126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

GUINEA PIGS CORNER V4, Kawaii...... wheek, wheek.....

katannaz
post Feb 4 2009, 06:40 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Feb 4 2009, 12:18 PM)
hehe... if u guys saw Male GP at any pet shop, do inform me k?

i will go and buy...

thx~!
hii, i' new in here
i have 4 gp abby i bought at jalan pasar pet shop
but cry.gif 2 female died already
now 2 male still alive from +-3 month til now
both active and eating 24hrs rclxub.gif

last 2 weeks i go to that shop, they still have 4-5 gp and still have male one
pet world at mid valley also have.
hope you will find one thumbup.gif
kaoru himura
post Feb 4 2009, 06:57 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(katannaz @ Feb 4 2009, 06:40 PM)
hii, i' new in here
i have 4 gp abby i bought at jalan pasar pet shop
but  cry.gif 2 female died already
now 2 male still alive from +-3 month til now
both active and eating 24hrs rclxub.gif

last 2 weeks i go to that shop, they still have 4-5 gp and still have male one
pet world at mid valley also have.
hope you will find one thumbup.gif
did you put all of them in 1 cage? i read that you can mix male and female together, but u can put only 1 male in the group. 2 males in a cage with female will fight, they might hurt the female GP oso....
finch!
post Feb 4 2009, 09:34 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 4 2009, 06:09 PM)
Cute GP! Tho u should have read about them first before purchasing.. But i guess now its too late~ nvm thumbup.gif cage setup is good but a little small imo.. since u put hay inside... dont need the hay rack.. but once she start eating them all need to restock.. also try to make her a hideout. GP's like to hide inside something when they are scared. I hope that tray is solid (to avoid bumblefeet) and high enuff to let the bedding stay inside ><

Yes you can play with her to let her bond with you. But not too much for the first few days. They get stressed easily. Also i notice like my GP's they get ressless after 15 mins holding them.. so put her back in the cage if she gets ressless. Give them floortime smile.gif they like to roam around exploring places. That is also their exercise, coz they dont require and wheel.. in fact they hate it smile.gif

Feed her fresh veggies daily.. also she will need alfalfa hay to grow ^^ Make sure there is always plenty of water for her to drink, they are heavy drinkers smile.gif Read up the front page of this thread. there is lots and lots of info ^^ Good luck!
hehe thanks for the advice biggrin.gif she's bonding with me just fine up until now. very happy with it! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Feb 4 2009, 06:22 PM)
u can get good impartant information on how to take care of ur gp by reading the 1st page of this topic. we encourage all newbies to read it all (it might take some time, but it will answer most of your question) there is also links on some other sites dedicated to provide good info for GP owners. i hope this will help.

Coco is cute!! it is not a gud idea to put lots of hay like that n mixed with the bedding as u need to clean the cage regularly coz GP poo n pee alot (unless they are toilet train then you will only need to change the toilet bedding) ur gp is still small and it might not eat that much, and coco might pee n poo on the hay also, that will be a waste coz you have to remove the dirty hay away...

u can use processed recycled paper bedding (like Breeder Celect) or wood shavings (like Chipsi Classic) as beddings for the cage. i did read about corn bedding is not very suitable for GP...something about the smell and the absorbant level i think....forgot liao~

the small plastic container at the corner, izzit the pellet bowl? u should get a proper heavier (and deeper) bowl for the pellet, gp might turn the bowl upside down, sit over it or spill the pellet...

hope this helps abit happy.gif
alright, will do. btw how often should i clean the cage (throw away the hay n the corn bedding) ? the guy at the petstore said twice a month would good enough, but i've read somewhere we should clean it once a week. so i'm confused doh.gif and if my GP eat those hay that she peed on, would it harm her in any way? Sorry if i ask alot but thats what the first-timer father would do right. lol

i will follow your advice not to use corn bedding in the future. will try to use shaved pine as i read it doesnt harm GP (and its cheaper too! tongue.gif)

yep that one is pallet bowl. its metal btw. i think i'd stick to that one for a while. no budget liao to go out and find a nice bowl for Coco. Overspent already. hehe.

btw can i use normal rabbit pallet from those aquarium shop? currently i'm feeding coco with pellet i got from the same petshop i got Coco which is quite pricey for me

so hard to be a father and a student at the same time. blink.gif
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 4 2009, 09:56 PM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

I hand pick my GP's 'kacang' everyday tongue.gif But wont get all of it lah.. Since i use breeder celect, the cage seriously has no smell.. and its always not so dirty. If there is too much poop around just remove it.. their poop is nice and tidy tongue.gif so nothing to geli about.

