28 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

BARF Diet, Bones And Raw Food Diet

iluv2zzz
post Dec 15 2008, 01:56 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

I agree! I feel so happy when my gals licks her bowl clean on her HCF.

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Dec 15 2008, 01:56 AM
dongdong86
post Dec 15 2008, 03:29 AM

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Dec 15 2008, 01:00 AM)
FYI I don't do BARF  tongue.gif  I do HCF (homecook food) but I came across a lot BARF when I doing my research. So I am just sharing with what I know. Generally most ingredient in BARF and HCF are similar. The major different is the preparation, proportion, and the bone tongue.gif

Perhaps we should have another proper thread for HCF includes all the treat baking recipe. Planning to bake some this week.

Alright, back to BARF. other then Dr.B that dongdong and yang said, what about Pitcairn? Anybody have a copy of Dr.Pitcairn's Complete Guide to Natural Health for dogs n cats?

http://www.drpitcairn.com/books/pitcairn_book.html
Nice book, thanks for you information. But in here i cant find this book. But in MPH there is a book briefly introduce BARF and a lot of critics on kibbles and can foods. Wanted to buy it for my reference. almost same with this Pitcairn book. this book also introduce homeopathic which i believe deeply. It is much better than any vets' pills. summore lesser or no side effect. We have this book, actually any dog have health problems, you can ask me. perhaps i open Homeopathic thread while you open HCF thread tongue.gif

FYI, you may really try BARF for some periods, you will see very significant effect compared with HCF, as my friend tried on her dog before, also a silky. My friend at first dont believe in raw food but she gave it few weeks to try. after that the effect impressed her. but she still did not believe sashimi but char keow teow, so she steam it. But no matter how good char keow teow is, still sashimi is the best, because skin and health problem came again. Then no choice she turn back to raw BARF, till now, her silky lives healthy and active.

Added on December 15, 2008, 3:32 am
QUOTE(PangurBan @ Dec 15 2008, 01:11 AM)
Not very much more really, if not less.  It's a whole lifestyle - I opt out of the consumer culture as much as possible.  (that's the equivalent of processed food I think) and save some money there.  As I think you have suggested in an earlier post in this thread with reference to dogs, you might pay more for good quality fresh produce, but in the long run, you save on medical bills AND more importantly, you (or your dog) are happy and healthy.  At least, that's the ideal situation.  Real life of course, is more complicated than that.  As far as feeding my dog BARF and home-cooked food is concerned,  I think I'm only spending marginally more than if I were to get her good quality kibble.  But no money can buy the satisfaction you get from seeing your dog chomp with relish on the food you've prepared for her.
I strongly agree with what you said, it makes sense mate.
Now i would really try to throw materialistic behind and start concerning more on health, self-improvement and pet welfare.

This post has been edited by dongdong86: Dec 15 2008, 03:32 AM
iluv2zzz
post Dec 15 2008, 05:57 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(dongdong86 @ Dec 15 2008, 03:29 AM)
Nice book, thanks for you information. But in here i cant find this book. But in MPH there is a book briefly introduce BARF and a lot of critics on kibbles and can foods. Wanted to buy it for my reference. almost same with this Pitcairn book. this book also introduce homeopathic which i believe deeply. It is much better than any vets' pills. summore lesser or no side effect. We have this book, actually any dog have health problems, you can ask me. perhaps i open Homeopathic thread while you open HCF thread tongue.gif

FYI, you may really try BARF for some periods, you will see very significant effect compared with HCF, as my friend tried on her dog before, also a silky. My friend at first dont believe in raw food but she gave it few weeks to try. after that the effect impressed her. but she still did not believe sashimi but char keow teow, so she steam it. But no matter how good char keow teow is, still sashimi is the best, because skin and health problem came again. Then no choice she turn back to raw BARF, till now, her silky lives healthy and active.

Added on December 15, 2008, 3:32 am
I strongly agree with what you said, it makes sense mate.
Now i would really try to throw materialistic behind and start concerning more on health, self-improvement and pet welfare.
@dongdong
FYI, my Sushi is not a silky =) And I do not BARF for a reason. No need post the reason here because I don't want to invite debate LOL...I know how BARF supporter stand on their feet as I read a lot. I don't need them to tell me BARF is better or what happy.gif But I also understand my choice =) However, this doesn't means I will not try in future. My concern is not the theory of BARF but its more towards the source we can get in Malaysia. And I like Sashimi but don't like Char Koay Teow... rclxm9.gif

May I know what is the title of the book you were saying?
dongdong86
post Dec 15 2008, 04:01 PM

oh sorry, i thought you dog is silky. em...it is still your choice then, btw HCF or BARF are still better than any kibbles and can food. Well, for sources of meat, you can search for wild boar, and some imported meat.

