7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Want to ask for explanation - Crazymouse_yyh

hazzy
post Sep 30 2008, 04:24 PM, updated 18y ago

479 posts

I brought this up in the glider thread in Pets Wonderland but the Moderator is not answering me so I was hoping that by posting in the dispute thread, the moderator will have an answer rather than hiding.

her WTS thread url :
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=348002&hl=

This has been a very sad few days for me and once all of you read what I have discovered, I am sure you will be sad and angry too.

First and foremost, I would like to thank Reanne for giving me the idea to do this as she mentioned in the hamster thread about consulting a nutritionist.

A few weeks ago, there was quite a lot of commotion here with regards to the calcium intake within the GliderSlurp. If anyone recalls, crazymouse did say that you can feed as much slurp as you want. I did not want to say much about this then as I was scolded by her when I mentioned that a glider cannot take too much calcium.

So, I began to suspect that there was no added calcium in the slurp. I bought a container and decided to send the slurp to the lab to test for calcium levels. When I opened the slurp, I also noticed a few black dots in there. My first thought was added supplements but I could not think of any supplements that looked like that. So, I began to suspect that the maker did not de-seed the apples and those black dots were apple seeds.

As most of you know, apple seeds contain cyanide and ingestion of cyanide can be fatal to humans if administered in large doses. (Please google to find out more about cyanide poisoning.)

I then sent the slurp to lab for testing and the results have just come out, which I have attached below. The flavour I sent was Orange Carotene. Carrots have an almost 1 to 1 ratio. Orange has a 2 to 1 ratio. If the report says almost 1:1, means the calcium shown on the report comes from the fruits. Even yogurt has calcium in it, so technically, if there is yogurt in the slurp as claimed, there should be higher ratios of calcium even without the Rep-Cal. This also brings us to why the phosphorus levels are so high. If it is from fruits alone, the phosphorus levels should not be that high.

I have spoken to some experts and let me briefly tell you what the report means. There is NO added calcium supplement and perhaps NO yogurt in the GliderSlurp as well. The calcium is not even enough to cover the phosphorus in the slurp let alone all the phosphorus your glider is ingesting from meal worms!!

When a glider has insufficient calcium intake, it has no choice but to draw calcium from its own bones. I am sure you know what this means.

The cyanide testing was also sent to the lab and as the report below shows, there are rather substantial amounts of cyanide in the slurp. Cyanide attacks the nervous system and can kill. I have been informed that once cyanide had been ingested for more than 2 hours, it CANNOT be reversed. This means the poison remains in there forever. THIS MEANS OUR GLIDERS ARE BEING POISONED SLOWLY.

If you Google about cyanide poisoning, you will find that sometimes the effect does not come immediately. It may come much later which means that the glider will have much shorter lives and the glider will suffer when the nervous system is attacked!

My Mika was on GliderSlurp previously and it really saddens me to know that she may have toxic in her body which cannot be removed. My friend has helped me to check with Hands and Paws on what can be done and they too have basically said that not much can be doneĀ  cry.gif

All of you may or may not believe all this but it doesn't matter. I just want to tell all the real glider lovers to be careful. For those that do not believe this report, I plead with you to send any EXISTING slurp in your freezers at home to the labs.

Click the spoiler below to see proof!
(Lab report and sample of slurp)

This post has been edited by hazzy: Sep 30 2008, 04:42 PM
bonai
post Sep 30 2008, 05:48 PM

1,254 posts

We have supported her for so long..
All these while we thought she was doing something great..
But I guess I'm wrong..

SLURP is useless..
Without calcium in it, what's the purpose of it??

I know somebody who happens to be in LYN also..
His glider has been taking slurp all these while..
And yet the glider is suffering from hind-leg paralysis...
Because of what? Because of lack of calcium...

the maker's partner was the one suggested to send to lab..
now many bucks have been spent and now they are claiming that the sender contaminated it..
What a ridiculous nonsense...

Now even worst, the maker is being such a coward by not stepping forward..
At least she could've come and give explanation to this..
melt
post Sep 30 2008, 05:51 PM

974 posts

The last time she/he online were yesterday night.

Is the Gliderslurp homemade? If it is a homemade product I m GUESSING that it might have some chemical which might have a side effects which even the moderator him/herself did not know about it as it is not tested.

