129 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

The All-New Honda City 2009 Official Thread, (See page 1 for info)

babyk
post Dec 30 2008, 12:44 AM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

lol
for i-vtec engines, there's no VTEC engage like the K20A-R engine has
even the K20Z2 has a flat torque and does not have VTEC crossover

the city 1.5 i-vtec is only SOHC, so forget about the VTEC, you will never feel the VTEC engagement like B16A, B18C and the K20A-R
sysh
post Dec 30 2008, 12:47 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Dec 30 2008, 12:44 AM)
lol

the city 1.5 i-vtec is only SOHC, so forget about the VTEC, you will never feel the VTEC engagement like B16A, B18C and the K20A-R
Yea.. it was blissful when I drove the FD2R the other day. Redline it to the max..hehe! Scared the cats on the road.
Anyhow.. as the name says is.. it's a CITY. Suppose to be fuel economical and have a big boot to carry luggages and vege
teosw
post Dec 30 2008, 12:51 AM

15 posts

lol

Actually, this engine is similar to Civic 1.8 FD1. However, don't expect much on VTEC as this engine is design to be efficient for City Driving like Civic 1.8 and 2.0 as well as others.

Normally, the real VTEC that on Type R or SiR (EG or EK) is actually for Racing purposes. Which is not really good for daily driving. Imagine, you will only reach the peak power at high rpms which is something like you install a cabinet at your kitchen on the high ceiling which you hardly reach.

Anyway, the R-series i-VTEC engine is quite interesting as it behave differently. Is like a switch over on eco mode and power mode when you floor it.

------------------------------
All about cars and Big Boy Toys? edvinteo.com

This post has been edited by teosw: Dec 30 2008, 12:56 AM
photunecat
post Dec 30 2008, 12:52 AM

QUOTE(elru @ Dec 29 2008, 11:35 PM)
same same flex.gif im very satisfy with the car. although 90k to me is good deal compared to vios but surprisingly friends around me being skeptical about the expansive price tag than vios. i thought many would want to buy it, but it seems im the only one in my circle of friends...
biggrin.gif Yeahhhh u r not alone !!! coz all the buyer list at here will veri satisfy with this fierce City, i believe ur frens will jealous u when ur driving ur baby OTR ! icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif
elru
post Dec 30 2008, 12:59 AM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

QUOTE(photunecat @ Dec 30 2008, 12:52 AM)
biggrin.gif  Yeahhhh u r not alone  !!! coz all the buyer list at here will veri satisfy with this fierce City, i believe ur frens will jealous u when ur driving ur baby OTR ! icon_rolleyes.gif  rclxm9.gif
hahaha yeah! but i will first admire those who are getting their cars in coming 2 weeks time wink.gif hopefully can spot a few soon biggrin.gif
hackinz
post Dec 30 2008, 01:11 AM

135 posts

Really looking forward to drive the my City sometimes in mid-Jan. Going to mutilate my SA if he fail to keep his promise giving me my car by then.
sunnytkl
post Dec 30 2008, 02:21 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(icetea @ Dec 29 2008, 03:54 AM)
Just had a look @ it yesterday. Is it just me or the quality of the car ain't up to Honda standards (comparing against the older City)?

1) Interior door handles very plastic like. Pressing the power window switch gave the cheap like feeling (even a Proton Persona is better)
2) The gaps between the door handle plastic is not neat, pressing it down gave the squeaky plastic sound.
3) Closing the doors did not gave the vacuum sound, it clunks like a proton saga door.
4) The engine is annoyingly loud from the inside.
5) The body of the car, knocking it gave a Proton Saga sound.
Note: This is my rough personal review on the Honda City 2009 E-Spec with Modulo Kit. Priced at almost Rm 90k (even though it is assembled in Melaka, Malaysia), in my humble opinion, this car ain't worth for its new looks and quality. Hope some of my questions or review can be answered to be clarified. No bashing though, just want clarification on those review points. I am not a proton fan nor toyota etc. just want a quality for the priced car.
Ermm...... this is forum.... to be fair... it's a place for us to share and exchange our info.... and again... dun be bias.....
i believe.... many here had "bang" u back on ur points above.
i had test drive recently, something i can be sure that i dun agree with ur point #4. i dun feel the annoyingly engine sound when i was driving even it had reached 80km/h

