Dec 5 2008, 08:49 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
375 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
hello , again
sorry for creating so many threads >< wht OS should i get ? vista ulti or xp pro ? mostly gaming |
Dec 5 2008, 08:54 PM
2,892 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Penang |
Dec 5 2008, 08:56 PM
ohh , xp 32bit can work with 4gb ram ?
haha cos i think vista32bit cant use 4gb ram >< |
Dec 5 2008, 09:00 PM
46 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hello....
u better get vista.... if can grab vista ultimate-64 bit.... it can boost ur transfer rate data... 4 further info,go to windows' site,search the vista ultimate-64... gud luck... |
Dec 5 2008, 09:10 PM
4,251 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Dec 5 2008, 08:54 PM) that's coz the system hardware is slow not to mention u would miss out on DirectX10 on XP QUOTE(mizer @ Dec 5 2008, 08:56 PM) any 32-bit OS has the 4GB limitation |
Dec 5 2008, 09:16 PM
but dx9 and 10 dnt have much diff xD
Dec 5 2008, 09:21 PM
1,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: The Cool Name Place |
Yes, if you want to support more than 3.5GB of RAM then go for 64-bit version of O/S. Any 32-bit O/S will not support more than that due to architecture limitation. A quick browse through this forum will show you why is it so.
I don't think there's any need for the Ultimate version if you're only playing games. I'm using Vista Ultimate now and I rarely use the extra features of Ultimate. I'd go for Vista Premium if I were you. And to answer the question, I think it's better to go for Vista Ultimate. There's not much performance difference between XP and Vista currently. The feature that slows down the game is the DirectX 10 code-path. You can run the game at the DX9 code-path and it'll run just like how it runs in XP. Currently the drivers are developing more maturely and the performance difference between XP and Vista has been decreasing significantly. |
Dec 5 2008, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(mizer @ Dec 5 2008, 09:16 PM) yup, agree with u on that part, have seen how people hacked Crysis setting for XP and enabled Very High mode, the DX9 graphic is almost the same as DX10's ![]() as can be seen here, DX10 rendering is certainly nicer, but who knows, it might be just marketing gimmick, just like Crysis, the same thing is achievable with DX9, but in order to promote DX10, they purposely disable some options |
Dec 5 2008, 09:32 PM
how to check whether my o/s is under 32 or 64 bit ??
Dec 5 2008, 09:35 PM
http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html...W50aHVzaWFzdA==
besides image quality, seems like u would get performance boost as well with DirectX10 @limhongwoon, check your system properties if u are using vista |
Dec 5 2008, 09:39 PM
5,644 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Heaven to HELL |
ts, if u're h/w is sufficient enoguh, y dun giv vista a try?
but seriously, if is not b coz of dx10, i wont use vista.......... QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Dec 5 2008, 09:32 PM) for vista.................ur system properties will show 32 or 64 bit. (right click - properties on ur my computer)for xp................go to system information. (all programs - accessories - system tools - system information). in summary tab, "system type" will show x86 for 32bit & x64 for 64 bit. btw, dis is h/w section.................... |
Dec 5 2008, 09:45 PM
237 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
XP better..what for going to Vista? get the stable version!
Dec 5 2008, 09:46 PM
5,909 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 06.02.58.44.23.08.03 |
My PC is 32bit Vista, i have 4GB RAM. Upgraded the Vista to Service Pack 1. The memory status in my Device Manger is 4GB. Is it only virtual or there is no way can use 4GB in Vista 32bit ?
Dec 5 2008, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(geo-milano @ Dec 5 2008, 09:45 PM) care to explain what u meant by "not stable" in Vista?QUOTE(maxizanc @ Dec 5 2008, 09:46 PM) My PC is 32bit Vista, i have 4GB RAM. Upgraded the Vista to Service Pack 1. The memory status in my Device Manger is 4GB. Is it only virtual or there is no way can use 4GB in Vista 32bit ? hmm, afaik there is no way to utilize all 4GB RAM in 32-bit OS, heard about memory remapping stuff but not every program has the featureperhaps it's time to shift to 64-bit, in coming years 4GB RAM will be mainstream, then no point sticking to 32-bit anymore. even the upcoming Windows 7 would only ship in 64-bit version only (confirmed before, but the beta has 32-bit version, so status unknown) |
Dec 5 2008, 09:56 PM
so get vista better ?
Dec 5 2008, 10:00 PM
as usual, my recommendation is, if u have good hardware, by all means, try Vista, if u are not happy with it, revert back to XP. i had been using XP for the past 7 years, and i have no problem getting used to Vista after i change my rig.
and if u have less than 4GB RAM, or u do not need to utilize all 4GB RAM, stick with 32-bit system for now and btw, personal experience tells me that Vista is ok, but since there are other forummers who suggest that it is not good and not stable, why don't u PM them to ask them to explain to u why it is not good or not stable? This post has been edited by cyew86: Dec 5 2008, 10:04 PM |
Dec 5 2008, 10:25 PM
5,909 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 06.02.58.44.23.08.03 |
My Vista is works great with my PC. Smooth...
Dec 5 2008, 10:41 PM
ohh , but many softwares are incompatible with vista right ?
Dec 5 2008, 10:45 PM
Dec 5 2008, 10:46 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
22,158 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Singapore |
most consumer softwares have no problem with Vista...
my vote goes to Vista, and if possible, Vista 64-bits even if u ve less than 4GB RAM 64-bits is more secured, and is slightly faster than 32-bits... 32-bits programs, including games, have no problem running in it too... if u re new to Vista, pls give it at least 1 week to settle down before bashing it if there's a need... it usually takes a newly installed Vista a few days to optimize itself to the user's habit of computing... This post has been edited by astria: Dec 5 2008, 10:49 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0194sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:41 AM |