GaMinG HeadseT Club, GameRz Lai!

AhJetz
post Feb 18 2014, 11:27 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(kenysl @ Feb 13 2014, 09:34 PM)
sound wise the Kraken Pro has a heavier bass compared to Siberia V2 but V2 has better vocal performance in my experience.
comfort wise really depends on your taste, the Kraken Pro will just sit comfortably on your head;
while the Siberia V2 will clamp your head since their design is based on the signature self-adjusting headband.
the Siberia V2 might sound very uncomfortable, but I can say it isn't as bad as it sounds, just needs some getting used to.
Have tried wearing both and I found that Kraken Pro is more to my taste so bought it today rclxm9.gif Thanks for da advice

SUSY.J.S
post Feb 18 2014, 11:32 PM

MLM
1,353 posts

QUOTE(Lord_darkslide @ Feb 17 2014, 09:05 PM)
hi, sifoos and gamers...
i stumble upon this thread while looking for headsets for gaming purpose. can kindly please recommend me a wireless headset. my details are:

Platform: PS3/PS4 and PC/Laptop
Game type: FPS (BF3/4, COD), adventure and racing (GT5/6, NFS, F1..etc)
Budget: max RM1k (makan megi mode for 5 month) tongue.gif
Special criteria: Wireless, Prefer over ear for my large head, prefer cloth than leather/leatherette, dun care if 2.1/7.1, multi platform

Current headset/iem/headphone:

1. Razer Chimeara 2.1: good set of headset. i own 2 actually after the 1st one broken (transmitter/base no signal) i buy a chimeara again. pair with a turtle beach DSS surrond processor.
2. Logitech G230: Dont like it at all, comfort and sound is terrible (and not wireless)
3. Sony Pulse Elite 7.1: Best headset for playstation but not multiplatform sad.gif
4. Razer Electra: good travelling headset. love it. but too small and leatherette cushion gets hot
5. Plantronic back beat go 2: good sound and comfort to pair with a psvita
6. Siberia v2: too tight sad.gif

thinking to get the astro A50 or Steelseries H wireless.

by reading pages on this thread..it made me wonder, maybe i should invest in a headset made by audio specialist like audio technika, bayerdymanic etc...

any sugesstion?

thank you
save the money to get Astro A40. A50 nothing special.

QUOTE(AhJetz @ Feb 18 2014, 11:27 PM)
Have tried wearing both and I found that Kraken Pro is more to my taste so bought it today  rclxm9.gif  Thanks for da advice

Welcome to this club wink.gif
SSJBen
post Feb 18 2014, 11:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

hi, sifoos and gamers...
i stumble upon this thread while looking for headsets for gaming purpose. can kindly please recommend me a wireless headset. my details are:

Special criteria: Wireless, Prefer over ear for my large head, prefer cloth than leather/leatherette, dun care if 2.1/7.1, multi platform

1. Razer Chimeara 2.1: good set of headset. i own 2 actually after the 1st one broken (transmitter/base no signal) i buy a chimeara again. pair with a turtle beach DSS surrond processor.
2. Logitech G230: Dont like it at all, comfort and sound is terrible (and not wireless)
3. Sony Pulse Elite 7.1: Best headset for playstation but not multiplatform sad.gif
4. Razer Electra: good travelling headset. love it. but too small and leatherette cushion gets hot

by reading pages on this thread..it made me wonder, maybe i should invest in a headset made by audio specialist like audio technika, bayerdymanic etc...

any sugesstion?

thank you
Do you absolutely need wireless, if so then your options are indeed limited. I've not heard the SS H wireless, but the A50 is a bloated mess of bass, more bass and a lot of bass (though they aren't as bad as beats...).
The mids on the A50 are so recessed, lacks so much detail. There's a bad sense of imaging and instrument seperation, something the A50 does so poorly despite boasting itself as a "gaming headset".

