The Watches Thread V1

patryn33
post Feb 22 2010, 04:40 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 21 2010, 09:40 PM)
ok..thanks...now i got one silly question... blush.gif  blush.gif
what actually is grey market in watch business? how is it different from AD?

good to know you own one as well...How is the quality of JR? read in forum elsewhere that all their parts are genuinely swiss...
AD = authorize dealer. In their contract, they are required to buy X amount of watches from these brands and can only give limited controlled discount.

gray market dealers, they obtain watches thru AD. In this bad Econ, AD may go under and need to liquidate. There is no way to sell in such a short time, they will let go their items at a low price to these dealers without warranty. in other case, AD are carrying too much stock or need cash flow or some other reason. They also let it go cheap to these dealers.

I did tell U the quality of JR! u missed that in my post? JR is a sister company of the GREAT Girard-Perregaux.
guess U aren't familiar with Girard-Perregaux. Girard-Perregaux is up there with JLC/Patek/VC.. they make their own movements.

to quality swiss made at least 51% of the parts must be made in Switzerland, assembled in swiss and regulated and case in swiss. JR 1000 may have a higher percentage since they have access to Sowind group manufacturing facilities. rest assured u are not getting a watch with quality that is avg.

read all about "The man behind the brand Daniel jeanRichard"
http://www.watchtime.com/2010/01/the-man-b...el-jeanrichard/

Added on February 22, 2010, 4:55 am
QUOTE(badzeugene @ Feb 22 2010, 01:38 AM)
any nice watch to recommend? budget around rm500 only, since i'm just a student..

hope for leather stripe and sapphire crystal glass(to prevent scratch?)
rm500 cannot find sapphire crystal. only mineral crystal at least harder than glass or plastic.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 22 2010, 09:33 AM
patryn33
post Feb 22 2010, 10:57 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 22 2010, 10:44 AM)
thanks for the explanation..yes, i am aware of JR's connection with GP and their infamous JR1000 movement...

what i meant by quality was daily usage... toughness, etc, ...since you owned one, i was thinking of you sharing day to day user experience.., not so much on background of manufacturing..from your posts looks like your giving it a thumbs up...anyway, appreciate your insights
I see... its a dress what.. day to day wear no issue reported from my sibling. since it limited office/shopping/bus/train rides
if u intend to go swim with the crocodile, wrestle a bear, climb Mt Everest, or go Army training with it.. for a dress watch its not tough at that level. otherwise daily usage no worries..

as for infamous (having a reputation of the worst kind ) I am not aware of it care to share? since its infamous don't get it...

Added on February 22, 2010, 11:00 am
QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Feb 22 2010, 10:47 AM)
I have a GP that I wish to sell, i wonder where can i advertise it? not here cause the price is on the high side sweat.gif
try watchuseek.com or watchnet.com

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 22 2010, 11:00 AM
patryn33
post Feb 22 2010, 08:22 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 22 2010, 12:44 PM)
sorry, i meant famous (not in famous)

i might not be as knowledgeable in watches as you but i think i am aware that the JR Bressel is not for swimming with crocodiles or dodging bullets in a war with Talibans.  thanks anyway for the insight that its a reliable dress watch.
hehehe....
an old 6497 or regular work horse 2824 are just reliable.
its very hard to find a unreliable swiss movement as long as no manufacture defects.
even a omega can go wrong if not handle well... just found someone reporting that his new omega is running 10mins faster in just 1-2 days of running. even an expensive JLC etc do have lemons at times. once its done right, no worries.
patryn33
post Feb 23 2010, 07:40 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 22 2010, 08:28 PM)
thanks mate!..only thing i need to watch out for is if there's a problem in years to come...watches like this may cost a bomb to repair...

anyway, i saw in JR website there is a JR office in KL...so should be okay....

anyway, here are the 4 models on sale....any comments from all the watch lovers here on the dial design...? all same movement and same specs (i think)...only dial design different...
regular cleaning/oiling can be done outside cheaper.
do email collectortime, most gray dealers warranty card are unstamp. they may get an AD to stamp the card if so U get 2 yr warranty with JR (which is just like buying from AD!)

