125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player @MSRP USD129.99

yhsiau
post May 17 2009, 10:30 PM

792 posts

hey guys, check this out. WD has made a site to accept feature suggestions for their WD TV product. we can request some features to be made in future. biggrin.gif

http://wdtv.uservoice.com/pages/17442-general
Maniac
post May 18 2009, 02:04 AM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 17 2009, 02:49 PM)
Colour decoding are the basis of reproducing colour from the source. Colour is usually in formats of HD (HD709), SD (NTSC or PAL) and is meant to be decoded by the player to match the colour of the source and sent to the display. This will mean accurate reproduction of colour and colour tones. Yes, if the source is not decoded properly the WDTV seems to be decoding HD colour into SD colour. There will be inaccuracies.
thx for explaining. this is new to me.

Added on May 18, 2009, 2:08 am
QUOTE(yhsiau @ May 17 2009, 10:30 PM)
hey guys, check this out. WD has made a site to accept feature suggestions for their WD TV product. we can request some features to be made in future. biggrin.gif

this is very cool. Lots of ideas has been suggested anyway, and some are planned, under review... WDTV is getting cooler!

This post has been edited by Maniac: May 18 2009, 02:08 AM
Barricade
post May 18 2009, 09:43 AM

4,154 posts

possible to add rmvb support ?
robinlim
post May 18 2009, 10:07 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ May 18 2009, 09:43 AM)
possible to add rmvb support ?
saw that someone suggested that in the forum
but no action being planned or taken by WD
Bartok
post May 18 2009, 11:48 AM

heard somebody can soft decode rmvb sigma 8635. but only 576ix480 resolution. Picture quality bad.
yhsiau
post May 18 2009, 07:43 PM

792 posts

rmvb format support might not be possible as WD didn't get liecense from Real Media. Liecensing need $$$... unless Real Media offer liecense as FOC to WD. sad.gif
TSsotong168
post May 18 2009, 07:57 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

unless someone able to 'hack' the firmware, the unit is powerful enuf to decode 1080p mkv, shouldn't be a prob in decoding real media gua...
superyaw
post May 18 2009, 08:38 PM

197 posts

I also wish can play RMVB file on this player. So much files here. LOL...
mikapoh
post May 18 2009, 11:10 PM

1,263 posts

How much is the WD 1TB HDD price now? RM360? Are you guys using 2.5" or 3.5" one??

If using 3.5" one, you need to power it up isn't it?

DigitalTech
post May 18 2009, 11:50 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ May 18 2009, 11:10 PM)
How much is the WD 1TB HDD price now? RM360? Are you guys using 2.5" or 3.5" one??

If using 3.5" one, you need to power it up isn't it?
Yes, you need to use AC power for 3.5 inch HDD.
-Panadol-
post May 19 2009, 12:04 AM

60 posts

Just got this today... for the price, I'm really impressed! Plays all the video files I throw at it.
Now I can enjoy my lcd tv much much more!

DigitalKL
post May 19 2009, 08:39 AM

1,360 posts

I always have this problem (even when just bought since last year) -

My WDTV is connected using HDMI to my Plasma TV. When I turn them both on, sometimes (many times) I get the "no-sync detected" signal. No sync on my TV means like no connection or no video signal coming in.

Alot of times when I first turn it on, I can see the WD logo then poof, goes to "no sync". I have to un-cucuk the HDMI cable, on/off WDTV or TV, do a few things before I can get everything working again.

Sometimes I would get vertical lines spaces evenly apart across the screen also and solved by doing the same thing as above.

My HDMI cable is by Giraffe. I cant try another cable cause my TV is hung on the wall and I cant get another cable in unless someone helps me. Unfortunately my TV is zaman dulu wan so no extra HDMI port at the front or side.

It looks like my WDTV sometimes cant auto detect my connection. I had this problem the day I bought it (read the beginning pages). I didnt get it repair because the problem is intermittent. I dont want to send it back unless it totally wont work.

