126 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

GUINEA PIGS CORNER V4, Kawaii...... wheek, wheek.....

Dark Twilight
post Feb 3 2009, 09:28 PM

38 posts

one of my GPs use to had lice at first we tried some sort of powder but no effect sad.gif so i tried some liquid my mom bought from Pet Family...
after a few weeks not so bad anymore happy.gif but then she died bye.gif
dunno why ... zzz
n3sbaby
post Feb 3 2009, 11:10 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Feb 3 2009, 06:23 PM)
n3sbaby & SugarCoatedCandy , thank you for the encouragement and the advise. Yeah I am also a new owner of the GP same like me just 3 days old owner...hahaha. I do not have dogs. Having 2 GPs was like having bunch of dogs now...kekeke...overprotective owner that is why sometimes felt so stress when the GP shy away from me...I will try my best to face the stress and spend more time with them...smile.gif gambateh to all new owners~~

Added on February 3, 2009, 6:26 pmI do not have a dog but my bf got a cocker spaniel which is very close to me...so i understand dogs more than GP...smile.gif
how to know exactly if GP having lice or not?
haha....same here...i feel so stress when I think my Cody is not bond to me...laugh.gif

Added on February 3, 2009, 11:11 pmI read in guinea pig corner V3, Juztiny recommended one shampoo for treating lice and mite....Where can we get it, Juztiny~~~~

This post has been edited by n3sbaby: Feb 3 2009, 11:11 PM
Juztiny
post Feb 4 2009, 12:09 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(n3sbaby @ Feb 3 2009, 11:10 PM)
how to know exactly if GP having lice or not?
haha....same here...i feel so stress when I think my Cody is not bond to me...laugh.gif

Added on February 3, 2009, 11:11 pmI read in guinea pig corner V3, Juztiny recommended one shampoo for treating lice and mite....Where can we get it, Juztiny~~~~
That Anivision shampoo which I recommended last time, the manufacturer discontinue in producing it already, not because it is no good, but the manufacturer rebranding the shampoo with add extra formula and with different packing, selling for much much higher price. Luckily I bought 4L last time. If you guys want I could sell some to you, after all 4L could really last me few years usage if I keep it to myself. Last time I bought 250ml already last me a year usage. The cost of 250ml shampoo is cheaper than go for vet treatment. Interested party, please pm me.
utp_tyco
post Feb 4 2009, 01:51 AM

54 posts

just spray your gp coat with ridset except its head area..then use tuala balut its body for a while..let its head out..mayb for 5 minutes..then bath ur gp..that will do..
limie
post Feb 4 2009, 08:32 AM

538 posts

any party that has Male GP(10months ++ old) to sell?

i need it, because i want to breed my GP... i have 3 Female GP... haiz..~~~
n3sbaby
post Feb 4 2009, 09:36 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(utp_tyco @ Feb 4 2009, 01:51 AM)
just spray your gp coat with ridset except its head area..then use tuala balut its body for a while..let its head out..mayb for 5 minutes..then bath ur gp..that will do..
r u sure this can work??? rclxub.gif ridsect is very poisoning...GP can bear with it?

Added on February 4, 2009, 9:38 am
QUOTE(limie @ Feb 4 2009, 08:32 AM)
any party that has Male GP(10months ++ old) to sell?

i need it, because i want to breed my GP... i have 3 Female GP... haiz..~~~
Juztiny's male GP didn't make your female GP pregnant successfully? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by n3sbaby: Feb 4 2009, 09:38 AM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 4 2009, 10:16 AM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

You sure wor blink.gif ridsect got really bad contents in it blink.gif blink.gif
Juztiny
post Feb 4 2009, 10:21 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(n3sbaby @ Feb 4 2009, 09:36 AM)
r u sure this can work???  rclxub.gif  ridsect is very poisoning...GP can bear with it?

Added on February 4, 2009, 9:38 am

Juztiny's male GP didn't make your female GP pregnant successfully?  laugh.gif
Actually GP need time to bond with each other, one week not sufficient time for them to bond, and the timing must be right (provided female GP on heat, and willing to let the male GP humped). I have seen my female GP refused to let the male hump, turn aggressive if the male GP keep on chasing it.

