Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V18, The Orange Legion

achew
post Dec 9 2008, 10:45 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Dec 9 2008, 07:39 PM)
16105 is Sony design. It was supposed to be an updated version of the CZ1680 but Carl Zeiss did not approve the design and forbid Sony from using the T* coating on the lens. Therefore it's sold as a normal lens. This means that this lens is as good as the Carl Zeiss 16-80 but without the Zeiss T* coating.

As for 18250, it's just Tamron design.
so can i say the quality is comparable btwn CZ1680 vs SAL16105?? omg..abit heartpained >.<

btw...just a short survey...how many lenses do u guys usually bring..say for a trip?or normal outting??

i currently hving 50mm prime + cz1680.......might get a SAL70300G as a gift..but nt sure whether i would utiliz all the 3 lenses anot..coz my crumpler bag can only bring 2..lol..don wanna neglect any of my lens sweat.gif
achew
post Dec 9 2008, 11:52 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Dec 9 2008, 11:33 PM)
the 1680cz is better than 16105 in terms of contrast (awesome microcontrast from T* coating) and larger aperture. it's also slightly better in terms of corner sharpness. i guess you get what you paid for. i would get the zeiss if i have extra bucks... but for budget conscious people, 16105 is a wiser choice. it has better build quality than the zeiss.
ohh..thanks for the clarification...lets hope im able to squiz the best out of my lens blush.gif
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 03:24 PM

3,807 posts

i do vignette sometimes...but i prefer to make it looks 'stronger'..

c&c r welcomed =)
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 04:02 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Dec 10 2008, 03:36 PM)
this is meh blush.gif

achew
post Dec 10 2008, 04:34 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(alesshans @ Dec 10 2008, 04:26 PM)
There is no end
There is no beginning
There is only the infinite poison of life
tongue.gif

lol..how come i nv tot of that.. whistling.gif
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 05:21 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Dec 10 2008, 05:02 PM)
if i want more bokeh effect? how to adjust the aperture so that i can get the whole duck in focus but background blur?
just my noob point of view..
i think given the aperture is at F5.6 and the 'background' of the duck is kinda near to it...y don include something after the pond/river..i think it'll definatly giv u bokeh u wan..

edited: okay..just read wad kysham said..long story short..wad i meant was lower ur angle doh.gif

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 10 2008, 05:22 PM
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 06:17 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(joker_jr @ Dec 10 2008, 06:00 PM)
Last option, send back to sony.... still got warranty wat???
ohmy.gif wad happened??
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 06:27 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(v1rtual @ Dec 10 2008, 06:19 PM)
any sony centre will do

Added on December 10, 2008, 6:19 pm
camera body asking for external flashgun ady thumbup.gif
evil....evil indeed... whistling.gif
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 07:37 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Dec 10 2008, 07:23 PM)
go for third party remote lah..cheap..digitalsmania at pudu plaza did sell it..
3rd party one how much???i saw 2 diff type in sony style..the prices r kinda steep...
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 07:41 PM

3,807 posts

130 for a wireless one...doesnt really sound exp..but guess i'll skip it..since most of the time im taking photo for others..seldom put myself inside the frame =)
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 07:54 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Dec 10 2008, 07:45 PM)
Well, the reason i want to buy this is because I want to learn light painting  biggrin.gif  Light painting is cool  thumbup.gif
hmm..sumthing like this??

tongue.gif
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 07:56 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Dec 10 2008, 07:54 PM)
Erm..It says 10sec timer. Since bulb mode can only be used when i press the shutter, how long exposure should i put? Thanks icon_question.gif
10sec timer to prepare urself...how long the exposure depend on how fast u can draw/write ur stuff..for the 2pics i posted..it took me about 15seconds exposure
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 08:04 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Dec 10 2008, 08:02 PM)
Umm..manual focus put on what? Should i focus the point first before turning the lights off?  hmm.gif
dats wad i did..i put sumthing at the place i gonna stand..n manual focus there...but i think the focus isnt that impt in light painting..as long as nt too OOF shd b ok..nv try to OOF it b4 tho...maybe can try to see whether we would get same/diff result..

