Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

kucingfight
post Dec 1 2008, 04:50 PM

5,784 posts

Hi. newbie in photography..need some recommendation

Type of camera/lens/accesories : entry level , anything that's relatively good (2nd hand only)
Budget: mm how much for a used entry level camera? (err around rm600 )?
Your Location: Subang Jaya/ PJ
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do : General, mostly on scenery
Any specific models in mind? : newbie here, D40 recommended?
Any specific features u want? : -
kucingfight
post Jan 21 2009, 09:44 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Jan 21 2009, 08:02 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM2000 include kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape
Any specific models in mind? : duno, waiting for suggestion, i'm a new person going to get a DSLR
Any specific features u want? : more than 9 focus point.

any good DSLR for a beginner ?
Sony A200/Nikon D60/Canon 1000D, all will work juz fine, i doubt u can tell the diff. Sony has the highest number of AF-9points

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Jan 21 2009, 08:16 PM)
Ok. I'm looking for an entry-level DSLR.
My budget is RM2000 including kit lens.
I was planning to get an A200 dual kit lens.
My friend told me not to get an A200. He said the re-sale value is low. But I don't plan on selling my cam.
He suggested D60/1000D body only without the kit lens and buy another better lens.
So how now? doh.gif

Type of camera/lens/accesories :  D60/1000D/A200
Budget: RM2000
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand :  Sony
Type of photography u want to do :  Small events (Night parties with low-light condition), Holidays pictures, Landscape, Candid, Random close-up shots of objects, those shots with slow-shutter and long exposures.
Any specific models in mind? :  Sony A200
Any specific features u want? :  Good focus, good iso, low sound when high iso, future lens upgrade hopefully cheap.

According to my friend, there are like some AP sets of DSLRs?
He told me if I go lowyat, all of them are fake. True?

I hope you guys can give me the specific location of the shops suggested.

It would be good if you can reccomend me a DSLR model along with some good lens and the price as well; for future upgrades.

Thanks in advance  biggrin.gif

EDIT: I'm a beginner to DSLR photography, so bear with me  tongue.gif
Again, i'm using sony myself, no complains. U can view the Sony's thread and gauge how 'good' it is. Put it this way, d60/1000d have their pros n cons too..

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 21 2009, 08:51 PM)
For a beginner, 7 AF points is enough. Too many AF points and you'll start to use your DSLR like a PnS.

Get the D60, or if you would consider Canon, the EOS-1000D.
I'd recommend the D60/1000D for your future. These two are reasonably priced DSLRs and are very good ones - enough to satisfy your needs till L pops up.

As I have posted many times before - Sony is a new entry to the DSLR market so it's not recommended to go with them first - let them stabilise before buying Sony DSLRs.
mm i noticed ur partly one sided, recommending 1000d as always. I guess u know Sony was from Konica Minolta rite? Ur point on having Too Many AF points with PnS, i don really get what ur trying to say. Having 9AF points IS useful. Let's say ur limited to a composition area, and if the subject is not insight of the AF points, ur AF area is not covering the subject. this is when more AF points is useful whistling.gif

QUOTE(Soony @ Jan 21 2009, 09:29 PM)
This is quite a bias comment you know? Sony is not new into DSLR , they inherited Konica Minolta's technologies which is comparable with Canon and Nikon at the same time they are quite good.

Since you've posted many times before so I'll just let this pass by.. sigh by the look at this thread =.=

What I can tell to the rest who wants a reccomendation about cameras.. Go out and test it , hold it and feel it. If it suits u then it suits u.. if not then just move on. Asking for relevant information in Lowyat sometimes might be insufficient.
Lol, can't agree much with you. well, if u noticed it was always 1000d doh.gif

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Jan 21 2009, 10:02 PM
kucingfight
post Jan 21 2009, 10:12 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(toblerone @ Jan 21 2009, 09:51 PM)
wallawei, this is interesting.

but i still think sony is like a newbie in DSLR, no matter from which great company the inherit their technology. Look at Nikon and Canon, this 2 are the DSLR giants and they know exactly what the consumer want, be it pro, amateur or beginner. And for sure, they also have the LARGEST lense that compatible with their product.