Added on February 4, 2009, 10:23 am
QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 4 2009, 10:16 AM)
You sure wor blink.gif ridsect got really bad contents in it blink.gif  blink.gif
My maid spray Ridsect on plant because got ants, after 2 days my plant eventually died.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Feb 4 2009, 10:23 AM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 4 2009, 12:07 PM

1,434 posts

Added on February 4, 2009, 10:23 am
My maid spray Ridsect on plant because got ants, after 2 days my plant eventually died.

Hah! See~ clearly its not safe for GP's >_<

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Feb 4 2009, 12:07 PM
limie
post Feb 4 2009, 12:18 PM

538 posts

hehe... if u guys saw Male GP at any pet shop, do inform me k?

i will go and buy...

thx~!
Juztiny
post Feb 4 2009, 12:30 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Feb 4 2009, 12:18 PM)
hehe... if u guys saw Male GP at any pet shop, do inform me k?

i will go and buy...

thx~!
I think someone in Garage Sale wanted to sell off her GPs. Perhaps could find in adoption thread too.
carolhyf
post Feb 4 2009, 01:36 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Feb 3 2009, 07:35 PM)
not very recommended to give a shot.. will give the gp a panic and stress.. my 1st gp died b4 of a shot for lice.. so damn sad..

by the way.. where can i get the medicated shampoo for lice or the Advantage??any recommended place??thx for sharing..
Yeah,agree to CKW008. Not to give GP any shot until the totally no choice as pain can cause gps stress as per advice from Vet Dr.Mervin. and i think the vet should told the owner that,there are risk for gp to take any shot and the recover chances are only 50-50(if the gp are in serious condition).

As i understand from Dr.Jenny, Bayer advantage is control medicine and only those shop wt vets and vet's lesan can have it. I'm actually giving this treatment to my gps every 3 mths to prevent them are free frm lice and mite. If gps already have lice or mite, then need to take the treatment according Vet's advice.

The of 1 tiub is 4ml if not mistaken, and it apply depends on the size of gp. Usually vets will take syringe(without needle) to pull and apply it on the back of gp so that they could not lick it. I got it frm Dr.Jenny and it cost abt rm15 per tiub.

Added on February 4, 2009, 1:53 pm
super risky oh ohmy.gif .......even human...while we are spraying the ridset in the room. We also feel hard to tahan leh. Personal opition, strong disagree even i'm not sure whether is it effective or not. We cannot stop the gps to lick their body after we spray and have to aim the targeted area very very tepat and make sure the gp will not move while u spray.

Added on February 4, 2009, 2:39 pmSomething very funny happen yesterday and i would like to share at here wt everyone. tongue.gif

I started toilet trained Jasper and Jingle last year Nov and seems it is not successful yet.

As everyday, i was cleaning and picking up all the wet beddings and poos for Jasper and Jingle. I will feed them vegs and fruits before i start my job so that they will not kacau me while i cleaning. Both of them enjoying their foods at the food tray,suddently Jingle running so fast from food tray to the toilet bowl (a bit far distance as both are located at the opp.end in the cage) and climb up on the toilet bowl and stay there. I though she was playing herself there so i didnt paid attention on her.

Suddently i heard some water droping sounds......and look at Jingle. Her butt is facing out the toilet bowl and her face facing inside the toilet bowl and she pee drool.gif hahahahahaha....i totally cannot tahan and laugh so loud biggrin.gif

After they finish the vegs and fruits, Jasper was climb on the toilet bowl and shacking his body and making some rumble sounds and Jingle was running to him and licking Jasper's front neck (like cleaning for Jasper) and after that d other way round pula....Jingle was lying down and Jasper licking her ear pula....hahahahahaha....so sweet wub.gif

This post has been edited by carolhyf: Feb 4 2009, 02:39 PM
Juztiny
post Feb 4 2009, 02:46 PM

1,276 posts

Actually I found a better solution than coloplast sheet, as the coloplast sheet easily chewed up by the GP. Now I'm using aluminium/zink sheet to put the base of the cage. Much more durable than using coloplast. Nowadays, the bookstore sold the coloplast sheet is getting smaller size too.

