Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V4, Armored reptiles please enter here :p

the_catacombs
post Jan 17 2009, 01:40 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jan 16 2009, 03:15 PM)
for display purposes, you might need to get bigger sized gravel with no sharp edges..

bare bottom setup would be the best especially when the water is crystal clear..
oh ok... thanks...

owner said she wants it easy to clean... haha....

jz bought 26w 5.0 uvb bulb for them.... kinda too bright since i'm jz having 1.5ft tank.... can i use 13w 2.0 uvb bulb instead??..
TSuzairi
post Jan 17 2009, 02:18 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

5.0 is good already for them, 2.0 im not sure wether its enough or not for the uvb output. You can use 2.0 if you bask them under the sun once in a while hmm.gif
the_catacombs
post Jan 17 2009, 10:58 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jan 17 2009, 02:18 PM)
5.0 is good already for them, 2.0 im not sure wether its enough or not for the uvb output. You can use 2.0 if you bask them under the sun once in a while hmm.gif
but the 5.0 is too bright... good for them... not really good for humans... uv light mah.... it can light up the whole room... i prefer it to light up jz the tank area.... sweat.gif
camillenoir
post Jan 17 2009, 11:53 PM

373 posts

2.0 is utterly useless for uvb. and note that 2.0 is actually brighter than 5.0, not the other way round

more reasons to not be too concerned with side-effects of uvb light:

i) emissions from those lights have very, very short effective range.
ii) normal aquarium glass blocks uvb. yep, you're ain't gonna uvb radiation unless you're living inside the aquarium.
iii) the only side-effect i got from using uvb light for years is increase of libido wakakaka

anyway, if uv is your cause of concern, you can opt not to use them at all but instead feed those turtles food items containing vitamin D3.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 18 2009, 12:05 AM
slackerz
post Jan 18 2009, 12:04 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 17 2009, 11:53 PM)
2.0 is utterly useless for uvb. and note that 2.0 is actually brighter than 5.0, not the other way round

i)  emissions from those lights have very, very short effective range.
ii) normal aquarium glass blocks uvb.
iii) the only side-effect i got from using uvb light for years is increase of libido wakakaka
waa,really?hak3. drool.gif but when i ON uvb light to my ST,i didnt open the lid,because it make me dizzy rclxub.gif .my frenz even got fever when he observe my ST while the light is ON..that one when i use the tube one..but now i use that brand new exo terra..
camillenoir
post Jan 18 2009, 12:14 AM

373 posts

LOL... lids-off, of course dizzy.

that's exactly why people put lids on aquariums - uvb with short wavelength is not to be directly stared upon.
slackerz
post Jan 18 2009, 08:40 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 18 2009, 12:14 AM)
LOL... lids-off, of course dizzy.

that's exactly why people put lids on aquariums - uvb with short wavelength is not to be directly stared upon.
yeah,thats rite..i keep my ST in the big storage box,thats y sometimes my frenz always open the lid to see that beautiful creatures,ha3.so i keep myself alert for that especially for people who know nothing about uvb light,etc.. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSuzairi
post Jan 19 2009, 03:58 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 17 2009, 11:53 PM)

i)  emissions from those lights have very, very short effective range.
ii) normal aquarium glass blocks uvb. yep, you're ain't gonna uvb radiation unless you're living inside the aquarium.

anyway, if uv is your cause of concern, you can opt not to use them at all but instead feed those turtles food items containing vitamin D3.
hmm.gif No wonder im into latino stuff more often now....
nima
post Jan 21 2009, 09:15 PM

