6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Vista or XP?, vista ulti or xp pro ?

astria
post Dec 10 2008, 04:04 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(nitsujyuen @ Dec 9 2008, 02:01 PM)
still feels xp much more stable
my vista home also damn lagging when run under 1gb memory (without dedicated graphic card) sad.gif
using Vista Ultimate on a Pentium-M 1.6GHz with 1GB RAM and GMA 900

no complains...
TechnoDude94
post Dec 11 2008, 01:30 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 10 2008, 02:30 PM)
2 Options.
1) Add RAM to 2GB. RAM so cheap now. Buy now or forever hold your peace.
2) Disable Aero interface. Your windows will fly.

I'm running 2GB RAM on Atom. Doesn't lag at all. I disabled the Aero and it flys. LOL.

btw, i noticed some observation about die hard XP users and would like to put foward an analogy.

It's like cars.

1) Example 1: Your Proton Saga BLM 1.3 use the CAMPRO 1.3 engine. You slapped this engine into a WAJA and then you complain it is slow yadda yadda..no power yadda...but you forgot the benefits of a bigger car, bigger boot etc. That's why they don't put 1.3 engine into a WAJA. It runs on 1.6.

2) Example 2: VIVA 1.0 vs Myvi 1.0....exactly same 3 cyclinder engine. Which car do you think is faster and more acceleration?? Of course VIVA 1.0
But Myvi is the bigger car.

3) Example 3: Myvi 1.3 vs Avanza 1.3....basically the same engine with different tuning. Which do you think has better acceleration? Nuff said.

So it's the same case with VISTA or any new O/S. When XP was released, those Win98 machines ..what..Pentium 1?? Can barely even BOOT XP.

If you want to have the benefits of new O/S, your machine must be able to take it. All this 'windows lagging' whining are nothing more than people who wants to have Aero, but not the GPU nor RAM to handle it. So who's at fault??  doh.gif

With Aero off, it is IMPOSSIBLE for VISTA to lag even for a lowly machine like an Intel ATOM.
Bro, I recommend that you write a review regarding your Intel Atom processor and post it in "Essential Reviews and Guides". Also, make a link in your siggy to that review so that people will not complain about using Vista and it's slowness. Once they see Atom + 2GB they'll all STFU. thumbup.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 11 2008, 01:39 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 11 2008, 01:30 AM)
Bro, I recommend that you write a review regarding your Intel Atom processor and post it in "Essential Reviews and Guides". Also, make a link in your siggy to that review so that people will not complain about using Vista and it's slowness. Once they see Atom + 2GB they'll all STFU. thumbup.gif
Hee-hee...actually i'm planning to do that...but it takes time...also planning do capture videos of the desktop with Atom in action.... looking for software that can do the video capture. Just slipstreamed VISTA SP1 and trying install into a Virtual PC...smile.gif...No more double work in future!

TechnoDude94
post Dec 11 2008, 02:08 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 11 2008, 01:39 AM)
Hee-hee...actually i'm planning to do that...but it takes time...also planning do capture videos of the desktop with Atom in action.... looking for software that can do the video capture. Just slipstreamed VISTA SP1 and trying install into a Virtual PC...smile.gif...No more double work in future!
Glad you decided to slipstream your SP1 into Vista. You can record desktop videos with CamStudio or FRAPS (Full-screen only).
nickerlas
post Dec 11 2008, 01:28 PM

(:
931 posts

XP 64bit.. i heard vista has compatibility issues..
tech3910
post Dec 11 2008, 04:36 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(nickerlas @ Dec 11 2008, 01:28 PM)
XP 64bit.. i heard vista has compatibility issues..
every 64 bit windows also hav compatibility issues la................. biggrin.gif
driver, s/w & everything, priority is 32bit 1st...........
ericpires
post Dec 11 2008, 04:41 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 10 2008, 04:04 PM)
using Vista Ultimate on a Pentium-M 1.6GHz with 1GB RAM and GMA 900

no complains...
No lagging meh and pentium 1.6 can run vista? hmm.gif
de4thscythell
post Dec 11 2008, 04:45 PM

in progress
1,941 posts

If u gonna play games that required DirectX 10, go for Vista then. It's worth it wink.gif
I bet, most high-spec games nowadays, and in the near future required DX10 hmm.gif
Alang- alang ma... laugh.gif
wind01
post Dec 11 2008, 05:01 PM

Folding@Malaysia Team
2,615 posts

Yeah. It’s a normal reaction. At that time, XP driver support & compatibilities is low. But after 2 years (maybe 3)…people start to appreciate XP especially their built-in USB support. Then drivers & compatibilities issues are solved…then well…we have a mature & stable environment which we all are comfortable with.

Vista is suffering from the same cycle. The only different is Vista have a slower adoption rate compared to XP against Win9x. Why ? Well, it’s in the hardware requirement. Vista needs a significantly higher hardware requirement than XP compare to XP against Win9x.

Of course, the argument of hardware upgrade surface. But do bear in mind that we are looking at a massive hardware upgrade for companies with many PC’s…budget might forbid them in the 1st. place. Generally,: -

Hardware for Win9x uses XP – slower
Hardware for XP uses Vista – much slower

The fact remain that Vista have a significantly higher overhead than XP. Only a faster machine compensates these overheads.

