7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

joyyy
post Jan 29 2009, 10:16 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(syafix @ Jan 29 2009, 06:31 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: Below 1K
Your Location:   Melaka
Preferable brand :  Nikon, Canon
Any specific models in mind? :  350D

if cannot get DSLR, i just take Nikon F75 film slr sad.gif
just wanna learn first smile.gif
My honest opinion? You'll learn faster with a DSLR.
Why? Simply because you get to shoot more with a DSLR and get to see your shots immediately. And you'd know more or less how to correct any faults. smile.gif
So, try try try to get a DSLR? smile.gif
joyyy
post Jan 30 2009, 10:07 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(vv001 @ Jan 30 2009, 03:12 PM)
hi wanna ask, what is the difference between canon 1000D Kiss and rebel?
It's just the different names given to it in different regions.
In Japan they call it the Kiss. In North America they call it the Rebel.
In Malaysia we call it the plain 1000D

Added on January 30, 2009, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 30 2009, 03:35 PM)

Again, the best is to go to a shop and test all the cameras to see which fits u better. In the end i opted for A200(no fanboyism), i like to look things at a neutral ground. try reading reputable reviews/user inputs. i find www.dcresource.com is good
not to forget, Sony is not a totally new company to dslr, they bought over Konica Minolta, which every1 knows was a pioneer in DSLR before canon/nikon came in
Just a little correction there, Konica Minolta didn't pioneer the DSLR, in fact Kodak did.
But KM was the first to venture into the Autofocus SLR market, which is basically what the DSLR is based on smile.gif

This post has been edited by joyyy: Jan 30 2009, 10:10 PM
joyyy
post Jan 31 2009, 11:09 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 31 2009, 08:38 AM)
Here it goes again - I hate to start it but I have to say once more:

Sony bought over KM, they did not establish it and develop the technologies themselves, whereas Canon & Nikon did it on their own.

Who gets more experience then?

Same case: If I buy a Ferrari, does it mean that I'm a professional racing driver?

No.

I personally don't like brand wars, so I won't continue on.
Wrong analogy dude. You're only buying its product, not the company.
Has anyone thought of things this way? Sony bought over KM, their technology, their staff, their buildings. Nothing has changed except for the Management.
So in essence it's still KM technology with a Sony badge.
The only thing that makes a difference is RnD, something which Canon and Nikon are very aggressive in, and that's where Sony falls behind.
joyyy
post Jan 31 2009, 03:57 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 31 2009, 02:37 PM)
Right, ok let's just leave behind the company's history. Could we agree that the sony a200 isn't a slouch either compared to d60/1000d?

just put this way, there are very little differences between these 3, entry level that is. doesn't make much heck of a differences going either one
That is essentially the message I've been trying to send out all this while.
Their differences are subtle at best. smile.gif
Unfortunately deaf ears are all I get =(
joyyy
post Feb 1 2009, 01:21 AM

1,394 posts

RM2700 can get you a new 40d body. 18-55mm kit lens is only about RM15x brows.gif brows.gif
joyyy
post Feb 1 2009, 01:36 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(reloadedprimus @ Feb 1 2009, 01:25 AM)
Wah where to get 2700 for 40d body ?
outside all selling  body only also RM3350
I saw some forumers getting it for around RM2800. That was a few weeks back ago.
joyyy
post Feb 1 2009, 09:44 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(vv001 @ Feb 1 2009, 09:39 PM)
hi guys,
Wanna ask, in the current market and global condition, do you guys expect DSLR price to go down?
Is it the right time to get a DSLR?
Thanks^^
DSLR prices, unlike computer component prices aren't as volatile. They're more or less stable at any given time.
So I wouldn't bet on their prices suddenly going down.
joyyy
post Feb 8 2009, 09:30 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 8 2009, 08:16 PM)
I dun think I'm ready to put in more than 2K at the moment for a camera. So I'm going for a prosumer first.