Sony is also great at making camera, but personally, i think more into PnS and with their brilliant idea of design and concept. No doubt.

just one thing, sometimes we have to accept others is just getting better no matter what we try. thank u
Well like i said, the users of Nikon n Canon can't seem to accept Sony's entry to the DSLR's market. One should know that Sony bought over Konica Minolta, so there was a development from there already, not a total n00b footing in DSLR. Each camera has their pros & cons, so just weigh it accordingly to your preferences. Go touch n feel it. Like me, i used to be a total n00b in DSLR 1month ago, but i'm proud to say, i do read a lot and progress since then. IMO, when i tested the 1000d, it was too light for my liking, the weight distribution wasn't balance, and when u fit for eg a 75-300mm, it will only get worst. Build quality wasn't that good either, on the other hand, the A200 felt solid n fits my grip comfortably. my point is, try to look things in a neutral way, read unbiased reviews/judgements/input and decide for urself

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Jan 21 2009, 10:14 PM
kucingfight
post Jan 22 2009, 12:00 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Jan 21 2009, 11:38 PM)
So which would you suggest?
Your 1000D or A200?
Probably i'll generalized the recommendations on the Entry level DSLRs. It doesn't really make much diff if one is getting either sony a200/300 /canon 1000d /nikon d60, as i bet one can't tell the teeny meeny differences in Image quality amongst them with the naked eye, off course, when zooming in, there are some differences, but very tiny differences. Again, is much more depending on the execution when u take a photocomposition photo. The kitlens + body can only provide you THAT much, so u'll need to learn how to take a good composed photos.

kucingfight
post Jan 22 2009, 12:20 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 22 2009, 10:55 AM)

If you have too many AF points, you probably won't make full use of it if you're still a newbie to the DSLR world - therefore, you'll be using the DSLR with so many AF points just like how you would use a PnS...

Believe it or not, from my experience from my last trip, i found the 9AF points is really useful. Newbie myself, but from what i understand, if ur limited to a framed composed shot, and ur AF doesn't not cover the subject, this is where more AF points come to play.
kucingfight
post Jan 22 2009, 04:44 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 22 2009, 04:33 PM)
9AF is useful - but what about those 51-point AF (if I'm not wrong, I remember these two have LOTS of AF points) on the 5D/1D MkIII? If those gets in newbies' hands, they won't be able to even utilize half of the number..
ayo my gawd. off course,given the right frame of mind, let's compare apple to apple. not on a sarcastic blown out of proportion comparison. We were discussing on the entry level dslr rite, that would be a200/d60/1000d doh.gif

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Jan 22 2009, 04:52 PM
kucingfight
post Jan 29 2009, 09:09 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(syafix @ Jan 29 2009, 06:31 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: Below 1K
Your Location:   Melaka
Preferable brand :  Nikon, Canon
Any specific models in mind? :  350D

if cannot get DSLR, i just take Nikon F75 film slr sad.gif
just wanna learn first smile.gif
top up rm400 for a new sony a200? smile.gif
kucingfight
post Jan 30 2009, 12:57 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Ejay @ Jan 30 2009, 11:41 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: around RM1,000 - RM2,000
Your Location: Johor Bahru & Singapore
Preferable brand : Any brand as long as worth the $$
Type of photography u want to do : All , Portrait & Scene
Any specific models in mind? : Nikon D60 , Sony A200
Any specific features u want? : -

After doing some searching i found out D60 and A200 are suitable for beginner like me.but i wanna make the best out of my money , i would like to know what the best i can get with the range below 1.5k and 2k and 2.5k.I'm not sure about the exact price of this 2 model as well.I wonder which will make it out of this 2 model and what model does TS suggest beside this 2.

Thanks & Happy New Year!