The proved that you have their does not show that it is dangerous to the pets(Maybe it does but i dont understand it blush.gif )
If you could find some expert to explain it then I think it will be much better.
abubin
post Sep 30 2008, 06:31 PM

10,429 posts

oh wow...if only people would dedicate that much attention to raising their kids.... hmm.gif
aspire2oo6
post Sep 30 2008, 06:52 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Sep 30 2008, 06:31 PM)
oh wow...if only people would dedicate that much attention to raising their kids.... hmm.gif
haha imagine how mature and educated the child will be.
y_owez
post Sep 30 2008, 09:34 PM

1,745 posts

is it only ur slurp? or every other slurp?? do inform him/her to explain
a13solut3
post Sep 30 2008, 11:02 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

This sound quite serious matter here. Mean alot of suggies got affected like melamine-infection in China?
post Sep 30 2008, 11:05 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

Wow you even resort to sending it for chemical analysis.So what happened to your glider now?Is it okay.

hazzy
post Oct 1 2008, 04:15 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Sep 30 2008, 11:02 PM)
This sound quite serious matter here. Mean alot of suggies got affected like melamine-infection in China?
hopefully no, because im summon the maker of the slurp to give explanation, but she didnt not respond at all sad.gif

QUOTE(779364 @ Sep 30 2008, 11:05 PM)
Wow you even resort to sending it for chemical analysis.So what happened to your glider now?Is it okay.
shes fine, i hope sad.gif
the toxic wont effect immediately, it'll take months, years maybe.
plus, glider are very good in hiding their sickness because in wild, it'll help to protect themselves from their prey
saramic
post Oct 2 2008, 02:52 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Sep 30 2008, 06:31 PM)
some people do.
anyway humans can speak & warn us if there's anything wrong & we understand.
like hazzy said, sugar gliders are very good at hiding their sickness because in the wild sickness means easy prey.
in the wild, the young, old, wounded & sick will be the easiest to kill by predators.

Reanne
post Oct 2 2008, 03:39 AM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

No wonder my name suddenly pop up in the statement. sweat.gif Apparently kena misunderstood, I said consult a vet or nutritionist, nothing to do with analysis or sending to test in a lab la. doh.gif FYI, I'm only partner in the glider dealing, not the food.

Cuz I do know that other than researching on the net, she does ask vets and a friend that's a nutritionist about the ingredients before adding them into the slurp. That's what I meant bout consulting a nutritionist or vet, by getting their opinion and advice. sweat.gif

PS : I do know the calcium she uses is Rep-cal without the Vit D3. The multi-vitamins are those for reptiles, so it's very low in phosphorus. Was curious so asked her quite awhile ago bout it.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Oct 2 2008, 03:43 AM
White Palace
post Oct 2 2008, 03:52 AM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

Please let me know if my statement if unfair.

Well, of corse hazzy has his right to doubt and ask for responds from Hun since this is her product and that's the analysis he claims as the result the SLURP sent to the lab.

But this is only one of the slurp, the item is sent without consulting the lab or hun first, and the statements are from hazzy, not the lab.

At the same time, it is understandable that for those that are concern, especially Sugar Glider owners, are eagerly waiting for responds.

But hazzy, you mentioned that you sent smoothie for analysis as well and you have the report, do you mind to share? It would be more convincing to me if you do share with the report of the one you currently feeding and recommending, if your intention is to share and care, not any other motives.

This post has been edited by White Palace: Oct 2 2008, 03:53 AM
Reanne
post Oct 2 2008, 04:14 AM

2,903 posts

While waiting for the reply, for Glider Owners out there who are cautious about the diet and still pending for the answer, maybe these can help a bit for ideas to feed your gliders. Fruits higher in calcium are papaya, figs and rose apple(jambu air) so you can add these fruits more often to your suggie's menu. As a source of protein, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs(without salt or pepper) and boiled chicken breast(boiled only with water) can be offered.

Sweet peas(I like to use baby sweet peas), sawi(higher in calcium to phos), romaine lettuce, sweet potatoes etc. My gliders don't like sawi but they eat the rest. Organic baby bottled foods sold in organic stores can be offered too. Watch out for garlic or onions in the ingredients.

Here's a menu for those who would like to be more creative with their suggie meals. smile.gif

http://glidersanonymous.com/forums//index.php?showtopic=4371

sharil_routh
post Oct 2 2008, 08:34 AM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

Why.. the maker take too long to explain... dont when she come back here and tell panjang lebar with his result his bla bla bla....

How we want to know dat he already upgrade the slurp and send to the lab.. then the result ....walla.!!!! good result....

