have a better looking avr, onkyo worst.. cool2.gif

i tested the 2809 with AL24 (deeply impressed and would like to get it ASAP) drool.gif
but the price is really shakehead.gif
i cant resist the package offer by 805, and i cant persuade myself to get an entry level 2309 at that price..
so i end up in Onkyos
TSmikapoh
post Dec 23 2008, 05:44 PM

1,263 posts

Hey, 2309 is not entry level. It should rates as middle range....

Maybe some Denon distributor would like to clarify on this issue.

htkaki
post Dec 23 2008, 10:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If you compare Denon price with Singapore, I bet you will ahve cardiac arrest instantly.

I owned a Denon before; AVR-2802. At first, thought of upgrading to AVR-2808. Checked the price with WKH, nearly fell off the seat. RM4.8K (at that time) Bloody expensive. In Singapore, it is more than a grand cheaper after the bloody high forex rate. That's sort of daylight robbery. For RM.48K, you might be able to get AVR-3808 from down south. Siao.

Finally, have to settle for Yamaha RX-V1800 as it is more reasonably price.
megatron007
post Dec 23 2008, 11:02 PM

4,000 posts

u gonna to miss denon ? tongue.gif no? biggrin.gif

mpyw
post Dec 23 2008, 11:12 PM

3,603 posts

I thought hiwaylaser listed the 3808 for RM5.4k only?
longmile9
post Dec 23 2008, 11:13 PM

41 posts

I bought Denon AVR-2308 just 6 months ago for RM3.2K and now they came out with 2309 with better spec with around same price... Crap...

While i don't have any problems with the Denon, i do agree that Denon's price in Malaysia is really really over-prized.

The only saving grace is that the 2308 is "Made in Japan", if that supposedly means better quality.

I'll probably choose another brand if i ever upgrade or buy another AVR. Unless, i can buy from Singapore, throw away the box and bring it back in the car boot. Anyone has any problem/experience with Kastam?

This post has been edited by longmile9: Dec 23 2008, 11:16 PM
junwei
post Dec 23 2008, 11:14 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Dec 23 2008, 02:37 PM)
if i remember correctly...3808 is about 6-7k and 4308 is around 11k....these are in msian ringgit.
For 3808 ...WKH is selling too expensive... I can give you guys less than 5.8K ..

I do have 1509, 1709, 1909, 2309 in stock ... But 1509, 1909, 2309 all sold out ...
Waiting for my next shipment which is supposed to arrive end of Dec ...around 27Dec ....

2309 is consider as mid-range n it's made in Japan ...

I am using 2309 and i like it after few weeks ...Not quite used to the sound at first but I really like the Audessey because I usually watch movies at night (after 10pm) ...

By the way .... new product is coming .. Media box with Full HD and DTS-HD function are coming soon ...expecting 70 Bluray Titles in two 3TB drives ...Price around 3-4K ...

I will probably carry some Onkyo next year .. waiting for the best price from my distributor ...but my main products are still Denon & Marantz & Mordaunt Short & Proac.

111 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1062sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:21 AM