161 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

mememe12
post Feb 22 2009, 05:37 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(tdzheng @ Feb 22 2009, 12:51 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM4000 include kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon, Pentax
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape/Portrait/buildings
Any specific models in mind? : 40D, K200D, K20D, D80
Any specific features u want? : Weatherproof, B/W, beautiful pic lah smile.gif
dont D80 d.. of coz D90 Kit!
DavidAw
post Feb 22 2009, 05:54 PM

163 posts

Budget : RM2300
Preferable brand : value for money
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : canon 350, sony alpha 300 with 2 lens
Any specific features u want? : -
Kapish
post Feb 22 2009, 06:17 PM

18 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Camera
Budget: Less then 400
Your Location: Subang
Preferable brand : Any Brand
Type of photography u want to do :leisure

Guys could you please recomend me camera within this price range ?
What is a goood price for Canon A1000IS at the moment ?

Thanks ALOT smile.gif

TheWandererX
post Feb 22 2009, 06:23 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(DavidAw @ Feb 22 2009, 05:54 PM)
Budget : RM2300
Preferable brand : value for money
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : canon 350, sony alpha 300 with 2 lens
Any specific features u want? : -
I'd recommend the Canon 1000D/Nikon D60 (both <RM2k), but if you don't want to get the best of the category, go for the Sony a200, RM1.4k for a single lens kit.
jasonlim1
post Feb 22 2009, 08:44 PM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: 2.2k
Your Location: Ipoh
Preferable brand : canon or nikon
Type of photography u want to do : candid, travel, scenery
Any specific models in mind? : 1000d, 450d or d60? or any other recommendations?
Any specific features u want? : is there any specific features i should look for as a newbie?

This post has been edited by jasonlim1: Feb 22 2009, 08:49 PM
TheWandererX
post Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Feb 22 2009, 08:44 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: 2.2k
Your Location:   Ipoh
Preferable brand :  canon or nikon
Type of photography u want to do :  candid, travel, scenery
Any specific models in mind? :  1000d, 450d or d60? or any other recommendations?
Any specific features u want? :  is there any specific features i should look for as a newbie?
I'd recommend the Canon 1000D, sell off kitlens & buy the 18-200mm. It might be a bit on the expensive side, but it'll serve you best during your travels. (you get to take scenery with 18, candids with 200)

Anyway, find out what you want to shoot most. If you shoot your kids in action (if you have any) or wife, candid is your choice - you'll need a fast and long lens. If you want to get up close with critters, macro is for you - you can use practically any lens with a Raynox or Hoya +1234 filters to get closer. If you want to shoot action, like drifts, car races, etc, sports photography is for you - it'll be extremely expensive though because usually this aspect of photography uses fast FPS cameras, namely the 40/50D (6.5fps) or the 1DsMkIII (10fps).
steventan85
post Feb 22 2009, 09:37 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(Kapish @ Feb 22 2009, 06:17 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Camera
Budget: Less then 400
Your Location: Subang
Preferable brand : Any Brand
Type of photography u want to do :leisure

Guys could you please recomend me camera within this price range ?
What is a goood price for Canon A1000IS at the moment ?

Thanks ALOT smile.gif
Rm570 , wif case n 2gb card only ....

cant get lower than that wif genuine canon warranty...
jcheok2
post Feb 22 2009, 10:56 PM

858 posts

thanks everyone for the help. i have purchased my dslr at last !!! from BB plaza.. just to share some info with those interested to get Canon EOS 40D as well..

go to Bintang Enterprise ....
i bought mine for rm3220
40D body + 18-55mm IS kit
Hoya multicoated UV filter
EOS canon bag
Screen protector
4Gb high speed CF
Blower set(with cotton bud ... cloth.. brush etc etc)
1 year Canon Malaysia warranty ..

jasonlim1
post Feb 23 2009, 12:02 AM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM)
I'd recommend the Canon 1000D, sell off kitlens & buy the 18-200mm. It might be a bit on the expensive side, but it'll serve you best during your travels. (you get to take scenery with 18, candids with 200)