I dont remember the book title, but you can try search in MPH, i think you can easily find it.

iluv2zzz
post Dec 15 2008, 04:11 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

You got the book right? Just do us a favour find the title for us since you recommend reading it happy.gif
PangurBan
post Dec 15 2008, 04:28 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(dongdong86 @ Dec 15 2008, 04:01 PM)
oh sorry, i thought you dog is silky. em...it is still your choice then, btw HCF or BARF are still better than any kibbles and can food. Well, for sources of meat, you can search for wild boar, and some imported meat.

I dont remember the book title, but you can try search in MPH, i think you can easily find it.
I get my beef from the pasar malam, the freshly slaughtered stuff. I avoid all the frozen stuff. Then the chicken I get from Central, OUG.
dongdong86
post Dec 15 2008, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Dec 15 2008, 04:11 PM)
You got the book right? Just do us a favour find the title for us since you recommend reading it happy.gif
Sorry i mislead you, i didnt buy this as i dont really have that much money tongue.gif
i try search online in MPH also cant get it. another active member in puppy.com.my acsyen, also come this forum one, has a lot of BARF book, you may try look for this forumer.
QUOTE(PangurBan @ Dec 15 2008, 04:28 PM)
I get my beef from the pasar malam,  the freshly slaughtered stuff.  I avoid all the frozen stuff.  Then the chicken I get from Central, OUG.
thanks for the information mate. smile.gif
TSWhite Palace
post Dec 15 2008, 10:26 PM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Dec 15 2008, 01:00 AM)
FYI I don't do BARF  tongue.gif  I do HCF (homecook food) but I came across a lot BARF when I doing my research. So I am just sharing with what I know. Generally most ingredient in BARF and HCF are similar. The major different is the preparation, proportion, and the bone tongue.gif

Perhaps we should have another proper thread for HCF includes all the treat baking recipe. Planning to bake some this week.

Alright, back to BARF. other then Dr.B that dongdong and yang said, what about Pitcairn? Anybody have a copy of Dr.Pitcairn's Complete Guide to Natural Health for dogs n cats?

http://www.drpitcairn.com/books/pitcairn_book.html
Holistic Guide for a Healthy Dog, 2nd edition, by Wendy Volhard and Kerry Brown, D.V.M.

Actually I'm focusing more on this book, Dr B's book are "swallowed" more deeply by my frens. We sort of read different books and share the knowledge.

I would say the book i'm reading is a good choice as well cause it is not so one sided to feed BARF only, it also explains how to select the right kibbles and ways to supplement it properly.
iluv2zzz
post Dec 15 2008, 11:17 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

Do you mean "Holistic Guide for a Healthy Dog, 2nd edition, by Wendy Volhard and Kerry Brown, D.V.M." talks about kibbles and supplement too\?
TSWhite Palace
post Dec 16 2008, 12:18 AM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

I havent finish the whole book yet, but yap, it does talks about kibbles + supplements also explanations on ingredients.
dongdong86
post Dec 16 2008, 01:51 AM

Will get the mentioned book in MPH, and we can share knowledge here.
leekenneth39
post Dec 16 2008, 10:14 AM

is feeding barf is by grinding everything or feed in small piece for them to chew ?
Doraemon11
post Dec 16 2008, 02:07 PM

530 posts

If u having the big breed dog... u can give ur dog in pieces to chew... if ur dog is small/toy breed, better grind eveythg to feed.. but remember chop in big pieces and not small pieces, coz if too small size ur dog may just swallow it n tercekik lor..
Pennywise
post Dec 16 2008, 05:11 PM

5,796 posts

Aww man, I didnt notice this thread was growing so fast. I wanted to feed BARF but my main concern is that the diet might be inbalanced.

In a way, when we read the ingredients of a bag of dog kibbles, we noticed many other greens within and types of oil. I used to think about how much each kibble manufacturer make but when I think of all the ingredients placed inside, wonder how much it might cost. Despite the little amount of ingredients, its still better than nothing.

