14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Studying Overseas, Is it better or local.

TSCherryD
post Nov 14 2008, 07:14 PM

294 posts

Thanks for the effort for typing so much and detail man!!! thumbup.gif Thanks. Well said. I'll take note of that. thumbup.gif

maxtek
post Nov 15 2008, 01:57 AM

TH3 P3RF3C7!0N!5T
876 posts

QUOTE(CherryD @ Nov 14 2008, 07:14 PM)
laugh.gif That's a lotta info, something you can't simply get off Wikipedia I guess.. laugh.gif
TSCherryD
post Nov 15 2008, 10:33 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(maxtek @ Nov 15 2008, 01:57 AM)
laugh.gif That's a lotta info, something you can't simply get off Wikipedia I guess.. laugh.gif
Definitely.
Dark Amaterasu
post Nov 15 2008, 10:46 AM

121 posts

my fwen studying at scotland..at first it is hard for her to be friend with scotland student..they dont like foreigners too much..but if u got gud attitude..then it would be no problem.

studying overseas broaden ur mind. they're different. the way lecturer assist student also different,,in case much better biggrin.gif
but studying abroad cost lots of money n high pressure for those who have been sponsored.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 15 2008, 02:21 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Yes financial support is the 1st priority. Also, prepare to fork out more that the projected amount. Just in case some extra expenses pop up.
SUSf4tE
post Nov 15 2008, 04:28 PM

1,605 posts

Depends on the university you are going to. If you are going to some unknown college compared to malaysian university it is better to study in malaysia. U can save your money and the level of USM or UM is not that bad. But if u going to some recognise universitites or college abroad then it is good as u gain the xperience and the knowledge
EmperorMeng
post Nov 15 2008, 06:40 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

though my uni is ranked top 50 in the world, i think many of my lecturers are useless.
lilredridinghood
post Nov 15 2008, 07:16 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

Got this kinda student, sure la all lecturer useless tongue.gif
azarimy
post Nov 15 2008, 07:49 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

LOL if u dont get to use ur lecturers doesnt mean they're useless wink.gif.
EmperorMeng
post Nov 15 2008, 08:04 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Nov 15 2008, 07:16 PM)
Got this kinda student, sure la all lecturer useless tongue.gif
partly true la
QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 15 2008, 07:49 PM)
LOL if u dont get to use ur lecturers doesnt mean they're useless wink.gif.
put it this way. by the 3rd week, 60% attendance in 1course per sem. 80% attendance in 2 courses per sem. there is usually 1 good lecturer per sem.
40 % of those attending are either playing laptop, eating , chatting

among key weaknesses
- poor english
- bad pronounciation
- boring lecture
- lecturer reading entirely from notes

yes they are good in knowledge, but if they cant teach, why bother being lecturers?

mechanical engineering students lol. we learn ourselves everything. no idea what the fees are for.
dreamer101
post Nov 15 2008, 08:41 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Nov 15 2008, 08:04 PM)

yes they are good in knowledge, but if they cant teach, why bother being lecturers?

mechanical engineering students lol. we learn ourselves everything. no idea what the fees are for.
EmperorMeng,

<<yes they are good in knowledge, but if they cant teach, why bother being lecturers?>>

1) Is it they cannot teach or you cannot learn??

2) If someone has the knowledge, why "TEACHING" is the ONLY way to get the knowledge out from them??

Think outside the box. There is more than ONE way to get knowledge from someone than NORMAL teaching method. Can the person show you how to solve some problem??

On the other hand, if the person does not have the knowledge, than, it is HOPELESS.

Dreamer

willa
post Nov 15 2008, 09:11 PM

if can,really try to go abroad rather than studying in local uni
local colleges in m'sia r much more better than local uni
EmperorMeng
post Nov 15 2008, 09:16 PM

Jom Whaling
2,021 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 15 2008, 08:41 PM)
EmperorMeng,

<<yes they are good in knowledge, but if they cant teach, why bother being lecturers?>>

1) Is it they cannot teach or you cannot learn??

