Vista or XP?, vista ulti or xp pro ?

TechnoDude94
post Dec 7 2008, 02:31 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(yen223 @ Dec 6 2008, 03:27 PM)
Quite honestly, Vista is much better than XP if your computer can tahan it.

And apparently, Windows 7 promises a shitload of performance enhancements, like much faster boot time, and less GPU power needed for Aero
If I may comment, I've tested Windows 7 and what the say about the performance increase is true and real! wub.gif
yen223
post Dec 7 2008, 06:54 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 7 2008, 02:31 AM)
If I may comment, I've tested Windows 7 and what the say about the performance increase is true and real! wub.gif
Serious? Wow, now I can't wait for Windows 7 Beta, in Jan 2009!

Is it true ah, they say you can play Crysis on Windows 7 without using a graphics card! (plays at 7 fps, but still)

This post has been edited by yen223: Dec 7 2008, 06:55 PM
TechnoDude94
post Dec 8 2008, 12:03 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(yen223 @ Dec 7 2008, 06:54 PM)

Is it true ah, they say you can play Crysis on Windows 7 without using a graphics card! (plays at 7 fps, but still)
Yes, I'm serious. The Windows 7 BETA is already released but you must know on how to acquire it. brows.gif (Don't ask me how I acquired it, sorry tongue.gif ) Yes, you can play Crysis but @ 7 fps = WTFOMGROFLBBQLMAO... sweat.gif Trust me, it's still better to have a dedicated graphics card. icon_rolleyes.gif
stealth89
post Dec 8 2008, 01:40 AM

113 posts

for now i suggest you use Windows XP Pro (32-bit) 1st. Windows 7 is still in Beta (who noes wat will happen later). DON'T even think of Vista on Gaming. Vista alone itseft taken 1GB-1.4GB RAM for BOOT UP. And MAX RAM for 32-bit OS is 3.00GB-3.50GB.

Regards
yen223
post Dec 8 2008, 06:58 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 8 2008, 12:03 AM)
Yes, I'm serious. The Windows 7 BETA is already released but you must know on how to acquire it. brows.gif (Don't ask me how I acquired it, sorry tongue.gif ) Yes, you can play Crysis but @ 7 fps = WTFOMGROFLBBQLMAO... sweat.gif Trust me, it's still better to have a dedicated graphics card. icon_rolleyes.gif
lol i think in vista without a gpu crysis will run at 1fpm
Vincent_A8fm
post Dec 8 2008, 01:30 PM

179 posts

vista is ok to me..
so far after release until now..i use it no problem coming out...
somemore it's faster when u online..
gaming is ok.. just use a good 3d card..
cscheat
post Dec 8 2008, 08:01 PM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

QUOTE(mizer @ Dec 5 2008, 09:49 PM)
hello , again
sorry for creating so many threads ><
wht OS should i get ?
vista ulti or xp pro ?
mostly gaming brows.gif
gaming use VISTA SP1 ! it is as fast as XP now
chchyong89
post Dec 8 2008, 08:06 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(yen223 @ Dec 7 2008, 06:54 PM)

without graphic card u got display on your monitor? shakehead.gif
madspeed02
post Dec 8 2008, 08:10 PM

1,170 posts

i hav a question here,for study purpose which 1 should i install in my lappie.i feel that vista can't install many program juz like xp support all version.vista abit freeze and not responding.wat about linz ubuntu in my lappie?
Demonic Wrath
post Dec 8 2008, 08:25 PM

My name so cool
1,667 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Dec 8 2008, 08:06 PM)
There's always integrated graphic processor. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mkei87 @ Dec 8 2008, 08:10 PM)
i hav a question here,for study purpose which 1 should i install in my lappie.i feel that vista can't install many program juz like xp support all version.vista abit freeze and not responding.wat about linz ubuntu in my lappie?
From my experience of using Vista, it supports almost all the programs needed for my studies (Visual Studio, Photoshop, MS Office, AutoCad). The software supported by Vista has been increased significantly over the past 2 years. Now a lot of software has support for Vista
yen223
post Dec 8 2008, 08:31 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(mkei87 @ Dec 8 2008, 08:10 PM)
You just answered your own question lol. Use XP

Unless you're studying computer science, you shouldn't install Ubuntu. Its a lot trouble, and it's not that much better
madspeed02
post Dec 8 2008, 08:35 PM

1,170 posts

QUOTE(yen223 @ Dec 8 2008, 08:31 PM)