Anyway, find out what you want to shoot most. If you shoot your kids in action (if you have any) or wife, candid is your choice - you'll need a fast and long lens. If you want to get up close with critters, macro is for you - you can use practically any lens with a Raynox or Hoya +1234 filters to get closer. If you want to shoot action, like drifts, car races, etc, sports photography is for you - it'll be extremely expensive though because usually this aspect of photography uses fast FPS cameras, namely the 40/50D (6.5fps) or the 1DsMkIII (10fps).
my cousin is offering to sell his 300d to me coz he wants to change to 40d and is giving kit lens and filter. he's offering me rm800
should i take his offer or should i go for 1000d?
chris11
post Feb 23 2009, 12:06 AM

68 posts

hi all sifu here, i want to know, i wan to buy 2nd hand 450d , RM3500 package include :

450d body + 18-55 kit lens
2gb,8gb memory card
50mm 1.8
tamron 28-200
2 camera bag ( maybe one is canon FREE GIFT )
tripod
remote control
2 UV filter
1 macro filter

RM3500 for this, shuttercourt is around 5k, worth not ?

This post has been edited by chris11: Feb 23 2009, 12:08 AM
weng86
post Feb 23 2009, 01:05 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Feb 20 2009, 07:57 PM)
Nikon D60/1000d/Sony Alphas are within ur range

I would recommend going for Canon 40D(midrange SLR), Rm2.9k with kitlens these days. A bargain. Trust me, with lense choices, just skip the entry levels rite away, the amount differences over the entry level will pay itself back .
would 450d be better then 1000d?

i decide will go with canon...since everyone i ask say canon would be a better choice..

if d60 vs 1000d which is better? or even 450d vs a350

Added on February 23, 2009, 1:11 amoh ya d40 is it still out there? where can i get it?

This post has been edited by weng86: Feb 23 2009, 01:11 AM
Hann2u
post Feb 23 2009, 02:37 AM

hey guys,
i was thinking of buying a 50d canon with a 18-200mm lens smile.gif
but then do you guys think it is worth it to spend 5k++ on this camera+lens? as in is it worth the money?
because i heard 50d isin't selling too well as compared to nikon and there will b a 60d/7d(replacement of 50d) coming out end of 2009
so what you guys think? should i buy 50d or d90? or start small with a 450d hmm.gif
TheWandererX
post Feb 23 2009, 06:05 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(jasonlim1 @ Feb 23 2009, 12:02 AM)
my cousin is offering to sell his 300d to me coz he wants to change to 40d and is giving kit lens and filter. he's offering me rm800
should i take his offer or should i go for 1000d?
If you're on a tiiiiiight budget then go for it - but bear in mind the 300D is obsolete.

If you can go for the 1000D - it has an IS kitlens compared to non IS of the 300d.

Others I'll try to reply you all later today. Going to school.
kucingfight
post Feb 23 2009, 03:15 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(jcheok2 @ Feb 22 2009, 10:56 PM)
thanks everyone for the help. i have purchased my dslr at last !!! from BB plaza..  just to share some info with those interested to get Canon EOS 40D as well..

go to Bintang Enterprise ....
i bought mine for rm3220
40D body + 18-55mm IS kit
Hoya multicoated UV filter
EOS canon bag
Screen protector
4Gb high speed CF
Blower set(with cotton bud ... cloth.. brush etc etc)
1 year Canon Malaysia warranty ..
not bad price, i got mine @ rm3050, juz the camera + Kitlens.

dang, totally forgotten to check out BB Plaza doh.gif

Sg Wang= no stock
TheWandererX
post Feb 23 2009, 04:25 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(chris11 @ Feb 23 2009, 12:06 AM)
hi all sifu here, i want to know, i wan to buy 2nd hand 450d , RM3500 package include :

450d body + 18-55 kit lens
2gb,8gb memory card
50mm 1.8
tamron 28-200
2 camera bag ( maybe one is canon FREE GIFT )
tripod
remote control
2 UV filter
1 macro filter

RM3500 for this, shuttercourt is around 5k, worth not ?
I'd rather you get a 40D used kit set, which is at least RM500-RM1k cheaper depending on condition or a new set, recently saw prices like RM3050 and RM3220 (from forumers).

