The Watches Thread V1

patryn33
post Mar 18 2010, 08:55 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(deriku @ Mar 17 2010, 07:12 PM)
I own a couple of Edifices myself and the design and quality is great for the price. But I thought most of the Edifice series use mineral glass - is that the same as sapphire glass? Pardon my ignorance tongue.gif
Oops... seem like only the Gold series are eqiped with sapphire crystal
patryn33
post Mar 19 2010, 07:42 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Mar 18 2010, 10:24 PM)
how much do you think i can sell my 3 months old Ball NIght train (leather strap)...still under
warranty....worn a few times only... thanks
at least 40% off current retail price is my guess.
do check out WUS/pmwf/timezone/watchnet to get an idea of whats out there.

eg here is a Generation 1 Ball Fireman Night Train, was sold at ~US$1100 this Jan.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=356448

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 19 2010, 08:37 AM
patryn33
post Mar 20 2010, 10:17 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Mar 19 2010, 09:13 PM)
Ball Night Train
i think i will sell it for around RM3.5K (still with warranty, and only worn a few times)...
i bought it around RM4K++..... my previous Ball Firemen...bought
it in 2008 for around RM2100...sold in jan 2010 for RM1600....
u just move from 1 ball to next? hope U can sell it at a good price! good luck!

anyway.. check out this neat vintage look diver.. very cool
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iiFh5Kxv_Co

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 20 2010, 10:20 AM
patryn33
post Mar 20 2010, 07:27 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Mar 20 2010, 06:02 PM)
saw the new brietling superocean at pavillion...after discount around RM7K++
rm$7K++ the 38mm series right? not many guys wear a boy size today.
the 46mm series seem to cost ~RM$8K+

patryn33
post Mar 21 2010, 04:07 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Mar 20 2010, 10:46 PM)
I still find that smaller watch really nice compared to big watch as i have a small wrist.  biggrin.gif
thats great! the 38mm series are on base on ETA 2895-2 whereas those 46mm are based on ETA 2824-2.
personally I like the 2895-A movement better.
anyhow, its like a trend today.. even ppl with lady like wrist (small) they still wanna wear a 42-44mm watch.

Added on March 21, 2010, 4:08 am
QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 20 2010, 10:44 PM)
Try to check out at The Hour Glass Lot 10, they are having sales.
Saw orange and black PO (all 42mm) discount is 25% + 10%
After discount RM8k++ Good luck  thumbup.gif
wow... discount is steep today! Omega used to control their discount right around 18% when times are good. thats a good sign for shoppers!

Added on March 21, 2010, 4:32 am
QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Mar 20 2010, 08:04 PM)
I chose the watch because of its history, presence, and also because it's not too "mainstream" but not too exclusive where most people do not know what it is.  Also, fellow Paneristi are a bit different from other watch guys.  It's quite common to see some with a box full of a dozen or more Panerai.  They'll own a few IWC, AP and other marque's, but seriously, a box full of Panerai's. 
what do u mean by other watch guys?
its not uncommon to find those ardent watch collector to collect a box full of a certain brands or a particular kinda vintage watch regardless of price.
if u been to one of those US watch shows u know what I am talking about.. u even find ppl collecting cheapo vintage timex watches.
some only Japanese eg only collect citizen campanola complication.

have $$$, anything is possible.

today, its kinda "mainstream" loh... any kid who know a Tag or Seiko would know a Pammy.. I have to say brand awareness is along with the 5 match stick. ulu brands would be Girard Perregaux, Ulysse Nardin, Graham.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 21 2010, 04:32 AM
patryn33
post Mar 21 2010, 11:06 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(marvin_teow @ Mar 21 2010, 08:50 AM)
aiyo, bro....don't you know now is special Malaysia GP Sale  Season meh, extra discount is good for shoppers lar...smile.gif
not been back for a good long time already.. in fact over the last 10yrs didn't get to stay for more than 2 weeks.
patryn33
post Mar 22 2010, 10:41 AM