Get Hagen pellets for Guinea pigs. The normal pellet i see a lot of pet shops using it, but im not so sure if its packed with nutrients or vitamins >< GP's cannot produce their own vitamin C... so need to give things that have sufficient vit C biggrin.gif

Get the brown ceramic bowl.. metal can senang to tip over.. like my GP like sitting inside her bowl while eating laugh.gif so definetly safe lah.. The small one just costs 8 ringgit.. Its not that expensive. Dark twilight told me to get a ceramic bowl which is no bigger than the GP smile.gif so i think u shud do the same too.

Its np asking.. we learn something new everyday.. i was once like you biggrin.gif since i like reading peoples comments and reading the web for info.. so thats why i learn something new everyday XD

Btw its nice that your GP has bonded with you.. shes a keeper! definetly a cute baby toooo~ thumbup.gif
Juztiny
post Feb 4 2009, 10:29 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Feb 4 2009, 03:40 PM)
I saw a thicker kind of cloroplast at the hardware just now. My husband called it to another name.. cant remember but it definetly looked better than the average thin cloroplast lol.

Btw Justiny.. O_o arent the zinc edges like sharp? U fold it is it?
Well...only the 4 corner edges would be sharp, but could use tape to seal it then. I think those hardware shop sell type is very expensive for Pengola roof use, cannot be folded. Unless another type is the advertising board type, also not as durable as zink sheet. smile.gif
CKW008
post Feb 4 2009, 10:56 PM

116 posts

izit normal my GP got wetty eyes and sometimes discharge(tahi mata) from their eyes??is this sign tat they are unhealthy??

can tell me how to get to Dr.Yeoh's clinic in Tmn Megah..??(from federal highway or Jln Universiti or PJ ss2)
n3sbaby
post Feb 4 2009, 11:01 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(finch! @ Feb 4 2009, 09:34 PM)
hehe thanks for the advice biggrin.gif  she's bonding with me just fine up until now. very happy with it!  rclxms.gif
alright, will do. btw how often should i clean the cage (throw away the hay n the corn bedding) ? the guy at the petstore said twice a month would good enough, but i've read somewhere we should clean it once a week. so i'm confused  doh.gif and if my GP eat those hay that she peed on, would it harm her in any way? Sorry if i ask alot but thats what the first-timer father would do right. lol

i will follow your advice not to use corn bedding in the future. will try to use shaved pine as i read it doesnt harm GP (and its cheaper too! tongue.gif)

yep that one is pallet bowl. its metal btw. i think i'd stick to that one for a while. no budget liao to go out and find a nice bowl for Coco. Overspent already. hehe.

btw can i use normal rabbit pallet from those aquarium shop? currently i'm feeding coco with pellet i got from the same petshop i got Coco which is quite pricey for me

so hard to be a father and a student at the same time.  blink.gif
i am so jealous Coco bond with you so soon... wub.gif
My Cody still afraid of me...only sometimes he will lay down and let me to pet him....but definitely no carry... doh.gif

Juztiny
post Feb 4 2009, 11:19 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Feb 4 2009, 10:56 PM)
izit normal my GP got wetty eyes and sometimes discharge(tahi mata) from their eyes??is this sign tat they are unhealthy??

can tell me how to get to Dr.Yeoh's clinic in Tmn Megah..??(from federal highway or Jln Universiti or PJ ss2)
That is very unusual to have wet or teary eyes on GP.

But one thing I noticed that red eyes GP are more sensitive towards bright sunlight. Day time they (red eyes GP) will tend to close their eyes half size smaller.
limie
post Feb 4 2009, 11:31 PM

538 posts

Juztiny:last time u said Milky is Female GP...

but today he just "up/mating" with Carrie...
what should i conclude about his sex?

im so confuse~~~
CKW008
post Feb 4 2009, 11:48 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Feb 4 2009, 11:19 PM)
That is very unusual to have wet or teary eyes on GP. 