Hi, I am new here.
I would like to ask how long is the incubation period of ST eggs under 29-30 deg C, humidity 80-90%. I am sure experts here would help.
Thanks a lot in advance. notworthy.gif
slackerz
post Jan 22 2009, 12:47 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(nima @ Jan 21 2009, 09:15 PM)
Hi, I am new here.
I would like to ask how long is the incubation period of ST eggs under 29-30 deg C, humidity 80-90%.  I am sure experts here would help.
Thanks a lot in advance. notworthy.gif
i dont have any experience before and im not an expert,but from what i read in many article,if the temperature constant 29-30 deg C,it should take 100-110 days to hatch..but if i not mistaken,the temperature can influence gender of the hatchling..maybe we can wait comment from senior forumers here.maybe they had an experience in it..
klaze
post Jan 22 2009, 06:11 PM

410 posts

does any1 of u put ur turtle in air-con room before ?? due to cny .. for some space purpose i might move turtle in my room for a while does this will cause any effect to turtle ?
lessilly
post Jan 22 2009, 06:25 PM

417 posts

it wont cost much effect...but i will suggest u to put a basking lamp over there.so ur turtle can keep himself warm..
klaze
post Jan 22 2009, 06:43 PM

410 posts

aka reptile light ? thank for ur suggestion ^^
camillenoir
post Jan 22 2009, 08:49 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jan 19 2009, 03:58 PM)
hmm.gif No wonder im into latino stuff more often now....
brokeback... never knew that you were into south american males sweat.gif

QUOTE(lessilly @ Jan 22 2009, 06:25 PM)
why play imported testicle when u can play hot and sexy locals..
this guy's still stuck with hometown homos shakehead.gif

QUOTE(klaze @ Jan 22 2009, 06:43 PM)
aka reptile light ? thank for ur suggestion ^^
any tungsten filament light bulb that produce heat will do. RM1.50 Osram is a good choice.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 22 2009, 09:06 PM
nima
post Jan 22 2009, 09:29 PM

QUOTE(slackerz @ Jan 22 2009, 12:47 AM)
i dont have any experience before and im not an expert,but from what i read in many article,if the temperature constant 29-30 deg C,it should take 100-110 days to hatch..but if i not mistaken,the temperature can influence gender of the hatchling..maybe we can wait comment from senior forumers here.maybe they had an experience in it..
Thanks Slackerz,
Yes, 100-110 days incubation period was what i read for tortoises in general. I just what to know specifically how many days for ST. Hoping some people with experience here can confirm this.

By the way, when can we "candle light" a ST egg to see the embryo inside? I mean, how many days after the eggs were laid we shall be able to see the embryo by beam the egg with light?

Any one with the knowledge or experience please help.

Thank You. nod.gif
inexsis
post Jan 25 2009, 02:21 PM

646 posts

anyone interested in my 2 4inch+ ST.... going to let go mine....
klaze
post Jan 26 2009, 12:27 AM

410 posts

guy.. since wonder how to choose a good turtle ?i want to hear some from sifu tongue.gif
SAMPERTH
post Jan 28 2009, 01:10 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(nima @ Jan 22 2009, 10:29 PM)
Thanks Slackerz,
Yes, 100-110 days incubation period was what i read for tortoises in general. I just what to know specifically how many days for ST. Hoping some people with experience here can confirm this.

By the way, when can we "candle light" a ST egg to see the embryo inside? I mean, how many days after the eggs were laid we shall be able to see the embryo by beam the egg with light?
Any one with the knowledge or experience please help.

Thank You.  nod.gif
Most of my friend's ST eggs hatch out around the 90 day mark and he candle them around the 3 week mark ( as early as 2 week you will see small network of blood veins ) but 3 weeks the embyro will be bigger and thus easier to see !!

He posted pictures before but in another forum ( THE closed down MF )

All the best with your eggs

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jan 28 2009, 05:01 PM
klaze
post Jan 28 2009, 04:49 PM

410 posts

just get my alligator snapper today .. the shop left 3 any1 interested ? hoho
liette`
post Jan 28 2009, 05:06 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(klaze @ Jan 28 2009, 04:49 PM)
just get my alligator snapper today .. the shop left 3 any1 interested ? hoho
Where is the shop and what's the price like?

124 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:58 PM