Super Noobs Help! [Thread V3], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

xelnamikaze
post Dec 18 2008, 11:49 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Dec 19 2008, 12:48 AM)
Question: Are bad clusters on a new hard drive something to worry about?
Answer:
Using CHKDSK to Fix Your Hard Drive Issues

Step 1 : Understand your problem. In a Windows-based file system, a cluster is a block of storage space that is not listed as free, but is not assigned to any file, either. In other words, the file system has marked the cluster to not be overwritten, but it doesn't know why. This does not necessarily indicate any problems with the hard drive itself. Usually, lost or bad clusters are the result of improper program terminations, like those due to power loss or shutting off a computer without closing the applications first.

Step 2 : Open a command prompt or DOS prompt. Depending on which version of Windows you are using, there are multiple ways to run the CHKDSK utility. The method that works across most versions is to run it via the command line.

Step 3 : Type "chkdsk /r" in your command prompt window. This tells the computer to run the CHKDSK utility and to repair any errors it finds. Your may need to reboot your computer to run the chkdsk utility.

Step 4 : Wait for the utility to finish. Unless you begin seeing errors on the screen right away, it is probably in your best interest to go do something else while your computer checks the drive. The process can take hours, so there is not need to sit and stare at the screen.

Step 5 : Reboot. After the utility has finished, reboot your system to start the operating system normally. Your lost clusters will be saved as files named with the convention: file####.chkThe data in such files is usually worthless. However, you may be able to analyze the files and recover some data if it is critical.

^^

This post has been edited by xelnamikaze: Dec 18 2008, 11:52 PM
lex
post Dec 19 2008, 01:24 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(coffeebreak @ Dec 17 2008, 06:26 PM)
ahhhh paiseh T_T i has no digi cam and mah phone camera cant seem to capture it clearly......

all i can do is provide the model~ SST-ST400, now trying to google for the specs....

EDIT: i found it~

here's da link

thanks so far for the help
Check and see if the PSU label is the same as the specifications here: SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - ST400 specifications wink.gif

QUOTE(coffeebreak @ Dec 17 2008, 06:26 PM)
so umm, what gc can this support?
9600GT and HD3870 .. icon_rolleyes.gif
Clavicus
post Dec 19 2008, 06:58 AM

765 posts

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Dec 18 2008, 11:49 PM)
Answer:
Using CHKDSK to Fix Your Hard Drive Issues

Step 1 : Understand your problem. In a Windows-based file system, a cluster is a block of storage space that is not listed as free, but is not assigned to any file, either. In other words, the file system has marked the cluster to not be overwritten, but it doesn't know why. This does not necessarily indicate any problems with the hard drive itself. Usually, lost or bad clusters are the result of improper program terminations, like those due to power loss or shutting off a computer without closing the applications first.

Step 2 : Open a command prompt or DOS prompt. Depending on which version of Windows you are using, there are multiple ways to run the CHKDSK utility. The method that works across most versions is to run it via the command line.

Step 3 : Type "chkdsk /r" in your command prompt window. This tells the computer to run the CHKDSK utility and to repair any errors it finds. Your may need to reboot your computer to run the chkdsk utility.

Step 4 : Wait for the utility to finish. Unless you begin seeing errors on the screen right away, it is probably in your best interest to go do something else while your computer checks the drive. The process can take hours, so there is not need to sit and stare at the screen.

Step 5 : Reboot. After the utility has finished, reboot your system to start the operating system normally. Your lost clusters will be saved as files named with the convention: file####.chkThe data in such files is usually worthless. However, you may be able to analyze the files and recover some data if it is critical.

^^
Actually, i was running CHKDSK when i got messages about bad clusters popping up during stage 4. Nevertheless, thanks for the detailed reply. Was actually kinda worried as i had my rig crash on me twice yesterday. Once was IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL with smth regarding nv4 and the second time its KERNEL_INPAGE_DATA_ERROR. Googled the errors and it pointed me towards either the RAM or the hard disk failing. I put software issues aside as problems occured the moment i changed my hard disk to the current one. Ran memtest for an hour or so, came up clean, so i decided it was the hard disk.

Should i just RMA the drive? It still under the 7-day 1-to-1 policy.
xelnamikaze
post Dec 19 2008, 11:58 AM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Dec 19 2008, 07:58 AM)
Actually, i was running CHKDSK when i got messages about bad clusters popping up during stage 4. Nevertheless, thanks for the detailed reply. Was actually kinda worried as i had my rig crash on me twice yesterday. Once was IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL with smth regarding nv4 and the second time its KERNEL_INPAGE_DATA_ERROR. Googled the errors and it pointed me towards either the RAM or the hard disk failing. I put software issues aside as problems occured the moment i changed my hard disk to the current one. Ran memtest for an hour or so, came up clean, so i decided it was the hard disk.

