5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best

Mucro.Asia
post Oct 30 2009, 03:45 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 30 2009, 03:14 PM)
yo Mucro.Asia. just asking here.
what your best model in term of specs and how much does it cost?

getting interested laugh.gif
Best in terms of CPU spec is the NP9280
Best in terms of GPU spec is the NP9850

Pricing for NP9850 starts around 8.5k Ringgits
Just play with this page and change to Ringgits
http://www.mucro.asia/index.php/Mucro-Sage...ge-ask.tpl.html

If you have a m17x, theres not much point to look at the NP9850. Only advantage over the m17x is the superior cooling, 3x HDD RAID and the speaker system.

NP9280 is more catered to those who want desktop processing power for their work.
Mucro.Asia
post Oct 30 2009, 05:20 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 30 2009, 04:05 PM)
oh and plus, i never had any heating problem with my M17x before. even after heavy gaming (4 and half hours of RE5 and 2 hours for GTA4). smile.gif
Note superior cooling can mean only 1 or 2 degrees or 10. Superior can mean anything. Heating is acceptable up to a certain point and maybe not for some. Most of the time, you should find that its acceptable.

Think Sager's philosophy is: cooler is better. The GPU's have a more limited life span than the other parts of a laptop. Don't think Sager likes to do servicing during their 3 year period since the warranty prices are so high.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Oct 30 2009, 05:22 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Oct 31 2009, 12:26 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(666Pride @ Oct 30 2009, 09:16 PM)
1. Is this specs is good enough for any upcoming games next year such as starcraft 2 or diablo 3?
By right it should. Starcraft is more of an RTS. RTSes usually don't require more GPU than CPU.
Diablo 3 not sure. FPSes are the ones that usually demand more of the GPU.
In any case if there is a new compatible Graphic Card. We can ask Sager/Clevo if they will provide one.

2. Will I be facing heat problems with this specs particularly the HDD heat?
You might need to update the drivers to the latest Intel ones sometimes.

3. Does the 500G 7200rmp generate more heat than the 300G 7200rmp?
They should be just about the same. However, do note that some Hard disks are more reliable than others despite producing more heat.
Examples like Seagate/Western Digital vs Samsung/Toshiba come into mind. Seagates/WDs are generally more reliable than Samsung/Toshiba but the Samsungs and Toshibas tend to produce less heat. FYI, we use either Seagate or WD.

4. The window 7 home premium, is it 64 or 32 bit? Cause I prefer 32-bit or the 64-bit have more advantages than 32-bit?
The installations are usually 64 bit. For this immediate NP8662, we actually prefer to give you the Vista HP with Windows 7 coupon. Getting Windows 7 HP might take slightly longer as we need to source for this SKU.

5. What happen to the option of 15.4" (16:10) WUXGA (1920x1200) with Matt Finished Type Screen because the last time I check the option was available?
Theres no more high res Matte option because there is no more stock. Glossy is actually the reflective and Matte is the non reflective. Most consumers actually prefer the glossy reflective screens because they feel it is brighter.

6. How long will the laptop reach here in Malaysia from Singapore? I'm staying in Selangor, Subang Jaya.
The duration actually depends on your delivery option. There are 4 options. Singapore Speedpost, POS parcel, PosLaju and TNT. TNT is the fastest with insurance. They can offer as much as a full refund for damaged/lost/stolen parcels. Singapore Speedpost, POS parcel and PosLaju will take longer and have no insurance. For the POS options, we have to physically go to Johor to send you the package. This can be done when we have to go to Johor for administrative matters. This will take longer than the Speedpost option.

Oh and by the way, I noticed that mucro have give 2% discount for the laptop price but the warranty price also increases a bit. Pretty smart attracting the customers and maintaining the price at the same time XD
The warranty is actually fixed to the Singapore price and it is pegged to the Singapore Dollar. The system does an automatic currency conversion from a central bank system. It is probably up because the Singapore Dollar keeps going up. Either that or it was our scripts messing up with the pricing.
We might move towards the USD since the price keeps fluctuating rapidly based on the USD. Ironically, the 2% discount actually amounts to very close to our cost price.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Oct 31 2009, 12:30 AM
Mucro.Asia
post Oct 31 2009, 07:16 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(666Pride @ Oct 31 2009, 09:38 AM)
Hmm, guess I just have to go with 64-bit and the default screen since there are no more stock from mucro. Thx anyway :/
Theres no high res Matte screen with Sager at all.

For pricing, the odds are not good against us, We are taking the margins from Sager and have to use these margins to service the laptops while the US resellers only have to sell and take margin. We also have to keep the price competitive to give people incentive to buy local. US resellers usually don't have to deal with physical delivery and local warranty since it is usually done by Sager themselves.