Added on February 23, 2010, 9:18 am
QUOTE(khopl @ Feb 22 2010, 06:02 PM)
This one arrived today!  rclxms.gif

Do you watch sifus out there have a clue as to what kind of movement they are using for this watch?

anyone know what movement is this?? gotta good feeling its china made!

and Nando, yea, now my aviator is getting even lonelier! hahaha... biggrin.gif
7 day power reserve, off sec and date.. paid over US$1K then maybe swiss. otherwise china.
U got to check with watchuseek chinese forum to get it ID.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 23 2010, 09:18 AM
patryn33
post Feb 23 2010, 07:23 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(silverstan @ Feb 23 2010, 12:53 PM)
Got myself new toy for CNY.  rclxm9.gif

sweet IWC Portuguese Automatic! must have cost u ~RM30K.

patryn33
post Feb 24 2010, 08:31 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(silverstan @ Feb 23 2010, 09:19 PM)
IWC discount are controlled.
now you can get it at around RM 31.5k.  doh.gif
aren't u waiting on your STOWA as well?
patryn33
post Feb 24 2010, 07:32 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(xander @ Feb 24 2010, 12:03 PM)
where do u guys find the so called grey market ?

mind to share it ?
99.9% of the online retailers.
KL do have 1.. collectorstime.com

QUOTE(nonano @ Feb 24 2010, 05:48 PM)
Ermm true... But I managed one below 26k. Like "below" 26k.
the same model.. and below 26K... from AD?

patryn33
post Feb 27 2010, 09:21 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(spie @ Feb 27 2010, 04:21 PM)
Hi Bro,

How much u pay for this watch?
your Bro had give the ans on a eariler post here.. its RM31.5k!

Added on February 27, 2010, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 27 2010, 03:06 PM)
guys anyone how how much is the new Tag Heuer Monaco V4 limited edition selling?
THe movement seems very different and unique ~ very impressive tech...

Google around cant see the actual price being display...

Monaco V4 Limited Edition

This? if so.. suggested retail is in USD.
http://www.luxist.com/2009/09/21/tag-heuer...n-watch-80-000/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 27 2010, 09:22 PM
patryn33
post Feb 27 2010, 10:21 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 27 2010, 10:15 PM)
wow..coz i found some crappie website saying US40k....OMG..now is as high as $80k per watch.....

Well, guess got to fall back to Calibre 16 day-date sad.gif

p/s: i though they are selling rm20k tongue.gif
well, its not going to be at RM20K..
it a limited edition of 150, plus its made of platinum 170grams of it!!!! more expensive than Gold.
how many Gold watches out there ~rm$20K, and I am not talking about gold plated.
on top of that its inhouse movement.
patryn33
post Feb 27 2010, 10:56 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 27 2010, 10:39 PM)
Bro, i have some noob questions might need your expertise.

1) What is the diff between Tag Heuer Carrera Automatic Chronograph Day-Date VS Automatic Chronograph Tachymetre? (besides the day indicator)

2) What about the accuracy of the movement?
3) What i should look for when buying Tag?
1) no difference in terms of movement. iirc they using the same movement.
2) based off ETA 7750 should run +-5sec every 24hrs.
3) nothing on top of my head... if its a lemon and run out of specs u wouldn't be able to tell in the shop.

as for movement that run like that of an engine.. I think BRM do have a few.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 27 2010, 11:02 PM
patryn33
post Feb 27 2010, 11:35 PM

3,940 posts

Omega would cost more than a Tag for sure.

if U wanna get that kinda escapement that can allow a watch to run longer without service.
look for Sinn watches with Diapal. like Omega co-axle can run 8-10yrs b4 a service unlike regular tag.. u got to do it every 4-5yrs.

