Vista or XP?, vista ulti or xp pro ?

tech3910
post Dec 5 2008, 09:39 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

ts, if u're h/w is sufficient enoguh, y dun giv vista a try?
but seriously, if is not b coz of dx10, i wont use vista..........
QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Dec 5 2008, 09:32 PM)
how to check whether my o/s is under 32 or 64 bit ??
for vista.................ur system properties will show 32 or 64 bit. (right click - properties on ur my computer)

for xp................go to system information. (all programs - accessories - system tools - system information).
in summary tab, "system type" will show x86 for 32bit & x64 for 64 bit.

btw, dis is h/w section....................
tech3910
post Dec 5 2008, 11:28 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 5 2008, 11:26 PM)
I dual boot my machine. VISTA is definitely faster and more responsive.
vista is faster in startup & shutdown, not necessary faster wen running application.
tech3910
post Dec 5 2008, 11:46 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 5 2008, 11:31 PM)
How fast do you want to run ur office APPS? The fact is VISTA is very responsive even after i throw in tons of apps, unlike XP which gets bloated and crawl like turtle. Having a responsive machine is  > than getting that extra 2fps in ur game when modern PC can easily handles 30fps to 60fps in ur game. Having 2fps extra is moot.
slower wen i copy massive amount of data from 1 location to another.......................=.=
tech3910
post Dec 5 2008, 11:50 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(milosevens @ Dec 5 2008, 11:47 PM)
i think windows seven is the same as vista. My friend said all the looks are the same except for one round dock i think..just maybe the performance is different..well, its not launch yet, what he see might just be the outlook or review by some net bloggers..
its basically improved version of vista, promising better performance.................
ms also remove a lot of annoying useless feature from windows 7 which exist in vista.
tech3910
post Dec 5 2008, 11:52 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Dec 5 2008, 11:50 PM)
from what i read:
- less bloated, can choose the components that u want to install
- some kind of super taskbar, more functionality
- ribbon interface on Wordpad
- directx 11
- less annoying UAC
- others all can't remember laugh.gif
it's a "minor" upgrade compared to from ME to XP or XP to Vista
this is something like from Win95 to 98 imho
i thought ms remove UAC in windows 7............................

btw, vista user out there, u can disable the super annoying UAC @ control panel.
& dx11 will b available for vista as well.

This post has been edited by tech3910: Dec 5 2008, 11:53 PM
tech3910
post Dec 6 2008, 12:03 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 5 2008, 11:57 PM)
How many % of time u spend on ur PC coying massive files???  doh.gif  Yes, this is one instance VISTA is slower but only by seconds. And there is a good reason behind why it is slower. The way XP copy the files is faster as it didn't take extra precautions to check the data u copied. VISTA rectify this issue and thus inccured some penalty in time taken to copy the files. I'll rather waste a few seconds to know that my data is handled properly... thumbup.gif..and the benefits of a fast boot up system (which i do a few times a day), already more than make up whatever time i lost when copying huge files.
vista isn't as "responsive" dat u think...................
i use both OS, xp3(32) & vista sp1(64).
vista seams 2 crash more often.................
i hate dat wen it happens wen copying files...........dis is y i dun cut-paste wen copying file in vista....................

vista definitely need some fix......................good thing the sp2 is cmg soon.............. biggrin.gif
tech3910
post Dec 6 2008, 03:28 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 6 2008, 09:26 AM)
1) Oh yeah...XP is more responsive...because you 'think' it is. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif It is this kind of rumour mongering mentality with no facts that spoil the reputation for vista...I don't 'think' that VISTA is more responsive, bro. I experienced it.

2) Vista crash more often - BS - I've NEVER EVER CRASH VISTA since DAY 1. Even when there's the rare occasion with explorer screw up, it'll recover by itself. XP lockups and hangs...like eating nasilemak for breakfast. 

3) Sounds like u have problem where i) you have doggy hardware. R u copying to external USB drive? Not all USB drive converter are made the same. ii) PSU not enuff power iii) You might have some renegade apps in your system. iv) Viruses?

Frankly, SP2 isn't going to help you if you don't want to check the problem yourself. I've copy over 100GB of data(including many huge movie files) from one hard disk to another the other day as i migrate from one drive to another (at same time terminated XP from my PC....)

100GB big enough for you?? smile.gif

(PS: Btw...why do you want VISTA 64-bit?? You have 8GB of RAM and need all of it??....64-bit isn't prime time yet...u should use the 32-bit version instead and see if it helps)
64 bit just 2 max out gaming experience.
i copy data from 1 hdd 2 another, not USB device.

btw, vista crash coz it still doesn't hav good enough compatibility.
my sound driver crash once, bit defender internet security 2009 crash twice.
all which i hav 2 reinstall............

pls, u sounds like a vista fan boy now...............
do i even said vista is no good? den wt i'm using now?........................
i said, vista is still cannot reach the height of xp. (dis is y os has service pack)
it is still slowser den xp a little bit wen it comes 2 running application.
those little bit adds up, dis is y company skip vista..........
hard 2 blame, xp has been on the market for almost 10 years...........

This post has been edited by tech3910: Dec 6 2008, 03:29 PM
tech3910
post Dec 6 2008, 07:50 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 6 2008, 04:23 PM)
Sheesh....doh.gif doh.gif Since when does 64-bit equals better gaming experience. Well, i haven't try 64-bits, no comments. Why don't you try XP 64-bit for a fair comparison eh?

Did you know u are wasting more RAM with 64-bit O/S?? It actually degrade your computing performance. Guess u don't have 8GB RAM either.

I have 3 sound driver enable same time (mobo realtek, X-FI, and ATI 4850 realtek) directed to different output. Never crash or hang. Not even once.

And my karsperksy runs great...smile.gif
It's your PERCEPTION VISTA is bad becoz u want to run 64-bit when u don't have enough RAM and for most part, 64-bit is still not stable yet.

You are giving your comments based on a 32-bit vs 64-bit OS...I'm doing a straight comparison between 2 32-bit OS....who's the fanboy now??
i;m giving logical opinion based on my experience...............just b coz u use vista, doesn't mean vista is the best..................... rolleyes.gif
dun u know certain games like crysis runs better on 64 bit os?......................
did u even look @ my siggy?.................
even 3 gb is well enough 2 max out any games performance on 64bit.

i guess u dun even red my post b4 replying.................... sweat.gif
did i ever mention vista is bad????
my point is, performance wise is not on the same height as xp.

y people & company skip vista?
coz its performance is not as fast as xp.
if ms can mek vista as fast as xp + all the GUI, dis will definitely convince company 2 upgrade.
speed & stability matter most in business world, not beautiful GUI.

vista is fun 2 use, once u disable the super annoying UAC.
vista has improved a lot wit the introduction of sp1, i expect sp2 to further improved vista.

edited, i think i hav 2 bold dis statement......................coz u people not reading...............

This post has been edited by tech3910: Dec 6 2008, 09:09 PM
tech3910
post Dec 11 2008, 04:36 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(nickerlas @ Dec 11 2008, 01:28 PM)
XP 64bit.. i heard vista has compatibility issues..
every 64 bit windows also hav compatibility issues la................. biggrin.gif
driver, s/w & everything, priority is 32bit 1st...........

0.0145sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:02 AM