135 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

PC Audio Edifier Fan Club V4, where great sound comes to LIFE!

andrew9292
post May 20 2009, 05:24 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ May 17 2009, 09:53 PM)
it is a DIP...
since edifier use a single layer PCB board..
wanna remind u buy a DIP socket too...
may help in swap the opamp...
hakko presto solder gun is a good choice too...
use a 62-36-2% eutectic lead if possible...
Lastly, gambateh for the exam o... icon_rolleyes.gif
i had finished my exam last month... cool2.gif
any good recommendation? laugh.gif
**and...any better name for the....sucker.... sweat.gif
DIP, i see. Thanks for the wish, most of my important subjects already passed, so now can relax a bit.

okay, so i get a DIP socket, 62-36-2% eutectic lead and a good sucker! solder sucker i mean ;pp dont think so farrr... biggrin.gif

I did some moddings to my sound card yesterday night, i pencil-mod my card and it made alot of difference. There was a slot for a cap in my card that was not used, so i took a pencil and draw a line across the two contacts and went to test it. The sound was much clearer, i guess its more voltage or something, not so sure. I saw many other forums that user that mod sound card, they take out the caps near the opamp and just connect the circut with solder. Some others got decouple the caps (shorting),same thing lah i think. I also did an EMI shield, but it made the sound very warm, which was good on IEMs but not so good on M3400, as M3400 is already a VERY warm sounding speaker...

I'm gonna start off with the sound card first, hope to get it done this weekend, so that next week can start on the speaker. This is my thread on the Soundcard : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1036526

also, any recommendation of op amps that are good to use on the speaker?

maxwelx64
post May 20 2009, 10:09 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ May 20 2009, 04:24 PM)
DIP, i see. Thanks for the wish, most of my important subjects already passed, so now can relax a bit.

okay, so i  get a DIP socket, 62-36-2% eutectic lead and a good sucker! solder sucker i mean ;pp dont think so farrr... biggrin.gif

I did some moddings to my sound card yesterday night, i pencil-mod my card and it made alot of difference. There was a slot for a cap in my card that was not used, so i took a pencil and draw a line across the two contacts and went to test it. The sound was much clearer, i guess its more voltage or something, not so sure. I saw many other forums that user that mod sound card, they take out the caps near the opamp and just connect the circut with solder. Some others got decouple the caps (shorting),same thing lah i think. I also did an EMI shield, but it made the sound very warm, which was good on IEMs but not so good on M3400, as M3400 is already a VERY warm sounding speaker...

I'm gonna start off with the sound card first, hope to get it done this weekend, so that next week can start on the speaker. This is my thread on the Soundcard : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1036526

also, any recommendation of op amps that are good to use on the speaker?
wat about mod a AD8620 on the x-fi.... cool2.gif
good sound...but with a "good" price too... laugh.gif
recommend u pair the opamp of the sound card and speaker...
mean that a neutral opamp + a warmer opamp to avoid the sound become too warm...
for me, i will be place a lm4562/ad712/ad827 in the speaker while a warmer opamp like OP275/OPA2604 on the sound card...
or interchange them...laugh.gif
or, u can do the better setup >>> OPA2604/2132/2134/627 on speaker while AD8620 on the sound card... drool.gif
the coupling caps on the sound card may be make it more neutral by using nichicon or blackgate too.. cool.gif

This post has been edited by maxwelx64: May 20 2009, 10:34 PM
wen9x88
post May 20 2009, 10:35 PM

2,933 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ May 20 2009, 12:37 PM)
For me, I set my SW to +6, Treble +2/4 depends, Bass +2 smile.gif If you set the Subwoofer to 0. Your subwoofer bass will be very small.
confuse?
i tot the sw is the bass oredi.
then how to set the subwoofer to 2 ?
nismo91
post May 20 2009, 10:45 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

i suggest ur C3, u set treble at 0 and SW to 9.
chingwooi
post May 20 2009, 10:55 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ May 20 2009, 10:35 PM)
confuse?
i tot the sw is the bass oredi.
then how to set the subwoofer to 2 ?
It's separate thingy, the SW=subwoofer, if you set it to 0, that means the bass of the SW will be weak. if you set the SW to 8 but the bass to 0, the bass of subwoofer will increase but still weak, the bass of satellite speakers will be weak, but if you set the bass to +2/4 and the SW to +6/8 both the bass of the subwoofer and satellite speakers will be strong.
andrew9292
post May 20 2009, 11:08 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ May 20 2009, 10:09 PM)
wat about mod a AD8620 on the x-fi.... cool2.gif
good sound...but with a "good" price too... laugh.gif
recommend u pair the opamp of the sound card and speaker...
mean that a neutral opamp + a warmer opamp to avoid the sound become too warm...
for me, i  will be place a lm4562/ad712/ad827 in the speaker while a warmer opamp like OP275/OPA2604 on the sound card...
or interchange them...laugh.gif
or, u can do the better setup >>> OPA2604/2132/2134/627 on speaker while AD8620 on the sound card... drool.gif
the coupling caps on the sound card may be make it more neutral by using nichicon or blackgate too.. cool.gif
AD8620 will be overkill for M3400 i think. Unless u have high clarity speaker like C3 or S330 only will benefit from such high end opamp i think. And also the price....big nono! hahaha

what do u think about AD8066? u making me very hard life now, need to suffer on choosing the right one to pair... but thats the fun of it biggrin.gif LM4562, i was told told that that opamp's sound signature is abit u-shaped (stronger on bass and treble) whereas AD8066 is more flat, more on clarity and soundstage with balance bass...