Zenith El Primero HW Chronograph MB (NIB) - is a good catch. its in steel but u can easily change it to a leather. in the further should U want to buy a steel bracelet (may it be Tag) they can cost easily above US$400.
http://www.collectorstime.com/new-watches.php

Jean Richard Paramount Chronograph (also on Collectorstime), iirc its on a inhouse movement JR1000 go back a few pages to read about it.

value for $$ try Guinand, still have $$ for another watch! on 7750, decorated with blue screws and its gold plated. read those WUS thread.
http://guinand-watch.com/index.php?option=...d=63&Itemid=181
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.ph...ghlight=guinand
http://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=158528

patryn33
post Feb 28 2010, 12:19 AM

3,940 posts

Jean Richard if U were to get thru AD its priced along with TAG..
a Zenith is priced higher than a TAG.. maybe little higher than a Omega

Tag.. alots of marketing.. thus U do find alot of ppl going for it. for value, I would shy away from Tag.

Solvil et Titus‎ is swiss name but I think they were bought by HK group.. not all their watches carry a Swiss movement.

issue of Guinand , they make ordering hard.. but its worth the wait and go thru the pain. some say they are making case for Sinn.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 28 2010, 12:28 AM
patryn33
post Feb 28 2010, 09:21 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 28 2010, 01:26 PM)
Btw how often does tag need to send for servicing/calibration? and approx how much it cost?

What about these brand?
1) Longines
2) Luminox

More brands can be found here smile.gif
U only need to take it in every 4-5yrs. for a mechanical Tag ~$200 and usually takes about 1-2week.
a quartz is every 3yrs, cost ~$30 and its a 30min job!

1) Longines is Tag's competitor.
2) Luminox ok... most watches are quartz. wouldn't rate it high along with Longines/Tag

Added on February 28, 2010, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(khopl @ Feb 28 2010, 01:46 PM)
- automatic movement (preferably swiss)
- aviator style (something like Steinhart Nav-B Chrono series, altho chronograph is not compulsory)
- with date (even better if comes with day and date)
- 45mm and above (preferably in black PVD case)
- good lume
- leather strap
- preferably with power reserve indicator
- preferably with transparent case back

Checked out Getat cos I kinda like the marina militare style, but most of them don't have date except Parnis (which seems to have everything!).  tongue.gif
I like this Steinhart model: Steinhart Nav-B Chrono 47mm
But unfortunately it doesn't come with black PVD case, no power reserve indicator and no transparent case back.  sad.gif  I don't really mind all these but does anyone have any recommendation for other brands?

Another things is I noticed there are quite a lot of automatic watches using Unitas movement. Are Unitas swiss or asian made? Some site says swiss unitas...some says asian unitas. So i'm confused.   rclxub.gif

Unitas? 6498/6497 they are not automatic all manual wind.
swiss movement and U want pwr reserve, i believe all the options are listed a few pages back. Thing is none of them are in PVD case in nando's 3K budget. if your budget is higher than his, there are of course 1-2 around.

its extremely hard to find chrono+pwr reserve combo watches.
when U say prefer are they optional options?
as for aviator are u looking for onion crown?

eg: Swiss Army Victorinox Airboss Mach 6 Power Gauge Limited Edition.
both chrono+pwr reserve+PVD+45mm case. cost wise ~US$4K
http://www.swissarmy.com/Timepieces/Pages/...&product=241308
Zenith will have it but u know the cost. its should be more than US$14K.
http://www.thewatchery.com/Zenith/Watches/...efy_Xtreme/Mens
Graham Swordfish PVD
Pam and Bell & Ross, U'll definitely find it.

not looking for complications.
Archimede Black Pilot: good value priced under EUR$450.
http://www.archimede-uhren.de/EN/Pilot-family.htm
Fortis, its PVD with day date, but 42mm case and no pwr reserve.
http://www.worldlux.com/cgi-bin/navigate.c...froogle_sponsor
Aristo PVD Pilot
Zeno (found a chrono+pwr reserve+date) don't have PVD, 44mm case, day.
http://www.zeno-watch.ch/en/watches.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 1 2010, 09:23 AM
patryn33
post Mar 1 2010, 01:04 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(-_- @ Feb 28 2010, 10:27 PM)
just want to know should i buy a automatic watch winder to preserve my watch because not all the time i will wear the watch.

