QUOTE(sandcool @ Jun 15 2009, 04:10 PM)
1002ha and s101 works fine playing dota..but but...too smallAsus Eee PC Thread V3
Asus Eee PC Thread V3
Jun 16 2009, 03:36 PM
656 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur N' Kajang |
Jun 16 2009, 04:17 PM
1,913 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Quantum Leaping, Next Location Unknown.. |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 16 2009, 03:32 PM) who is their right mind would pay RM2k for a netbook? Soon, it would end up like the 1002, From RM1999 to RM1400 in 6 months when nobody buys. Heh one with lotsa cash who appreciates the weight. And toldya, itll not be so cheap when it comes out when Asus can still milk on the 1000HE |
Jun 16 2009, 10:54 PM
445 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
does anyone have heat issues using a keyboard skin on 1000HE?
Jun 16 2009, 11:05 PM
372 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
guys..anyone can help me?
i format n loaded xp pro into 1000HE and now the web cam is not working even i use in msn.. i tried google ard but i dun seems to find its driver.. anyone can help me out?? much appreciate~~! |
Jun 17 2009, 08:10 AM
QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 16 2009, 11:05 PM) guys..anyone can help me? Here try this one out.i format n loaded xp pro into 1000HE and now the web cam is not working even i use in msn.. i tried google ard but i dun seems to find its driver.. anyone can help me out?? much appreciate~~! Note : I dont own a 1000HE but this might help you out. Its the ECAP Utility from the Asus Website, strange though that you dont have the Webcam drivers cuz its just supposed to be normal everyday USB drivers. Are you using any Nlited versions of XP which may have removed the drivers on purpose to save on space ? |
Jun 17 2009, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(havocx @ Jun 17 2009, 09:10 AM) Here try this one out. Note : I dont own a 1000HE but this might help you out. Its the ECAP Utility from the Asus Website, strange though that you dont have the Webcam drivers cuz its just supposed to be normal everyday USB drivers. Are you using any Nlited versions of XP which may have removed the drivers on purpose to save on space ? yaro..suppose to be detected and use as normal..but strangely this version did not have...i was wandering wat caused it for this too.. |
Jun 17 2009, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 17 2009, 09:00 AM) thx for the info bro..i will test it out... Hmm sure thing, usually if the driver is not there by default then its removed to save on space for WinXP, check if you have Printer drivers and or printer support there as well. Usually Light XP versions ( ie versions which are designed to make your HDD usage smaller ) would remove these support ( they would involve removing some default USB support as well ) and would sometime makes your Windows not as efficient as it should be.yaro..suppose to be detected and use as normal..but strangely this version did not have...i was wandering wat caused it for this too.. Perhaps try another version of XP if that doesnt help ? |
Jun 17 2009, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(havocx @ Jun 17 2009, 11:17 AM) Hmm sure thing, usually if the driver is not there by default then its removed to save on space for WinXP, check if you have Printer drivers and or printer support there as well. Usually Light XP versions ( ie versions which are designed to make your HDD usage smaller ) would remove these support ( they would involve removing some default USB support as well ) and would sometime makes your Windows not as efficient as it should be. Perhaps try another version of XP if that doesnt help ? i not yet try the thing as my 1kHE is at home n im in office....will giv it a try 2nitre i wanna to make all things done then create myself an image..then only reload win7 n play ard..hahahha |
Jun 17 2009, 11:38 AM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
havocx, is the 1005HAB wifi driver worth putting into the 1000HE. What does it really do?
http://www.liliputing.com/page/3 |
Jun 17 2009, 12:34 PM
5 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Hello, I'm considerng to buy a small netbook with long battery life.
