Asus Eee PC Thread V3
havocx
Jun 12 2009, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jun 9 2009, 08:06 PM) Rahuldave is my nick while syah is part of my real name. I have tried VLC and MPC , and the result is still the same, it lags  I have seen the same lag in Dell Mini 12 and Dell Mini 9 running Win 7, ill do another run of Win 7 on my EEEPC and see if that happens. I dont recall it happening the last time and Ive since uninstalled 7 since some of my work specific programs runs optimized in XP but ill give it another pass on the weekend and update you.
QUOTE(YO® @ Jun 9 2009, 08:21 PM) is the microsoft release the win7 already? Heh..this is like the 7th time you asked and the answer's still the same. It is available already in Beta mode to be downloaded of the net. 
QUOTE(Hico @ Jun 9 2009, 08:41 PM) in term of design i really prefer hp mini too..but in term of quality i still prefer 1000HE..but i personal think its time of asus to change its design for it...its come from his bro 1000h which look so bulky compare its thickness and size.. but 1002 is nicer and look classy.. Had a look at the 1008 yet, im guessing thats more your cup of tea eh ?
QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 9 2009, 11:29 PM) hi guys...i hv a eeePc utility in my system tray which i cant select the compressed resolution..issit bcoz i not yet configured sumthing? Compressed resolution ? Care to elaborate ?
hangy2k
Jun 12 2009, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(havocx @ Jun 12 2009, 02:12 PM) Compressed resolution ? Care to elaborate ?there is this eeepc util tools that can set the resolution higher than the native resolution(1024x600), but it is compressed
michaeltan1943
Jun 13 2009, 12:20 AM
How much do you think the Asus 1008 would be sold in Msia. According to retailers, it would be priced at RM1999.
This would definitely be doomed for failure like the S101 and 1002HA. Sales were so bad.
This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 13 2009, 12:31 AM
rahuldave
Jun 13 2009, 06:47 AM
QUOTE(havocx @ Jun 12 2009, 02:12 PM)
I have seen the same lag in Dell Mini 12 and Dell Mini 9 running Win 7, ill do another run of Win 7 on my EEEPC and see if that happens. I dont recall it happening the last time and Ive since uninstalled 7 since some of my work specific programs runs optimized in XP but ill give it another pass on the weekend and update you. Heh..this is like the 7th time you asked and the answer's still the same. It is available already in Beta mode to be downloaded of the net.  Had a look at the 1008 yet, im guessing thats more your cup of tea eh ? Compressed resolution ? Care to elaborate ?Hi Hico I have updated to SHE ver 5.1.2.1013. Since then, the default mode is Super Performance Mode. So, one prob solved. Waiting for others to be solved too. Tq
Maximp
Jun 14 2009, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 13 2009, 12:20 AM) How much do you think the Asus 1008 would be sold in Msia. According to retailers, it would be priced at RM1999. This would definitely be doomed for failure like the S101 and 1002HA. Sales were so bad. what so fail about 1002ha? and s101? both were older design of eeepc with 5hours battery life. the spec during their released is consider good for the weight and alluminum design, thats why so expensive during that time, newer model only introduce faster processor and better battery life (which is normal) and price getting cheaper for sure. only that Malaysian market not so popular. i owned 1002ha and s101~ used both for very long time without problem, 1002 and s101 probably will be obsolete in no time which is normal for an older model being replaces by newer. This post has been edited by Maximp: Jun 14 2009, 03:28 PM
Perfect-Stranger
Jun 14 2009, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 13 2009, 01:20 AM) How much do you think the Asus 1008 would be sold in Msia. According to retailers, it would be priced at RM1999. This would definitely be doomed for failure like the S101 and 1002HA. Sales were so bad. Lol bro, sales bad not necessarily means that the product failed too. And can i know how bad is bad since u said the sales for both models were so bad ? S101 SSD sold out, no more stock in Malaysia. S101 HDD left only particular color only, the rest sold out. 1002HA stock level low as most of the buyers go for it as it priced exactly the same like 1000HE, but with better and solid design.
havocx
Jun 15 2009, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(hangy2k @ Jun 12 2009, 04:16 PM) there is this eeepc util tools that can set the resolution higher than the native resolution(1024x600), but it is compressed Thanks for the reply, hmm i cant say ive used the utility so I wont be able to help on the answer.
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 13 2009, 12:20 AM) How much do you think the Asus 1008 would be sold in Msia. According to retailers, it would be priced at RM1999. This would definitely be doomed for failure like the S101 and 1002HA. Sales were so bad. If its priced at RM1999 itll be doomed for failure since itll have to fight against its own bestseller the 1000HE. Personally though like the rest, i dont think the S101 and 1002HA was a failure. In fact, youd be hard pressed to find them being sold around anymore and its not just because the 1000HE is around.
I personally think it was because its harder to find them now, that people then turn to the 1000HE or other models which are available. The 1008 is the slimmest model at the moment but pricing it at RM1999 will not make people flock to it. Im thinking Asus Malaysia might wanna hold back a couple of months first till sales for the 1000HE tapers down, then they can lower the pricing for the 1000HE and release the 1008 at perhaps RM1799 or hopefully RM1699. Its hard to introduce a model which might not outsell the 9.5hours the 1000HE can produce, what more with the 1008 not being able to give the same amount of battery use and when the only thing it has running for it is just the slim design
alvinddm
Jun 15 2009, 12:52 PM
How much to buy 1000HE battery alone?
