NOKIA N97!, Nokia New Flagship Smartphone
Ash
Jul 3 2009, 03:10 AM
QUOTE(gzero @ Jul 3 2009, 02:48 AM) It would appear that nobody have taken notice of what i have said few pages ago. I changed my product code, flashed and bricked it even though the NSU reported a successful update at the end. It has reportedly happen to many other people if you google it. Most of them happened because they tried to change the product code in order to update their firmware. Here's the video of the exact problem i'm having after updating the firmware. Enjoy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3-vS-JZhhzwWhether you want to heed my advice or not, it's up to you. I'm just sharing my experience. I have since sent my phone to Nokia Centre and i think it's ready for collection tomorrow. Well, I was just sharing since a lot of them were complaining about the slow update Nokia is having. Could it be due to you trying to debrand the phone and using the wrong product code? I believe none of the malaysian sets are branded and I tried to use the same product code similar to Malaysia only difference is the Country. Changed product code to 0586300, upgraded firmware and now mine is working fine.
gzero
Jul 3 2009, 03:20 AM
QUOTE(Ash @ Jul 3 2009, 03:10 AM) Well, I was just sharing since a lot of them were complaining about the slow update Nokia is having. Could it be due to you trying to debrand the phone and using the wrong product code? I believe none of the malaysian sets are branded and I tried to use the same product code similar to Malaysia only difference is the Country. Changed product code to 0586300, upgraded firmware and now mine is working fine. Probably, well my phone is branded under Singtel, got it along with a postpaid line registration, and debranding a phone and updating it has been proven to be working all this while, until now. That's why i was surprised. Since your phone isn't branded int he first place, maybe it's fine doing it. Maybe not for a branded phone though. Hmmm..
jpaq
Jul 3 2009, 08:26 AM
If its unbranded, I myself would not bother doing all the product code changing thingy... it still sounds risky to me and it would void your warranty.
If it was me, get to a NCC with the update. If I can't find one or its too far and the update is not up on the internet yet, just wait loh!
One more thing, to those who may not know or realise yet, dun bother checking for updates on the Nokia Malaysia website (the part where you type in your product code to check). Just plug in to your PC, run the Nokia Software Updater (NSU) and see. In the past, the stupid website has been known to be outdated rather than updated with your update!
This post has been edited by jpaq: Jul 3 2009, 08:28 AM
xgnesh93
Jul 3 2009, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(jpaq @ Jul 3 2009, 08:26 AM) If its unbranded, I myself would not bother doing all the product code changing thingy... it still sounds risky to me and it would void your warranty. If it was me, get to a NCC with the update. If I can't find one or its too far and the update is not up on the internet yet, just wait loh! One more thing, to those who may not know or realise yet, dun bother checking for updates on the Nokia Malaysia website (the part where you type in your product code to check). Just plug in to your PC, run the Nokia Software Updater (NSU) and see. In the past, the stupid website has been known to be outdated rather than updated with your update! I agreed with you, Bro.
saiya
Jul 3 2009, 09:56 AM

no update for me.. hey snakevenom, after update, that guitar game still there or not? thats the only game that i hav.. dot know where to find any..
jpaq
Jul 3 2009, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(saiya @ Jul 3 2009, 09:56 AM) no update for me.. hey snakevenom, after update, that guitar game still there or not? thats the only game that i hav.. dot know where to find any.. How did you check if you dun mind me asking? Added on July 3, 2009, 10:43 amOk, in my case I updated my firmware at the 1 Utama NCC on Wednesday. But I just tried with the NSU again anyway, just to see what it says, it says my current version is V11 and the update is also V11. I did not proceed with the update after that. So it may mean that if you just try to update using NSU, you may be able to get it already. I dunno. Worth trying again, in any case. My product code is 0586199. This post has been edited by jpaq: Jul 3 2009, 10:43 AM
saiya
Jul 3 2009, 10:53 AM

i just chek using nsu..
Nokia N97 (RM-505)
Firmware Version Current : 10.0.012 Update : 10.0.012
so for me no need to backup anythng yet until got new update..
This post has been edited by saiya: Jul 3 2009, 10:55 AM
TSsnakevenom
Jul 3 2009, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(saiya @ Jul 3 2009, 09:56 AM) no update for me.. hey snakevenom, after update, that guitar game still there or not? thats the only game that i hav.. dot know where to find any.. ya guitar game still inside. hmmm maybe u guys can try reflash the v10 first then try to let it detect from NSU again.
espree
Jul 3 2009, 11:10 AM
Is there a silicone case for this phone? I hate the pouch that given.
aruja_69
Jul 3 2009, 01:11 PM
Pouch is nice mah..look elegant...silicon look the fone damn cheapo..hehehe
espree
Jul 3 2009, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Jul 3 2009, 01:11 PM) Pouch is nice mah..look elegant...silicon look the fone damn cheapo..hehehe pouch look is ok but very hard to put in / take out
Amir9
Jul 3 2009, 02:33 PM
no update for me yet using code 0586297 white colour n97
aruja_69
Jul 3 2009, 03:14 PM
Meaning all of u have to go Nokia Care..then...hehehehe
Babyripp
Jul 3 2009, 03:31 PM
wrote a non-tech-y review on my blog. firmware update is out already is it? I like the pouch, can even attach a wrislet there. but I have to agree, quite difficult to take out the phone. Always accidentally pressed the camera button unless if put it in the other way round. This post has been edited by Babyripp: Jul 4 2009, 12:00 AM
Amir9
Jul 3 2009, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(Babyripp @ Jul 3 2009, 03:31 PM) wrote a non-tech-y review on my blog. firmware update is out already is it? I like the pouch, can even attach a wrislet there. but I have to agree, quite difficult to take out the phone. Always accidentally pressed the camera button unless if put it in the other way round. mind to share where you download the theme for your phone?
saiya
Jul 3 2009, 04:46 PM

guys, hav u ever tried slide show on your wall paper.. seems its not working right.. 1st i try to change the interval for 1 days.. sometimes it change o other pic.. sumtime until day 2, still the same picture.. even i tired 10 min interval.. selection of 3 pic.. still sometime change sometime not..
mzaidi
Jul 3 2009, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(espree @ Jul 3 2009, 02:00 PM) pouch look is ok but very hard to put in / take out  Pouch will loosen up after few days, at least mine did.
blinky
Jul 3 2009, 06:31 PM
I'm so fed up.
My phone crashed 4 times today and I had to hard-reset them and go through the trouble of restoring the backups.
If Nokia is still not giving me a firmware update I'll just sell the phone off.
TSsnakevenom
Jul 3 2009, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(blinky @ Jul 3 2009, 06:31 PM) I'm so fed up. My phone crashed 4 times today and I had to hard-reset them and go through the trouble of restoring the backups. If Nokia is still not giving me a firmware update I'll just sell the phone off. why not go to NCC update ur firmware?
blinky
Jul 3 2009, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(snakevenom @ Jul 3 2009, 06:32 PM) why not go to NCC update ur firmware? Because I have to work. And they don't take in any phones after 6.