I'm thinking of putting a 1000HE in my carrying bag but I move alot and may bump into people or things here and there. So I am little worried about the harddisk. Any advice here. I am also looking at S101 with 16GB SSD. Too bad the battery life is too short. Suggestions? Thanks. |
Jun 17 2009, 01:46 PM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Rany @ Jun 17 2009, 12:34 PM) Hello, I'm considerng to buy a small netbook with long battery life. I heard the SSD is very slow as Windows XP is not optimised with SSD drives.I'm thinking of putting a 1000HE in my carrying bag but I move alot and may bump into people or things here and there. So I am little worried about the harddisk. Any advice here. I am also looking at S101 with 16GB SSD. Too bad the battery life is too short. Suggestions? Thanks. You'd be surprised that the HDD can tahan quite a lot. My netbook is inside my car 24 hours. Always go on hump fast and potholes and yet still working perfectly. |
Jun 17 2009, 01:57 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,314 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 17 2009, 01:46 PM) I heard the SSD is very slow as Windows XP is not optimised with SSD drives. That before it crashes when you need it the most.... ;-)You'd be surprised that the HDD can tahan quite a lot. My netbook is inside my car 24 hours. Always go on hump fast and potholes and yet still working perfectly. |
Jun 17 2009, 02:10 PM
4,709 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
depend on ur luck also..i got one dekstop hdd and din even drop it..but put in bag then when take out and want to install, it cannot been detected already. this thing will happen anytime especially when you need it the most. so ssd should be far more safer when u use it in move
Jun 17 2009, 03:17 PM
ohh brother havocx
after try the ECAP... problem remain..the error msg prompt " sorry you hv no video capture hadware" mean i dun hv da webcam installed in my 1000HE? omg..how is this happening! Added on June 17, 2009, 3:21 pmi started to think of upgrade to win 7 n see how it goes...but then bluebooth might hav problem pulakkkkk This post has been edited by G|O: Jun 17 2009, 03:21 PM |
Jun 17 2009, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 16 2009, 11:05 PM) guys..anyone can help me? few place to check it broi format n loaded xp pro into 1000HE and now the web cam is not working even i use in msn.. i tried google ard but i dun seems to find its driver.. anyone can help me out?? much appreciate~~! 1. goto ur bios~ check if webcam disable? (usually after updating bios, they might switch to disable for no reason common problem in many eeepc), then enable it from your eeetray in xp pro 2. OR go to your device manager see if the webcam working properly, if missing driver means easier to fix, the driver cd that came with your netbook contains what you need, browse it 3. figure it out later if those two option are not working |
Jun 18 2009, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 17 2009, 11:38 AM) havocx, is the 1005HAB wifi driver worth putting into the 1000HE. What does it really do? Hmm ive not read about the wifi driver for the 1005HAB being any different than the Wifi Driver for the 1000HE. As far as I can see the 1005HAB is basically an evolution of the 1008HA series. While the 1008HA was released amid much expectation because of its slim seashell sizes, it lacked the power and strength the 1000HE had which was the battery life of 9.5 hours. The 1000HE was a behemoth compared to the slim 1008HA. The 1005HAB solves that problem simply by providing a 8.5hours battery http://www.liliputing.com/page/3 Other than the Battery though I dont see anything else which might be different. On the other hand the 1008HA is actually not really as slim as I thought it would be. Behold the comparison between HP mini 1000 ( on the left ) and the 1008HA ( on the right ). I was expecting the 1008HA to be much much slimmer not a little slimmer. ![]() QUOTE(Rany @ Jun 17 2009, 12:34 PM) Hello, I'm considerng to buy a small netbook with long battery life. By long battery life you'll need to specify how long because as it most Netbooks right now will run about 5 hours easy and thats much longer than normal battery you'd have from Laptops, plus depending on how and where you plan to use it ( ie office \ college user with easy access to power ) you might not need longer than 5 hours battery too if youre going to connect it to a power socket. The clear winner currently among all the netbooks available here would certaintly be the Asus EEEPC 1000HE with a real life use of about 8 hours and 9.5 hours Optimum use claim.I'm thinking of putting a 1000HE in my carrying bag but I move alot and may bump into people or things here and there. So I am little worried about the harddisk. Any advice here. I am also looking at S101 with 16GB SSD. Too bad the battery life is too short. Suggestions? Thanks. You dont have to worry about putting any knocks on Netbooks, they are pretty hardy. The