Asus Eee PC Thread V3

michaeltan1943
post May 4 2009, 01:34 AM

1,024 posts

I just bought the 1000HE and I can confirm it is RM1599. Battery is very good, with wifi on and screen at normal brightness, I can get over 7 hours.

Once you use this netbook and see the long battery life, you realise that all other netbooks are not worth it.

Only other machine worth it in terms of battery life is the Samsung NC10 and N110, both also, not in Malaysia.
michaeltan1943
post May 4 2009, 04:19 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(jep @ May 4 2009, 02:38 PM)
I bought it last friday...RM1599 at C-Net Lowyat. Free upgrade RAM to 2GB. Not Kingston though..but it's ok since they let me keep the 1GB original. Add RM39 for extra warranty from U Care.
what is the RM39 U Care warranty about?

Added on May 4, 2009, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(jigon @ May 4 2009, 07:02 AM)
wifi on, brightness at 40%, moderate work - 8hr 20min

wifi on, brightness 100%, moderate work  -6 hr 23min

both in power saving mode feature.

Cheers
I am getting 8 hours with brightness 100% and wifi on. I have a problem though, I had a Lenovo S10 and comparing both, the wifi capture is quite weak on the 1000HE. Is this normal?'

Isnt the wifi supposed to be N? and very good?

Even though just 10 feet from the wifi router, the signal strength shows "low". Anyone can help?

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: May 4 2009, 04:22 PM
michaeltan1943
post May 12 2009, 02:45 PM

1,024 posts

Anyone tried installing Windows 7 on their 1000HE? How to get the drivers?
michaeltan1943
post May 12 2009, 05:41 PM

1,024 posts

thanks havocx for your detailed advice. Appreciate your kind efforts explaining.

Is Win 7 faster than XP then on your 901?
michaeltan1943
post May 13 2009, 12:09 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(havocx @ May 12 2009, 09:12 PM)

Yes buddy it is smile.gif You also have to remember than Win 7 also comes with it newer technologies which would allow optimal use of SSDs, when XP and its architechture was created no one heard of SSDs and as such not optimising the  true potential of Win 7 and SSDs smile.gif
Hmm buddy,perhaps you can make google your friend too.
You'll be able to install Win 7 Ultimate ( if there is one ) when Microsoft officially releases it. Currently Win 7 as it is, it's still in Beta Release ( that's Release Candidate for you and not official )

The RC which we all downloaded, is it a full functioning version that can be updated?
michaeltan1943
post May 14 2009, 12:33 PM

1,024 posts

don't complain abt the HE button, not so bad. I had a Lenovo S10 and the click is so hard and loud until the neighbour 3 cubicles away can hear

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: May 14 2009, 12:33 PM
michaeltan1943
post Jun 13 2009, 12:20 AM

1,024 posts

How much do you think the Asus 1008 would be sold in Msia. According to retailers, it would be priced at RM1999.

This would definitely be doomed for failure like the S101 and 1002HA. Sales were so bad.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 13 2009, 12:31 AM
michaeltan1943
post Jun 15 2009, 09:57 PM

1,024 posts

asus 1008 Seashell already lauched here but why no pricing???

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/latest/asus-launc...otebooks-2.html
michaeltan1943
post Jun 16 2009, 03:32 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(hikari85 @ Jun 16 2009, 11:00 AM)
ASUS EEEPC 1008HA (Seashell)
Intel CPU & Chipset : Intel® Atom N280
Display : 10.1” LED Backlight WSVGA screen (1024x600)
Operating System : Genuine Windows® XP Home
Memory : 1GB (DDR2)
Wireless Data Network : 802.11 b/g/n  / Bluetooth
Storage : 160GB
Camera : 1.3M Pixel
Audio : Hi-Definition Audio CODEC / Stereo speaker / Mic
Storage Cards : MMC, SD(SDHC)
Input / Output : VGA x 1 (D-sub 15-pin for external monitor)
Input / Output : USB 2.0 x 3 / LAN RJ-45 x 1
Weight : 1.1Kg(2.42lbs)
Color : White / Black
Warranty : 1 Year Local Warranty / Battery + Adapter 6 Months
retail is RM1999
who is their right mind would pay RM2k for a netbook? Soon, it would end up like the 1002, From RM1999 to RM1400 in 6 months when nobody buys.
michaeltan1943
post Jun 17 2009, 11:38 AM

1,024 posts

havocx, is the 1005HAB wifi driver worth putting into the 1000HE. What does it really do?

http://www.liliputing.com/page/3
michaeltan1943
post Jun 17 2009, 01:46 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Rany @ Jun 17 2009, 12:34 PM)
Hello, I'm considerng to buy a small netbook with long battery life.
I'm thinking of putting a 1000HE in my carrying bag but I move alot and may bump into people or things here and there. So I am little worried about the harddisk. Any advice here.
I am also looking at S101 with 16GB SSD. Too bad the battery life is too short. Suggestions?
I heard the SSD is very slow as Windows XP is not optimised with SSD drives.

You'd be surprised that the HDD can tahan quite a lot. My netbook is inside my car 24 hours. Always go on hump fast and potholes and yet still working perfectly.
michaeltan1943
post Jun 19 2009, 08:12 AM

1,024 posts

Any S101 and 1002HA users here fed up with battery life? I got a brand new 1000HE that I want to swap.

