Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player @MSRP USD129.99

hairul
post Jan 8 2009, 11:57 PM

** Learn From The Mistake **
944 posts

Klang Valley Area
Hopefully From Klang to Sunway.... Can Find me :-)
vex
post Jan 9 2009, 08:20 AM

1,984 posts

my fren told me my pre-order WDTV finally arrive ~ biggrin.gif

zwanvedder
post Jan 9 2009, 09:34 AM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

how to adjust the subtitle to be a bit smaller..?
JiauBoy
post Jan 9 2009, 09:40 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Jan 9 2009, 08:20 AM)
my fren told me my pre-order WDTV finally arrive ~ biggrin.gif
welcome to the club rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
hdwarexpert
post Jan 9 2009, 11:49 AM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Jan 9 2009, 09:34 AM)
how to adjust the subtitle to be a bit smaller..?
If not mistaken, you can adjust it at the setting.

I saw this function before. smile.gif
azbro
post Jan 9 2009, 11:54 AM

4,403 posts

OK, I'm taking the plunge...I'm getting the WDTV...

I've some questions before I get it. Hope the experts in here can help.

1. I didn't have time to read all the pages in here, sorry, but I know that for WDTV, Dolby and DTS with MKV is a problem with AV decorder. I've a Philips HTS 3357/98 and also it decodes DTS / Dolby.
Question is, the socket behind say Digital in, but it looks like a singular RCA socket....maybe its a Digital Coaxial Connector. Will i be able to connect the WDTV with my HTS?

2. Storage...Well, since most of us are getting the WDTV for playing HD stuff....do I need to get myself a Hardisk (like the WD passport) but need to format to NTFS? Cos' most of the movies in MKV are 4GB above. I dun think FAT32 can handle a file above 4GB.

Thanks in advance.
jackolantern
post Jan 9 2009, 12:21 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 9 2009, 11:54 AM)
OK, I'm taking the plunge...I'm getting the WDTV...

I've some questions before I get it. Hope the experts in here can help.

1. I didn't have time to read all the pages in here, sorry, but I know that for WDTV, Dolby and DTS with MKV is a problem with AV decorder. I've a Philips HTS 3357/98 and also it decodes DTS / Dolby.
Question is, the socket behind say Digital in, but it looks like a singular RCA socket....maybe its a Digital Coaxial Connector. Will i be able to connect the WDTV with my HTS?

2. Storage...Well, since most of us are getting the WDTV for playing HD stuff....do I need to get myself a Hardisk (like the WD passport) but need to format to NTFS? Cos' most of the movies in MKV are 4GB above. I dun think FAT32 can handle a file above 4GB.

Thanks in advance.
yea u need format to ntfs first..

got 1 quick question
i cannot update the firmware.. i already follow instruction but failed to update

Highlight the firmware upgrade icon, and press ENTER on the remote << i cant go through this step
JiauBoy
post Jan 9 2009, 02:19 PM

727 posts

extract/unzip the files to the root dir will do
ape
post Jan 9 2009, 02:37 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 9 2009, 11:54 AM)
1. I didn't have time to read all the pages in here,

2. Storage...Well,

Bro, here is my 2 cents:

1) I think the rca thing at yr htib is digital coaxial input, the wd player only have optical output. so u need an optical to coaxial converter in order to get surround sound.

2) Initially, yr wd passport has been formatted in ntfs. so no need to reformat...
hairul
post Jan 9 2009, 03:25 PM

** Learn From The Mistake **
944 posts

Optical Cable Not Bundle With Package. But still can watching using coaxial output.

Maybe Optical cable are expensive, that's why not include i think.

p/s : Waiting if Western Digital come out with recorder. Hopefully.

This post has been edited by hairul: Jan 10 2009, 10:47 AM
liangchai
post Jan 9 2009, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 8 2009, 03:53 PM)
I think Jalan pasar should have. LYP difficult to find, furthermore will be more expensive. I'm also looking for a 5M Toslink cable (cheap wan) but have no time to go Jalan Pasar yet...sigh..
Got mine yesterday at Carrefour Tropicana City PJ. 2M for RM9.90
fizzy15
post Jan 9 2009, 05:15 PM

159 posts

just got my fiber optic audio cable, cant wait to test it on.. biggrin.gif
kiddc
post Jan 9 2009, 05:49 PM

262 posts

Got mine from hairul just moments ago.

will test it tonight and tomorrow smile.gif
azbro
post Jan 9 2009, 09:52 PM

4,403 posts

Hmm..thats gonna cost me alot in getting a WDTV, WD passport, optical cable, converter and Digital Coaxial cable...hmm..gonna cost me abt RM1K..

I think I'll lay low for the moment...times are abit hard now...
hdwarexpert
post Jan 9 2009, 09:57 PM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 9 2009, 09:52 PM)
Hmm..thats gonna cost me alot in getting a WDTV, WD passport, optical cable, converter and Digital Coaxial  cable...hmm..gonna cost me abt RM1K..

I think I'll lay low for the moment...times are abit hard now...
Does it cost so much to get a WDTV??

I think most is 800 bucks depending your harddisk capacity.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 9 2009, 10:10 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(liangchai @ Jan 9 2009, 05:02 PM)
Got mine yesterday at Carrefour Tropicana City PJ. 2M for RM9.90
The new one just opened near Ken Damansara? Do u see any 5m optical cable?
azbro
post Jan 9 2009, 11:49 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ Jan 9 2009, 09:57 PM)
Does it cost so much to get a WDTV??

I think most is 800 bucks depending your harddisk capacity.
err..I mean including the harddrive, optical audio cable + converter + Digital Coaxial cable (cos my HTS only accepts this socket for digital)
zwanvedder
post Jan 10 2009, 12:45 AM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ Jan 9 2009, 11:49 AM)
If not mistaken, you can adjust it at the setting.

I saw this function before. smile.gif
i can't find it la bro....can u explain to me where?
spr173
post Jan 10 2009, 02:49 AM

68 posts

how to do i put a thumb pic into the movie folder like a preview before i click
thteong82
post Jan 10 2009, 03:01 AM

Poor Guy
1,528 posts

Anyone got larger hardisk, please download again the firmware. Latest is 1.01.02

Version 1.01.02:
Resolved Issues:

Resolved the issue surrounding updating the firmware from a large (500GB or larger) drive, previously the WDTV™ would not recognize the updated firmware on a large drive
Known Issues:

When image is rotated 90 degrees there is some elongation in the rotated view

If the user unsafely removes an HFS+ formatted drive from the media player without using the Eject button, the drive will become read only media

125 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0308sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:23 PM