Western Digital TV™ HD Media Player, Full HD 1080p Player @MSRP USD129.99

rthj
post Feb 26 2009, 05:54 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 26 2009, 12:27 PM)
holy!!!! hdwarexpert, how did u know????????
maxed-out on sarcasm meter... tongue.gif
eye
post Feb 26 2009, 05:57 PM

1,166 posts

LOL!!
ic-klass
post Feb 26 2009, 07:03 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(Waachaaa @ Feb 25 2009, 10:46 PM)
Why dont u use optical cable connect to your receiver
And HDMI just for picture

WOuldnt that be much better?
Can we use this - i.e Optical cable to carry the audio signal (DTS/DD) to our reiciever and decoded by the reciever??

hdwarexpert
post Feb 26 2009, 10:09 PM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 26 2009, 05:27 PM)
holy!!!! hdwarexpert, how did u know????????
It only output raw audio signal from our movie files.

If you use ur TV to output the sound, only stereo sound can be heard. Not DTS.

for DTS, u need at least a home theatre set or AV receiver with DTS. Either via optical cable or HDMI also can, no RCA jack. wink.gif

Added on February 26, 2009, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(ic-klass @ Feb 26 2009, 07:03 PM)
Can we use this - i.e Optical cable to carry the audio signal (DTS/DD) to our reiciever and decoded by the reciever??
Yup, you are right.

This post has been edited by hdwarexpert: Feb 26 2009, 10:10 PM
ar188
post Feb 26 2009, 10:20 PM

9,206 posts

WDTV can pass thro HD audio like true HD and DTS-MA or not?
rx330
post Feb 27 2009, 12:09 PM

11,811 posts

the name really correct, really hdware expert

woi , rthj apa? show ur tongue for wat? wanna lick ar188 anus ar? biggrin.gif
DigitalKL
post Feb 27 2009, 12:14 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 26 2009, 10:20 PM)
WDTV can pass thro HD audio like true HD and DTS-MA or not?
you ask for what? you got Receiver capable of TrueHD and DTS-MA meh?
oh wait a minute! do you have WDTV in the first place?
sweat.gif

rx330
post Feb 27 2009, 12:16 PM

11,811 posts

fuiyoh, didi kasi gigit kaw kaw
hdwarexpert
post Feb 28 2009, 12:17 AM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 27 2009, 12:16 PM)
doh.gif
ar188
post Feb 28 2009, 08:38 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Feb 27 2009, 12:14 PM)
you ask for what? you got Receiver capable of TrueHD and DTS-MA meh?
oh wait a minute! do you have WDTV in the first place?
sweat.gif
why you need to own WTDV only can ask meh? don't you think it's wise to ask before one decides to get it only to discover it doesn't have certain features that one's looking for?

Added on February 28, 2009, 8:39 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 27 2009, 12:16 PM)
it's his time of the month.. bawah bocor.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Feb 28 2009, 08:39 AM
ic-klass
post Feb 28 2009, 08:17 PM

959 posts

jsy got my WDTV this eve. Not yet try HD movie files yet. Only avi - season series...
Anyone wanna share their whistling.gif collection of 720p/2080p movie files??
welwitchia
post Feb 28 2009, 08:20 PM

1,219 posts

Erm, planning to get one for my cousin tomorrow at Low Yat. Anyone know which shop has it in stock? The last time I was there (about 3 weeks ago), I couldn't find any. Also, what would be the average price..RM 400?

Thx in advance!
hdwarexpert
post Mar 1 2009, 12:23 AM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Feb 28 2009, 08:17 PM)
jsy got my WDTV this eve. Not yet try HD movie files yet. Only avi - season series...
Anyone wanna share their  whistling.gif collection of 720p/2080p movie files??
Welcome to join the WD TV owner!

creep
post Mar 1 2009, 05:36 AM

531 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Feb 28 2009, 08:20 PM)
Erm, planning to get one for my cousin tomorrow at Low Yat. Anyone know which shop has it in stock? The last time I was there (about 3 weeks ago), I couldn't find any. Also, what would be the average price..RM 400?