Easily can get over 7 hours of battery life with wifi on and screen 100% brightness.
michaeltan1943
post Jun 19 2009, 03:29 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 19 2009, 09:39 AM)
that day said 1002 and s101 is failure model, now want swap 1000he saw ur post at garage sales ~ ur set got problem ah
no problem. Works perfectly.

just don't like white anymore and prefer something darker. When I said failure, I was referring to its sales/hefty initial price and not to the product's performance. Your English not that good?
michaeltan1943
post Jun 19 2009, 08:24 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 19 2009, 05:24 PM)
my english never good...dont even know how i masuk into local university..haha

back to topic

i think i kena minor con case at lowyat liow la...

i remember my gf bought s101 ssd rm2200
i bought my 1002ha at rm1999

both 2gb ram though (given free since their price is same the shop dont want reduce the price but give 2gb ram)
bro, when did you buy? I saw, since last month, S101 SSD is RM1750 and and the 1002HA is 1450.

Added on June 19, 2009, 8:27 pm
QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Jun 19 2009, 05:18 PM)
Hi bro,
no offence.
Just want to let you know the sales of Eee PC ^^
Lesser user of S101 and 1002HA in this forum doesn't mean the sales sucks  tongue.gif

S101 SSD sold out in 1 month,
no more stock in Malaysia.
Initial price = RM 2099, After 1 month, stil RM 2099

S101 HDD
left only particular color only,
the rest all sold out.
Initial price = RM 2099, After 3-4Months, NOW RM 1799
( It's very normal for 3-4 months model )

1002HA stock level low as most of the buyers go for it as it priced exactly the same like 1000HE, but with better and solid design.
Initial price = RM 1899. After 3-4Months, NOW RM 1699

1000H Series
Initial Price = RM 1999. NOW RM1599 

As we can see here,
it doesn't mean that the price of the model will not decrease just because the particular model is highly demanded.
Eg,
1000H series, highly demanded model.
Changed to a better 1000HE, the price is lower and customer get better quality.
No more stock does not mean it was a big seller. Anticipating lesser sales due to the very high price, the distributor may have just brought in just a handful of units.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 19 2009, 08:27 PM
michaeltan1943
post Jun 26 2009, 12:49 AM

1,024 posts

havocz, my friend coming down from US. Want to ask her to buy me a 1008. Total would be RM1400. But in Msia, its RM1999.

Is it worth the RM600 savings to buy from US? What are the risks involved besides warranty? Do Asus netbooks ever get spoilt?
michaeltan1943
post Jun 26 2009, 09:38 PM

1,024 posts

thanks havocx, that is brilliant advice. But isn't the US adaptor 110volts? How can we use it here even with a plug adaptor? Our 240v would fry the machine?

I think we must get a step down transformer.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 26 2009, 09:40 PM
michaeltan1943
post Jun 26 2009, 11:43 PM

1,024 posts

how do i buy from this Asus Royal Club?
michaeltan1943
post Jun 27 2009, 12:35 AM

1,024 posts

d8kd, you sure it is a universal adaptor? Meaning I can use it at 110V or 240V and it automatically detects?
michaeltan1943
post Jun 27 2009, 08:23 AM

1,024 posts

[quote=havocx,Jun 27 2009, 07:57 AM]
[size=1]

That holds true for most Electronics you buy from the US except for Laptops. The Laptop adapter on its own is already a step down transformer. Even on the current laptops you'll have you will find that the Power Suppy being fed into the laptop will show 110V - 240V. That holds true for the one in the US too. Thats the reason why a lot of us and a lot of foreigners can travel between high voltage countries ( ie Malaysia, Singapore..etc ) to lower powered countries ( ie Japan, US, New Zealand, Italy..etc ) without having to bring along a Transformer or a Step Down Transformer. Besides, a Step Down Transformer, the cheapest is RM159 and it weighs a bomb, plus you'll never get through Customs carrying that in your luggage, not only is it heavy, being fully Metal would bring you very high up there as a terror suspect biggrin.gif

Havocx, thanks for teaching me something new. Now I understand why also so many people buy notebooks from overseas as their adaptors can handle all regions.

Yeal lah, the step down transformer weighs like a huge batu man! Crazy to carry it and it is also ugly. Deters people from buying anything in the US.

Anyway, thanks again. I think I would go ahead and buy the 1008 then from the US.
michaeltan1943
post Jun 27 2009, 11:47 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Maximp @ Jun 27 2009, 11:00 AM)
@havocx

i guess i go there for a trip~ to get an adapter for myself
i dont want buy those 3rd party adapater which is big in size..heavier than my netbook haha
true, better to buy original products. Got so many adaptors, some even only RM50, but, do you really trust them? If anything goes wrong, your notebook gets fried like KFC.

3rd party China adaptors are not worth it.

Added on June 27, 2009, 11:49 am[quote=havocx,Jun 27 2009, 07:57 AM]

A tip though, instead of getting a dedicated Adapter just for one single model, you might also wanna consider getting those adapters that has multiple heads by AVF. It looks cheap but it does the work. Personally though Im not too keen on getting those types in case they dont charge the batteries proper, but since I got myself Extra Capacity third party batteries, those seemed like a good idea too. smile.gif

Not worth the risk. Like handphone batteries better buy the original. As for adaptors, the wrong adaptor can make your notebook and battery like TNT. It can blow all your fingers and face up. Same like main mercun ie fireworks.

This post has been edited by michaeltan1943: Jun 27 2009, 11:49 AM

0.0455sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:33 PM