Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V4, Armored reptiles please enter here :p

SAMPERTH
post Jul 2 2009, 06:20 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(tony05 @ Jul 2 2009, 07:12 PM)
look like spiny tortoise . smile.gif
They are !! Extra old specimen too - edges all smooth !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 2 2009, 06:56 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(tony05 @ Jul 2 2009, 07:28 PM)
Haha .. I have one old spiny hero at home really enjoy watching him moving ..haha

here come my emys good swimmer

Nice the emys Female rite ?? They do float / swim well !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 6 2009, 04:33 PM

517 posts

wow thanks for sharing !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 6 2009, 07:51 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jul 6 2009, 06:15 PM)
the price is actually quite cheap for cites 1 animal. and by cites 1, you know what i mean.

our you-know-who used to have throngs of them before you-know-what happened.

Added on July 6, 2009, 5:41 pmon the other hand, let me present the first ever output of the notos enclosure here

Wow another local sp pity the colour do not last into adulthood !!!!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 6 2009, 08:24 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jul 6 2009, 09:07 PM)
yeah, that's a real big pity.

otherwise notos would've become very popular despite their non-prolificacy in captivity.
Does yours shit on you when you held them up like their WC parents ?? How big your average clutch ??
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2009, 06:35 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(atok194 @ Jul 7 2009, 05:09 AM)
hey just want to ask...can i letak ikan puyu and RES together ??
If your RES is past hatchling and shell hav harden and size wise not too much different WHY not !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2009, 10:02 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(common snapping k tat @ Jul 7 2009, 05:02 PM)
hey guys, do u know where can i find local species of land tortoise? and mayb a wider variety of choice for tortoise (spiny hill, impressed tortoise, asian browns, elongated etc), cos i tend to see mostly sulcatas and star tortoises in petshops...
my gf would like to buy one, but she is afraid of keeping a star because they are very delicate (and expensive), and she has no budget for a sulcata... haiz.

I think all mentioned local species cost more than a Star some ie the Impressed cost more than a sulcata !!!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 8 2009, 06:21 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(common snapping k tat @ Jul 8 2009, 01:50 AM)
wallaooo... how come, nobody breeds tortoise in malaysia?? there are no other options? that sucks... in the usa u can find abt all types of turtles and tortoise, their local tortoise don't sell for exhorbitant prices thr as well... why malaysia don't hav? T_T

Added on July 8, 2009, 12:57 am

i c, so if they are protected how can tortoises be marketed in malaysia? star tortoise are smuggled illegally to msia from india thats a fact, in india they are considered a protected species and technically they cannot even be exported abroad... but we still get them... so how does it work for other species of tortoise (especially the local ones)?
There are breeders but I dont think any breeder will sell theirs for say RM 50 a pc !!! (Istar retail for about RM 100 )

As breeding Chelonian needs lots of effort - diet , husbandry ...etc And most chelonian needs quite a while to mature !!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I know a local sp you can get cheap ie less than RM 50 a pc - Malayan Box @ Ambo even CB dont command that high price

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 8 2009, 06:53 AM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 9 2009, 09:01 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jul 8 2009, 11:52 PM)
LOL... most is for food, a few for pet.

through experience, i would say that elongata would most probably be problematic if  a male of aggressive disposition is placed in the same enclosure with other male elongata, forsteni or travancorica. (aka bloodbath)

they won't bother other tortoises (emys, etc) but some do show aggression towards cats, turkeys, peacocks, stupid little nephew...

dispositions vary greatly - some males are very tolerant. and yeah, they are easy.
Put a young Male M.e.phayrei (8 - 12 inch works best ) into the enclosure to knock some sense into him !!

