7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

joyyy
post Dec 29 2008, 02:42 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(sunmenghao @ Dec 29 2008, 02:39 PM)
Canon EOS 1000D with kitlens how much? Any recommended shop around KL/Melaka?

notworthy.gif
Should be around RM1800-1900 right now. Different shops give different "freebies". If you're in KL you could try Sg Wang and Low Yat.
joyyy
post Dec 29 2008, 06:44 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Dec 29 2008, 03:55 PM)
Thanks for the recommandation.

But i am not looking for those black camera's.

what I AM looking for is those family-type of camera.

Thanks anyway.
The LX-3 is simple enough to operate yet provides full manual control for those who want it. smile.gif
joyyy
post Dec 31 2008, 12:56 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(teddbundy @ Dec 31 2008, 12:27 PM)
hmm.. i think i would stick with a200 since my budget  is only that much. but it is a good camera too right ? biggrin.gif
Go for it dude. It's a decision you wont regret.
You'll be showing off your in-body stabilization to us Canon and Nikon fanboys in no time. smile.gif
joyyy
post Dec 31 2008, 02:16 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Dec 31 2008, 01:36 PM)
but Canon uses Sony's LCD display..and Sony's sensor..and other components too.

btw..how much is D60? Nt for me..for my friend..i using a300 nw.. tongue.gif
Canon has been manufacturing their own parts for a long time now. I think the last DSLR that used a Sony sensor was the 300D.
Yeah, and few people know that Sony's technology is largely based on the existing Konica Minolta technology, which was started earlier than Canon or Nikon's. smile.gif
joyyy
post Jan 1 2009, 11:38 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Jan 1 2009, 11:33 AM)
Hmm, I think he means that sony's kit lens is around 24-70 (i dunno lar the exact range) and that the other brands are standard 18-55? Izit? blink.gif
I think its 18-70 smile.gif
But there's no such thing as a "standard" 18-55 if you ask me. It's entirely up to the manufacturer. =D
joyyy
post Jan 1 2009, 11:44 AM

1,394 posts

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0801/08010701sonydslra200.asp
CES 2008: Sony has today revealed it latest Alpha digital SLR, the A200. This new entry-level digital SLR has a ten megapixel APS size CCD (note the switch back from CMOS), Super SteadyShot (sensor-shift image stabilization), three frames per second continuous shooting, Sony's Dynamic Range Optimizer (DRO) and a 2.7" 230,000 pixel LCD monitor. The A200 is set to ship in February for $700 with the 18-70 mm lens or $200 more for a dual-lens kit which adds the 75-300 mm. This model appears to be very similar to the A100 apart from higher sensitivity, faster AF, a slightly larger LCD, a new Fn button and other subtle control changes.

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by joyyy: Jan 1 2009, 11:44 AM
joyyy
post Jan 2 2009, 12:55 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Jan 2 2009, 12:54 AM)
LMAO.... soree bro....
but dslr at rm800???
imposible for new models, older models or 2nd hand new models.

possible for 2nd hand old models.
go look look at garage sales ther.

i think i saw a 3000d selling for rm300
3000d isnt a DSLR dude.
joyyy
post Jan 3 2009, 12:32 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 3 2009, 12:08 AM)
LX3 all the way. If you are looking for zoom, get the FZ28.
But the Canon has USM that enables zooming while recording whistling.gif
joyyy
post Jan 3 2009, 01:15 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(augkyos @ Jan 3 2009, 10:29 AM)
sorry.. What's PQ or USM? lolz. newbie here.
Lulz..
PQ refers to Picture Quality or Image Quality.
USM is a trademarked name by Canon for their ultrasonic motor for ultrasilent and fast focusing, or for the SX10's case, the USM is for silently zooming the lens.
joyyy
post Jan 4 2009, 07:47 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ Jan 4 2009, 05:06 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Compact/ middle sized digital camera (Think Lumix LX3)
Budget: RM1k+
Your Location: Selangor
Preferable brand :  Anything except Sony, Preferably common, good brand
Type of photography u want to do :  Semi-pro
Any specific models in mind? :  Panasonic Lumix LX3
Any specific features u want? :  Wide screen (MUST), 3-inch screen (Prefer higher resolution), Good battery life, Cheap maintenance, Cheap accessories (battery/ memory stick), Good colour reproduction.

Please recommend and PM me =D
I'm looking for one for my dad.
Everything you say you refer to the LX3. I'd say procrastinate no further, GET THE LX3~ smile.gif
joyyy
post Jan 5 2009, 04:30 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(pay3d @ Jan 5 2009, 04:03 PM)
go for lx3 bro...it has everything you need...otherwise fz-28 if you want some more zoom extend..
What happened to the Canon Powershot G10 and the Canon SX10IS?
joyyy
post Jan 5 2009, 08:40 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(frankzen @ Jan 5 2009, 08:22 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  dslr
Budget: rm2000
Your Location:   subang/pj
Preferable brand :  sony
Type of photography u want to do :  events/fast moving object
Any specific models in mind? :  sony 300k
Any specific features u want? : 

just curious, what's the diff with a200k and 300k and
what is single lens and double lens? is it more worth it to get the double one?
I dont think you know enough about DSLRs to be ready for it yet. sad.gif
Single lens means the camera package you buy comes with only one lens lor..
Double lens means 2 lenses are included in the package lorrrrr...
joyyy
post Jan 5 2009, 09:23 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(frankzen @ Jan 5 2009, 08:59 PM)
not ready?? =( i thought i can ask anything im unsure of in this thread.. but looks like being turned down this way.
oh yeah which its quite straight forward but is it worth it?
anyway its okla..
il go search about it myself. better not ask here. later kena again.
thanks for the answer. sad.gif
Of course you can ask anything if you're unsure.
But "silly" questions are quite irritating. I'll tell you why it's irritating.
DSLR itself stands for Digital Single-Lens Reflex, and as the name states, it can only be attached to one lens at a single time. shakehead.gif So dont come up with the there-are-cameras-that-can-be-attached-to-two-lenses-at-a-time excuse.
joyyy
post Jan 5 2009, 10:21 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(x_far_x @ Jan 5 2009, 09:45 PM)
I'm confused between 2 cameras, canon 1000d and nikon d60.  Is live view a necessary thing?  In what situation will I need it?  I'm not too sure on which one to choose.  Which one is better in the long run?  Thanks!