3,940 posts

Ulysse Nardin Hybrid Smart Phone
retails US$12.8K to US$49.5k

http://www.uncells.com/wp-content/uploads/...tory-March-.pdf

patryn33
post Mar 22 2010, 10:57 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(heliora @ Mar 22 2010, 10:52 AM)
for those of you who wear leather watches, how do you maintain or clean the leather?

the sweat from my wrist has made my leather stink like hell, not exactly a pleasant thing hehe
pay more to get quality treated leather.
eg
HIRSCH
http://www.thewatchprince.com/Hirsch-Watch...ps-About-Hirsch

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 22 2010, 11:02 AM
patryn33
post Mar 23 2010, 07:48 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Mar 22 2010, 10:59 PM)
any nice steel watch for budget ard 5k for beginner yet is classy?  i havent got a proper watch yet, the most expensive that i have is just Armani.  Others are like espirit or swatch, hope u guys dont laugh)
5K budget and classy... so much to choose from..
from your nick.. I gather U are a lady?
if u can give an idea what u prefer maybe guys here can suggest...
need diamonds? leather? auto/quartz? size? shape? dial color?

Added on March 23, 2010, 8:06 am
QUOTE(don8ld @ Mar 22 2010, 05:13 PM)
any bell n ross for small wrist?
I have to agree with CHiNO730.
those 39mm model iirc are all quartz.... not worth it for that price u are paying man. (they retail ~RM$9.6K)
42mm chrono use ETA (Valjoux) 775X movement all unmod, if its not COSC I think its Elaborated grade.. U can find such grade in many other watch brands for a fraction of the cost. those non chrono retail less but they are still at ~rm$11k.

brands like Guinand (made Sinn watches in the past, maybe B&R in the past too) cost ~rm4.5K
http://guinand-watch.com/index.php?option=...d=80&Itemid=220

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 23 2010, 08:06 AM
patryn33
post Mar 23 2010, 08:49 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Mar 22 2010, 12:26 PM)
Tag, Seiko, Rolex - all mass producers with millions of watches a year and stores everywhere.  I do not think your statement is accurate.  Even amongst the many that I hang out with who have the means to afford nice luxury goods are well aware of brand like Tag, Rolex, Omega and Cartier but have never seen or heard of a Panerai.  I wouldn't judge them as misinformed, but Panerai simply does not spend the marketing dollars that some of these other brands put in.  This becomes especially clear when owning a Panerai - there are many that are impressed by the size and design but have never heard of the brand.  I doubt this would be the case when wearing a Seiko (I have owned quite a few) or a Tag.  I am not saying that it is not well known, but a kid who knows of a Tag?
I do apologize about my sweeping statement.. sweat.gif
different social circle.. cannot help.. my current social circle don't even recong a TAG... haha.. and they are in their 40s.
others only care about brand don't even give a hoot about manufacture only know cartier, Bvglari, Rolex.. TAG and go huh...
I also know such wealthy group of ppl.. who are blur with Panerai/PP/AP but know Rolex and TAG.
a Kid? not speaking of 5yr old or 11yr old kid.. man..
I guess I shouldn't use the word kid.. but teenager.. LOL.. Oops.. sorry
these teenager wearing homage.. do know their pammy.

Added on March 23, 2010, 9:00 am
QUOTE(douchebag2 @ Mar 22 2010, 03:30 PM)
Any Franck Muller fans around?

I used to hate FM,

But lately the more I see it, the more i'm attracted to it. But prices are ridiculous and it doesn't have much history compare to say - IWC or a Jaeger or even a Panerai  blush.gif
the discount for the entry level can be steep...
30% usually on those Hour Glass sales.. at times they can go for 50-60% off.
know someone got a Limited edition for like 60% off on such sales.

Added on March 23, 2010, 9:03 am
QUOTE(minizian @ Mar 22 2010, 07:32 PM)
hmm care to recommend 2nd hand (grey importer) watch shop ?
2nd hand and grey market is different know..
2nd hand watches can still come with a valid factory warranty.
grey market don't come with factory warranty and they are generally new old stock.