The 40D is FAR better than the 450D, but if you're really keen on an entry-level DSLR to start off with then go for the 1000D. Cheap affordable and won't fail to please you.

QUOTE(weng86 @ Feb 23 2009, 01:05 AM)
would 450d be better then 1000d?

i decide will go with canon...since everyone i ask say canon would be a better choice..

if d60 vs 1000d which is better? or even 450d vs a350

Added on February 23, 2009, 1:11 amoh ya d40 is it still out there? where can i get it?
Both are equal in terms of specs but there is a letdown on the D60 - it has no inbuilt AF motor so you have to MF for some lenses.

The 450D is kinda in the middle of Canon's intermediate range and entry-level range, so it isn't recommended to get it. (in my opinion) For the a350 you'll knock into walls if you want to upgrade to L-quality lenses, while upgrading in Canon will give you a headache as there are too many lenses to choose from. Over 60 shocking.gif

QUOTE(Hann2u @ Feb 23 2009, 02:37 AM)
hey guys,
i was thinking of buying a 50d canon with a 18-200mm lens  smile.gif
but then do you guys think it is worth it to spend 5k++ on this camera+lens? as in is it worth the money?
because i heard 50d isin't selling too well as compared to nikon and there will b a 60d/7d(replacement of 50d) coming out end of 2009
so what you guys think? should i buy 50d or d90? or start small with a 450d  hmm.gif
If you're aiming onto the intermediate range the D90/40D would be good. If you don't need the HD video recording then go for the 40D, but if you do, go for the D90.
Hann2u
post Feb 23 2009, 05:34 PM

i think i will go for a d90 then smile.gif
thanks for the advise + i also did some research and it also states that d90 would be the best choice for my type of level
then do you know where is the best place with the best price around PJ area that offers most freebies biggrin.gif
TheWandererX
post Feb 23 2009, 07:34 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Hann2u @ Feb 23 2009, 05:34 PM)
i think i will go for a d90 then smile.gif
thanks for the advise + i also did some research and it also states that d90 would be the best choice for my type of level
then do you know where is the best place with the best price around PJ area that offers most freebies biggrin.gif
There are quite a few - Digital Mall, Lowyat Plaza, Pertama Complex, Pudu Plaza,.... too many to name.

Try going to YL/DigitalsMania (both at same complex, Pudu Plaza) and ask them to quote you a price. Survey around for a week or two and grab the cheapest deal.

By the way, you should note that major DSLR manufacturers have increased their prices due to the recent inflation of the Japanese Yen, so you have to be quick to grab the last cheap deal before the prices increase (or before the manufacturer actually increases it)
chris11
post Feb 24 2009, 01:56 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 23 2009, 04:25 PM)
I'd rather you get a 40D used kit set, which is at least RM500-RM1k cheaper depending on condition or a new set, recently saw prices like RM3050 and RM3220 (from forumers).
thanks u reply,
i just a new on DSLR, i think 40d is exp for me, i dun think i can use well 40d T.T ( im stupid)
tht seller is lower the price, rm3200 let go, 2nd hand 450d need rm2100 right ?
owner tell me he just take one time at bali travel, shuttercourt 5k plus.. izzit worth ?

This post has been edited by chris11: Feb 24 2009, 01:56 AM
Hann2u
post Feb 24 2009, 02:56 AM

i got a price from digimall.. the fella is charging me d90 kit(with the 18-105mm is lens) + a screen protector for rm3900, no other freebies...
is it considered cheap? or i can get better deals else where?
baoz
post Feb 25 2009, 02:34 PM

963 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS camera...
Budget: RM1200
Your Location: Subang/PJ
Preferable brand : Canon & Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Scenery, potrait, events...
Any specific models in mind? : (refer below)
Any specific features u want? : preferably battery lithium ion type, and not AA.

1. Canon Ixus 85IS
2. Canon Ixus 870IS
3. Canon Ixus 90IS
4. Sony DSC-W150
5. Sony DSC-W110
6. Canon Powershot A1000IS

I don't have high expectations. I just want a camera that can take decent photos with a reasonable price. smile.gif

BTW, I wanna ask what to look for in a camera to get clearer pictures. Is it the optical zoom?

161 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:46 AM