The All-New Honda City 2009 Official Thread, (See page 1 for info)

foocy2001
post Jan 14 2009, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jan 14 2009, 02:00 PM)
Tint only side windows sounds weird. But some people complained of dizziness if the front windscreen is tinted with security tint.
You can tint the front and rear windscreens with security films but bear in mind that security films have less heat (IRR) rejection rates. Both windscreens are the largest surface areas for sunlight and heat to enter the vehicle, so temperature will be higher compared to solar films.

Ultimately, for economy and practicality, solar tint for front and rear windscreen and security film for all side windows. In the end, its up to your pocket and preference.
andyjyneo
post Jan 14 2009, 02:15 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

What about 1 layer of solar tint + another layer of security tint?
foocy2001
post Jan 14 2009, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jan 14 2009, 02:15 PM)
What about 1 layer of solar tint + another layer of security tint?
Wahhh....it'll be expensive! But cost issue aside, you will not pass JPJ VLT requirement. Solat tint has 70-plus VLT and Security tint has 50-plus VLT. You put both in it and it'll definitely for sure fail JPJ inspection. Not worth the trouble and saman bro.
devinz
post Jan 14 2009, 02:44 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(foocy2001 @ Jan 14 2009, 01:55 PM)
Think about it, if robber wants to break in, they want to do it easy and quick. Breaking windscreen (front and rear) and crawling into the car is not exactly 'smooth' and quick. Not impossible but unlikely. That's why you tint only the 4 side windows as break-in occurs mainly in these areas.
Actually main reason we cant tint security film on main windscreen is because, security film are thicker than conventional solar tint. If you noticed our windscreen is not flat, its more curvy and putting and thick film will cause distortion to the visibility and cause dizziness to drivers. Hence security film is only at the side window and not main glasses and it may cause distortion of image and led to possible untoward incident. rclxub.gif

Furthermore i think the glass at windscreen and rear screen are typically thicker thus stronger than windows.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by devinz: Jan 14 2009, 02:47 PM
goldfries
post Jan 14 2009, 02:46 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

can some active soul start off a V2? smile.gif
anson81
post Jan 14 2009, 02:49 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(foocy2001 @ Jan 14 2009, 02:12 PM)
You can tint the front and rear windscreens with security films but bear in mind that security films have less heat (IRR) rejection rates. Both windscreens are the largest surface areas for sunlight and heat to enter the vehicle, so temperature will be higher compared to solar films.

Ultimately, for economy and practicality, solar tint for front and rear windscreen and security film for all side windows. In the end, its up to your pocket and preference.
but i heard front mirror cannot do any tint at all... is that true?

devinz
post Jan 14 2009, 02:51 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(anson81 @ Jan 14 2009, 02:49 PM)
but i heard front mirror cannot do any tint at all... is that true?
You can but just normal solar tint. (2mil if not mistaken)
In fact, its the most important area to be tinted as it has the largest surface exposed to the sun and will transmit the heat to the car interior.
If you tint 4 windows only and not main windscreen and rear then forget about tinting as you are wasting your money. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by devinz: Jan 14 2009, 02:53 PM
bluesky87
post Jan 14 2009, 02:59 PM

965 posts

Just wanna ask all those solar tint and security tint does it consist any percentage or darkness?

Personally I would prefer to tint until as dark as JPJ can approve can anyone guide me on this please?
andyjyneo
post Jan 14 2009, 03:00 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(foocy2001 @ Jan 14 2009, 02:36 PM)
Wahhh....it'll be expensive! But cost issue aside, you will not pass JPJ VLT requirement. Solat tint has 70-plus VLT and Security tint has 50-plus VLT. You put both in it and it'll definitely for sure fail JPJ inspection. Not worth the trouble and saman bro.
True. Your point makes sense. I agree.
Anyway, AmuroRay recommended me to fix 2 layers. Let me enquire more first before giving further comments.
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 14 2009, 03:03 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

i saw new honda city today. look like gen 2 nia.
Mr Cola
post Jan 14 2009, 03:05 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 14 2009, 02:46 PM)
can some active soul start off a V2? smile.gif
WAH!! So fast V2 liao.. So someone volunteer to create V2 post? rclxms.gif
andyjyneo
post Jan 14 2009, 03:22 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(Mr Cola @ Jan 14 2009, 03:05 PM)
WAH!! So fast V2 liao.. So someone volunteer to create V2 post?  rclxms.gif
Haha, better leave it to City owners to create.
Count me out.
sharinganez
post Jan 14 2009, 03:55 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jan 14 2009, 03:03 PM)
i saw new honda city today. look like gen 2 nia.
ohmy.gif u hav such a bad taste
say city like gen2 onli
vmad.gif
andyjyneo
post Jan 14 2009, 03:56 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(sharinganez @ Jan 14 2009, 03:55 PM)
ohmy.gif  u hav such a bad taste
say city like gen2 onli
vmad.gif
My bro is damn funny. Haha, by the way, he owned a previous generation of City before.
He owns an Accord UC1 too.
elru
post Jan 14 2009, 03:59 PM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

lol i agree it does looks like gen2 with the short back. but at least city has enhanced its interior design by giving bigger boot and better looking exterior too.

oh btw, how is the rear view? is it too tall like gen2?

This post has been edited by elru: Jan 14 2009, 04:01 PM
zweimmk
post Jan 14 2009, 04:02 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jan 14 2009, 03:00 PM)
True. Your point makes sense. I agree.
Anyway, AmuroRay recommended me to fix 2 layers. Let me enquire more first before giving further comments.
I have 2 layers on my car. The default Solar & Security tint and vkool. JPJ hasn't bothered me yet.

One thing to note is there will be a little air bubble in the rear windshield (not really noticible) that will be present. It was pointed out to me by the tint shop people.
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 14 2009, 04:04 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(sharinganez @ Jan 14 2009, 03:55 PM)
ohmy.gif  u hav such a bad taste
say city like gen2 onli
vmad.gif
really ma, if not wat u wan me to say i mah say lor.
V12Kompressor
post Jan 14 2009, 04:07 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

tutop thread. time to move on to V2. sleep.gif
andyjyneo
post Jan 14 2009, 04:08 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 14 2009, 04:02 PM)
I have 2 layers on my car. The default Solar & Security tint and vkool. JPJ hasn't bothered me yet.

One thing to note is there will be a little air bubble in the rear windshield (not really noticible) that will be present. It was pointed out to me by the tint shop people.
I see. Hmm, very difficult to make decision.
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 14 2009, 04:08 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/906679

/closethread

129 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 >Top

0.0179sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:54 PM