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 31 2009, 05:53 PM)
wanna ask, i can use any power cord for sager charger as long as it fit?

coz US that plug are different than malaysia plug
The machines from Mucro will always come with the UK/Singapore plug, which is the same as the Malaysian plug. Its a standard plug.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Oct 31 2009, 07:16 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Oct 31 2009, 10:10 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 31 2009, 08:05 PM)
those good one are big and bulky, since i got a faulty HP charger, so was thinking to swap the power cord, i think it is safe to do so hmm.gif
The power cord should be safe. Just make sure your power cord is a "Mickey Mouse" power cord.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Oct 31 2009, 10:11 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Oct 31 2009, 11:45 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Oct 31 2009, 11:18 PM)
Screen and Screen Type: FHD
Graphics Card: GTX 280m (Sager) & GTX260 (AW)
SYSTEM CPU: I7-720QM Mobile Processor (1.6GHz)
SYSTEM MEMORY|*2 DIMMs: 4GB Dual-channel 1333MHz DDR3
HARD DISK DRIVE UPGRADE: 500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Wireless: Intel® WiFi Link 5300

AW M15x = RM 6703
Sager NP8690 = RM 7434

sad.gif  That's RM700 for a gc difference.
I'm reading MYR7,007.66 on our side. Are you looking at the same thing?
QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Oct 31 2009, 11:18 PM)

Added on October 31, 2009, 11:31 pm I've also made a comparison Sager NP9850 with M17x

Screen and Screen Type: 18" (Sager) & 17" (AW)
Graphics Card: GTX 280m SLI
SYSTEM CPU: Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8700 (2.53GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 3MB Cache)
SYSTEM MEMORY|*2 DIMMs: 4GB Dual-channel 1333MHz DDR3
HARD DISK DRIVE UPGRADE: 500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Wireless: Intel® WiFi Link 5300

AW M17x = RM 9875
Sager NP8690 = RM 9168

That's RM700 for a screen size difference.
This one is correct for NP9850 with one year warranty

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Oct 31 2009, 11:47 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 1 2009, 02:19 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 31 2009, 11:38 PM)
Suddenly Sager that well known as cheaper than AW looks more expensive when comparison is made?

or zairee2580 and i missing something here?

and if you stress that the different in price is due to best cooling, i don't believe it. better get AW afterall. those M15x and M17x have sufficient cooling system already.
for screen size, 17" is already big. 18" is way too big. difficult to find a beg that suit 18". plus the bigger the size, the more power form GC that you will required.
We didn't say the NP8690 is cheaper. smile.gif Industry quotes for the GTX 280m is actually 130USD more than the GTX 260m.
We're very interested in speaking to other brand reps regarding reseller pricing. Perhaps you can somehow contact them and let us know.
Our customers tend to like variety, so we like listing more brand's products, we only have OCZ (full range), G Skill, Sager, MSI, Zepto and another incoming brand.

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Nov 1 2009, 02:06 AM)
Not sure... between currency exchange and needed to add up the sum myself... really make my head spin...  rclxub.gif
Curious as to how you arrived to 7434.
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 2 2009, 01:32 AM

95 posts

Just get a good "Mickey Mouse" power cable and you should be fine. This also applies to other brands of laptops. Most laptop power adapters use the mickey mouse interface.
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 2 2009, 05:08 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 2 2009, 06:22 AM)
[/spoiler]

where did you get the Sager prices from ?

it's better to compare an apple to an apple, try looking at xoticpc.com and alienware.com then compare the price. You can get AW locally in Msia, but you can't do that with Sager/Clevo.  

Like Mucro.Asia said, he has to take them from the US, and try to compete with them here. Tough tough thing to do.
He has taken the prices from our website. Our prices already include the delivery cost from US->SG. The only cost is the delivery from SG->MY.

After you factor in the price of delivery from US->MY on the US retailer's websites. You will find that our prices are cheaper. We always have some kind of guarantee for lower prices than the US retailers.

This is what we mean by getting it tough. Because we have to sell lower than US retailers AND also offer local servicing and warranty support. As we said time and time again, we are the local rep for Sager in Malaysia

Alenware's prices are not interesting in the US, but they are good in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 2 2009, 05:27 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 4 2009, 05:55 PM

95 posts

The only "tax" you have to worry about is the exchange rate "tax" when you order machines. Banks generally have a 2% "Agent bank charge". Paypal usually has some kind of 3% charge for transaction. Also Paypal's conversion rate is around 4% worse than interbank rates.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 5 2009, 01:51 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 9 2009, 01:06 PM

95 posts

Are you running on "balanced" or "high performance" profile?
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 10 2009, 03:49 PM

95 posts

What software do you have? Any decent anti-spyware programs?