anyone got themselves a tourbillon? tongue.gif
neat collection.
Chinese tourbillon maybe.. Swiss/German maybe unlikely.
Its extremely hard to regulate. most of these tourbillon are non-hacking too.

back to watch winder.. if u are lazy to set the time everytime and your watch is accurate to a certain degree by all means go get it.
if your watch is gaining/losing 15sec every 24hrs. letting it sit on the winder after 2 weeks your watch would have gained/slowed by 3.5mins.
are to the kind to readjust if thats the case? if U are doing that, no pt getting a winder.

Added on March 1, 2010, 9:18 am
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 27 2010, 11:13 PM)
I was quite picky in terms of the day-date vs the date.

Btw, what leather watches can i look for (i'm open for suggestion  smile.gif )
Budget not more than rm10k
want a Day-date try Tutima Flieger Chronograph F3, its on Lemania cal 5100. iirc many collectors out there love to own a chrono on this movement as it pretty rare.
http://www.watchseller.com/tutfliegchro.html

check this post out
http://www.chronomaddox.com/nouvelle_lemania_5100.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 1 2010, 09:18 AM
patryn33
post Mar 1 2010, 07:39 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Mar 1 2010, 12:26 PM)
someone mentioned the Zenith El Primero.. looks very..Swatch to me, design wise.

i've got a winner for you..of all your requirements.. it just doesn't have one.. no power reserve indicator..
Oris BC4 Chronograph

i think power reserve indicator chronographs not very common..and probably cost quite significant.
something like this feels like swatch?

this perhaps. Its a Chrono, Pwr reserve, date, black, 46.5mm, water resistance to 1000m issue here no display back and no day display.
cost b4 discount ~$20K

not all Zenith El Primero are crazy.. Defy Xtreme series are crazy/funky looking. Design wise U find more ppl loving swatch design vs Zenith.
price wise.. can buy 100 to 300 swatches to 1 Zenith Defy Xtreme. Its also non plastic.. extremely heavy.

well, Chrono + pwr reserve.. not too much if 1 get the swiss army.. ~US$3K

Added on March 1, 2010, 7:47 pm
QUOTE(khopl @ Mar 1 2010, 11:15 AM)

Added on March 1, 2010, 12:26 pmErrr..patryn33...the Zeno watch you recommended...any idea how much is the cost range?
no idea whats the retail. I think its close to the Swiss Army watch.
after discount on gray market is going for ~US$2700.
http://www.swissmade.com/en/web/index.php?...o_power_reserve

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 1 2010, 07:47 PM
patryn33
post Mar 2 2010, 08:13 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Mar 2 2010, 02:57 AM)
hi patryn33, yes, which is why in my original statement i said looks very swatch to me. i believe you agree with me that looks are subjective, thus you can possibly say that i don't know how to appreciate it and likewise i can say that i got better taste. but its all subjective.  icon_rolleyes.gif
true... rclxms.gif

how about these? swatch? no swatch?

Added on March 2, 2010, 8:16 am
QUOTE(nando @ Mar 1 2010, 08:46 PM)
yep, yet to find Swiss movement with Power Reserve below 3k...Orient and Seiko has, but not Swiss movement...i didnt checked price of Hamilton Jazz master power reserve display.i think Mido also has model with power display but doubt can get for 3k...
in fact, cheapest i seen so far is the Ball Trainmaster Power Reserve...
ya, thru AD its hard us$3k+ is possible.
chrono+pwr res+day+date... not possible.