But one thing I noticed that red eyes GP are more sensitive towards bright sunlight.  Day time they (red eyes GP) will tend to close their eyes half size smaller.
nope my GP's eyes are black.. both oso have teary eyes.. shud i send them for dianogsis? any recommended vet around cheras?
Juztiny
post Feb 5 2009, 01:33 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Feb 4 2009, 11:31 PM)
Juztiny:last time u said Milky is Female GP...

but today he just "up/mating" with Carrie...
what should i conclude about his sex?

im so confuse~~~
Milky is which one, pure white?

If Milky is pure white, I am very sure it is female. As when I put them together with my male , no fighting wor....

Anyway I have seen my female humped male too...even male & male hump also got.

Added on February 5, 2009, 1:35 am
QUOTE(CKW008 @ Feb 4 2009, 11:48 PM)
nope my GP's eyes are black.. both oso have teary eyes.. shud i send them for dianogsis? any recommended vet around cheras?
Honestly there isn't any highly recommended vet in Cheras that could treat small animal except the govt vet clinic in Taman Pertama.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Feb 5 2009, 01:35 AM
SugarCoatedCandy
post Feb 5 2009, 02:30 AM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Feb 4 2009, 10:29 PM)
Well...only the 4 corner edges would be sharp, but could use tape to seal it then.  I think those hardware shop sell type is very expensive for Pengola roof use, cannot be folded.  Unless another type is the advertising board type, also not as durable as zink sheet. smile.gif
Thx for the info Juz rclxms.gif will look into zinc sheets when i need to make a DIY cage..
limie
post Feb 5 2009, 08:35 AM

538 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Feb 5 2009, 01:33 AM)
Milky is which one, pure white?

If Milky is pure white, I am very sure it is female.  As when I put them together with my male ,  no fighting wor....

Anyway I have seen my female humped male too...even male & male hump also got.
Milky is Browny White, Milky so agressive, until Carrie(pure white) kick him... drool.gif
should i bring to vet to confirm their sex? rclxub.gif

katannaz
post Feb 5 2009, 09:08 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Feb 4 2009, 06:57 PM)
did you put all of them in 1 cage? i read that you can mix male and female together, but u can put only 1 male in the group. 2 males in a cage with female will fight, they might hurt the female GP oso....
yes...before this i put all in 1 cage
but not 2 male 1 female but 2 male & 2 female
right now only 2 male still alive thumbup.gif
2 female died cry.gif
now i try to find a 2 female for both of my male GP icon_question.gif
carolhyf
post Feb 5 2009, 09:12 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(n3sbaby @ Feb 4 2009, 04:41 PM)
they r so lovey-dovey.... brows.gif  Dr. Mervin you mentioned is from hand n paws? how much is the consultation fee for GP?
yeah,Dr.Mervin is from Hand n Paws but he is more specialist in dogs and cats. Dr.Mervin recommand me wait for Dr.Jenny is better because Dr.Jenny will be more specialist on small animal as like gp, sugar gliders, ferret,hamster and etc. Dr.Jenny is will be there only on sunday and monday.

consultation fees i cant really remember coz i didnt keep the receipt, but my last visit wt both of Jasper and Jasper, taking deworm and Bayer Advantage treatment (2 tiubs), normal checking and nail trimming cost me less then rm50 in total.

You can call 1st before u went there is better.

Added on February 5, 2009, 9:25 am
QUOTE(CKW008 @ Feb 4 2009, 06:17 PM)
@carolhyf@- where do u bring ur gp for vet treatment??other than dr.yeoh from tmn megah PJ??

i nid to bring my gp for dianogsis as they are getting inactive... and there r lice prb.. i nid to get rid of it.. wat med u bought and from where??
i'm taking them to Hand n Paws at Aman Suria(near Tropicana). My house is nearby and the 1st i went there all the vets there are so nice and patient enough to explain and guide you how to take care your pets. Their charges are not expensive, usually it will not cost me more then rm50 in total for both my gps(included 2 Bayer Advantage,deworm,normal checking on the gps).