haih looks like i got to tembak an opamp. have u use the opamps u mention before? can describe the sound signature ah?

the stock cap is 100uf 16V, what should i uprade it to?

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 20 2009, 11:10 PM
maxwelx64
post May 21 2009, 12:05 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ May 20 2009, 10:08 PM)
AD8620 will be overkill for M3400 i think. Unless u have high clarity speaker like C3 or S330 only will benefit from such high end opamp i think. And also the price....big nono! hahaha

what do u think about AD8066? u making me very hard life now, need to suffer on choosing the right one to pair... but thats the fun of it  biggrin.gif LM4562, i was told told that that opamp's sound signature is abit u-shaped (stronger on bass and treble) whereas AD8066 is more flat, more on clarity and soundstage with balance bass...

haih looks like i got to tembak an opamp. have u use the opamps u mention before? can describe the sound signature ah?

the stock cap is 100uf 16V, what should i uprade it to?
all the opamp never use before...since i'm the newbie in audio... laugh.gif
i juz read a lot of review on these opamp...
so the recommendation given is multi-choice, since i onli group them in their sound signature....
AD8066, i saw it before(may be on some head amp), but dun remember where... rclxub.gif
juz found some review that may help u compare them:
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=90827
seem like AD8066 will be better since there is nearly same price between them..
since the caps may involve in a high pass filter, it will be recommend that use same value caps to change it...
nichicon KZ will be a good choice since it has a good performance near to Blackgate with lower price...
but the problem is difficult to get it...
100uf may leads a "good" price too...

This post has been edited by maxwelx64: May 21 2009, 11:21 AM
samsoong
post May 21 2009, 11:08 AM

499 posts

does sound card affect how nice my songs & how solid my bass is?
maxwelx64
post May 21 2009, 11:18 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(samsoong @ May 21 2009, 10:08 AM)
does sound card affect how nice my songs & how solid my bass is?
definitely yes... laugh.gif
UNDERGROUND
post May 21 2009, 11:23 AM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

It's funny, i tried switching back to onboard yesterday, the lower range has the biggest difference, the bass is like muddy, not accurate, the vocal is not that bright and lacking in details.
samsoong
post May 21 2009, 11:32 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ May 21 2009, 11:18 AM)
definitely yes... laugh.gif
what sound card do u suggest for s330? cheap nice & cunn wan.. tongue.gif
maxwelx64
post May 21 2009, 01:29 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ May 21 2009, 10:23 AM)
It's funny, i tried switching back to onboard yesterday, the lower range has the biggest difference, the bass is like muddy, not accurate, the vocal is not that bright and lacking in details.
for me, the biggest difference is onboard giv the sound like 2D while the sound card bring a 3D sound.... laugh.gif

QUOTE(samsoong @ May 21 2009, 10:32 AM)
what sound card do u suggest for s330? cheap nice & cunn wan..  tongue.gif
use in desktop or laptop?
for music la...
i think xonar u1 may suit u bcoz it is lowest price sound card for music that i can found..
although it is external 1, but it may perform better since there is lesser EMI effect for external sound card...
or u can go prodigy HD2 for RM400, xonar STX for RM600, since music stuff will not drop price seriously as other computer stuff...
hard modded x-fi may be a good choice too...
for gaming....
creative X-fi series(oem) may suit u...
or juz go to xonar D2... wub.gif

samsoong
post May 21 2009, 04:18 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ May 21 2009, 01:29 PM)
for me, the biggest difference is onboard giv the sound like 2D while the sound card bring a 3D sound.... laugh.gif
use in desktop or laptop?
for music la...
i think xonar u1 may suit u bcoz it is lowest price sound card for music that i can found..
although it is external 1, but it may perform better since there is lesser EMI effect for external sound card...
or u can go prodigy HD2 for RM400, xonar STX for RM600, since music stuff will not drop price seriously as other computer stuff...
hard modded x-fi may be a good choice too...
for gaming....
creative X-fi series(oem) may suit u...
or juz go to xonar D2... wub.gif
desktop, i think my soundcard & graphic card is like freaking old edi.... probably.. 7-10 years old...
i'm actually a mix of everything.. music, game, & movies.. so which one is suitable for me? tongue.gif
andrew9292
post May 21 2009, 04:35 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ May 21 2009, 12:05 AM)
all the opamp never use before...since i'm the newbie in audio... laugh.gif
i juz read a lot of review on these opamp...
so the recommendation given is multi-choice, since i onli group them in their sound signature....
AD8066, i saw it before(may be on some head amp), but dun remember where... rclxub.gif
juz found some review that may help u compare them:
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=90827
seem like AD8066 will be better since there is nearly same price between them..
since the caps may involve in a high pass filter, it will be recommend that use same value caps to change it...
nichicon KZ will be a good choice since it has a good performance near to Blackgate with lower price...
but the problem is difficult to get it...
100uf may leads a "good" price too...
I will be getting the AD8066 for now, and Panasonic FM 470uF for power cap on the soundcard... The Nichicon KZ or Blackgate will be for the speaker ;p