Anyone else encounter this problem?
kimi
post May 19 2009, 10:10 AM

Peace
630 posts

i read somewhere mentioning that the WD hdmi port is a little deep, so some hdmi cable the pins maybe barely touching, reason for the sometimes ok sometimes not ok
some people shave the hdmi cable rubber off so that the cable con go in further - im sure u dun want to do that on an expensive hdmi cable
DigitalTech
post May 19 2009, 10:53 AM

974 posts

Hi, I downloaded Popcorn MKV audio converter 1.75.3.

However it can't automatically download the mkvinfo tools.

Usually it will prompt me to download the tools automatically.

Anyone can help?
SUSnordingh
post May 19 2009, 11:18 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ May 17 2009, 10:30 PM)

Already register myself.

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ May 19 2009, 08:39 AM)

My WDTV is connected using HDMI to my Plasma TV. When I turn them both on, sometimes (many times) I get the "no-sync detected" signal. No sync on my TV means like no connection or no video signal coming in.

Alot of times when I first turn it on, I can see the WD logo then poof, goes to "no sync". I have to un-cucuk the HDMI cable, on/off WDTV or TV, do a few things before I can get everything working again.

Sometimes I would get vertical lines spaces evenly apart across the screen also and solved by doing the same thing as above.

My HDMI cable is by Giraffe. I cant try another cable cause my TV is hung on the wall and I cant get another cable in unless someone helps me. Unfortunately my TV is zaman dulu wan so no extra HDMI port at the front or side.

It looks like my WDTV sometimes cant auto detect my connection. I had this problem the day I bought it (read the beginning pages). I didnt get it repair because the problem is intermittent. I dont want to send it back unless it totally wont work.

Always happen to me after I start using a really thick and hard to bend HDMI cable (not sure consider expensive one or not, I bought during warehouse sale). After showing the WD logo, then my TV didn't detect any signal. Need to 'main-main' the cable. I didn't bother to ask this problem here, I thought my cable got problem cos one of pin bend before, but I manage to put it back. Time to get a new cable. My TV also wall mounted but can change the cable anytime I like.

QUOTE(kimi @ May 19 2009, 10:10 AM)
i read somewhere mentioning that the WD hdmi port is a little deep, so some hdmi cable the pins maybe barely touching, reason for the sometimes ok sometimes not ok
some people shave the hdmi cable rubber off so that the cable con go in further - im sure u dun want to do that on an expensive hdmi cable
I might agree with you, when I use cap ayam cable before, never had problem my LCDTV didn't detect the signal. Only after I change to a new one.

I need to get Gillette or Shick to shave my cable too.... laugh.gif
yhsiau
post May 19 2009, 11:26 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ May 19 2009, 10:53 AM)
Hi, I downloaded Popcorn MKV audio converter 1.75.3.

However it can't automatically download the mkvinfo tools.

Usually it will prompt me to download the tools automatically.

Anyone can help?
this site has the tool which u need. biggrin.gif
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/MKVtoolnix.htm
DigitalTech
post May 19 2009, 11:53 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ May 19 2009, 11:26 AM)
this site has the tool which u need. biggrin.gif
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/MKVtoolnix.htm
Thanks. Is there anyway to make it download automatically when I launch the popcorn mkv audioconverter program.

I used to do that, but now it won't download and install automatically.
Maniac
post May 19 2009, 01:35 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

Hi, sad for your case, I also faced this problem before, it just simply won't sync with one of the HDMI cable, I then changed to another one, which works perfectly now. Really, I would suggest changing to other HDMI cable, maybe you can ask others who used a 'working' HDMI cable brand.
eye
post May 19 2009, 02:22 PM

1,166 posts

I think it is normal. Don't worry about it. Don't be too anxious. The WDTV requires a small amount of time to read the harddisk. The moment you on your lcd & the wdtv, leave them be for a few moments. Don't fiddle with yr remote. Hehe!!
podrunner
post May 19 2009, 02:39 PM

2,214 posts

I had this problem with my first HDMI cable, which cost me RM180 from a PC shop. Had to always plug/unplug from the LCD (only one HDMI port at the back). Decided to get another one by GIRAFFE and this one works from day one. The free one I got from Panasonic also works without any problem on both LCD and plasma.

125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:21 AM