G|O
Jun 15 2009, 01:47 PM
anyone know wats the max size of hdd 1000HE can support? i was thinking to get higher capacity then the default 160GB
sandcool
Jun 15 2009, 04:10 PM
can this mini laptop play dota? haha...my brother asking
TSemino
Jun 15 2009, 07:30 PM
My 901 can run DOTA on even high settings. But pretty smooth on medium. But its hard to play on 9 inch screen.
michaeltan1943
Jun 15 2009, 09:57 PM
asus 1008 Seashell already lauched here but why no pricing??? http://www.lowyat.net/v2/latest/asus-launc...otebooks-2.html
havocx
Jun 15 2009, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(alvinddm @ Jun 15 2009, 12:52 PM) How much to buy 1000HE battery alone? Current prices are at RM269 last i checked at Asus Royal Club.
QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 15 2009, 01:47 PM) anyone know wats the max size of hdd 1000HE can support? i was thinking to get higher capacity then the default 160GB It supports ? The biggest available 2.5" Sata HDD in the market, that will be the 500GB Laptop Hdds.
QUOTE(emino @ Jun 15 2009, 07:30 PM) My 901 can run DOTA on even high settings. But pretty smooth on medium. But its hard to play on 9 inch screen.  Heya Emino, is that a gal i see behind ya ? And yes nothing to do with eeepc's
half-free
Jun 15 2009, 10:25 PM
haha..now i'm happy with my eee pc 900 with vista as OS. the main problem before it is acpi driver is incompatible. i've solved it.thanks havocx.... but, how to reduce the heat on my eee pc?it's getting hot more than 70 degree ...but when i'm using cooler, it can turn down until 60 degree. is 60 degree normal???anyone?
i thinks that heat mainly come from HDD 30GB.
sandcool
Jun 16 2009, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(emino @ Jun 15 2009, 07:30 PM) My 901 can run DOTA on even high settings. But pretty smooth on medium. But its hard to play on 9 inch screen.  haha...okok....bcoz my bro will use my laptop...his concern is only whether can play game or not...haha i can easily connect a cable to the lcd monitor and use it right? i see the asus eee website, there are a lot of model. what model is preferable? tq
hikari85
Jun 16 2009, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jun 15 2009, 09:57 PM) asus 1008 Seashell already lauched here but why no pricing??? http://www.lowyat.net/v2/latest/asus-launc...otebooks-2.html ASUS EEEPC 1008HA (Seashell)Intel CPU & Chipset : Intel® Atom N280 Display : 10.1” LED Backlight WSVGA screen (1024x600) Operating System : Genuine Windows® XP Home Memory : 1GB (DDR2) Wireless Data Network : 802.11 b/g/n / Bluetooth Storage : 160GB Camera : 1.3M Pixel Audio : Hi-Definition Audio CODEC / Stereo speaker / Mic Storage Cards : MMC, SD(SDHC) Input / Output : VGA x 1 (D-sub 15-pin for external monitor) Input / Output : USB 2.0 x 3 / LAN RJ-45 x 1 Weight : 1.1Kg(2.42lbs) Color : White / Black Warranty : 1 Year Local Warranty / Battery + Adapter 6 Months retail is RM1999
G|O
Jun 16 2009, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(havocx @ Jun 15 2009, 11:00 PM) [size=1] It supports ? The biggest available 2.5" Sata HDD in the market, that will be the 500GB Laptop Hdds. hahaha...will it slow down the performance if i juz get a 5400 rpm one? guess 500GB is the one im gonna upgrade then..
havocx
Jun 16 2009, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(sandcool @ Jun 16 2009, 10:02 AM) haha...okok....bcoz my bro will use my laptop...his concern is only whether can play game or not...haha i can easily connect a cable to the lcd monitor and use it right? i see the asus eee website, there are a lot of model. what model is preferable? tq Check back on some my posts you'll find that there's many more things it can do, games just being one of them. Desirable ? For the cheapest you could go for the Celeron series. For more value for money you can go for the 1000HE which has a 10" screen and 9.5 hours battery life or the latest model 1008 which is pretty slim but being new pretty expensive too.
QUOTE(G|O @ Jun 16 2009, 11:10 AM) hahaha...will it slow down the performance if i juz get a 5400 rpm one? guess 500GB is the one im gonna upgrade then.. Naaah, the defaults already 5400rpm, change it to 7200rpm and you'll see a boost in speed
G|O
Jun 16 2009, 02:55 PM
anyone having problem to use the bluetooth on their 1000HE when upgraded to Win7? mine having this prob leh...
michaeltan1943
Jun 16 2009, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(hikari85 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:00 AM) ASUS EEEPC 1008HA (Seashell)Intel CPU & Chipset : Intel® Atom N280 Display : 10.1” LED Backlight WSVGA screen (1024x600) Operating System : Genuine Windows® XP Home Memory : 1GB (DDR2) Wireless Data Network : 802.11 b/g/n / Bluetooth Storage : 160GB Camera : 1.3M Pixel Audio : Hi-Definition Audio CODEC / Stereo speaker / Mic Storage Cards : MMC, SD(SDHC) Input / Output : VGA x 1 (D-sub 15-pin for external monitor) Input / Output : USB 2.0 x 3 / LAN RJ-45 x 1 Weight : 1.1Kg(2.42lbs) Color : White / Black Warranty : 1 Year Local Warranty / Battery + Adapter 6 Months retail is RM1999 who is their right mind would pay RM2k for a netbook? Soon, it would end up like the 1002, From RM1999 to RM1400 in 6 months when nobody buys.