I forgot to mention I'm considering the Canon G10 as well. How does it fare against the Lumix LX3 in terms of usability? Does the viewfinder in the G10 enhance the photographing experience? The analogue dials look interesting.
The viewfinder is a gimmick. Since the viewfinder doesnt exactly display what the lens is displaying, you'll get a parallax if you compose your shot with the viewfinder, ie. chopped off heads, unwanted things included in the shot, etc.
Analogue dials do give a 'more professional' feel to the whole camera, I wont deny that smile.gif
In terms of usability, the difference between the G10 and the LX3 is subtle. Both are user friendly, both can take superb shots, so at the end of the day, you still have to decide which one you like more. Go try both cameras out, hold them, shoot with them, see which one you prefer. smile.gif
joyyy
post Feb 9 2009, 03:06 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 9 2009, 02:02 PM)
Stated on the lens is different from the actual range.

EG: at 10mm, on a 2x sensor it'll be 20mm zoom range equivalent, on a 1.6x sensor it'll be 16mm, and on a ff 35mm sensor it'll be 10mm.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crop_factor

Read here. Digital cameras measure the lens' zoom range relative to 35mm format.
The focal range stated on compact cameras is the 35mm equivalent.
The 24mm on the LX3 is what you will get if you use a 24mm lens on a 35mm camera doh.gif
It's actual focal range is 5.1-12.8mm. So it's approximately a 5x crop factor.

This post has been edited by joyyy: Feb 9 2009, 03:10 PM
joyyy
post Feb 9 2009, 07:12 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 9 2009, 04:56 PM)
Coincidentally that's the 2 reviews that convinced me to consider a prosumer. Anyway I think I'll get the LX3 when the times comes.

A little off topic, but just had to get this off my mind: does it look strange/weird going around taking pictures off a non-DSLR? People can understand when you lug a big camera around taking pics, but what about compacts? Does a compact gets discriminated? (sounds funny after I finished typing it LOL)
On the other hand, weirdly, I thought the total opposite of yours. smile.gif
The logic behind that was, with compacts getting ever so popular, everyone should be taking pictures using a compact. Why bother lugging around a big-assed camera? smile.gif
joyyy
post Feb 10 2009, 12:42 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(shimin1214 @ Feb 10 2009, 12:30 AM)
thewandererx,
what is the different between fx150 and fx38?
sensor size 1/1.72 and 1/2.33, which is better?
Obviously when buying a camera, the bigger the image sensor is, the better results it produces.
In this case, the 1/1.72 is bigger than the 1/2.33, therefore the bigger sensor is better.
Other than that, you might want to note each camera's pixel density too. That is, the total amount of pixels divided by its sensor size(area).
In this case, you're looking for one that has a lower pixel density icon_idea.gif
joyyy
post Feb 10 2009, 10:31 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(altie @ Feb 10 2009, 10:23 PM)
Hmm thanks for the reply! I shall look into this LX3...
Do look at the Canon Powershot G10.
It's good to listen to us forumers' advise, but it's also good for you to personally try the cameras out and see which one you like more.
You know, just giving you more choices (read headache). smile.gif
joyyy
post Feb 11 2009, 08:48 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(Andy Lo @ Feb 11 2009, 02:52 AM)

D90 is a newer cam, but with additional functions that only adds fun IMO... Newer processors bla bla bla some of these are just marketing.
If you already have a budget limit, then D80+Flash will be much better than D90 without flash.
What about a D90 with HD video over a D80 without HD video recording capabilities? icon_idea.gif