Thx in advance!
can get around RM365-RM405....All IT selling for RM419
i saw few units on display at Cycom
lightning69
post Mar 1 2009, 11:04 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(edwintey @ Feb 19 2009, 04:32 PM)
I saw a product from local company.
Quite the same, with 1TB WD HDD (500MB x 2), with HDMI output but not support audio. Coaxial & Optical audio output.
Provide more than 1000 movies/concerts in HD format.
Could be in load new titles every 3 month (Charges)

I tried it's picture quality mostly in 720 Res, according there said with DTS-HD MA & DD True-HD, but I find that only got DTS & Dolby Digital only.
Quality can't compete with Blu-Ray, just better than DVD slightly, but convenience.
I have try out the WDTV units for 2 weeks now. In fact I have sold many units of it now and still have a couple sitting in my house waiting for delivery. Now I am not a dealer or anything like that, but I just help my friends purchase it and setup for them.

All I can say is that the WDTV rocks! It can play HD mkv files up to 1080P. When you say the quality can't compare to the Bluray, I fully agee with you, but I can tell you that the quality of mkv files can be damn good that you can't really tell much difference between bluray and mkv. With 1TB WD HDD that comes with 1000 movies/concert...i can tell you that this guys is going for quantity and not quality. I have a few WD 1TB Essential HD and I can only put around 200 HD movies in it. And those mkv movies that I have is only slightly inferior to bluray and i really don't mind at all.

I have a few 1080P mkv movies that is more than 10GB in size and I can tell you that the quality is absolutely great.

So the bottom line is that the WDTV can display FULL HD video with clear, sharp and details video if you have the right HD contents for it.

The WDTV does carry audio on the HDMI. For those who would like 5.1 or 6.1 surround, you need an optical cable. The WDTV can decode AC3(dolby Digital) but has no on board DTS decoder(common guys...this things only cost RM399) so you need a receiver with DTS decoder if you want to enjoy DTS sound.

The WDTV can also support multiple audio channels and subtitiles which can be turn on & off.

Besides that the WDTV can even play your favorites music and supports FLAC lossless audio for the audiophiles.

For the price and features...I think this is the best media player money can buy.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Mar 1 2009, 11:05 AM
ar188
post Mar 1 2009, 11:35 AM

9,206 posts

I think he meant able to provide 1000 movies to select, not can fit into 1TB Harddisc..

Added on March 1, 2009, 11:36 amjust want to know if WDTV can pass-thro the HD audio formats like TrueHD or DTS-MA found in M2TS BDrips

This post has been edited by ar188: Mar 1 2009, 11:36 AM
Sieg
post Mar 1 2009, 11:47 AM

★★★★★★★★★★
728 posts

Which shop in lowyat that sells for RM365??? Care to tell??
zwanvedder
post Mar 1 2009, 12:24 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

QUOTE(Sieg @ Mar 1 2009, 11:47 AM)
Which shop in lowyat that sells for RM365??? Care to tell??
399 i think

Added on March 1, 2009, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(ic-klass @ Feb 28 2009, 08:17 PM)
Anyone wanna share their  whistling.gif collection of 720p/2080p movie files??
pm me

This post has been edited by zwanvedder: Mar 1 2009, 12:25 PM
lightning69
post Mar 1 2009, 12:37 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 1 2009, 11:35 AM)
I think he meant able to provide 1000 movies to select, not can fit into 1TB Harddisc..

Added on March 1, 2009, 11:36 amjust want to know if WDTV can pass-thro the HD audio formats like TrueHD or DTS-MA found in M2TS BDrips
I am not sure about HD audio passthru because I don't have a receiver that support it and I am not planning to get one soon. For me those DTS and Dolby Digital sounds that comes with the MKV files already sound awesome on my Denon AVR3808 and you can hardly get mkv files with HD audio. So far I am absolutely satisfy with the picture and audio quality of my 300+ mkv collections.
ar188
post Mar 1 2009, 01:10 PM

9,206 posts

as i said m2ts with hd audio rather than mkvs. Yes most mkv is dd or dts. Cant argue about free mkvs though. Hehe.

125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:07 AM