Should i just RMA the drive? It still under the 7-day 1-to-1 policy.
you should go and change your HDD using 1-to-1 with the place you bought it.
Clavicus
post Dec 19 2008, 05:02 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Dec 19 2008, 11:58 AM)
you should go and change your HDD using 1-to-1 with the place you bought it.
Indeed, i have done so today. Sent it to their tech department, even they said that the drive was problematic after 10 mins of checking. Praying hard that this one doesnt suffer the same fate. biggrin.gif Thanks alot for the advice.
ktek
post Dec 19 2008, 07:26 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

when you burn a blank 52X CD, you set write speed as 8X (example).
after complete, the disc only can read up to 8X speed?
xelnamikaze
post Dec 19 2008, 10:16 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 19 2008, 08:26 PM)
when you burn a blank 52X CD, you set write speed as 8X (example).
after complete, the disc only can read up to 8X speed?
nope.. burning and reading is totally different.
kueks
post Dec 20 2008, 12:24 AM

Playstation
6,437 posts

hello

how to see current rating of a power supply ??

minimum 400 watt ( 12v with current rating of 26 a )

means wat
lolx

my 500 w psu... i see the box... it says 12v peak current 18 a =.=

means not enough ???
lex
post Dec 20 2008, 05:55 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 20 2008, 12:24 AM)
how to see current rating of a power supply ??

minimum 400 watt ( 12v with current rating of 26 a )

means wat
Means the total current for the +12V rails must be 26A. For single +12V rail, the current rating must be 26A or higher. For dual rail +12V (you will see something like +12V1 +12V2), the total combined must be 26A or greater. wink.gif

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 20 2008, 12:24 AM)
my 500 w psu... i see the box... it says 12v peak current 18 a =.=

means not enough ???
How many +12V rails are there? Is it just a single one or two of them? It would be better if you can post a picture of the PSU label.. hmm.gif

kueks
post Dec 20 2008, 08:55 AM

Playstation
6,437 posts

okiee

j1h4dj4ck
post Dec 20 2008, 11:10 AM

51 posts

*Super ultra noob question*

I bought new hdd, what should i do after i plug in the SATA cable, power supply and turn on the computer

Thank you sifus v^_^v
hafiez
post Dec 20 2008, 12:34 PM

2,980 posts

format the HDD. then u can use it already.
lex
post Dec 20 2008, 02:49 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Dec 20 2008, 08:55 AM)
okiee
Yups, more than enough to meet requirements. wink.gif

tjwong
post Dec 20 2008, 04:51 PM

394 posts

another super noob question:
1. how to choose display card? like is that any card specific for gaming or illustrator/photoshop?

2. Does it matter with the display card brand? plz do recommend me.

3. what is display card DDR 2/3 and 128/256 bits

4. what can i get for RM 250+-
GymBoi
post Dec 20 2008, 11:17 PM

1,401 posts

Hi guys me again ... got 1 more super noob question .. really dun dare ask ... i posted below asking about specs ... but i don't see ppl recommending about SOUND CARD ... do SOUND CARD exist anymore ? lol .... the last time i buy com is like 6 7 years ago and that time got SOUND BLASTER PRO or something which is damn good 1 lol ... now no more sound card already ?
tjwong
post Dec 20 2008, 11:39 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 20 2008, 11:17 PM)
Hi guys me again ... got 1 more super noob question .. really dun dare ask ... i posted below asking about specs ... but i don't see ppl recommending about SOUND CARD ... do SOUND CARD exist anymore ? lol .... the last time i buy com is like 6 7 years ago and that time got SOUND BLASTER PRO or something which is damn good 1 lol ... now no more sound card already ?
yeah.. i can answer this !

you can ask over here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=SF&f=99
GymBoi
post Dec 20 2008, 11:46 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(tjwong @ Dec 20 2008, 11:39 PM)
yeah.. i can answer this ! 

you can ask over here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=SF&f=99
I think i'll be f-ed up down left right if i post there ... thnx for ur reply anyway smile.gif
ktek
post Dec 21 2008, 12:24 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(tjwong @ Dec 20 2008, 04:51 PM)
another super noob question:
1. how to choose display card? like is that any card specific for gaming or illustrator/photoshop?
2. Does it matter with the display card brand? plz do recommend me.
3. what is display card DDR 2/3 and 128/256 bits
4. what can i get for RM 250+-

1. display card to increase performance in games, YES.
in adobe illu /shop, NO. it need moar powderful CPU and RAMs.
3. the display memory "speed" and bandwidth. big number = better.

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 20 2008, 11:46 PM)
I think i'll be f-ed up down left right if i post there ... thnx for ur reply anyway smile.gif

haha, because long time ago mobo don't have soundcard built-in /inferior quality.
nowadays buying soundcards is more on personal taste /work.
in the market have Creative X-Fi, Audiotrak Prodigy, Asus Xonar, etc..
GymBoi
post Dec 21 2008, 12:53 AM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 21 2008, 12:24 AM)
haha, because long time ago mobo don't have soundcard built-in /inferior quality.
nowadays buying soundcards is more on personal taste /work.
in the market have Creative X-Fi, Audiotrak Prodigy, Asus Xonar, etc..
So nowadays the sound card is build in and it's good already ? That's why no1 buy sound card anymore ?
ktek
post Dec 21 2008, 01:18 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 21 2008, 12:53 AM)
So nowadays the sound card is build in and it's good already ? That's why no1 buy sound card anymore ?

when "buy soundcard" era, we want connect speaker & mic only.
modern mobos have 7.1 channels support & blah blah.. all kinds of functions & settings.
good enough for normal usage, quality wise is individual taste sleep.gif
buy good speaker > than soundcard (the "feel-able" improvement)

don't worry, now still got people buy /sell soundcard one laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ktek: Dec 21 2008, 01:22 AM

129 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:05 PM