My dogs lick their bowl clean everyday, only some days they are moody and go on strike. I think if I feed BARF, there wont be any turning back. Now, I need to reconsider due to the factor I stated above.
dongdong86
post Dec 16 2008, 09:17 PM

QUOTE(leekenneth39 @ Dec 16 2008, 10:14 AM)
is feeding barf is by grinding everything or feed in small piece for them to chew ?
Grinding everything in is to mix vege and fruits that some dog may dislike together, make them can be so picky. also to make it safe for your dog.
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 16 2008, 05:11 PM)
Aww man, I didnt notice this thread was growing so fast. I wanted to feed BARF but my main concern is that the diet might be inbalanced.

In a way, when we read the ingredients of a bag of dog kibbles, we noticed many other greens within and types of oil. I used to think about how much each kibble manufacturer make but when I think of all the ingredients placed inside, wonder how much it might cost. Despite the little amount of ingredients, its still better than nothing.

My dogs lick their bowl clean everyday, only some days they are moody and go on strike. I think if I feed BARF, there wont be any turning back. Now, I need to reconsider due to the factor I stated above.
not that your dog wont want to eat kibbles, it is that yourself wont let you change back to kibbles.

For kibbles, you can imagine how good can the costs be. one kg chicken, RM6 lah i calculate. to make chicken meal, one kg will become 200g-300g. so for some premium dog food, chicken meal will be 50-75%, so per 1kg kibbles, costs of meat is about RM12-RM18. plus all the vege, fruits, potatoes, grains, supplements, can you imagine 1KG can be above RM20-RM25? lets say economic of scale, reduce cost to RM12-RM15, then plus export, distributors profit, pet shop profit, how come all premium one cost less than RM20 per KG? Oh i guess there are compromises among the process......

iluv2zzz
post Dec 16 2008, 09:22 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

LOL, they definately get cheaper them RM6 for the chicken. They need the whole farm for it. Whenever you get stuff for wholesales, its at least half of the price already. happy.gif
dongdong86
post Dec 16 2008, 11:17 PM

maybe, but i am talking about Malaysia's cheap chicken, if Canada America, cant imagine how expensive will it be....make it RM5 also expensive already...

Added on December 17, 2008, 3:35 pmAnother question for discussion. I have a discussion with other forumer in other forum.

He own a GSD, should be around 30-40kg, he said he feed whole chicken only, everyday 2kg. So i calculate, if for active dog, 3% of weight is 900g-1200g, for mixed BARF, means 60% of meat and bones and other 40% ingredients. So i suggest to give half chicken per day, and give some fruits and vege as balanced nutrition, but he seems to be very irritated of my suggestion. He insisted that his method is appropriate, but i said too much protein will burden kidney.

Tired lah, i dont intend to earn his money or anything, just correct his way of feeding. Since he dont want to accept, then i dont want to "advise" him anymore.

So what do you think?

This post has been edited by dongdong86: Dec 20 2008, 01:02 AM
kiukiu
post Dec 19 2008, 01:41 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 16 2008, 05:11 PM)

One thing a lot of people forget about Barf Diet is Dr. B's stressing that "Balance is to be achieved over time". It is nigh impossible to provide a complete and balanced meal to an animal/person. Take for example ourself. If we are to eat a complete and balanced meal, everyday we'll be eating the same thing over and over again. Life will be super boring. That's why we will eat more meat on certain days, more vege on another, more Carbo and etc...

The same applies to Barf diet. It is better to achieve balance over time as well. No dogs can go get the same food over and over again in nature. They will sometimes feast on Meat, sometimes on overripe fruits and etc. Even Dr. B will not say his Barf Patties to be Complete and Nutritionally Balanced. He will only say that it is Nutritionally Adequate, and Nutritionally Right.

I'm not sure about any of you, but to me, I will not just vary the proportion of the content of the Barf I feed to my dog, but as well as the ingredients. This way, I can be sure that I cover the widest ground in term of nutrients.

Cheers.
dongdong86
post Dec 19 2008, 02:35 AM

hi kiukiu, me too. we choose fruits and veges depends on seasonal, same goes to Pink BARF, all are seasonal ingredients.

Dog which eating kibbles are super boring man, but we always blame they are picky, actually we are more picky...
acsyen
post Dec 19 2008, 09:58 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Dec 16 2008, 02:07 PM)
If u having the big breed dog... u can give ur dog in pieces to chew... if ur dog is small/toy breed, better grind eveythg to feed.. but remember chop in big pieces and not small pieces, coz if too small size ur dog may just swallow it n tercekik lor..

I would never encourage for the meat and bones to be grinded unless it is a very young pup or maybe the dog has lost it's teeth. I feed my young pup from 2-3 months old chunks of meat and bones. Only the vege and fruits are blended.

28 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:42 AM