Slower adoption rate causes support service like drivers, compatibilities, cross-platform environment & etc to come slower than expected from respective vendor. That’s why companies still stuck with XP & Microsoft acknowledged it & continue to sell XP to certain parties.

I think these are some point to ponder in selecting an OS for your current system. I’ll seriously stick to XP for now as the support for it is very matured. I’m not saying Vista is not matured…it’s just that Vista have not reach the height of maturity of XP.

I reckon XP will last long enough for the release of Window 7.

I post this on another thread...just to share my thought again.
TSmizer
post Dec 11 2008, 05:13 PM

375 posts

ohh , so just get vista ulti 64bit ? biggrin.gif
TechnoDude94
post Dec 11 2008, 07:15 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(mizer @ Dec 11 2008, 05:13 PM)
ohh , so just get vista ulti 64bit ? biggrin.gif
Yes, if your hardware fully-supports 64-Bit and you've got 64-Bit drivers.
TSmizer
post Dec 11 2008, 07:30 PM

375 posts

okay thanks ! ;D
wayne322
post Dec 11 2008, 07:54 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

It is up to which one do u used to,but for me,I think xp will be better as vista sure will make ur pc lag and make u cant enjoy when playing game,so stand for xp!
SUSMatrix
post Dec 11 2008, 08:35 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(wayne322 @ Dec 11 2008, 07:54 PM)
It is up to which one do u used to,but for me,I think xp will be better as vista sure will make ur pc lag and make u cant enjoy when playing game,so stand for xp!
Please stop the BS. We have people here who can run VISTA no problemo on Pentium-M 1.6Ghz and I can run on an Atom PC fine!! My main rig with VISTA plays all my games at max settings and max resolution. Lag my arse!!!

Grrrr...i'm going to put up a VISTA ATOM PC review to end all this BS once and for all....just need time to do it...
astria
post Dec 11 2008, 09:59 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Dec 11 2008, 04:41 PM)
No lagging meh and pentium 1.6 can run vista?  hmm.gif
for a HTPC (less the HD video part) and Internet machine, no lags...

excluding the graphic (as GMA900 dun support Aero), the lowest score i get in WEI is a decent 3.2 for that kind of hardware...

Added on December 11, 2008, 10:06 pm
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 11 2008, 08:35 PM)
Please stop the BS.  We have people here who can run VISTA no problemo on Pentium-M 1.6Ghz and I can run on an Atom PC fine!! My main rig with VISTA plays all my games at max settings and max resolution. Lag my arse!!!

Grrrr...i'm going to put up a VISTA ATOM PC review to end all this BS once and for all....just need time to do it...

lol, bro, u talking abt me???

in fat, i ve ran Vista on a P4 2.4B GHz with 1.5GB of RAM before as well during the early days... but got some problem with the Catalyst driver back then to work with my X1950GT... a quick check at WEI also show a score of 3.0 for the lowest...

so i believe as long as it's a P4 2.0GHz or more and 1GB RAM, it is okay, although it's not great... for those still better stick with XP...

but if u ve a dual core CPU, i dun see y it can't run Vista smoothly... in my school using Pentium D + 2GB RAM with GMA 3100, also very smooth...

This post has been edited by astria: Dec 11 2008, 10:06 PM
TechnoDude94
post Dec 12 2008, 02:13 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(mizer @ Dec 11 2008, 07:30 PM)
okay thanks ! ;D
No problem man, don't hafta thank me.

QUOTE(wayne322 @ Dec 11 2008, 07:54 PM)
Like what Mr. Matrix said, please stop the bullsh*t. We've got some forummers (like Matrix, Astria and I) who've managed to get Vista running on really low-spec'ed computers.

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 11 2008, 09:59 PM)

excluding the graphic (as GMA900 dun support Aero), the lowest score i get in WEI is a decent 3.2 for that kind of hardware...

in fat, i ve ran Vista on a P4 2.4B GHz with 1.5GB of RAM before as well during the early days... but got some problem with the Catalyst driver back then to work with my X1950GT... a quick check at WEI also show a score of 3.0 for the lowest...

so i believe as long as it's a P4 2.0GHz or more and 1GB RAM, it is okay, although it's not great... for those still better stick with XP...

but if u ve a dual core CPU, i dun see y it can't run Vista smoothly... in my school using Pentium D + 2GB RAM with GMA 3100, also very smooth...
He's not talking about you, he's talking about "wayne322".
SUSMatrix
post Dec 12 2008, 09:28 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 11 2008, 09:59 PM)

I'm not talking about u lah...LOL.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 12 2008, 02:06 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 12 2008, 09:28 AM)
I'm not talking about u lah...LOL.
[Out of Topic]
So fast you reply @ 9.28 am? I sleep @ 5 am and just woke up 6 minutes ago @ 2 pm. doh.gif
DeVGF
post Dec 19 2008, 12:22 AM

291 posts

For now XP is still better... but soon Vista will overshadow XP like how XP did to ME
astria
post Dec 19 2008, 12:25 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(DeVGF @ Dec 19 2008, 12:22 AM)
For now XP is still better... but soon Vista will overshadow XP like how XP did to ME
wrong...

98 already overshadows ME...

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0170sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:05 AM