-FaR
Okay let's see. My personal opinion, the Live View on the 1000d is a mere gimmick. Yeah, I also admit I fell for it sad.gif
Most Canon die-hards will claim that the Live View will be useful when shooting at "akward" angles. Sure, if you're shooting a little bit above your head level, you can still see the LCD screen. Even then you'd find it a hard time focusing. blink.gif
But most of the time, in my case, I'll be holding the camera high above my head at the highest point possible, with the camera pointing in a downwards angle. There's no way I can see the LCD as it is tilted away from me. sad.gif
At the end of it, it's still up to you to decide whether you need the Live View or not. smile.gif Good luck man
joyyy
post Jan 6 2009, 12:47 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(ikttan @ Jan 5 2009, 11:40 PM)
what's the cheapest auto-focus digital camera?  even 5MP is ok with me, are there any that's like RM299 or less?
But why? blink.gif
joyyy
post Jan 6 2009, 02:10 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(barca @ Jan 6 2009, 09:19 AM)
They sell for RM2399 included tripod,bag and 4gb memory card.But if u wanna purchase with Credit Card charge extra 4% and extend another 2 years warranty were charge another 8%.U calculate back,total will be RM2694....lol...

But i as spoke to my fren there is 2 type of Canon....1 is make in China and another is from Japan....something like Nokia phone.....between Citron and AP.....
Zitron sets and AP sets are made at the same factory.
It's only the way they get into our country that's different.
"Original" sets are imported by each brand's licensed distributor into the country, which, in Nokia's case is Zitron.
Zitron has to pay Nokia when they import Nokia phones into our country, making Zitron sets more expensive.
So it doesn't matter where the camera is made from. rolleyes.gif
joyyy
post Jan 6 2009, 03:14 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(khinz @ Jan 6 2009, 02:59 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :Digital Camera
Budget : RM1000 -RM1300 (price lower will be better) xD
Your Location: Kuala Lumpur
Preferable brand : Olymplus , Cannon
Type of photography u want to do : Travel, dinner  biggrin.gif
Any specific models in mind? :
Any specific features u want? : erhmm..which can use under water to take pic nicely?...clear and fast @.@..planning to buy it bfore to pulau perhentian biggrin.gif

thanks for help !
If you're seriously looking for an underwater camera, Olympus will be your only choice.
True, you could get underwater casings for other brands, but that'll easily cost half a new camera.

joyyy
post Jan 7 2009, 01:53 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(x_far_x @ Jan 7 2009, 01:22 AM)
On the 1000d, there's a depth of field button.  What is that and how will be used in practice?  Also, is it really a big flaw to have 7 point AF rather than 9?  I think the D60 has less right?  Sorry for the questions...hehe.  If it goes well, I'll get my 1st DSLR in March.  Thanks!

-FaR
Keep the questions coming dude~ As long as they aren't silly questions like "What is twin lens kit" etc. smile.gif
As the name implies, it gives the photographer a "preview" of the depth of field the photographer chooses. Take for example I'm shooting in Aperture mode at f/20, which is really small and should give a large DOF.

To roughly have a look at the DOF, you can press the DOF-preview button. The camera will immediately change the aperture to f/20, and in the process the viewfinder will become dimmer as less light passes through. Along with this, you will notice that the DOF has increased aka. the background would've become clearer.
Once again, this feature although a nice thing to have, personally I do not play with it often, as I more or less already know how the DOF is affected by the aperture and what aperture usually to use. smile.gif
Or you might want to read this site? http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/dof-button.htm smile.gif

About the AF points, I personally think that 7 and 9 are no big difference. Furthermore I only shoot using the center AF point. >__< The D60 only has 3 ;D

This post has been edited by joyyy: Jan 7 2009, 01:57 AM
joyyy
post Jan 7 2009, 01:57 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(phylem_hao @ Jan 7 2009, 11:48 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget : RM2500 include kitlens
Your Location : PJ Damansara
Preferable brand : Only Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Basically shooting everything around me but more to portraits.
Any specific models in mind? : D60
Any specific features u want? : Quick auto focus?

Additional : Any recommended tripod priced around RM100?
Those camera shops do often throw in a cheapo tripod together with the DSLR as a "package". These tripods, although cheap and light, I personally feel that it's enough for basic tripod shooting.
joyyy
post Jan 7 2009, 04:33 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 7 2009, 04:19 PM)
D80 body + seperate lens or the 450D kit.

Tripods are usually given out as a free gift OR sold at a cheap price. I think if you buy a seperate tripod along with your set, the seller SHOULD give you a discount.
1000D or the D60.

Most cameras have Vibration Resistance - they just name it differently. For Nikon it's VR (as you've mentioned), Canon for IS (Image Stabilizer) and Sony has their own in-body image stabilization, not sure about Pentax and Olympus.
Nikon = Vibration Reduction smile.gif
Pentax and Olympus both use the same in-body stabilization as Sony's SSS.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0602sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:55 AM