Here is how the aluminium/zink sheet looks like.

SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 4 2009, 03:40 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Feb 4 2009, 02:46 PM)
Actually I found a better solution than coloplast sheet, as the coloplast sheet easily chewed up by the GP.  Now I'm using aluminium/zink sheet to put the base of the cage.  Much more durable than using coloplast.  Nowadays, the bookstore sold the coloplast sheet is getting smaller size too.

Here is how the aluminium/zink sheet looks like.
I saw a thicker kind of cloroplast at the hardware just now. My husband called it to another name.. cant remember but it definetly looked better than the average thin cloroplast lol.

Btw Justiny.. O_o arent the zinc edges like sharp? U fold it is it?
n3sbaby
post Feb 4 2009, 04:41 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(carolhyf @ Feb 4 2009, 01:36 PM)
Yeah,agree to CKW008. Not to give GP any shot until the totally no choice as pain can cause gps stress as per advice from Vet Dr.Mervin. and i think the vet should told the owner that,there are risk for gp to take any shot and the recover chances are only 50-50(if the gp are in serious condition).

As i understand from Dr.Jenny, Bayer advantage is control medicine and only those shop wt vets and vet's lesan can have it. I'm actually giving this treatment to my gps every 3 mths to prevent them are free frm lice and mite. If gps already have lice or mite, then need to take the treatment according Vet's advice.

The of 1 tiub is 4ml if not mistaken, and it apply depends on the size of gp. Usually vets will take syringe(without needle) to pull and apply it on the back of gp so that they could not lick it. I got it frm Dr.Jenny and it cost abt rm15 per tiub.

Added on February 4, 2009, 1:53 pm
super risky oh ohmy.gif .......even human...while we are spraying the ridset in the room. We also feel hard to tahan leh. Personal opition, strong disagree even i'm not sure whether is it effective or not. We cannot stop the gps to lick their body after we spray and have to aim the targeted area very very tepat and make sure the gp will not move while u spray.

Added on February 4, 2009, 2:39 pmSomething very funny happen yesterday and i would like to share at here wt everyone. tongue.gif

I started toilet trained Jasper and Jingle last year Nov and seems it is not successful yet.

As everyday, i was cleaning and picking up all the wet beddings and poos for Jasper and Jingle. I will feed them vegs and fruits before i start my job so that they will not kacau me while i cleaning. Both of them enjoying their foods at the food tray,suddently Jingle running so fast from food tray to the toilet bowl (a bit far distance as both are located at the opp.end in the cage) and climb up on the toilet bowl and stay there. I though she was playing herself there so i didnt paid attention on her.

Suddently i heard some water droping sounds......and look at Jingle. Her butt is facing out the toilet bowl and her face facing inside the toilet bowl and she pee drool.gif hahahahahaha....i totally cannot tahan and laugh so loud  biggrin.gif

After they finish the vegs and fruits, Jasper was climb on the toilet bowl and shacking his body and making some rumble sounds and Jingle was running to him and licking Jasper's front neck (like cleaning for Jasper) and after that d other way round pula....Jingle was lying down and Jasper licking her ear pula....hahahahahaha....so sweet wub.gif
they r so lovey-dovey.... brows.gif Dr. Mervin you mentioned is from hand n paws? how much is the consultation fee for GP?