Edit : Fixed typo
<2k, will get u a300single lense/a200 single lense/a200 twin lense/d60 single lense/1000d single lense

<1.5k, will get u a200 single lense

All 3 cams are pretty on par offering very little differences.
kucingfight
post Jan 30 2009, 03:35 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Ejay @ Jan 30 2009, 02:40 PM)
Does D60 offer more feature than A200 ? Whats the main different between this 2 model ? Can u let me know the exact price of this 2 model ?  smile.gif

Look like D60 > A200  , might go for it .
again, as a newbie in dlsrs, let's try to look at things in a neutral perspective. it has been discussed over n over again on 1000d vs d60 vs a200/300. all cameras hav their pros n cons. i'll jus list them down again .

d60, rm1900
pros: Af assist lamp(good for low lighting). active dlightning, incamera post processing.
cons: 3AF points, only works with AF-S/I lenses. Image stabiliser on lense(only VR) - not exactly a cons, just a different way of implementing
Image quality= subjective, some may disagree that the nikon produces a too 'vivid' color, making it a bit fake and cartoonish. again, it's subjective

A200, rm1450
Pros: 9AF points, Built in image stabilizer(works with any lenses),longer battery life, built in motor @body
Cons: slightly higher noise @ >ISO800, no biggie as it's not noticeable on normal printouts, unless if u really wanna find fault with it by zooming in a particular area
Image quality= again subjective, some agreed(even from nikonians) that sony produces much better, softer and accurate color saturation.

Comparing apple to apple, no doubt sony a200 gives a better price to performance/feature ratio. rm450 is a BIG difference

Again, the best is to go to a shop and test all the cameras to see which fits u better. In the end i opted for A200(no fanboyism), i like to look things at a neutral ground. try reading reputable reviews/user inputs. i find www.dcresource.com is good

QUOTE(fixitfixit @ Jan 30 2009, 03:15 PM)
people choose Nikon more because it is an established brand while Sony is a new player. for me i will take A200, because of the built in Image Stabilizer and because of its nice design(nikon is ugly because they got shiny2 part at the model label and at the shutter button, very china-made look). you can also consider A300.
not to forget, Sony is not a totally new company to dslr, they bought over Konica Minolta, which every1 knows was a pioneer in DSLR before canon/nikon came in

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Jan 30 2009, 03:50 PM
kucingfight
post Jan 30 2009, 04:40 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Ejay @ Jan 30 2009, 04:28 PM)
Thanks for all the replies.Target comfirm , Sony A300 happy.gif

Anyway how bout the A350? 14mp compare to A300 thats all?
yup juz 14mp instead of 10mp. rests are all the same
kucingfight
post Jan 31 2009, 02:37 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Jan 31 2009, 02:09 PM)
Really? I thought Sony just bought over KM's technology  unsure.gif my bad then.

In my opinion I still won't trust Sony just yet. Thumbs up for the facts though.
Right, ok let's just leave behind the company's history. Could we agree that the sony a200 isn't a slouch either compared to d60/1000d?

just put this way, there are very little differences between these 3, entry level that is. doesn't make much heck of a differences going either one
kucingfight
post Feb 20 2009, 07:57 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(weng86 @ Feb 20 2009, 03:26 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: RM2200
Your Location:   KL/PJ
Preferable brand :  canon, nikon or sony (which is good?)
Type of photography u want to do :  taking Pictures
Any specific models in mind? :  not sure (D60 or D80, 1000d or d450, a300 or a350
Any specific features u want? : 

i need help i look for dslr for beginner
Nikon D60/1000d/Sony Alphas are within ur range

I would recommend going for Canon 40D(midrange SLR), Rm2.9k with kitlens these days. A bargain. Trust me, with lense choices, just skip the entry levels rite away, the amount differences over the entry level will pay itself back .
kucingfight
post Feb 20 2009, 08:33 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 20 2009, 08:25 PM)
Not sure, kucing is an Alpha user, so he might help. Also, try asking in the Alpha thread. Should be able to find answers there.
40D. My dream  cry.gif saving up for body now, lol..
haha nicely quoted, single lense = around rm1450 (alpha 200). Neah, traded my a200 after 2months,don get me wrong, it's a gd camera , no complains, however u would soon find the limitations on all entry levels DSLR, that's why i'm opting to get the 40D reallll soon, coz the price is jus too good to resist.