One 2nd hand dealer I can think of is passions.com.sg

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 23 2010, 09:03 AM
patryn33
post Mar 24 2010, 08:15 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(douchebag2 @ Mar 23 2010, 12:38 PM)
More so if you're wearing a bell & Ross, those things look like plastic!
Are you serious? your friend got 60% off for LE for FM? that lucky son of a b**ch. Where and when did this happen? notworthy.gif
last yr on those Sincere/THG sales.. ladies watch and its a quartz though..
in fact FM resale value for those entry level watches extremely weak.

patryn33
post Mar 24 2010, 08:28 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(inspire_evo @ Mar 24 2010, 08:16 PM)
hello.., is there anyone know dealer/shop for Bell & Ross watch around K.L? and can anybody tell me the price range of the Bell & Ross watch?
whats your budget? some one here also asking about B&R.. go back 2 pages and read.. and U will find some prices.

Added on March 24, 2010, 8:33 pm
QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 24 2010, 12:12 PM)
No la, I bought it last year. You can try ebay, lyn, malaysian watch forum, lelong & mudah (beware of fake!!). If you can take more risk, timezone, watchuseek.
I think less risk on WUS/timezone vs lelong etc.. esp U can't meet the person.

Added on March 24, 2010, 8:52 pm
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Mar 23 2010, 10:29 AM)
oris i think is quite "normal" compared to brands like tag?
btw 5k cant get a good a tag rite?

any model which is classy for ball?
The tag carrera is classy..
5K can get a entry level non Chrono tag. Aquaracer series very likely and they are just as good as Carrera series.

ball watches prices are pretty high today.. 5K don't think can get a Chrono. those date version is always possible.

oris and Fortis... Chrono maybe out of your reach too.
tissot, hamilton Chrono are within your reach.

Added on March 24, 2010, 9:10 pm
QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 24 2010, 09:29 AM)
somehow this Tag reminds me of... DOXA... nice ORANGE!
http://www.doxawatches.com/collection.htm

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 24 2010, 09:10 PM
patryn33
post Mar 24 2010, 10:00 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(inspire_evo @ Mar 24 2010, 09:51 PM)
err..the cheaper one whats the price ek?
cheapest will be the quartz if I am not wrong.. retailing ~RM$9.7k
easy way.. check out this site and do the conversion on the price b4 discount to get an idea.. U'll not get discount as high as online for sure.
I believe U are looking at the square type.
http://www.orolus.com/bell_ross.shtml

if U looking for round kind.. NOS.. try this loh..
http://www.collectorstime.com/bell-ross.php

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 24 2010, 10:06 PM
patryn33
post Mar 24 2010, 10:56 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(inspire_evo @ Mar 24 2010, 08:16 PM)
hello.., is there anyone know dealer/shop for Bell & Ross watch around K.L?
ADs...
sincere
cortina
yee wah hings
zurich timepieces

have fun shopping!

Added on March 24, 2010, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 24 2010, 10:46 PM)
No need to say, Casio G-Shock  thumbup.gif
+1 !!!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 24 2010, 10:57 PM
patryn33
post Mar 26 2010, 08:58 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(altezza8448 @ Mar 25 2010, 02:14 PM)
Any of you guys ever bought a watch from www.collectorstime.com? Quite skeptical about buying online as don’t know how authentic the watch is, plus unsure about claiming warranty as not all manufacturer have distributors here.
not deal with him.. but plenty of good reviews on WUS/Timezone etc..
wanna get something from them, and did check them out with a few forumers eg Elshan on WUS.
check out fine... if sell fake U will definitely find lots of complains on these places (WUS/Timezone/Watchnet/pmwf etc)

anyway, red-queen here father's friends are the owner.

if u are worried.. U can go meet up and do COD.