Also do you have a lot of homepages with flash open?
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 10 2009, 11:43 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(mr lappy @ Nov 10 2009, 07:27 PM)
no spyware problems. im very careful with these sort of things.

i mean even at idle(nothing running just left it alone after bootup) it does not stop running, but on low speed(not silent mode slow)

the ónly time i get it to not run off the fan is when im in my kitchen where ambients are in the mid 10's

temps when it stops running fan (about):
acpi :37
proc :25
gfx : 36
hdd :35

anything higher than that the fan kicks in.

im sure its not 'supposed' to try keep the temps so low as its pretty much impossible to achieve it under normal circumstances...
Have you tried looking up the BIOS to change the fan control settings? Is the silent mode too loud?
Do note the NP8662 has one fan. You have your graphics card and CPU downclocked when idle right? You usually find the settings under advanced power profile.

What anti-spyware programs are you using?

Anything other than Malwarebytes Anti Spyware, Super Antispyware or possibly Threatfire is probably not going to protect you much

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 10 2009, 11:46 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 11 2009, 01:38 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Nov 11 2009, 12:23 AM)
You do relies that crysis is the most gc demanding game currently available. Even XPS 16 , it will be very low setting.

-------------------------------------------

Bro mucro. What is that ssd offer in your web? Don't understand the mlc/slc thingy....
The SSD promo is just to commemorate our introduction to distributing the Solidata brand of SSDs.

MLC stands for Multi Level Cell and SLC stands for Single Level Cell. These are NAND flash cells that apply to SSDs and will usually determine the reliability and speed of the SSD.
Wiki -> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Single-level_cell

The SSDs you see in our homepage are catered for those who really want top of the line performance to be inside their laptops and corporate servers.

These aren't cheap but will really improve your boot times and server access times (if its for a database)

As you can see, the Solidata SSDs are actually quite reasonably priced compared to other brands. They also tend to offer good value on the more reliable SSDs with good controllers like the proven Indilinx controllers.

We will not be in the coming PC Fair in KL because its full. Most probably we will be able to go into the next PC Fair. First, we have to join PIKOM.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 11 2009, 01:41 AM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 11 2009, 12:31 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(666Pride @ Nov 11 2009, 10:03 AM)
Hey mucro, I'm having difficulties registering on your website. I'm a student and don't have a company nor fax. Is it a must detail cause i put none for that. Every time I register my account, the website does not appear to have my account register. Every time I log in, they will say 'Username and password do not match or you do not have an account yet.'
I even check my email(hotmail) for any verification email from your website but none came since yesterday.
Does anyone faces this same problems?
I even completed every detail with different user names and always appear this 'Please make sure the form is complete and valid.' :/
You don't need a company name or fax to register.

Maybe you put the email wrongly for the website. You need to have the correct email address because everytime you register, you will be sent an email to ask you to activate the account.

FYI, We now have OFFICIAL confirmation from Sager that we do not need to send the laptop back to the USA for repairs.

We can now allow Vital to fix the laptops in house and we can send failed parts to the USA later. Vital Computers has been known to be the best laptop repair company in Low Yat, this is why we use them.

For the laptops you buy from us. The price is the price you buy adding ONLY the shipping cost. No tax will be added because Malaysia does not have tax. When we send the laptops to you, it is all tax free and you do not pay any import tax whatsoever.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 11 2009, 12:38 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 12 2009, 03:36 AM

95 posts

We generally take around 24-48 hours to do some testing before shipping out the laptops. Since some of you have ordered before the others it will be sooner.

Regarding fans, you can ask at notebookreview.com to see if theres a response about fans. So far we know is to change the fan control in the BIOS. A gaming laptop will always need to be cooled or cooler because of the GPU. This means that it is important for the fan to run.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 12 2009, 03:54 AM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 15 2009, 12:37 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(pllx @ Nov 14 2009, 11:01 PM)
Gotta love the price of your DA refreshed tongue.gif I have a couple of questions, though. For starters, do you think the laptop will have heating issues without a cooler? I know clevos are designed to be cool but stupid question: is it better than AW in terms of cooling?
This is weird. We have just changed the pricing from SGD to USD and the system just jumps to a really good price. We'll monitor the prices for November to see if it is feasible to survive at this price. From now on, the price will fluctuate according to the US Dollar.
What do you mean by "DA refreshed"?