What soldering iron u think i should get? now i'm using some China brand 25W solder, i practiced on some old circuit board...its damn hard to melt the solder and the tip was too big...i think i need to get a very sharp tip one for the opamp change, any recommendation? i heard that for opamp soldering need very sharp tip soldering iron with at least 75W.... which is the cheapest yet most effictive? haha

QUOTE(samsoong @ May 21 2009, 04:18 PM)
desktop, i think my soundcard & graphic card is like freaking old edi.... probably.. 7-10 years old...
i'm actually a mix of everything.. music, game, & movies.. so which one is suitable for me? tongue.gif
either xonar U1 or xonar D2, x-fi doesnt sound great if its OEM plus not modded. Both the xonar sound quality is better than xfi. Even so, if your sound card is 7-10 years old, any recent soundcard even the x-fi will be much better than your previous one ; ) Also, some Xonars are PCIE slot, if your mobo is doesnt have a PCIE u cant use them...

This post has been edited by andrew9292: May 21 2009, 04:44 PM
chingwooi
post May 21 2009, 05:59 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ May 21 2009, 04:35 PM)
I will be getting the AD8066 for now, and Panasonic FM 470uF for power cap on the soundcard... The Nichicon KZ or Blackgate will be for the speaker ;p

What soldering iron u think i should get? now i'm using some China brand 25W solder, i practiced on some old circuit board...its damn hard to melt the solder and the tip was too big...i think i need to get a very sharp tip one for the opamp change, any recommendation? i heard that for opamp soldering need very sharp tip soldering iron with at least 75W.... which is the cheapest yet most effictive? haha
either xonar U1 or xonar D2, x-fi doesnt sound great if its OEM plus not modded. Both the xonar sound quality is better than xfi. Even so, if your sound card is 7-10 years old, any recent soundcard even the x-fi will be much better than your previous one ; ) Also, some Xonars are PCIE slot, if your mobo is doesnt have a PCIE u cant use them...
Since it's desktop, i think don't get Xonar U1 coz it's for lappy users.
lcyeap90
post May 21 2009, 07:49 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ May 20 2009, 10:55 PM)
It's separate thingy, the SW=subwoofer, if you set it to 0, that means the bass of the SW will be weak. if you set the SW to 8 but the bass to 0, the bass of subwoofer will increase but still weak, the bass of satellite speakers will be weak, but if you set the bass to +2/4 and the SW to +6/8 both the bass of the subwoofer and satellite speakers will be strong.
i think only for higher S series only will seperate the bass and SW.(s530d, s730d)
for C3, there only having SW and treble..
hehe..coz i'm having one c3 too tongue.gif
maxwelx64
post May 21 2009, 08:35 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(samsoong @ May 21 2009, 03:18 PM)
xonar d2? wub.gif
can handle most of the ur demands.... laugh.gif

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ May 21 2009, 03:35 PM)

hakko presto...
http://www.hakko.com/english/products/hakko_presto.html
recommended by many diyer... laugh.gif
**juz make sure it is No98X series..

QUOTE(chingwooi @ May 21 2009, 04:59 PM)
Since it's desktop, i think don't get Xonar U1 coz it's for lappy users.
it's ok to get a external sound card for desktop...
i saw a lot of people do tat before... cool.gif

zs3889
post May 22 2009, 07:35 PM

1,592 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ May 21 2009, 08:35 PM)
xonar d2? wub.gif
can handle most of the ur demands.... laugh.gif
hakko presto...
http://www.hakko.com/english/products/hakko_presto.html
recommended by many diyer... laugh.gif
**juz make sure it is No98X series..
it's ok to get a external sound card for desktop...
i saw a lot of people do tat before...  cool.gif
wub.gif You saw me laugh.gif laugh.gif ??
maxwelx64
post May 22 2009, 10:14 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ May 22 2009, 06:35 PM)
wub.gif  You saw me  laugh.gif  laugh.gif ??
saw wat?? cool2.gif
wan mod ur m3300SF?? brows.gif
we mod together... tongue.gif
hoho1222
post May 22 2009, 11:40 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(maxwelx64 @ May 22 2009, 10:14 PM)
saw wat?? cool2.gif
wan mod ur m3300SF?? brows.gif
we mod together... tongue.gif
How u mod tongue.gif tongue.gif

135 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.1550sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:29 AM