difference between SSD and HDD though is the fact that with my SSD machines I have the confidence to throw up and juggle the laptop ( which ive done a couple of time ) without fear of messing of up the storage. Other than that though both HDD and SSD are hardy enough to take bumps into people and little jolts of everyday use ( such as running through the streets from one building to another because youre late for a meeting ). QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 17 2009, 01:46 PM) I heard the SSD is very slow as Windows XP is not optimised with SSD drives. Ooh dangerous just leaving the Netbook in the car. That's a big no no.You'd be surprised that the HDD can tahan quite a lot. My netbook is inside my car 24 hours. Always go on hump fast and potholes and yet still working perfectly. On the other hand though I'd have to agree, the normal HDD is fine just as it is. On its own they are already hardy, in a shell ie outer shell of the netbook they work even better. Ive had a laptop ( not mine, and its a laptop ) fall from 2 1/2 story down straight to a concrete courtyard smashes to pieces with the DVD Rom bent but the HDD survived with only 7% bad sectors. A quick format and segragation of the HDD's bad sectors and the HDD could be used again with loss of the 7% space. Now thats saying a lot for HDD's. Try jumping down from 2/12 stories and see how badly shaken you'd be. Going back on the SSD though i have to correct ya a little on that. I've commented on the speed of SSD's and the difference between most primary SSD and secondary SSD's thats within a system. You can have a read here. Understanding that, you'd have to find the comment that the SSD is slow for XP is a comment on how fast the SSD should be. On XP the SSD will boot up my laptop in 20seconds while another machine with HDD will boot it up within 25seconds. I would have expected the SSD to perform faster. On Vista however since the necessary drivers for SSD's are there, Vista boots up in also 20seconds while the other machine used for comparison boots up in 45seconds. With that comes the comment why SSD's are slow in XP, though in actual fact they are really fast and that's with default lower grade SSD's given by manufacters. Loading Linux on both machines got similar boot up speeds of about 25seconds. If you had gotten a higher end replacement SSD, youd then be amazed with what it can do and how fast itll work QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 17 2009, 03:17 PM) ohh brother havocx I think it has primarily to do with your XP installation disc which may have removed some important components from the machine. Maximp's advise was another good one which you should look into. You can try with Win 7 to confirm if its a driver issue. Otherwise if it still persists then you might actually have a hardware problem and not a XP specific problem.after try the ECAP... problem remain..the error msg prompt " sorry you hv no video capture hadware" mean i dun hv da webcam installed in my 1000HE? omg..how is this happening! Added on June 17, 2009, 3:21 pmi started to think of upgrade to win 7 n see how it goes...but then bluebooth might hav problem pulakkkkk |
Jun 18 2009, 09:03 AM
3,544 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: United States of Cybertron |
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 16 2009, 03:32 PM) who is their right mind would pay RM2k for a netbook? Soon, it would end up like the 1002, From RM1999 to RM1400 in 6 months when nobody buys. i will..why?netbook is for mobility not perfomance..i just need an office application, network port, wifi, at least 2 usb port and of coz OS (i choose windows). i have to carry the notebook every day...carrying a 1.2kg vs 2.x kg is a big different bro |
Jun 18 2009, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Jun 18 2009, 09:03 AM) i will..why?netbook is for mobility not perfomance..i just need an office application, network port, wifi, at least 2 usb port and of coz OS (i choose windows). i have to carry the notebook every day...carrying a 1.2kg vs 2.x kg is a big different bro I agree mate, actually even a difference between 1.2kg vs 1 kg netbook is already very big. Though its just 200grams, itll seem heavy after awhile, what more a 2kg laptop |
Jun 18 2009, 09:32 AM
thx for the solutions guys....after i upgrade to win 7 .. the webcam can be use in msn already...
so i guess sumthing not right on my xp cd then... |
Jun 18 2009, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 18 2009, 09:32 AM) thx for the solutions guys....after i upgrade to win 7 .. the webcam can be use in msn already... then this problem can be solved~ its hidden deep inside your driver disc given by asus, try to open in from your pc or external dvdrom (yes the driver disc given by asus is dvd)so i guess sumthing not right on my xp cd then... try search inside the disc will have your driver~ copy to your netbook and install directly |
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:49 PM |