Try that and he will know to keep away from anything black for a while !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 19 2009, 08:23 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(desperadoo @ Jul 19 2009, 09:03 PM)
yea... last time i use dry corn cob bedding..
lately i mix with pine wood shaving.. .is it because of using pine wood shaving, cause tortoise having these kind of problem? the eye look abit swollen.. limb also look kind thin..

i feed him green mustard, all kind of vege except beans. he eat very little(at least he eat).. now i separate him from old st..
Hows the poo like ?? I am suspecting (From your bedding and "deflated" / thin limbs )
SAMPERTH
post Jul 23 2009, 03:30 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Jul 22 2009, 09:23 AM)
fyi... i went to ikano power center last week.

there is one common snapping turtle, quite big , about 6" long. very aggresive. they are selling at RM400.

there is another ally snapping turtle, very small , i think about 2 inch. Price tag show RM250.

if any1 interested, u can take a look.
Since quite a few ppl report on whats available in their LFS or similar I will do so on mine as well (Sabah thou)

- Lone 4 incher sulcata
- A pair of 4 incher I star
- A pair of 4 incher Elongata
- A pair of 4 incher Red footed
- A pair of 3 incher Radiated
- A pr of baby Alligator Snapper
- A pr of medium Common snapper
- A pr of 4 incher Yellow spotted
- A pr of 3 incher Mata mata
- Malayan Box hatchlings

A few ex-pet too !!

From a few shops spread all over Sabah !!

Pricing I not sure as some may be NFS thus no tag

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 23 2009, 03:32 PM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 23 2009, 05:24 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Jul 23 2009, 04:56 PM)
the leuscistic sulcata leh...u missed tht 1 out !!
Leuscistic as in Ivory ?? I thought that one Albino as red eye ??
SAMPERTH
post Jul 30 2009, 10:23 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(desperadoo @ Jul 30 2009, 10:09 PM)
a question here...
for tortoise supplement.. calcium + phosphorus and calcium with phosphorus free.. wats the diff? i mean any side effect of using either one? which one is good for tortoise.. ??
I think no-one interested thus edited !! Others may help I think

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Aug 2 2009, 05:51 PM
SAMPERTH
post Aug 3 2009, 04:21 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Aug 3 2009, 02:45 AM)
He's away i think, he still need your info if he's back online tongue.gif
If can offline for a few days after asking a question only shows how un-urgent that question is to him so can wait for others to reply !!
SAMPERTH
post Aug 9 2009, 05:30 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(desperadoo @ Jul 19 2009, 12:31 PM)
hmm, eye drops? he always close his eye.. open only i disturb him..

pic show him closing his eye, quite big, once open his eye, excessive rheum release, then he keep wiping his eye.

QUOTE(xcrue @ Aug 9 2009, 04:58 AM)
Hi..may i know what type of turtle is this?
Where can i buy it and price??
my mum is looking for this pet ehe
Thats Indian Star @ Geochelone elegans originally from India and surround ie Sri Lanka to south

As for where to buy most LFS should stock a few and priced around the RM 120 - 180 mark for baby to say 2.5 inch

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Aug 9 2009, 05:32 PM
SAMPERTH
post Aug 11 2009, 01:08 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Aug 11 2009, 01:50 PM)
please make sure you research enough before getting one..the mortality rate of star tortoise is very high..
feed them only vege but not kangkung..most suitable is potato leaf..
if you can read chinese..there is a lot of info on that.. unsure.gif
BTW it should be sweet potatoe leaves and not potato !! Both ok to be feed just dont over feed on a single item !!

SAMPERTH
post Aug 12 2009, 12:55 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(xcrue @ Aug 12 2009, 01:53 AM)
Bro, i went to The curve Petshop today..but they said they didn't sell this Indian Star @ Geochelone elegans
anymore.. sad.gif
Looking for this turtle urgently.

IS there any place i can buy it?
ANYONE selling privately? smile.gif
Please help notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1119891

I thought JustExotic sells them - link as above !!

SAMPERTH
post Aug 13 2009, 12:05 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(JustExotic @ Aug 13 2009, 10:30 AM)
Oh yeah, go get it at nature explorer. There is galapagos tortoise there  brows.gif  ( I am willing to lose 10 year of my life to own them ) laugh.gif

For real ??
SAMPERTH
post Aug 13 2009, 12:12 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Azazel @ Aug 13 2009, 01:08 PM)
I second that. Or are they aldabras (Geochelone gigantea)?
As I saw a few so claim to be Galapagos offered for sale (Malaysia) but all turn out to be Aldabra !!

SAMPERTH
post Aug 13 2009, 01:36 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Azazel @ Aug 13 2009, 02:07 PM)
I think the only way to know for sure is to be like Darwin i.e. go there and catch one (or two) yourself. LOL!

LOL but there are ways to tell them apart RIGHT ??

18 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:56 AM