Massa
post Dec 30 2008, 03:00 AM

Massaâ„¢
709 posts

I love the new steering. smile.gif
elru
post Dec 30 2008, 06:03 AM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

QUOTE(Massa @ Dec 30 2008, 03:00 AM)
I love the new steering. smile.gif
the previous steering design was one of the reason i didnt buy the previous city.
keii-kun
post Dec 30 2008, 08:52 AM

1,120 posts

lol

babyk,
while i agree that 1.5 i-vtec is a SOHC which we can never compare to B16A, there is a 'pull' but not as much as D15B/D16A/ZC
however, its i-VTEC is different compared to K20Z2 engine. It does have a crossover, but can't be felt much.

i'd suggest that u take a test drive just to confirm.

detail http://paultan.org/archives/2008/10/13/200...specifications/

The new L-Series SOHC i-VTEC engine in the 2009 Honda City is the same unit as found in the 2nd generation Honda Jazz. It produces 120 PS at 6,600rpm and 145Nm of torque at 4,800rpm, making it one of the most powerful 1.5 liter units today.

Unlike the SOHC VTEC unit in the previous Honda City VTEC which only switched between opening and closing 1 of 2 intake valves per cylinder, the new i-VTEC engine actually varies the valve timing and valve lift, though this is not a continuously variable system like in the K-Series i-VTEC, but instead switches over at pre-set RPM points.

Interestingly you can see a small dip in the torque curve at around 3,300 to 3,500rpm before it picks up again immediately, which is probably just about before the i-VTEC engine switches to a more aggressive cam profile.

Honda actually acknowledges this and claims the torque dip provides a smoother drive, whatever that means! The good news is this engine is compatible with RON92 fuel which should allow you to save on your fuel bills a little.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Dec 30 2008, 08:56 AM
usetheforceluke
post Dec 30 2008, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(elru @ Dec 29 2008, 11:35 PM)
cos $ka-ching$ got stuck cry.gif nvm la, maybe till tat time got diff offer or lower hire purchase rate...im so going to miss out the gov rebate...
its not the average 16" cos this one is optimized for best FC which explains the irregular tire size. perhaps lighter which is almost on par to the 15".
same same flex.gif im very satisfy with the car. although 90k to me is good deal compared to vios but surprisingly friends around me being skeptical about the expansive price tag than vios. i thought many would want to buy it, but it seems im the only one in my circle of friends...
hmm its very rare for ppl to rev their engine exceeding 5k rpm, unless those heavy footers like to drag from first gear. normally the average range of highly rev is about 3k to 4k. besides, its 5 gears transmission so it should have even smaller gear ratio between gears rite? goreng...correct me if im wrong! laugh.gif
hmm according to my SA, HM prefer to keep the original styling of the optimus prime grille which is why they didnt bring in the modulo grille. its something like an identity or image to the All-New City.
I do like the city grille design...like it a lot actually. but it would be even better if we have a choice of chrome grille version for the Polish metal body for better contrast...what do you all think?
ccdin1
post Dec 30 2008, 09:50 AM

19 posts

The waiting window period for car delivery is killing me!!!!
usetheforceluke
post Dec 30 2008, 09:57 AM

[quote=ccdin1,Dec 29 2008, 04:36 PM]
Black = Darth Vader
Blue = Optimus Prime
Gold = Bumble Bee ?
PMM = Megatron/ Ironhide?
Silver = can't think of any at the moment...

silver= silver surfer
sysh
post Dec 30 2008, 09:59 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(teosw @ Dec 30 2008, 12:51 AM)
Actually, this engine is similar to Civic 1.8 FD1. However, don't expect much on VTEC as this engine is design to be efficient for City Driving like Civic 1.8 and 2.0 as well as others.

Anyway, the R-series i-VTEC engine is quite interesting as it behave differently. Is like a switch over on eco mode and power mode when you floor it.
Yup. The L15A engine was after all designed for city driving which just in turn means good low-mid range torque.
Hmm... torque curve dip around 3,300 - 3,500 rpm..so i reckon the i-Vtec kicks in somewhere around that range too..