But wait, a lot of bass!! Isn't that amazing for action games and movies? Explosions!!!!!
No. There's a fine difference between well controlled bass which hits hard and extends deep only when it needs to. Bloated bass is just bass everywhere, even when a person is talking or when a glass smashes on the floor. If you are someone who likes just loves an abundance quantity of bass, the A50 is indeed for you. Ears are different after all.
kenysl
post Feb 18 2014, 11:41 PM

Foodie
679 posts

QUOTE(Daniixo @ Feb 18 2014, 10:37 PM)
What about Razer Kraken 7.1 ? RM 330. S.Sound + better mic then kraken pro, usb powered. Gonna get it in a few days. Whaddya think ??
if you are going for the Kraken anyways, the slight top up for the Kraken 7.1 is worth it la IMO.
The virtual surround is good to have (my laptop supports it natively and it really improves the audio experience)
Plus I trust Razer's software implementation for the Kraken 7.1 will be top notch also laugh.gif
Sentinel92
post Feb 18 2014, 11:50 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

hi, sifoos and gamers...

any sugesstion?

thank you
You can take a look at the Sennheiser gaming headsets since you're willing to pay for the A50, which puts you in Sennheiser's price bracket. You can take a look at the Skullcandy PLYR 1 or Beyerdynamic Custom ONE Pro as well. But not much wireless options unfortunately. sad.gif
Lord_darkslide
post Feb 19 2014, 12:17 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 18 2014, 11:35 PM)
Do you absolutely need wireless, if so then your options are indeed limited. I've not heard the SS H wireless, but the A50 is a bloated mess of bass, more bass and a lot of bass (though they aren't as bad as beats...).
The mids on the A50 are so recessed, lacks so much detail. There's a bad sense of imaging and instrument seperation, something the A50 does so poorly despite boasting itself as a "gaming headset".

But wait, a lot of bass!! Isn't that amazing for action games and movies? Explosions!!!!!
No. There's a fine difference between well controlled bass which hits hard and extends deep only when it needs to. Bloated bass is just bass everywhere, even when a person is talking or when a glass smashes on the floor. If you are someone who likes just loves an abundance quantity of bass, the A50 is indeed for you. Ears are different after all.
nah... i am not a fan of bassy basses bass like you explain.. old gamer already... ear not that good.. hehehe.. thanks for the pro tip..

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Feb 18 2014, 11:50 PM)
You can take a look at the Sennheiser gaming headsets since you're willing to pay for the A50, which puts you in Sennheiser's price bracket. You can take a look at the Skullcandy PLYR 1 or Beyerdynamic Custom ONE Pro as well. But not much wireless options unfortunately. sad.gif
yup not much wireless option.. since all good headphone is wired.. (like mouse too)... thanks for the recommendation about sennheiser..i see some big audio company is starting to make gaming headset (bayerdynamic, polk, sennheiser)... but all wired... sad.gif

sticking to my chimaera a lil bit longer i guess...

thank all
maxera
post Feb 19 2014, 01:55 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(Lord_darkslide @ Feb 17 2014, 10:05 PM)
hi, sifoos and gamers...

any sugesstion?

thank you
if you really have that much money go for Audio Technica ATH AG1/ADG1. It is wired though. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEAM71jcp4U
Lord_darkslide
post Feb 19 2014, 02:04 AM

537 posts

Thats the only thing holding me back for an audiophile headphone. wire.
but good headphone came with wire.
Sentinel92
post Feb 19 2014, 02:28 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Lord_darkslide @ Feb 19 2014, 02:04 AM)
Can't seem to find it locally , but this standalone H Model sounds right up your alley.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16826249121

If you don't mind shipping cost then this Steelseries looks real good.
Don't confuse it with the 5H and 7H models though.

Lord_darkslide
post Feb 19 2014, 10:06 AM

537 posts

heavyarm selling it for RM1099.

lint3s
post Feb 19 2014, 10:49 AM

132 posts

Hey guys, need some recommendation on wireless headset.