Even i called Dr.Jenny for emergency for Jingle last time at night aft 8pm, the charges is less then rm100.

Reasonable chagres, friendly and patient vets make me there and no matter how long is the que is for seeing them, i will wait.

I have been another vets before(which is near by there also when Hand n Paws is close and i do not have the Dr.Jenny'shandphone number at that time)and i got a super bad service and treatment. Finally Jingle's mother RIP also as the vets did not do anything on the Joy(Jingle's mother)but just provide some kind of antibiotic which is not fot gps.
When i bring Joy to Hand n Paws on the next day, Dr.Mervin pour out some of the antibiotic and see, there are some powder forms things in the antibiotic and even Dr.Mervin also dunno what is that antibiotic for.

This post has been edited by carolhyf: Feb 5 2009, 09:25 AM
Xiawa
post Feb 5 2009, 09:58 AM

QUOTE(Xiawa @ Feb 1 2009, 02:59 PM)
i found grids in carefore at midvalley !!!
it cost rm99.90 with 23 pieces, but it is last stock and 1 of the pieces is stolen=__=
the salesgirl say she will give rm20 discount since that is display item and it just left 22 pieces
so i bought it at rm79.90 with 22 pieces XD

is the price reasonable? i have look for this thing for a very longggggg time, my gp can have a bigger room finally biggrin.gif
I have finish the c&c cage for my gp on monday, here is some pics XD
wan to make it bigger, but have no enough place to put the cage ade =_= so i just make it 2x3 grids,
the biggest size of coroplast i can found just 3 feet, i buy 3 and sambung them together XD
the inner part still a lot of empty, for me is quite boring, i like deco=_=
but my gp loves the space, she always popcorning excitedly which i seldom saw b4 rclxms.gif(she live inside a big plastic container b4, poor her)

her name is 颜小绵 XD~~~
hi everybody
i wan to be alone pls!
XD

carolhyf
post Feb 5 2009, 10:01 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Feb 4 2009, 11:48 PM)
Better take them to vets asap coz it is really not a good signs....

http://www.guinealynx.info/eyes.html

Guinea Pig Eyes and Eye Conditions
How well can guinea pigs see? Can they distinguish colors? What does a normal eye look like? Do your guinea pig's eyes have a discharge? Is this normal?
Cavy Eyes
Color
Discharge
Signs of Illness or Injury

Eye Conditions
Cataracts
Entropion
Blindness
Fatty Eye (Pea Eye)
Micropthalmia

Cavy Eyes
Normal eyes are clear and bright. They protrude slightly and are of the same size. Guinea pigs normally keep their eyes open all the time, even when sleeping. A very few may sleep with their eyes fully closed. While cavy vision is relatively poor, a cavy can distinguish colors.

Eye Discharge
Normal Cavies excrete a milky white liquid which lubricates their eyes and is used to help them clean their faces. After the eye fills up with the white fluid, the cavy will then take their front paws and make washing motions. This may happen several times per day although you may never even notice. VC Richardson describes a "milky ocular discharge" as "a normal fluid which is released from the eye as part of the grooming process."

Abnormal These signs warrant an examination by an experienced veterinarian.
Signs:

Crusty eyes
Watery eyes
Cloudy eyes
Receding eyes
Protruding eyes
Ulcerated eyes

What these signs may mean:

Upper Respiratory Infection
Injury
Abscess
Tooth Problem
Dehydration/Illness
Cataracts
Diabetes

Added on February 5, 2009, 10:07 am
QUOTE(Xiawa @ Feb 5 2009, 09:58 AM)
wan to make it bigger, but have no enough place to put the cage ade =_= so i just make it 2x3 grids,
the biggest size of coroplast i can found just 3 feet, i buy 3 and sambung them together XD
but my gp loves the space, she always popcorning excitedly which i seldom saw b4 rclxms.gif(she live inside a big plastic container b4, poor her)

her name is 颜小绵 XD~~~
hi everybody
i wan to be alone pls!
XD

drool.gif wahhhhhhhhhhh....super nice oh.....my dream house for gps....i wanted to have one also. wub.gif

Xiawa, you can make more and sell, believe me for sure u will have good business. Btw...can i asked if the bottom are coroplast,if 小绵 pee a lots it will wet right? What should we do if is wet? we have to change the coroplast and re-setup the cage again?