Added on December 30, 2008, 10:01 am
QUOTE(usetheforceluke @ Dec 30 2008, 09:47 AM)
I do like the city grille design...like it a lot actually. but it would be even better if we have a choice of chrome grille version for the Polish metal body for better contrast...what do you all think?
Yea.. the Optimus grille actually looks nicer in real life than in pictures. I don't think chrome would look good cos it will totally look out of place. A subtle contrast like a darker shade of gray would've been nicer

This post has been edited by sysh: Dec 30 2008, 10:02 AM
anson81
post Dec 30 2008, 11:06 AM

255 posts

[quote=sunnytkl,Dec 30 2008, 02:21 AM]
Ermm...... this is forum.... to be fair... it's a place for us to share and exchange our info.... and again... dun be bias.....
i believe.... many here had "bang" u back on ur points above.
i had test drive recently, something i can be sure that i dun agree with ur point #4. i dun feel the annoyingly engine sound when i was driving even it had reached 80km/h

[/quote]

Just to let you know, i am one of the booked owner as well, but i am agree to the point #4, this is what i experience when my 2nd test drive. can hear the engine sound when accelerate.
about the point of the closing door thing.... not really sure la... but i only agree to engine sound, interior too plastic, the gap is not neat. others. okla.

[quote=usetheforceluke,Dec 30 2008, 09:57 AM]
[quote=ccdin1,Dec 29 2008, 04:36 PM]
Black = Darth Vader
Blue = Optimus Prime
Gold = Bumble Bee ?
PMM = Megatron/ Ironhide?
Silver = can't think of any at the moment...

silver= silver surfer

[/quote]

SILVER SURFER?? i thought that was from Fantastic Four? i think there are talking about transformer series now.
Erm... if Silver... maybe like one of the member said la.... JAZZ, is one of the name. you all can google it "transformer jazz"

elru
post Dec 30 2008, 12:02 PM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

QUOTE(usetheforceluke @ Dec 30 2008, 09:47 AM)
yup me like the ori grille too, hmm chrome ar....wouldnt it be kinda big and shinning? actually the contrast part when under the sun, the ori grille should looks ok because the PMM body will look lighter in color with multi toning/shading. just my opinion la haha biggrin.gif
andyjyneo
post Dec 30 2008, 12:04 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(elru @ Dec 30 2008, 12:02 PM)
yup me like the ori grille too, hmm chrome ar....wouldnt it be kinda big and shinning? actually the contrast part when under the sun, the ori grille should looks ok because the PMM body will look lighter in color with multi toning/shading. just my opinion la haha biggrin.gif
Looks like you understand PMM a lot already. Hehe... rclxms.gif
Anyway, to those who says grille is almost same colour with PMM grille, just fix MUGEN grille in future. Enough of bragging.
elru
post Dec 30 2008, 12:08 PM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Dec 30 2008, 12:04 PM)
Looks like you understand PMM a lot already. Hehe... rclxms.gif
Anyway, to those who says grille is almost same colour with PMM grille, just fix MUGEN grille in future. Enough of bragging.
the maste...i mean andyjyneo has spoken tongue.gif yup im waiting for the mugen grille as well. fast fast japan create la...
andyjyneo
post Dec 30 2008, 01:06 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(elru @ Dec 30 2008, 12:08 PM)
the maste...i mean andyjyneo has spoken tongue.gif yup im waiting for the mugen grille as well. fast fast japan create la...
LOL I'm not the master.
Ownself create lah if they never create. Be the first Malaysian to create MUGEN grille for new City.
Masuk Malaysia Book of Records already mah.
Kekekeke... laugh.gif
elru
post Dec 30 2008, 01:15 PM

Om Mani Padme Hum
1,070 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Dec 30 2008, 01:06 PM)
LOL I'm not the master.
Ownself create lah if they never create. Be the first Malaysian to create MUGEN grille for new City.
Masuk Malaysia Book of Records already mah.
Kekekeke... laugh.gif
hahaha who knows later mugen likes our designs n buys copyright from us le hehe.... $ka-ching$! nod.gif

129 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:57 AM