post Oct 14 2009, 08:31 PM

2,948 posts

Anyone likes Blancpain?
humaizyharmy
post Oct 14 2009, 09:39 PM

92 posts

rolex, omega are out my league.. cannot afford those watches for now..

can only afford these two.. left one is my wife's.. the diver is mine..

i saw one rolex ad on espn recently.. rolex with black dial.. no numbers on it.. silver casing.. one golfer playing on a building something like that..

that rolex really nice.. what model is that?

friedricetheman
post Oct 15 2009, 11:19 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(humaizyharmy @ Oct 14 2009, 09:39 PM)
rolex, omega are out my league.. cannot afford those watches for now..

can only afford these two.. left one is my wife's.. the diver is mine..

i saw one rolex ad on espn recently.. rolex with black dial.. no numbers on it.. silver casing.. one golfer playing on a building something like that..

that rolex really nice.. what model is that?
Dunno... your description kinda vague. I have a rolex datejust in Stainless Steel (it looks like a silver casing) and it is with no numbers but have luminious markers for the minutes and it is with a silver dial. As for the black dial, there are quite a number of dial configurations for the datejust. The Rolex Submariner also has no numbers on the dial and it comes with a all black dial. But it has a unidirectional bezel (in black also) for the stainless steel model. I have both models.

A picture of it would be helpful. smile.gif
humaizyharmy
post Oct 16 2009, 03:31 PM

92 posts

I have no picture of it but will try to find it on rolex website. If you ever watch espn, the ad always in between 7pm to 8pm during sportcentre.. Really nice rolex..

Added on October 16, 2009, 8:20 pmThis the rolex advertisement that i was talking about.. Really simple.. What a beauty!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8RaU_5efwQ

edit : correct link to the video..

This post has been edited by humaizyharmy: Oct 18 2009, 10:17 PM
C-Note
post Oct 16 2009, 11:38 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

wow just discovered this thread. really should tell my dad about this. for a 2nd-hand watch dealer like him would drown in elation.

are u guys into Rolex/Pateks/IWC/AP etc? coz its really amazing to find my dad with a 'new' watch almoz every week,especially when it comes with a good price. the thing about 2nd hand watches are u need not suffer loss of money when u sell off ur 1st hand watch. sometimes u can even gain profit from selling them. this trend is totally hot in Hongkong and Milan o.0 surprising..
skuirt9un
post Oct 18 2009, 10:14 PM

QUOTE(alantch @ Jul 13 2009, 04:41 PM)
Has anyone bought watches worth over USD1000 over the net from a foreign country, either from eBay or from watch fora members?  I'm more interested to know how the local Customs Officers treat these kinds of purchases. I know that all watches brought into the country are duty free, but...

What has been your experience?
I bought quiet a few watches from eBay, above USD1000. No taxes so far. I think wristwatches are tax free here.

Cheers

humaizyharmy
post Oct 18 2009, 10:21 PM

92 posts

here's the rolex that i really like..

friedricetheman
post Oct 19 2009, 11:19 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(humaizyharmy @ Oct 18 2009, 10:21 PM)
here's the rolex that i really like..

Ahh... that's the new Rolex Day-Date II in platinum and white gold. smile.gif

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 20 2009, 01:57 PM
maverickwarrior
post Oct 21 2009, 11:00 PM

20 posts

sifu2 sekalian!
my dad's birthday is coming and I plan to get him a Seiko watch...
problem is that I know nuts about watches...
So wan to ask for sifus help to recommend me...
Budget around RM300 - RM500.
Wan to get sporty looking ones rather than the "uncle" look...

Thanks in advance!!!
BikerVoodoo
post Oct 21 2009, 11:56 PM

448 posts

Casio G-Shock G-5600-E-1DR Tough Solar. Nothing comes close for utility and toughness.
friedricetheman
post Oct 22 2009, 04:07 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(maverickwarrior @ Oct 21 2009, 11:00 PM)
sifu2 sekalian!
my dad's birthday is coming and I plan to get him a Seiko watch...
problem is that I know nuts about watches...
So wan to ask for sifus help to recommend me...
Budget around RM300 - RM500.
Wan to get sporty looking ones rather than the "uncle" look...

