Super Noobs Help! [Thread V3], Post Your ULTRA Simple Questions Here

ktek
post Dec 17 2008, 03:11 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(coffeebreak @ Dec 16 2008, 09:51 PM)
you mean to tell me with those i can use even the latest graphic card? =D
i heard intel works better with nvidia, that true? if so, nvidia >_<

yes you can use latest cards (your mobo has PCI-E 16x slot)
but for high-end cards you need 6/8PIN PCI-E power to feed them (depends on power supply)
false.
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Dec 17 2008, 01:02 AM)
Eh guys..
Does the Single Channel and Dual Channel noticable?
EG : 2x2GB VS 1x2GB,2x1GB..
If it is..does the affect quite alot?

Intel modern chipset has *magic* thumbup.gif
can run flexible dual channel @ different memory capacity.
ktek
post Dec 19 2008, 07:26 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

when you burn a blank 52X CD, you set write speed as 8X (example).
after complete, the disc only can read up to 8X speed?
ktek
post Dec 21 2008, 12:24 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(tjwong @ Dec 20 2008, 04:51 PM)
another super noob question:
1. how to choose display card? like is that any card specific for gaming or illustrator/photoshop?
2. Does it matter with the display card brand? plz do recommend me.
3. what is display card DDR 2/3 and 128/256 bits
4. what can i get for RM 250+-

1. display card to increase performance in games, YES.
in adobe illu /shop, NO. it need moar powderful CPU and RAMs.
3. the display memory "speed" and bandwidth. big number = better.

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 20 2008, 11:46 PM)
I think i'll be f-ed up down left right if i post there ... thnx for ur reply anyway smile.gif

haha, because long time ago mobo don't have soundcard built-in /inferior quality.
nowadays buying soundcards is more on personal taste /work.
in the market have Creative X-Fi, Audiotrak Prodigy, Asus Xonar, etc..
ktek
post Dec 21 2008, 01:18 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Dec 21 2008, 12:53 AM)
So nowadays the sound card is build in and it's good already ? That's why no1 buy sound card anymore ?

when "buy soundcard" era, we want connect speaker & mic only.
modern mobos have 7.1 channels support & blah blah.. all kinds of functions & settings.
good enough for normal usage, quality wise is individual taste sleep.gif
buy good speaker > than soundcard (the "feel-able" improvement)

don't worry, now still got people buy /sell soundcard one laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ktek: Dec 21 2008, 01:22 AM
ktek
post Dec 24 2008, 02:43 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(Human_lvl10 @ Dec 24 2008, 12:50 AM)
what is the different between PCI-e 16 and PCI-e 8?
will it affect SLI/CrossfireX performance if i slot 1 GPU in 16x and another in 8x?

bandwidth. the limit is actually depend on the chipset, not slots.
eg. using nForce-SLi chip, 8x+8x. nForce-SLI 32X chip, you can run 16x+16x.
(correct me if i'm wrong)
QUOTE(uzary @ Dec 24 2008, 02:25 AM)
ok got 1 question..hope it is noob enuff hehehe, im using asus mobo A8R-MVP, and it only support ddr@ddr1... my proc is amd 3800+ x2, so what mobo that support that proc should i change if i wan a ddr2 ram?

no, you will never find a s939 mobo support DDR2 because in AMD case, processor control RAMs not mobo.
and.. you won't feel much different using 38X2 with DDR2. believe it or not, go find a friend PC test it rolleyes.gif
if you want a little fast without spending a lot (i see you using new 96GT), learn to play with BIOS settings.
good luck wink.gif

This post has been edited by ktek: Dec 24 2008, 02:45 AM
ktek
post Dec 24 2008, 08:36 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Dec 24 2008, 08:18 PM)
oic.. sad.gif  sorry for u... btw in general, why do we flash bios? i mean is it a must to flash or just let it be in the original factory setting?

hard to explain.. more or less like why you run windows update & put service pack.
can be increase performance, fix bug /security hole, compatibility problem.
is it a must? not necessary if you don't need the fix.
the risk of failure is like James case, no boot sad.gif

BIOS (Basic Input /Output System) is "program" stored inside a "chip" of your mobo.
flash BIOS = put service pack, different from "changing factory setting" = play control panel.
new BIOS = more things to play in control panel icon_idea.gif
you can easily reset CMOS (the "chip") stored settings to default by pull out battery,
but you need special tool /program to "flash" BIOS version (either upgrade or downgrade).

This post has been edited by ktek: Dec 24 2008, 08:40 PM
ktek
post Dec 30 2008, 12:59 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(Agultiamat @ Dec 30 2008, 11:28 AM)
i dun know whether it full version or not. but b4 this i can use 3d mark 06 program on nvidia 9600gso but why i cant use 3d mark 06 after use 4850 gs although i oredi update my driver.
even for 3d mark 03 i cant use on my 4850 gs cry.gif why?help plssss rclxub.gif

3Dmark for new ATi-Radeon cards... as i remember need a patch /fix, right?
it was hot topic, about disable detecting the driver or something similar unsure.gif
ktek
post Dec 31 2008, 05:10 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

see hear

if you want compare others, here2
ktek
post Jan 1 2009, 08:05 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

i see many modern mobo have a CLEAR CMOS button around I/O ports there.
can i suka-suka klik it when running? what will happen?
ktek
post Jan 3 2009, 05:23 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jan 3 2009, 02:19 AM)
ive been told that placing the motherboard upside down like we always do with a BTX or invert-ATX casing, will cause the chipset to be overheated faster than when it is placed normally..is this statement true?