...But I don't take videos very often anyways doh.gif

This post has been edited by joyyy: Feb 11 2009, 08:49 AM
joyyy
post Feb 11 2009, 11:29 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(KennethNYC @ Feb 11 2009, 10:59 AM)
I am going for panasonic lumix LX3
Panasonic Lumix

me and my friends are getting it together today

quick what goodies should i push to get
As many things as possible lol!!!!1111

This post has been edited by joyyy: Feb 11 2009, 11:30 AM
joyyy
post Feb 11 2009, 11:33 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(shenngin @ Feb 11 2009, 11:20 PM)
hi there,

thanks for the advice.. actually, my preference is towards canon, since like waht you says it can be meddle around.. i felt much comfortable with that.. by the way, between 1000D and 450D which one will you prefer? interms of quality? and functionnality, i know that 450d have 2more Af points compare to 1000D. i wanted to get a good cam that can last me some time... and that i can use it for a long time... and at the same time fullfils my 3k budget. mind give me your personal opinion?
There's no denying that the 450D is a better camera than the 1000D. But only just.
And the fact that it is that little bit better than the 1000D is justified by its extra retail price.
The question boils down on whether you need those extra features or not. Take me for example, I more or less only use the center AF point, so an extra 2 AF points wont do nuts for me. rolleyes.gif
For that extra cost, the 450D has a eye proximity sensor that turns the LCD off when you bring your face close to the camera. For me, I don't need that. The default setting in the camera is to turn the LCD off when the shutter button is pressed halfway. smile.gif
Quality-wise, I would say both cameras are on par with each other. Sure, the 450D might capture just that little more detail as it has 2 extra megapixels. But I doubt it's noticable unless you pixel peep and scrutinize every last inch of the picture sad.gif
At the end, if you feel like going for the 450D, by all means go for it, and vice versa. icon_idea.gif
joyyy
post Feb 14 2009, 01:55 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(michaelconan @ Feb 14 2009, 08:41 AM)
Hi all, i want to ask something regards camera.. May i know whats the difference between those prosumer camera and entry level DSLR? Lets say comparing between Panasonic LX3 and Sony A350. I am aiming to get a better picture quality camera. And of course a good ISO to shoot on the night outdoor.
If you're looking at image quality, there's no doubt the DSLR wins hands down.
It has a bigger sensor and lower pixel density(3.8 MP/cm² vs 24 MP/cm²) to give you cleaner shots.
Sure, the LX3's image quality might be on par with the A350's image quality when the LX3's ISO settings are low, but once you start bumping up the ISO, the LX3 struggles with noise.
But there's no denying that the LX3 performs superbly and is one of the top performers in its class, the high-end compacts.

joyyy
post Feb 16 2009, 07:54 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(alt_6 @ Feb 16 2009, 07:32 PM)
canon 55-250 prolly cost ard 700 bucks? like tamron 70-300 f4/5.6?
More or less the same. Could be more expensive, could be cheaper.
But don't forget, the Canon has IS and superior optical performance as compared to the Tamron.
The Tamron suffers from severe CA and PF when used wide open. And I'm not joking about this.
joyyy
post Feb 16 2009, 08:13 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(alt_6 @ Feb 16 2009, 08:03 PM)
or maybe i should settle with canon1000d kit + 50mm f1.8 + external flash instead of a tele lens 1st?
lol..
What I think you should do is,
Get the kit, and a flash if you want, but don't get the 50mm prime yet.
The reason is because different people have different shooting styles.
Take me for example, I feel that the 50mm f/1.8 is too long for me, so my 50mm prime isn't really utilized. I'm more of the wide-angle shooter.
So, I'd suggest playing with the kit lens first and with time you'll more or less find out what kind of shooting style is more suited for you. smile.gif

This post has been edited by joyyy: Feb 16 2009, 08:14 PM
joyyy
post Feb 18 2009, 07:11 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Feb 18 2009, 12:28 AM)
My budget is RM1500
Which camera?
http://www.google.com
joyyy
post Feb 22 2009, 09:00 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(tdzheng @ Feb 22 2009, 01:23 AM)
lol thx xD
so wich of the lenses for nikon or canon would be cheaper?
Expensive, both of them are

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0721sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:56 PM