Thanks in advance!!!
Don't think you will be able to get a seiko kinetic or spring drive at that price range. You might have to buy a seiko quartz watch instead. The only downside is that after 20 years, give or take, you might have to replace the IC which will cost you as much as the watch. But then again, the cost of changing the battery is cheap (less than RM100).

Anyway, go to City Time in Mid Valley. They have a wide collection of seiko's. Remember to fully pay by cash so they will give you a discount. Ask for a minimum of 20% discount as that's the norm for seiko watches.
r3kahsttub
post Oct 27 2009, 03:01 PM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

i've been learning a lot through this thread. i wouldn't call myself a watch lover, but i do like watches.

my trusty casio gshock and casio work very well and i wear them most frequently (seiko is from 2002!).

not too long ago, i managed to save enough for one of these:

and then earlier this year, i managed to find its partner:

really quite happy with them:

don't think i'll be buying another watch anytime soon; but when i do, i'll probably be up for a milgauss. one fine day lah! i haven't asked around to see how much they cost - probably out of my budget anyway! but if anyone can give me the heads up, i'd appreciate it.
ck77
post Oct 27 2009, 06:26 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 27 2009, 03:01 PM)
i've been learning a lot through this thread. i wouldn't call myself a watch lover, but i do like watches.

my trusty casio gshock and casio work very well and i wear them most frequently (seiko is from 2002!).

don't think i'll be buying another watch anytime soon; but when i do, i'll probably be up for a milgauss. one fine day lah! i haven't asked around to see how much they cost - probably out of my budget anyway! but if anyone can give me the heads up, i'd appreciate it.
Nice pair of Omegas there and very nice classic look of Seiko rclxms.gif And nice photos too thumbup.gif
BikerVoodoo
post Oct 27 2009, 06:28 PM

448 posts

I checked out the Milgauss. The green sapphire version looks interesting but I think its about 22k. I think the Submariner no date is a better buy. RM15k.
r3kahsttub
post Oct 27 2009, 07:41 PM

IG: @MTHRFKNWIN
2,278 posts

thanks for the kind words. and thanks for the price check.

personally, i think the submariner is quite chunky; hence the reason why i prefer the milgauss. i quite like the black dial with orange highlight; but at RM22k, its more than a little out of reach.

there is one submariner i'd be interested in; the customed submariner by bamford and mastermind japan:

but i hear the price is more than a little ridiculous.

if anyone has any information on what an oyster perpetual air-king is... i'd appreciate it as well:
DengDeng
post Oct 28 2009, 04:30 AM

What watch should i get as i got only below Rm6000 budget? Been thinking about ball moon phase and oris kazuki nakajima. Please give me some suggestion. Thanks, smile.gif
~tera~
post Oct 28 2009, 05:16 AM

500 posts

i rather choose ... simple n unique watch ...
BR-S Ceramic White Dial ...

the best watch so far ... for me la ....
BikerVoodoo
post Oct 28 2009, 06:09 AM

448 posts

Under 6k just get the OWC MILSUB. If movements matter just pay more for the Soprod A-10 movement. That would beat anything Ball or B&R have to offer. The Soprod A-10 is superior to the ETA 2892.

Otherwise, IMHO just save up for a Rolex. Nothing else holds its value like one or gets the instant recognition. I was in KFC the other day and some guy just couldn't keep his eye off it. During a dinner a lady also kept looking at my Sea-Dweller. hmm.gif
kelvinftg
post Oct 28 2009, 10:28 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 27 2009, 03:01 PM)

I love the design of that Seiko.. The colour of the face, the font of the numbers and the chrono all goes too damn well with each other. Whats the price of it? If u don't mind.
C-Note
post Oct 28 2009, 11:14 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

My love

The Tissot actually has this siren when both buttons are clicked. Pretty annoying when discovered by friends with itchy hands...

Dad's

Dad got the one on the right in UK 2 years ago. Sold it off for a pretty good deal.

45 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:00 AM