Chubbyagel
post Feb 4 2009, 05:39 PM

smile.gif It is fun to see them eating and chasing each other. I saw one of my GP start scratching all the time so was wondering is that lice on it...so one day I bring it close to me and brush her with toothbrush and saw a white long tiny lice on top of its head...and I pull it out and "matikan" it.kekekeke...tomorrow I guess I need to shop for the bathing sand and also the lice medication...sad see them scratching all the time...sad.gif
finch!
post Feb 4 2009, 06:02 PM

268 posts

Hi everyone.
I just got my GP last nite from a petshop. It was so cute but I dont have idea how to take care of her properly.
When i was at the petshop, Coco (i named my GP this) was so friendly to me, and when i got her home, she was so scared. But I it is normal (hopefully!)
Today she becomes more calm and even let me hold her. She even made sound (wieet wieet something like that) which I think it was good.
Now she's hiding behind the hay. Is it ok if i set her cage like this? i put some dry corn bedding with lots of hays. Am I doing right? hmm.gif
Any tunjuk ajar would be really appreciated. So new to petting a GP blush.gif

oh btw, can I play with it alot? I love to do that but scared maybe I will bother her much. And, how long would it take for her to totally become familiar with me?

thanks smile.gif

attachmentid=789053]

This post has been edited by finch!: Feb 4 2009, 06:05 PM

SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 4 2009, 06:09 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(finch! @ Feb 4 2009, 06:02 PM)
Hi everyone.
I just got my GP last nite from a petshop. It was so cute but I dont have idea how to take care of her properly.
When i was at the petshop, Coco (i named my GP this) was so friendly to me, and when i got her home, she was so scared. But I it is normal (hopefully!)
Today she becomes more calm and even let me hold her. She even made sound (wieet wieet something like that) which I think it was good.
Now she's hiding behind the hay. Is it ok if i set her cage like this? i put some dry corn bedding with lots of hays. Am I doing right?  hmm.gif
Any tunjuk ajar would be really appreciated. So new to petting a GP  blush.gif

oh btw, can I play with it alot? I love to do that but scared maybe I will bother her much. And, how long would it take for her to totally become familiar with me?

thanks  smile.gif

attachmentid=789053]
Cute GP! Tho u should have read about them first before purchasing.. But i guess now its too late~ nvm thumbup.gif cage setup is good but a little small imo.. since u put hay inside... dont need the hay rack.. but once she start eating them all need to restock.. also try to make her a hideout. GP's like to hide inside something when they are scared. I hope that tray is solid (to avoid bumblefeet) and high enuff to let the bedding stay inside ><

Yes you can play with her to let her bond with you. But not too much for the first few days. They get stressed easily. Also i notice like my GP's they get ressless after 15 mins holding them.. so put her back in the cage if she gets ressless. Give them floortime smile.gif they like to roam around exploring places. That is also their exercise, coz they dont require and wheel.. in fact they hate it smile.gif

Feed her fresh veggies daily.. also she will need alfalfa hay to grow ^^ Make sure there is always plenty of water for her to drink, they are heavy drinkers smile.gif Read up the front page of this thread. there is lots and lots of info ^^ Good luck!

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Feb 4 2009, 06:12 PM
CKW008
post Feb 4 2009, 06:17 PM

116 posts

@carolhyf@- where do u bring ur gp for vet treatment??other than dr.yeoh from tmn megah PJ??

i nid to bring my gp for dianogsis as they are getting inactive... and there r lice prb.. i nid to get rid of it.. wat med u bought and from where??
kaoru himura
post Feb 4 2009, 06:22 PM

109 posts

u can get good impartant information on how to take care of ur gp by reading the 1st page of this topic. we encourage all newbies to read it all (it might take some time, but it will answer most of your question) there is also links on some other sites dedicated to provide good info for GP owners. i hope this will help.

Coco is cute!! it is not a gud idea to put lots of hay like that n mixed with the bedding as u need to clean the cage regularly coz GP poo n pee alot (unless they are toilet train then you will only need to change the toilet bedding) ur gp is still small and it might not eat that much, and coco might pee n poo on the hay also, that will be a waste coz you have to remove the dirty hay away...

u can use processed recycled paper bedding (like Breeder Celect) or wood shavings (like Chipsi Classic) as beddings for the cage. i did read about corn bedding is not very suitable for GP...something about the smell and the absorbant level i think....forgot liao~

the small plastic container at the corner, izzit the pellet bowl? u should get a proper heavier (and deeper) bowl for the pellet, gp might turn the bowl upside down, sit over it or spill the pellet...

hope this helps abit happy.gif

126 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:36 AM