If you have time, can make another one and sell it to me ah?

小绵is so cute and so '辛福'

This post has been edited by carolhyf: Feb 5 2009, 10:07 AM
Xiawa
post Feb 5 2009, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(carolhyf @ Feb 5 2009, 10:01 AM)

drool.gif wahhhhhhhhhhh....super nice oh.....my dream house for gps....i wanted to have one also. wub.gif

Xiawa, you can make more and sell, believe me for sure u will have good business. Btw...can i asked if the bottom are coroplast,if 小绵 pee a lots it will wet right? What should we do if is wet? we have to change the coroplast and re-setup the cage again?

If you have time, can make another one and sell it to me ah?

小绵is so cute and so '辛福'
coroplast is plastic, so just use a clean cloth to wipe it biggrin.gif
usually i will put a lot newspaper under the bedding, everyday i just do spot cleaning, but i will clean the cage completely once a week. for this c&c cage, just take out the coroplast and clean, the grids i just use wet cloth to wipe it.

u mean sell the coroplast base or whole c&c cage? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
n3sbaby
post Feb 5 2009, 10:14 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(carolhyf @ Feb 5 2009, 09:12 AM)
yeah,Dr.Mervin is from Hand n Paws but he is more specialist in dogs and cats. Dr.Mervin recommand me wait for Dr.Jenny is better because Dr.Jenny will be more specialist on small animal as like gp, sugar gliders, ferret,hamster and etc. Dr.Jenny is will be there only on sunday and monday.

consultation fees i cant really remember coz i didnt keep the receipt, but my last visit wt both of Jasper and Jasper, taking deworm and Bayer Advantage treatment (2 tiubs), normal checking and nail trimming cost me less then rm50 in total.

You can call 1st before u went there is better.

Added on February 5, 2009, 9:25 am
i'm taking them to Hand n Paws at Aman Suria(near Tropicana). My house is nearby and the 1st i went there all the vets there are so nice and patient enough to explain and guide you how to take care your pets. Their charges are not expensive, usually it will not cost me more then rm50 in total for both my gps(included 2 Bayer Advantage,deworm,normal checking on the gps).

Even i called Dr.Jenny for emergency for Jingle last time at night aft 8pm, the charges is less then rm100.

Reasonable chagres, friendly and patient vets make me there and no matter how long is the que is for seeing them, i will wait.

I have been another vets before(which is near by there also when Hand n Paws is close and i do not have the Dr.Jenny'shandphone number at that time)and i got a super bad service and treatment. Finally Jingle's mother RIP also as the vets did not do anything on the Joy(Jingle's mother)but just provide some kind of antibiotic which is not fot gps.
When i bring Joy to Hand n Paws on the next day, Dr.Mervin pour out some of the antibiotic and see, there are some powder forms things in the antibiotic and even Dr.Mervin also dunno what is that antibiotic for.
yea....Dr. Mervin is the vet i visit when my dog is not feeling well....he is kind of patient and friendly rclxms.gif
Emergency call means Dr. Jenny will go to your house in that case?
the charges of >RM50 for 2 gps are reasonable.... thumbup.gif

Added on February 5, 2009, 10:16 am

her name is 颜小绵 XD~~~
hi everybody
i wan to be alone pls!
XD

nice setup~~~ pinkish bungalow!!!! my favourite colour... tongue.gif
you can get 颜小绵 a companion already~~~ cool.gif

Added on February 5, 2009, 10:19 amlast nite i try to put one litter box for my Cody....
he go near to sniff sniff then climb inside the litter box to pee n poo...i was so happy~~~ but i think he still like to poop whn he's inside his dome XD

This post has been edited by n3sbaby: Feb 5 2009, 10:19 AM
Chinchillas
post Feb 5 2009, 10:25 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

her name is 颜小绵 XD~~~
hi everybody
i wan to be alone pls!
XD

Nice setting. Look very clean and easy to clean up. Where is the food bowl and hay?

126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:47 PM