Magnesium alloy, weather sealing, better build quality, individual button controls (ISO,WB etc), top lcd, etc...for only rm2.9k thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Feb 20 2009, 08:39 PM
kucingfight
post Feb 20 2009, 09:19 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 20 2009, 08:59 PM)
I thought it was around RM1400.  unsure.gif

Anyway, 40D most probably you'll end up with a used set, and I kinda dislike used sets. I'd save up more for later, and jump straight to 5DMkII  unsure.gif if I can get such moolah. If not I'd go for the 50D first.
nola 40d . 2.9k is new set la..from shops.
kucingfight
post Feb 20 2009, 09:55 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 20 2009, 08:59 PM)
I thought it was around RM1400.  unsure.gif

Anyway, 40D most probably you'll end up with a used set, and I kinda dislike used sets. I'd save up more for later, and jump straight to 5DMkII  unsure.gif if I can get such moolah. If not I'd go for the 50D first.
nola 40d . 2.9k is new set la..from shops.
kucingfight
post Feb 20 2009, 10:41 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Feb 20 2009, 10:39 PM)
hi guys,

what about nikon d90? if i have a budget of rm3500, will i be able to get it together with the kit lense?

i also heard prices of cameras have rise due to the appreciation value of Japanese Yen, is it true? Is it a good time to get a D90 now?
thanks in advance.
nope, kitlens+ D90 = rm4k

From my understanding, yes the prices have already increased some wks ago, but it's only for accessories, mainly lenses, flashguns etc. But body's not affected

for 3.5k, i would suggest canon 40d, get a 50mm prime lens f1.8

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Feb 20 2009, 10:41 PM
kucingfight
post Feb 20 2009, 11:06 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Feb 20 2009, 11:02 PM)
I still have the D40 kit lense. Planning to pass it down to my sister to let her learn around with DSLR  tongue.gif
I'll give YL photograhy a call tomorrow and see what he can offer me.

What about Nikon D80? With my budget should i get that or D90?
D80 with kit is around 2.8k, for rm100 more, i rather go for canon 40d. It's on par with d300.

u get magnesium alloy body+LV etc etc..in short, 40d is superior for rm100 more.
kucingfight
post Feb 22 2009, 12:03 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Feb 21 2009, 10:39 PM)
just curious, what's the current price for a new canon 40d?
2.9k with lense(cheapest). it's around 3k averagely...seriously.
kucingfight
post Feb 22 2009, 12:54 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(tdzheng @ Feb 22 2009, 12:51 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM4000 include kitlens
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon, Pentax
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape/Portrait/buildings
Any specific models in mind? : 40D, K200D, K20D, D80
Any specific features u want? : Weatherproof, B/W, beautiful pic lah smile.gif
40d if u don need HD video, else D90.

beautiful pic ah, better lense + skills lor
kucingfight
post Feb 23 2009, 03:15 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(jcheok2 @ Feb 22 2009, 10:56 PM)
thanks everyone for the help. i have purchased my dslr at last !!! from BB plaza..  just to share some info with those interested to get Canon EOS 40D as well..

go to Bintang Enterprise ....
i bought mine for rm3220
40D body + 18-55mm IS kit
Hoya multicoated UV filter
EOS canon bag
Screen protector
4Gb high speed CF
Blower set(with cotton bud ... cloth.. brush etc etc)
1 year Canon Malaysia warranty ..
not bad price, i got mine @ rm3050, juz the camera + Kitlens.

dang, totally forgotten to check out BB Plaza doh.gif

Sg Wang= no stock

0.0282sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:55 AM