For checking out the cooling of AW vs Asus vs Sager. You can look up the earlier posts on this thread. We had a nice discussion with some AW "fanboys" about looking inside the cooling of the different laptops. I would describe the Alienware as "adequate". The one in the Sager is a bit "kiasu", but the GTX 280m will definitely produce more heat so a "kiasu" heatsink is needed.

2nd, i'm quite concerned about the warranty. Quoting you from another thread:
one is specific to parts, the other is labour cost. Parts cost is paid to Sager because of Sager's charges. Its the same as what you will find in XoticPC. Labour is the warranty cost we pay for Malaysia. For Malaysia, only carryin applies

I'm inexperienced in buying laptops so i'm sorry to ask so many questions laugh.gif I'm still unclear about the quote above. Does that mean i have to buy 1 warranty that replaces parts and another labour one that fixes small things that go wrong? I'm not sure what you mean by Carrying either sad.gif I suppose the parts warranty does not work overseas either, does it? I'm planning on using the laptop for a good 4-5 years and will probably buy it end of the year/ early next year. However, i'll probably be staying in Msia for just about 2 years after that before going overseas, & i may be travelling once in a while too. What combination of warranties do you recommend?
Unfortunately, Sager charges an arm and leg for warranties. So we actually have to pay for parts to Sager. Fortunately, most of the parts we put into the laptops are our own Singapore/Malaysian parts. To be honest, many of these parts like your hard disk have 3 year warranties etc. But the laptop parts (LCD/Motherboard/Graphic Card) itself is determined by Sager. We don't have to send the laptop to the USA to fix it anymore, even for severe cases. If our guys can fix it in Malaysia, like a capacitor in the motherboard, we'll just do it in Malaysia even without requesting for parts from Sager. When you buy the official warranty from Sager where we say (parts). Its actually "parts and labour" in the USA. But we say parts locally so that we won't confuse too many people. All "parts" warranty will apply to Singapore, Malaysia and the USA. The parts warranty you are paying goes straight to Sager.

The labour warranty applies to the salary you will pay for the technician who is fixing your machine. At the moment, you can "carry" your machine "in" to a service centre for fixing. We have not found a company that can provide a decent price for "on site" servicing.

Also, could you advise me on whether i should buy the modem? What difference does it make. & how is the screen compared to the one on the m15x?
The 3G modem is for you to travel if you have a 3G Sim Card. You will need a screw driver to open up the internal compartment and put into the sim card slot. Its actually very easy to open. The hard disk and 3G modem are both at the battery compartment area. You don't need a 3G modem if you don't have a 3G mobile phone subscription.

The Alienware apparently has the better screen according to the folks at notebookreview.com. The Sager has a "good screen" as well.

Finally, i just want to know if i'd be making the right choice if i buy a Sager. Honestly, looks-wise Alienware just does it for me. A lot, and that's a major factor. But i know that Sager would probably be a better deal (That would depend on the warranty again haha)
We sell both the Alienware and Sager anyway. wink.gif Either way you can make both choices with us laugh.gif
We'll add the other discounted Razer/Zalman/OCZ/Coolermaster accessories to the Alienware machines soon enough. I don't think we're allowed to mod the Alienware laptops, but we can mod the Sager laptops.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 15 2009, 12:40 AM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 19 2009, 12:57 PM

95 posts

This is a barebone machine from Sager that does not have a Sager tag. Only tag you'll see is the serial number below. This is probably how they distribute to the other brands. We take in the barebone because using local parts have easier and faster turnaround time. Take note that your Western Digital drive has around 4-5 years of warranty. You also have "branded" parts from us.
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 20 2009, 10:45 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(galvatron @ Nov 19 2009, 02:56 PM)
Free shipping or not?both Singapore or Malaysia.
There are different rates for shipping to Malaysia and also different durations and insurances. The cheapest shipping is actually 33 Ringgit with no insurance. We've tried it on one machine. A shipping slip is required for us to mark the laptop as "Export" so we that we can claim back the Singapore GST.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 20 2009, 10:47 PM
Mucro.Asia
post Nov 24 2009, 11:19 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 24 2009, 11:14 PM)
woot ! we now win alienware users 11 vs 8  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

*just facts , no flames*  laugh.gif
How have Sager users won Alienware? Do share tongue.gif

So far we have just been able to bring in the Asus G51j and the Toshiba Qosmio X505 as well. Our range is just getting more and more crowded now.

We also have a crazy SSD promotion. Not sure if many Malaysians buy SSD. We'll speak to a few potential resellers about our SSD brands and hopefully have some kind of campaign worked out for the relevant media (regarding SSD). Off topic.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: Nov 24 2009, 11:23 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0496sec    1.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:55 AM