Platform: PS3/PS4
Game type: Mainly BF4 but hopefully it works great on other games too
Budget: max RM1k
Special criteria: Wireless

Sony Wireless Stereo Headset 7.1
Sentinel92
post Feb 19 2014, 01:15 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Lord_darkslide @ Feb 19 2014, 10:06 AM)
heavyarm selling it for RM1099.
Yeah but it's pre order. I wanted to look for an already on sale set so you can try.
You wanna take the risk? Or youre in no rush right? smile.gif
Minecrafter
post Feb 19 2014, 01:59 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

I've been using it for almost 6 months,it's comfy imo,but the sound isn't that good though,i'd say the sound is decent. tongue.gif
SSJBen
post Feb 19 2014, 03:43 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Lord_darkslide @ Feb 19 2014, 02:04 AM)
Your alternative is the Sennheiser RS 170. It's been a long time since I last heard it, but it's a pretty decent headphone nonetheless. $250 on Amazon currently. But for the price, a much cheaper Sennheiser HD558 offers most of what the RS 170 has, except the cable and the features.
The HD558 is a little bit more refined, lusher in the mids and with better soundstage presentation. Though the RS 170 does hit harder on the mid-bass region, it isn't a bassy headphone per-se.

There's also another alternative which is the TurtleBeach PX4.... I know, TB = bad built quality. Despite the comfort and built quality of the PX4 (which to say the least is barely passable for me at least), it actually sounds... decent. Unlike plenty of gaming headsets which emphasize on too much bass and neglect the rest, the PX4 is actually quite subdued in this area. The mid-bass still does bleed into the low-mids often times, clouding detail but it isn't as bad as say the A50.

Soundstage is on the small side, but imaging (positional accuracy) is decent. You just don't get the scale of sound being more wide, but rather more upfront and in-your-face. This can be alievated with the help of Dolby Heapdhone (which is still my favourite HRTF besides Creative's SBX) built into the PX4's transmitter, but I feel that DH has always been a pairing well made for open-back headphones and not closed ones.

QUOTE(lint3s @ Feb 19 2014, 10:49 AM)
Hey guys, need some recommendation on wireless headset.

Platform: PS3/PS4
Game type: Mainly BF4 but hopefully it works great on other games too
Budget: max RM1k
Special criteria: Wireless

Sony Wireless Stereo Headset 7.1
Check my reply to Lord_darkslide.

Lord_darkslide
post Feb 19 2014, 03:46 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Feb 19 2014, 01:15 PM)
Yeah but it's pre order. I wanted to look for an already on sale set so you can try.
You wanna take the risk? Or youre in no rush right? smile.gif
yeah man, dont want to risk it also... RM1k went to drain if not to personal liking...
i see at heavyarm fb page.. he got a few for walk in.. sadly im in ipoh.. so, kenot try 1st... cry.gif

waiting for an ipoh base seller (gamers guild gamestore) to stock it up next week.. then only can try and made up my mind either A50 or SS H wireless..

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 19 2014, 01:59 PM)
I've been using it for almost 6 months,it's comfy imo,but the sound isn't that good though,i'd say the sound is decent. tongue.gif
thumbup.gif yeah i guess so, but it is personal issue... its like astro A50, somebody loathe it, somebody swears by it.... hehehehe..

edit: yeah... about turtlebeach... hhmmm.... sound wise is good... but build quality scares me.. been visiting sennheiser webpage since yesterday... drool.gif
and also kept watching CES 2014 on youtube.. smile.gif

thanks to SSJBen... now i am drooling for this RS220.. but dayyum... USD499... ffffuuuuu...
http://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-RS-220-He...k/dp/B006ZNX81E

i ilke:
wireless, multiple source, no mic.. but mic is my least concern.. i rarely on chat anyway.. and the charger and headphone stand is like my chimaera.. no extra charging cable (like TB, Sony Pulse, A50) drool.gif

This post has been edited by Lord_darkslide: Feb 19 2014, 04:09 PM
lint3s
post Feb 19 2014, 04:05 PM