2) If someone has the knowledge, why "TEACHING" is the ONLY way to get the knowledge out from them??

Think outside the box.  There is more than ONE way to get knowledge from someone than NORMAL teaching method.  Can the person show you how to solve some problem??

On the other hand, if the person does not have the knowledge, than, it is HOPELESS.

Dreamer
A1. look at attendance la . with some lecturers, the attendance is almost 100% . why? coz attending their lecture is nt a waste of time. while some lecturers comes in the 1st lecture with this:
1. buy the text book
2. spend 10 hrs a week study urself
3. do all tutorial.

and proceed to read his OHP laugh.gif

A2. depends entirely on subjects. we have a fair share of all. this is just academic wise. there should be many other reasons tht can make one to choose to study overseas smile.gif

@ azarimy. ur also a lecturer smile.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by EmperorMeng: Nov 15 2008, 09:23 PM
lilredridinghood
post Nov 15 2008, 10:58 PM

Not so google expert
2,111 posts

QUOTE(willa @ Nov 16 2008, 01:11 AM)
how so?

Added on November 15, 2008, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Nov 16 2008, 12:04 AM)
partly true la

put it this way. by the 3rd week, 60% attendance in 1course per sem. 80% attendance in 2 courses per sem. there is usually 1 good lecturer per sem.
40 % of those attending are either playing laptop, eating , chatting

among key weaknesses
- poor english
- bad pronounciation
- boring lecture
- lecturer reading entirely from notes

I can accept lecturers who don't speak good English, but not lecturers who are unprepared and only read entirely from the slides. I have one lecturer like that this semester and believe it or not, I think he's a goner next semester.

the power of Vic Uni students or NZ students tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lilredridinghood: Nov 15 2008, 11:01 PM
azarimy
post Nov 16 2008, 02:07 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(willa @ Nov 15 2008, 01:11 PM)
i would love for u to further define ur statement.

lets start with "IPTA are in the THES ranking while IPTS are nowhere to be found".

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Nov 15 2008, 01:16 PM)
A1. look at attendance la . with some lecturers, the attendance is almost 100% . why? coz attending their lecture is nt a waste of time. while some lecturers comes in the 1st lecture with this:
1. buy the text book
2. spend 10 hrs a week study urself
3. do all tutorial.

and proceed to read his OHP laugh.gif

A2. depends entirely on subjects. we have a fair share of all. this is just academic wise. there should be many other reasons tht can make one to choose to study overseas smile.gif

@ azarimy. ur also a lecturer smile.gif thumbup.gif
err... yes? not sure what u're implying here tongue.gif.

relating to my earlier statement, in my experience, i've taught students who strongly prefers to work alone/independently. i have no problems with that, as long as they deliver at the end of the project or semester. but if the same student complains that "lecturers are useless", memang makan gua punya kaki lor laugh.gif

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Nov 15 2008, 02:58 PM)
how so?

Added on November 15, 2008, 11:01 pm

I can accept lecturers who don't speak good English, but not lecturers who are unprepared and only read entirely from the slides. I have one lecturer like that this semester and believe it or not, I think he's a goner next semester.

the power of Vic Uni students or NZ students tongue.gif
if u look at the architectural association (AA) school in london, the students have an election to elect their head of school. u cant get any stronger than that wink.gif. i've seen first hand how they toppled a top european architect who was the head of school back in 2004 in favor of a new, more radical architect. if only malaysia could vote their own prime minister... biggrin.gif
maxtek
post Nov 16 2008, 02:08 AM

TH3 P3RF3C7!0N!5T
876 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 16 2008, 02:07 AM)
i would love for u to further define ur statement.

lets start with "IPTA are in the THES ranking while IPTS are nowhere to be found".
err... yes? not sure what u're implying here tongue.gif.