Unless you're studying computer science, you shouldn't install Ubuntu. Its a lot trouble, and it's not that much better
ic.good advice.thanks.
Iron_Gurl
post Dec 8 2008, 09:31 PM

144 posts

XP SP2...
Vista sad.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 9 2008, 09:19 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(yen223 @ Dec 8 2008, 08:31 PM)

yep....agreed....no "YOU BUNTUT" for me. The nightmare of looking for drivers, trying to install them(it's not just double click), searching for good apps in a sea of junk apps....urrgghh....
TechnoDude94
post Dec 9 2008, 11:44 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(stealth89 @ Dec 8 2008, 01:40 AM)
for now i suggest you use Windows XP Pro (32-bit) 1st. Windows 7 is still in Beta (who noes wat will happen later). DON'T even think of Vista on Gaming. Vista alone itseft taken 1GB-1.4GB RAM for BOOT UP. And MAX RAM for 32-bit OS is 3.00GB-3.50GB.

Regards
Bro, Vista doesn't take 1GB -> 1.4GB of RAM during boot-up. doh.gif I managed to run Vista on 512MB RAM.

QUOTE(yen223 @ Dec 8 2008, 06:58 AM)
lol i think in vista without a gpu crysis will run at 1fpm
Nope, it should be 7 fps and not 1 fpm ( sweat.gif ) with integrated graphics.

QUOTE(cscheat @ Dec 8 2008, 08:01 PM)
Agreed with you but trust me that Windows 7 will have even better gaming performance.

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Dec 8 2008, 08:06 PM)
I fell off my chair due to laughing while reading this idiotic comment. Do you know what is integrated graphics? doh.gif shakehead.gif
PS: You were shaking your head. doh.gif shakehead.gif
nitsujyuen
post Dec 9 2008, 02:01 PM

572 posts

still feels xp much more stable
my vista home also damn lagging when run under 1gb memory (without dedicated graphic card) sad.gif
TechnoDude94
post Dec 9 2008, 02:46 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(nitsujyuen @ Dec 9 2008, 02:01 PM)
my vista home also damn lagging when run under 1gb memory (without dedicated graphic card) sad.gif
It may lag a little when used with integrated graphics because the integrated graphics has to share memory to buffer frames from the RAM and I doubt the RAM likes sharing. tongue.gif Get 2GB of RAM and share 256MB to integrated graphics to buffer frames and you'll be as smooth as a baby's bottom.
dylanchan1688
post Dec 9 2008, 06:28 PM

PuLu™
125 posts

QUOTE(cscheat @ Dec 8 2008, 08:01 PM)
true
TechnoDude94
post Dec 9 2008, 07:39 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(dylanchan1688 @ Dec 9 2008, 06:28 PM)
true
Please don't post single-liners. TIA. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 10 2008, 02:30 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nitsujyuen @ Dec 9 2008, 02:01 PM)
2 Options.
1) Add RAM to 2GB. RAM so cheap now. Buy now or forever hold your peace.
2) Disable Aero interface. Your windows will fly.

I'm running 2GB RAM on Atom. Doesn't lag at all. I disabled the Aero and it flys. LOL.

btw, i noticed some observation about die hard XP users and would like to put foward an analogy.

It's like cars.

1) Example 1: Your Proton Saga BLM 1.3 use the CAMPRO 1.3 engine. You slapped this engine into a WAJA and then you complain it is slow yadda yadda..no power yadda...but you forgot the benefits of a bigger car, bigger boot etc. That's why they don't put 1.3 engine into a WAJA. It runs on 1.6.

2) Example 2: VIVA 1.0 vs Myvi 1.0....exactly same 3 cyclinder engine. Which car do you think is faster and more acceleration?? Of course VIVA 1.0
But Myvi is the bigger car.

3) Example 3: Myvi 1.3 vs Avanza 1.3....basically the same engine with different tuning. Which do you think has better acceleration? Nuff said.

So it's the same case with VISTA or any new O/S. When XP was released, those Win98 machines ..what..Pentium 1?? Can barely even BOOT XP.

If you want to have the benefits of new O/S, your machine must be able to take it. All this 'windows lagging' whining are nothing more than people who wants to have Aero, but not the GPU nor RAM to handle it. So who's at fault?? doh.gif

With Aero off, it is IMPOSSIBLE for VISTA to lag even for a lowly machine like an Intel ATOM.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 10 2008, 02:47 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0187sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:23 AM