126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V18, The Orange Legion

kysham
post Dec 17 2008, 06:21 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Actually i think you can, since there is no way to check the shutter count and the warranty was not measured against shutter count but against date of purchase.... wink.gif
MechaHerc
post Dec 17 2008, 06:22 PM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Dec 17 2008, 06:05 PM)
Better to spend hundreds to replace the shutter than spend thousands on a dslr but always missing great moments because u wanna "save" the shutter count
quote of the day notworthy.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
tanjq87
post Dec 17 2008, 06:27 PM

483 posts

so if reaching like 50k shutter count, can just simply burst more picture until shutter die? then change under warranty for free?

Added on December 17, 2008, 6:35 pmsorry out of slr topic a bit.
i have a sony point and shoot N2, no more warranty edi.
under macro mode, it cant focus at all, i think there is something wrong with the macro focusing motor. The focusing speed has dropped compared to when i just bought it.
shutter count is 7k+, took like 4k+ photo when i was in US.
Do u guys know roughly how much to change the motor/shutter?
I wanna keep it cos it's still a good camera, small and sharp! a lot sharper than my 1870 =.=

This post has been edited by tanjq87: Dec 17 2008, 06:35 PM
bysquashy
post Dec 17 2008, 06:44 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 17 2008, 06:21 PM)
Actually i think you can, since there is no way to check the shutter count and the warranty was not measured against shutter count but against date of purchase.... wink.gif
Let me enlighten you with engineering talk wink.gif
You can't check it doesn't mean they can't brows.gif

Added on December 17, 2008, 6:45 pm
QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Dec 17 2008, 06:27 PM)
so if reaching like 50k shutter count, can just simply burst more picture until shutter die? then change under warranty for free?

Added on December 17, 2008, 6:35 pmsorry out of slr topic a bit.
i have a sony point and shoot N2, no more warranty edi.
under macro mode, it cant focus at all, i think there is something wrong with  the macro focusing motor. The focusing speed has dropped compared to when i just bought it.
shutter count is 7k+, took like 4k+ photo when i was in US.
Do u guys know roughly how much to change the motor/shutter?
I wanna keep it cos it's still a good camera, small and sharp! a lot sharper than my 1870 =.=
Because P&S uses heavy digital sharpening. You can do sharpening in Alpha as well but the default is off.

This post has been edited by bysquashy: Dec 17 2008, 06:45 PM
tanjq87
post Dec 17 2008, 06:58 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Dec 17 2008, 06:44 PM)

Added on December 17, 2008, 6:45 pm
Because P&S uses heavy digital sharpening. You can do sharpening in Alpha as well but the default is off.
How to turn on the sharpening? i already put +3 but it's still not as sharp.
bysquashy
post Dec 17 2008, 07:04 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Dec 17 2008, 06:58 PM)
How to turn on the sharpening? i already put +3 but it's still not as sharp.
wah........ then increase shutter speed and use smaller aperture. if still cannot solve, buy CZ lens drool.gif
manchurr
post Dec 17 2008, 07:52 PM

500 posts

hye guys.. long time no join this one.. can i ask.. how much is the battery for A300? I need to find extra battery..

signither
post Dec 17 2008, 07:56 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

QUOTE(manchurr @ Dec 17 2008, 07:52 PM)
hye guys.. long time no join this one.. can i ask.. how much is the battery for A300? I need to find extra battery..
cheapest i found so far is RM240

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2008-12D...0_a350_a700.htm

not sure bout others
dingenius3
post Dec 17 2008, 08:23 PM

G33K
1,480 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Dec 17 2008, 07:56 PM)
cheapest i found so far is RM240

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2008-12D...0_a350_a700.htm

not sure bout others
ahahah... sig is the battery stalker!! haf u got ur batt yet bro??
i havent... definitely next year i must grab it... together wif "snake"
signither
post Dec 17 2008, 09:20 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Dec 17 2008, 08:23 PM)
ahahah... sig is the battery stalker!! haf u got ur batt yet bro??
i havent... definitely next year i must grab it... together wif "snake"
still havent buy the second battery yet..
im planning on upgrading to the cobra as well..
maybe next year kot..
lauyamonk
post Dec 17 2008, 09:24 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Dec 17 2008, 09:20 PM)
still havent buy the second battery yet..
im planning on upgrading to the cobra as well..
maybe next year kot..
next year = next 2 weeks tongue.gif
achew
post Dec 17 2008, 09:30 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

noob photos taken when i was bored just now sad.gifsad.gif

signither
post Dec 17 2008, 09:39 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

QUOTE(lauyamonk @ Dec 17 2008, 09:24 PM)
next year = next 2 weeks tongue.gif
shhh.. dun tell anyone la tongue.gif
albnok
post Dec 17 2008, 09:51 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

SpOOkY: That's not 'ring bokeh' - ring or brightline bokeh is usually a bad thing.

The bokeh is circular in the middle and is cats-eye shaped on the outside. This is a common characteristic for bright lenses on full-frame cameras, due to the vignetting. This is supposedly caused by the lens not having a big enough front diameter. Or was it the hood?

The Sigma 50mm F1.4 has an oversized front element with a 77mm filter thread - that supposedly reduces the cats-eye bokeh effect. My Minolta 50mm F1.4 has a 49mm filter thread while the Sony 50mm F1.4 has a 55mm filter thread.

Boon3: Actually, you're only 1/3rds of a stop away with your Minolta 85mm F1.4G... wink.gif If I stopped down to F2.0 it would match the 85mm F1.4 on APS-C. Of course I'd prefer the Minolta's bokeh...

kysham: Indeed!

tanjq87: Crop the center of that image, 533x356 pixels, and that's what the A300 will see.

Try sending your N2 to the service center. They will quote you a price but that price may be lowered.

jonwrg: Yes, the shutter unit will be replaced free under warranty, if you can wear it out. I shot quite a lot and yet I didn't wear out my A100 or my A700.

signither: EXACTLY!

Shutter count is for kiasu people.

My friend was talking non-stop about the Canon 24mm F1.4L (he was a former Nikon fella, now no camera.) So last month, I went to Canon Midvalley, then Canon Pavilion, no stock. Canon KLCC got.

Me: Can I try it on the Canon 5D MkII?
She: It's not arrived yet, maybe next month.
Me: Okay, can I try it on the Canon 5D?
She: Sorry sir, it has been discontinued.
Me: Okay, can I try it on the Canon 1D MkIII or the 1Ds MkIII?
She: Sorry sir, we only have it in the box, we cannot open if not it will move the shutter count, then cannot sell.

I will take her word for it as I wasn't dressed in shorts and that same lady let me try the Canon MPE-65 before.

Do you check your shutter count when you buy a brand new camera? If you found that the shutter count was 26 frames already, would you not buy it?

More importantly, this is a Canon 1D/1Ds MkIII we're talking about! It's meant to shoot thousands and thousands of frames! If you're not doing that with a 1D/1Ds, shame on you.

I can imagine some collectors inviting friends over to their house.

"Eh come come see my dry box. Haaa open it. See the 1Ds MkIII inside? Eh go check the shutter count."
"FWAAAHHH!!! 00000000!!!"
Ahmike
post Dec 17 2008, 10:02 PM