Added on December 10, 2008, 8:06 pm
QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Dec 10 2008, 07:58 PM)
Cant wait for the fun tonight  rclxm9.gif  Wait till parents sleep first  thumbup.gif
it'll b a tired night...the 'love" i drew took me about 30mins of practices b4 i did it...had to keep run here n there n check ur photo..reposition..blablabla

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 10 2008, 08:06 PM
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 08:18 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ohzmygod @ Dec 10 2008, 08:10 PM)
i will want to try this tonight too !!!!
before that have to learn to write the words in opposite direction?
yup..i wrote it in opposite direction...at least for my case =)
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 08:42 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Dec 10 2008, 08:22 PM)
can oso write normally la.. then pp it.. flip the pictah horizontally...

@achew: what aperture u always use for light painting?? F16++ ?
i use shutter priority..anyway..the aperture is only F4..iso200... rclxm9.gif

Added on December 10, 2008, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(vandechrome @ Dec 10 2008, 08:32 PM)
dont open if u dont like HEADS!

u shd hav say chopped heads instead doh.gif

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 10 2008, 08:43 PM
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 10:38 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Dec 10 2008, 10:35 PM)
I think that is quite a good price.  thumbup.gif I was quoted RM260 here in KK recently....  shakehead.gif
sg selling 99sgd b4 any bargain
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 11:06 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Dec 10 2008, 10:38 PM)
can teach me this tecq?
what chould i do?
this is nt really a technique la..just need some practices..

ok...
1)setup ur tripod..or at least put ur cam at a stable place
2)check ur framing against ur background..e.g how much spaces u r allow to move/write/draw ur stuff and yet within the frame..
3)place sumthing at the place u gonna stand..and manual focus it..
4)set ur cam to shutter priority..and set the exposure time according to ur needs
5)close the light
6)press ur shutter..
7)run back to the place where u set the focus and swing ur torch light like MAD~ =D

okay..u might develop a better way of doing light painting..but dats basically how i do it..

p/s : and if u r writing sumthing..basically u hav to write everything invertedly..

@jimlim
pp means post process

achew
post Dec 10 2008, 11:23 PM

3,807 posts

no need to draw blazing fast...im sure too fast also cant giv u good drawing right =)

i dunno how u measure 'fast' or 'slow'...but for me...i think im drawing in a slow pace..just take my picture as an example..the heart+love takes me 15seconds..
achew
post Dec 10 2008, 11:37 PM

3,807 posts

finish this in 15sec

this in 20sec

but dats after almsot 30mins of practice...

basically..if u stop at 1 point to think aobut how to write ur words..u probably wont have time...and if u on ur torch there n think..u gonna hav a very bright spot...so my advice is..if u need to think inbtwn..off ur torch light while maintaining the position..and on it to continue to write...

fyi..im writing that with a very small size torch light..probably the size of my index finger..for the ease of on n off...and ur arms wont b so tired after swinging it like crayz for some times..

good luk..gotta slp now...not much time left for me sweat.gif

achew
post Dec 11 2008, 09:43 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Dec 11 2008, 01:39 PM)
Comments please, my first time doing light painting. Did it 20 mins before sleeping  tongue.gif
i think generally u get the 'catch' of doing light painting..but i would prefer a totally dark room..i find the the reflection at the bottom is abit distracting..good try tho rclxms.gif
secondly..erm..probably u need to brush up u drawing skill..hahaha whistling.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 11 2008, 01:55 PM)
achew: Amazing colors as usual.. though technically in #2 it's a bit oversharp for a film shot. Film doesn't get that crispy. tongue.gif

Nice light paintings!

lol bro..u went all the way to check all the previous posts?? shocking.gif notworthy.gif

so can i assume u r suggesting me to create less-sharper-quality-photo when im doing 1 of those 'retro' feeling-pped photo?
don hav much chance to contact with film cam tho..i don even own a digicam b4 i bought my slr 2months ago..lol rclxub.gif

Added on December 11, 2008, 9:52 pmok..i dunno wads the purpose of this shot..jsut happen to bum into the web in the park..and i don hav any macro/close up with me..so force my 50mm to capture it anyway.. >.<
Focal Length: 50.0mm

Exposure Time: 0.0031 s (1/320)

Aperture: f/2.2

ISO equiv: 100

the main thing inside this shot was my 3 bokeh-ed operators far far away.. =.='' user posted image

Focal Length: 35.0mm

Exposure Time: 0.0080 s (1/125)

Aperture: f/4.5

ISO equiv: 100

wasnt satisfied with these 2 shots at all..but since i nv went out n hav nothng else to show..might as well post sumthing to gather some critics for further improvement smile.gif

This post has been edited by achew: Dec 11 2008, 09:52 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:02 AM