Added on March 2, 2010, 8:18 am
QUOTE(Hoegaarden @ Mar 2 2010, 03:05 AM)
ok to all sifus out there, my dad wan suprise my mom to buy a pair of ROLEX watch with budget of RM50k. which is the highest recomendation? my dad really sentimental...zzz to my part i just hope i can gip some idea to my dad...hope fellow LYNfollower can help me out!
many thanks...
possible!! get the datejust collection. men's no gold.. ladies maybe diamond markers.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 2 2010, 08:18 AM
patryn33
post Mar 2 2010, 10:10 AM

3,940 posts

something like these? if omega can get ~25% discount 10K is possible.
patryn33
post Mar 2 2010, 07:47 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Mar 2 2010, 04:27 PM)
wah...cannot la khopl!!! the Oris Chronograph will make a widow out of your Aviator!  tongue.gif
I like this post!
ya.. that Ball Aviator may become lonely...

patryn33
post Mar 2 2010, 07:52 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(khopl @ Mar 2 2010, 01:12 PM)
Thanks a lot for your recommendations, patryn33....the Swiss Army Victorinox Airboss Mach 6 Power Gauge Limited Edition you recommended looks great and I think it has almost all the requirements I wanted....however unfortunately the Swiss Army brand doesn't really appeal to me....like Tag, B&R and a few others (no offense to fans of the brands)...these are well established brands who produces fine watches but somehow for whatever reasons....the brand doesn't appeal to me.  hmm.gif
Swiss Army is on Sopord mod 7750, on the usual ETA 7750. quality should be better.
Swiss Army brand really sound cheap.. anyway thats their target market else how to find chrono+date+pwr res under US$4k.

seem like u have a thing with Oris and Ball. which brands do u have a thing for?
Oris kinda lost my love, when I learn they operate like Hamilton. to keep cost down, many things are imported from the far east.
price wise somehow I wouldn't pay 10K for a chrono that runs on ETA 7750.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 2 2010, 07:55 PM
patryn33
post Mar 3 2010, 07:36 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Mar 2 2010, 08:34 PM)
Patryn will tell you i am eyeing the Jean Richard 1665 now..with regulator and power display.....still wondering if i should make the kill (about RM 6.5k)....or use the $$ to get an Oris + Ball OR...save some more ( plus few more K) and go for the Planet Ocean....or.....maybe add few more k and get aOmega AquaTerra with 8500 co-axial!!

aRRGGHH!!!

yeah..Patryn seems to like Zenith a lot....perhaps the history of Zenith winning the chronograph race eh?
@6.5K either get Jean Richard or add more ### and get the omega co-axial!!!!!!
get Oris + Ball both end up entry level, double the cost of servicing.
check around, hope this yr increase didn't happen yet.

haha... Zenith... manufacture.. I will tell U, I like anything that is manufacture!!!! always eyeing on the next inhouse movement. not that inhouse is always better. but so far swiss/German inhouse movement did perform better (when its done right)
El Primero is a famous movement too, was in Rolex Daytona for a number of yrs. Today in Tag's most expensive chrono on the market.
Zenith didn't really win the Chrono race, its complex.. there is long article on watchtime.com on it.

in fact many manual wind manufacture are fun to watch.
http://www.watchtime.at/archive/wt_2003_06...2003_06_042.pdf

not the kind that would pay unmod movement at a premium price if i can find something not so branded ( or known by everyday ppl) with the same inside and design I like. don't even care if no one notice what I am wearing.

Sinn makes good watches. alot of technology going into making a watch.

in fact VC do allow U to walk into the swiss office and design a complete watch to your liking.. so long U are willing to part with US$100K and up.
they will even make extra parts for future repairs or servicing.

somehow Longines is under appreciated in this part of the world. Read Longines CEO interview, Longines is big in Europe (esp France).

love those PVD watches, some models listed with retail price.
http://www.watchtime.at/archive/wt_2008_05/WT_0508_162.pdf

a nice but old article on affordable complications.
http://www.watchtime.at/archive/wt_2005_03...2005_03_104.pdf

Added on March 3, 2010, 8:16 am
QUOTE(Jason @ Mar 3 2010, 01:23 AM)
OMG  shocking.gif
this one also not bad
USD$1995, mother of pearl, bling bling diamonds.
so much diamonds and still US$1995! thats cheap!
unlike the prev posted.. min starts around US$6K and still no diamonds.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 3 2010, 08:16 AM

24 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0433sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:19 AM