YES, for those "heatpipe cool-ed" chipsets mobo.
heatpipes cannot work properly when you put "terbalik" sleep.gif
ktek
post Jan 4 2009, 01:46 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(Agultiamat @ Jan 4 2009, 12:58 PM)
hello there...
sorry if i am in wrong section...
why i cannot run my 30 mark 06... before this that program ask me to update my dx... then after that still cannot run 3d mark 06.. just hang on the intro...why???my rig as my signature

patch your 3DMARK06 and 4850

QUOTE(keanoppy @ Jan 4 2009, 01:00 PM)
how to avoid bsod?

avoid using computer..
ktek
post Jan 5 2009, 10:39 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(Agultiamat @ Jan 5 2009, 01:30 AM)
thanks..
but how to patch 3d mark 06 and my 4850??

what version are you running now?
read then proceed download here 3DMark HotFix Feb '08
ATi Driver page here

This post has been edited by ktek: Jan 5 2009, 10:40 AM
ktek
post Jan 6 2009, 10:55 AM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(keanoppy @ Jan 6 2009, 04:30 AM)
may i ask,whats the difference between amd and intel?i heard before is that amd is cheaper yet hotter(temp)

which generation you are talking about? AMD was hot and Intel was hot.
even the "HOT OR NOT" is up to individual.

QUOTE(aii @ Jan 6 2009, 07:59 AM)
thanx
Added on January 6, 2009, 8:07 amouh btw,
is it worth it to buy a core i7 now?

buy when you need to use it.
time is money & money is time.
ktek
post Jan 8 2009, 06:40 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

which mouse has longest tail (USB cable)? i don't like extension.
i know RAZRs have 7 feet (2 metres). any longer mouse?
ktek
post Jan 9 2009, 07:31 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(cashboy @ Jan 9 2009, 05:01 PM)
hm.. about graphic card.. whats the bit about? some 128 bits some 256 bit, the more the better?

memory bandwidth for GPU to GDDRs communication.
ktek
post Jan 9 2009, 08:19 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(aii @ Jan 9 2009, 08:04 PM)
yes, i do need the power.
im wishing for more fps.
wink.gif

but you have to know that mobo don't contribute in FPS. okay, maybe a little. not significant AT ALL.
where? MCH & ICH that controlling memories and hard disk <--biggest bottleneck of all. slow turtle mad.gif
spend moar on good GFXs.

oh btw, you're gamer right? try TV game console (PS3, Wee, XBoX, etc..). save all your hassles to build a machine cool.gif
ktek
post Jan 9 2009, 09:35 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(aii @ Jan 9 2009, 08:33 PM)
i bought the graphic card,but still not the best soo far.
i think i might want to buy a mobo that can support sli.
soo i can buy another pair of my gc.
hmm.gif hurm, idk.im totally noob.  biggrin.gif
and what is MCH & ICH btw?
and how to increase disk data transfer rate??cos im now trying out the window 7 and my pc score went down from 5.1 to 3.0. icon_question.gif

MCH: Memory Controller Hub, inside northbridge of mobo, take care of CPUs and RAMs
eg. Intel P35, P45, X58 & etc.. big number is better
ICH: Input /Output Controller Hub, inside mobo southbridge, jaga input & output peripherals (mouse, keyboard sound, USB, HDD)
eg. ICH8, ICH9, ICH10 & etc.. big number is better

soo far Intel chipset mobo for LGA775 don't officially support SLi. nVidia lock it from driver.
Core i7 don't have this problem as X58 (LGA1366) do support SLi & CF. BUY BUY BUY rclxm9.gif

ktek
post Jan 9 2009, 09:54 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

yes, nVidia nForce chipset based mobo with dual PCI-E 16X slots can do SLi.
ktek
post Jan 9 2009, 10:36 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

use hjsplit to join back link
download the first and run.
ktek
post Jan 13 2009, 01:19 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(ghoster @ Jan 12 2009, 08:34 PM)
guys, is there anyway i can unlock my dvd rom region setting? coz i didnt know there was a limit how much time we can change the region setting...

5 times. sorry, no proper way to reset it.

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jan 13 2009, 03:33 AM)
will there be any significant drop in electric bill when i change my g.card from HD4850 to lower end, say HD3450?

not much i guess

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Jan 13 2009, 09:32 AM)
hi...ultra noob question here.
I have a mainboard with PCI-E with DDR ram, can I use a graphic card PCI-E but DDR2 memory of the graphic card?  notworthy.gif

yes, because GDDR communicates with GPU.
not processor or mobo.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0432sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:27 AM