just got iphone 3g white from hk
hkd6100, haven't convert yet but shud be around RM3k or less.
cuz i still haven't paid my friend. i am assuming around there. lol
3G iPhone (US), 3G iPhone (US)
Nov 3 2008, 12:09 AM
77 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
just got iphone 3g white from hk
hkd6100, haven't convert yet but shud be around RM3k or less. cuz i still haven't paid my friend. i am assuming around there. lol |
Nov 3 2008, 12:10 AM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
instead, before attempting to purchase one, always double check here
Nov 3 2008, 12:46 AM
1,134 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nov 3 2008, 01:04 AM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -= Earth =- |
QUOTE(Edoras @ Nov 3 2008, 12:46 AM) What happen when you jailbreak or upgrade the firmware? Will it "brick" you iPhone? I heard the shop recommended any upgrade have to go thru them.... if UNLOCKED set... u can upgrade it with iTunes, no hassle at all.If you were saying LOCKED set, then you can't actually upgrade it until Dev-Team releases a new version of WinPwn/QuickPwn/Pwnage. upgrade go thru them ? yea sure... If I were them, I will 100% tell you the same If not... how to earn money from you in business perspective ? |
Nov 3 2008, 10:22 AM
360 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Subang / Sungai Buloh |
IM SO LUCKY I HAVE THREADS LIKE THESE...
network unlock FTW! |
Nov 3 2008, 05:11 PM
82 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
It will not brick the phone.
Just remove sim card and upgrade FW. I done that from 2.0.2 to 2.1 no problem. Anyway after 2.1 still have to JB. For original unlock sets still have to JB. The only troublesome just remove local sim to upgrade. |
Nov 3 2008, 10:06 PM
eh guise...
lets say that FW2.2 comes out... how do i upgrade it? just via itunes? but i JB my iphone. so how? really wanna know |
Nov 3 2008, 10:44 PM
Upgrade as usual via itunes.
Or you may want to wait for the 2.2_restore.ipsw to release then only you upgrade and restore. Just remember to remove local simcard before any upgrade of FW. |
Nov 3 2008, 11:00 PM
oh... so the jb will be wiped out lah ..is that it?
so is that how u un-JB it also? correct? Added on November 3, 2008, 11:00 pmoh yea this "network unlock" i3g can be updated via itunes no matter what right? as long as you remove the sim before updating it. This post has been edited by sHin0bi: Nov 3 2008, 11:01 PM |
Nov 3 2008, 11:24 PM
Once Apple release any future FW updates.
Every JB phone in the planet will be factory restore mode whether official unlock or lock. All your apps downloaded by Cydia besides app store will be wipe out. So even official unlock will not be spared. Official unlock still have to JB at the end of the day in order to load Cydia/Installer. Have to repeat the process again to download apps via Cydia/Installer. |
Nov 4 2008, 05:17 AM
ok doesnt matter to me. as long and i can get the latest FW is fine for me.
Nov 4 2008, 09:15 AM
1,020 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Lake Titicaca |
Nov 4 2008, 11:47 AM
This thread is US 3G so its locked to ATT.
You will get unsupported sim warning. |
Nov 5 2008, 04:58 PM
200 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: PutLajaye |
I also own US iphone 3g. Need to remove simcard if want to sync with my macbook. If simcard and sim adapter inside, it shows error. My iphone version is 2.0. Now thinkin to upgrade it. When connect with macbook, it says latest version 2.1 are available. Can i simply upgrade ? im afraid if sim adapter cant works with version 2.1 .
Added on November 5, 2008, 4:59 pmMy iphone still not JB yet. Added on November 5, 2008, 5:02 pm QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Oct 30 2008, 02:20 PM) moral of the story Do research first before buying any gadgets and say NO to TurboSIM (Or anything close to it). This post has been edited by Buzza: Nov 5 2008, 05:02 PM |
Nov 7 2008, 12:12 AM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
locked already also neve mind ma....cannot jailbreak it meh?? or winpwn or quikpwn or pwnage ma.........just saying
Nov 7 2008, 12:16 AM
624 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(porkchop @ Nov 7 2008, 12:12 AM) locked already also neve mind ma....cannot jailbreak it meh?? or winpwn or quikpwn or pwnage ma.........just saying Just did a reset to clear all contents with my US 3G version. Now it has asked me to re-connect to iTunes to activate the phone. Hence no the iTune does not recognise my SIm (with Gevey adapter) and I am unable to activate the phone.Anybody can help? |
Nov 7 2008, 12:22 AM
Once a phone is locked.
Any JB method will not change the status of the phone- its locked anyway. Unlocking and locked are 2 different issue than JB. For my locked phone I can be able to sync no problem without removing sim card. Only upgrading need to remove local sim card. |
Nov 7 2008, 02:39 AM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
cannot be upgrade then quikpwn and then only jailbreak meh?? like that solve alot problems rite?
Nov 7 2008, 03:08 AM
4,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
3g owners, when new firmware comes out, u have 2 choices
1. update via itunes which means your modem firmware also gets updated 2. wait for pwnagetool and create a custom firmware so u maintain your old modem firmware. whats the point of maintaining your old modem firmware ? the iphone dev team is currently only looking for exploits for the first version of the modem firmware which is 1.45.00 so, if u ter-upgrade like me to 1.48.00, u might have to wait longer than expected to unlock IF there is one because it will be based on the original FW 2.0 modem firmware. just to clear things up since people keep missing it btw, restore, everything goes back to factory setting. So, if i were you and JB, always remember to install bosspref and disable apple's app killswitch This post has been edited by MoNnY: Nov 7 2008, 03:08 AM |
Nov 7 2008, 10:48 AM
624 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(MoNnY @ Nov 7 2008, 03:08 AM) 3g owners, when new firmware comes out, u have 2 choices Thanks for the info. Hence now that I had reset the phone, it had gone back to factory settings. Is there now anyway to activate the phone? I do have the Turbo sim, but the iTune can;t seem to recognise my SIM (attacehd with the turbosim).1. update via itunes which means your modem firmware also gets updated 2. wait for pwnagetool and create a custom firmware so u maintain your old modem firmware. whats the point of maintaining your old modem firmware ? the iphone dev team is currently only looking for exploits for the first version of the modem firmware which is 1.45.00 so, if u ter-upgrade like me to 1.48.00, u might have to wait longer than expected to unlock IF there is one because it will be based on the original FW 2.0 modem firmware. just to clear things up since people keep missing it btw, restore, everything goes back to factory setting. So, if i were you and JB, always remember to install bosspref and disable apple's app killswitch |
| Change to: | 0.0241sec
5 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:08 PM |