132 posts

Hi Ben, thanks for the reply and I have read your comment on A50. Any other that you can suggest? icon_question.gif
SSJBen
post Feb 19 2014, 04:37 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Lord_darkslide @ Feb 19 2014, 03:46 PM)
yeah man, dont want to risk it also... RM1k went to drain if not to personal liking...
i see at heavyarm fb page.. he got a few for walk in.. sadly im in ipoh.. so, kenot try 1st...  cry.gif

waiting for an ipoh base seller (gamers guild gamestore) to stock it up next week.. then only can try and made up my mind either A50 or SS H wireless..
thumbup.gif  yeah i guess so, but it is personal issue... its like astro A50, somebody loathe it, somebody swears by it.... hehehehe..
edit: yeah... about turtlebeach... hhmmm.... sound wise is good... but build quality scares me.. been visiting sennheiser webpage since yesterday...  drool.gif

thanks to SSJBen... now i am drooling for this RS220.. but dayyum... USD499... ffffuuuuu...

i ilke:
wireless, multiple source, no mic.. but mic is my least concern.. i rarely on chat anyway.. and the charger and headphone stand is like my chimaera.. no extra charging cable (like TB, Sony Pulse, A50)  drool.gif
My time with the RS220 was brief, so I can't comment much about how good it sounds (I listened to like just 2 songs with it lol). But from initial impressions, it's not bad. I like the forward mids, but not too much to be fatiguing (again, it was brief so I wasn't even focusing). Unfortunately I cannot comment on the bass regions as the songs I listened to with the RS220 were ballads. The highs might be slightly lacking in energy though, but I don't remember that well.

The one thing I remember very well is that it was quite clampy, it's the usual signature clamping pressure Sennheiser is infamously known for. So even for me who has a small head, it was rather uncomfortable (and this is just with 2 songs).

Now that I remember, the Skullcandy PLYR1 is another wireless gaming headset that I used to go to. There isn't alot of bloated bass, it's detailed and punchy with nice texture. Even though it doesn't transistion nicely into the low-mids it's still acceptable enough for games for my tastes.
It's rather hard to get now a days, but it seems Amazon has them back in regular stock.

QUOTE(lint3s @ Feb 19 2014, 04:05 PM)

Hi Ben, thanks for the reply and I have read your comment on A50. Any other that you can suggest? icon_question.gif
Skullcandy Plyr 1. It's so much more balanced than the A50, when it costs half the price. There isn't alot of bloated bass, it's detailed and punchy with nice texture. Even though it doesn't transistion nicely into the low-mids it's still acceptable enough for games for my tastes.
It's a great headset, I don't know why I forgot about it though.
Sentinel92
post Feb 19 2014, 05:48 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Lord_darkslide @ Feb 19 2014, 03:46 PM)
i see at heavyarm fb page.. he got a few for walk in.. sadly im in ipoh.. so, kenot try 1st...  cry.gif

thumbup.gif  yeah i guess so, but it is personal issue... its like astro A50, somebody loathe it, somebody swears by it.... hehehehe..
edit: yeah... about turtlebeach... hhmmm.... sound wise is good... but build quality scares me.. been visiting sennheiser webpage since yesterday...  drool.gif

i ilke:
wireless, multiple source, no mic.. but mic is my least concern.. i rarely on chat anyway.. and the charger and headphone stand is like my chimaera.. no extra charging cable (like TB, Sony Pulse, A50)  drool.gif
Yeah better not drop 1K unless you've tried ir first, despite how good the specs sheet is.

But if you want any Sennheiser headphones I ada jual. But Kena Buat shipping lah. Can order the cheaper RS170/RS180 if the RS220 is too high for you.

Daniixo
post Feb 19 2014, 09:44 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(kenysl @ Feb 18 2014, 11:41 PM)
if you are going for the Kraken anyways, the slight top up for the Kraken 7.1 is worth it la IMO.
The virtual surround is good to have (my laptop supports it natively and it really improves the audio experience)
Plus I trust Razer's software implementation for the Kraken 7.1 will be top notch also laugh.gif
But even if u have a Kraken Pro that doesnt have S.sound, u can download the feature at the Razer website. But ill be getting my 7.1's soon, cant wait rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
lint3s
post Feb 19 2014, 09:59 PM

132 posts

Didn't know that skullcandy manufacture headset for gaming... any idea where I can get one?

170 Pages « < 161 162 163 164 165 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:46 AM