Added on March 26, 2010, 9:00 am
QUOTE(de.crystal @ Mar 25 2010, 08:02 PM)
any models to recommend?
cheers
any models as in???
U want Chrono or non Chrono???
the list can run super long and it would take awhile to compile.. kinda crazy way to ask.. U'll find ppl shying away from your post.
why don't U narrow it down 1st?

Added on March 26, 2010, 9:05 am
QUOTE(khopl @ Mar 26 2010, 06:45 AM)

Added on March 26, 2010, 6:53 amDoes anyone know how much is the cheapest U-Boat watch?
And which model is it?

cheapest U-boat..
hmm.... U-Boat Classico!!!! retail ~RM$6k. discount maybe ~20%
run a a unmod ETA 2824

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 26 2010, 09:25 AM
patryn33
post Mar 26 2010, 06:30 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 26 2010, 10:33 AM)
Saw this pretty last night at Emotus, KLCC
Fortis B-42 Black Black Limited Edition 2012 pieces
Super nice, and light weight, retail RM8810  drool.gif  drool.gif
another black on black from fortis.. this fashion has been going on for 2-3yrs already..

patryn33
post Mar 27 2010, 06:14 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 26 2010, 09:41 PM)
Hence, i head to Omega website and try to hunt a few design that i like.
I totally have no idea on Omega retail price. Guess u guys can enlighten me whether is it a good deal and usually what is their discount.

Any Advise on servicing?
Movement?
Reliability?
co-axial escapement... service every 8-10yrs.
Reliability... its an OMEGA.. no worries!

Added on March 27, 2010, 6:15 am
QUOTE(masahito @ Mar 26 2010, 10:34 PM)
so i bought this auto watch. the thing is it always stop.

how to solve?
I have to agree to ck77... need more details
if U are a office worker and hardly ever move your wrist..
stopping after a nite is always possible. it got nothing to do with the rotor.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 27 2010, 09:33 AM
patryn33
post Mar 27 2010, 11:43 AM

3,940 posts

I like this better Louis Erard 1931 Régulateur Réserve de Marche 42mm PVD
- ETA 7001 RE9 calibre with Power Reserve Regulator complication developed jointly by Louis Erard and Soprod SA
http://professionalwatches.com/2010/02/201...view_louis.html

Added on March 27, 2010, 11:48 amfor those Black lovers...

Hamilton railroad
- come in 3 sizes 38mm on ETA 2824, 44mm and 46mm are on ETA A07-211

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 27 2010, 11:48 AM
patryn33
post Mar 27 2010, 12:03 PM

3,940 posts

don't get Omega maybe can get both Louis Erard and Hamilton when they are out... LOL
patryn33
post Mar 27 2010, 07:41 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 27 2010, 12:25 PM)
hahaha you're right.

Serving Omega: 8~10 yrs
Servicing TH: 3~4 yrs.

Both watches come more a less the same price range.
Btw, what's the price for both watches u just posted smile.gif
Can recommend my frens to get it tongue.gif
btw TH and Omega.. go Omega man...

Louis Erard? retail US$3625
http://www.timepiecestore.com/catalog/5420...-men-watch.html

Hamilton railroad should be ~ US$1800

Added on March 27, 2010, 7:43 pm
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 27 2010, 02:18 PM)
i just heard from my frens that her TH just die on her (3 yrs old)...guess the finger is not moving. How much does sending for replacement/ or servicing for TH?  a few K?
depending on whats broke.. hard to estimate.

Added on March 27, 2010, 7:44 pm
QUOTE(josephgermani @ Mar 27 2010, 06:52 PM)
Geez, the fight for watches is endless in us men huh. I am a Tag Heuer Fan! I figured I have to get the formula 1 for a start. Any where I can get it cheap? Like a discounted price? Or it's just retail price?
cheap? this maybe the cheapest around go AD get ready to pay alot more.
http://www.collectorstime.com/tag-heuer.php

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 27 2010, 07:44 PM

24 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0432sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:20 AM