relating to my earlier statement, in my experience, i've taught students who strongly prefers to work alone/independently. i have no problems with that, as long as they deliver at the end of the project or semester. but if the same student complains that "lecturers are useless", memang makan gua punya kaki lor laugh.gif
if u look at the architectural association (AA) school in london, the students have an election to elect their head of school. u cant get any stronger than that wink.gif. i've seen first hand how they toppled a top european architect who was the head of school back in 2004 in favor of a new, more radical architect. if only malaysia could vote their own prime minister... biggrin.gif
Now now... You know how our political system works in Malaysia. laugh.gif
HanYH
post Nov 16 2008, 09:23 AM

75 posts

In my opinion, being able to study oversea is the greatest experience in my life so far. There are just a lot of opportunities and resources which are not available in Malaysia. For instance, most of the lecturers I had are experts in their respective fields. They had their own researches and wrote their own textbooks. Having them to teach you what they know is incredible, but of course, just like any other places, there will be some profs who are not good at teaching.

Americans are really into what they are interested in learning. I have been exposed to so many different classes which have no direct connection to my major. This is actually part of the requirements to graduate. Unlike in Malaysia, we have tried so hard to predict and pave our paths since high school. We are usually more afraid of exploring other opportunities and interests.

Working in teams is another awesome experience. You get to work with so many different people from different background (majors, countries, races, religions etc.)

In term of academy, in my opinion, classes are much tougher here but of course, this varies according to the schools you go to. Personally, I definitely feel that I have been challenged much more than I would have been if I were in a local university back in Malaysia.

Overall, it is definitely an experience which makes you grow as a person and re-think your way of life. We have been spoon fed by our education system for way too long (yes I know, cliche), so studying oversea can really open your eyes to how you should approach your future.

Of course, all of the above will only happen if you are willing to open yourself to possibilities. If you choose to cling to your old self and only mingle with other Malaysians in your school, it will just be the same as studying in Malaysia, just at a different location.

This post has been edited by HanYH: Nov 16 2008, 09:24 AM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 16 2008, 12:41 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Yeah I agree with the 1st part of your comment. U.S have more exposure & you'll see things from different aspect. Everything is so modern & fast paced here. You just gotta get yourself into the right group & mix around. If you have bad influence & don't know how to control yourself, you'll end up in a junk. Don't forget what is your purpose studying abroad; to earn a quality education & expose yourself to situation that money can't buy.

On the other hand, one must not forget their roots, where they came from. No offense, but I'm kinda against those who are "trying to be American". Speaking U.S accent in M'sia, having hand gestures like no other & all sorts of crazy stuff. Yes, you're exposed. But why can't you just be yourself & speak like a normal person. Having quality education abroad doesn't make you a higher social status person. I believe everyone is equal.

maxtek
post Nov 16 2008, 03:06 PM

TH3 P3RF3C7!0N!5T
876 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 16 2008, 12:41 PM)

Yeah I agree with the 1st part of your comment. U.S have more exposure & you'll see things from different aspect. Everything is so modern & fast paced here. You just gotta get yourself into the right group & mix around. If you have bad influence & don't know how to control yourself, you'll end up in a junk. Don't forget what is your purpose studying abroad; to earn a quality education & expose yourself to situation that money can't buy.

On the other hand, one must not forget their roots, where they came from. No offense, but I'm kinda against those who are "trying to be American". Speaking U.S accent in M'sia, having hand gestures like no other & all sorts of crazy stuff. Yes, you're exposed. But why can't you just be yourself & speak like a normal person. Having quality education abroad doesn't make you a higher social status person. I believe everyone is equal.
laugh.gif But how can you not "speak" like them in the accents when you're actually stuck there for years to study??? I've got loadsa friends and relatives who were influenced by the foreign cultures, some so bad that they seem to be gwei-lous and no longer Malaysians alry...
P.I.M.P
post Nov 16 2008, 03:19 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Yes when you speak with them, of course you'll have the accent. Can't help it, even I myself have it. But when you're around your root, you can still switch back to Man-glish. Trust me, you can.

Unless you go to primary school there, then I understand. Then its almost impossible to change.

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:53 AM