Should us must trust it directly? hmm.gif
empty_reg
post Oct 2 2008, 09:53 AM

249 posts

Smoothie or Slurp doesn't matters, the good thing is the consumer (Hazzy) suspected something and took it for further testing, and the results shown that the sample contained cynaide and Ca:P ratio is not sufficient for healthly SG growth... Even if it is contaminated in anyway, is very unlikely that the Ca:P ratio is in a not healthy level if she has added Rep-Cal... There are so so so many possibilities.. No point for us to assume things. Let's wait for the seller to make her statement.

Now is the festive season. Maybe she had too sent her slurps for testing. And labs doen't work on festive season.. Sharil_routh, hazzy and bonai, know you all are very concerned about your glider's health. But maybe we should give her a bit more time to get the results and such.

Of cause there are possibility that she will 'upgrade' the slurp. But like bonai says, karma exist..

But what's done cannot be undone... Is just like all inventions, nothing 100% safe... And if indeed was the slurp, then she'll have room to improve her products... Besides, now Raya ma. Cool down and enjoy the holidays lo.. And forgive and forget...

Now I know that I myself don't own a glider. But I do own other pets, and I know how it felt to see a pet under my care injure, hurt and die... Yesterday was one of it, and bonai have given me some info on what could possibly be the cause, and I thank him alot... Later got to bring him over to Doc Jenny..
nezumitaro
post Oct 2 2008, 09:58 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Oct 2 2008, 03:52 AM)
Please let me know if my statement if unfair.

Well, of corse hazzy has his right to doubt and ask for responds from Hun since this is her product and that's the analysis he claims as the result the SLURP sent to the lab.

But this is only one of the slurp, the item is sent without consulting the lab or hun first, and the statements are from hazzy, not the lab.

At the same time, it is understandable that for those that are concern, especially Sugar Glider owners, are eagerly waiting for responds.

But hazzy, you mentioned that you sent smoothie for analysis as well and you have the report, do you mind to share? It would be more convincing to me if you do share with the report of the one you currently feeding and recommending, if your intention is to share and care, not any other motives.
Since Yang u mention me here. so i will repeat myself, which i already stated in the suggie thread. I will send all the flavours of Suggie-Smoothie to the lab. and stop selling the smoothie NOW. eventhough this is nothing to do with me. but i just want my buyer to feel saft.

it is not fair to ask Hazzy to send all Slurps to the lab, as its not cheap, Maybe the Maker, Crazymouse_yyh or the seller, White Palace, should have the responsibility to send ALL the SLurp to the lab, but since this happened, I think the best and more convincing way is, the maker and the seller bare for the bills for the Slurp customers to send their remaining Slurp in their fridge to the Lab. Cyanide may not contain in all SLURP, if there is no seed which contain Cyanide, but can you explain the calcium: phosphoros part?? the Calcium: phosphoros with that ratio will same do harm and kill the sugar glier after sometime. Which maker always claim there are added calcium supplement. Repeat again. both Ca:P and cyanide do not kill the animal immediately.

And AGAIN I repeat, Lab only give anaylsis, they don't give you statement. the Lab result is for you to read and you have to do your own study. if the SLURP is feed to a HUMAN there is no harm at all. How the lab know who will Hazzy feed the Slurp to??

I hope this is a serious thread in Trade Zone Helpdesk & Dispute Resolution Corner, which I don't need to repeat and repeat my statement like talking to a kid in the Sugar Glider Thread. Please READ all the post, do not pick or ignore those you don't want to answer or you canot answer.

You can question Hazzy, you can question the lab report(the paper), but i canot imagin that you can be so childish until you can question the Lab. I guess NON OF US here is more professional that the Chemis in the Lab.

I think we should keep this thread clean, only for the SLURP maker and SLURP buyer, NON of us should post or say anything as NON can 100% sure what is in SLURP. Its time to SHUT UP our mouth now. Although my glider was feed with Slurp before, but i don't think i can question much. as some people are too sensetive here.

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Oct 3 2008, 12:45 PM
White Palace
post Oct 2 2008, 12:42 PM

2,309 posts

The matter is, is Hazzy trustable?

It is always the burden of the accuser to prove, not the accused. Else, we can just simply accuse someone and ask the company to send all the products for analysis, recalls all the products.

If Hazzy is trustable, then go ahead reveal the report for smoothie that he claims he did! What's your worry?

There is a product of yours in my fridge as well, are you willing to fund me to do an analysis? And if the reports turns up from lab will you TRUST me with the report I post out?

If you prefer to do your own analysis, I believe Hun do prefer to do her own as well.

This post has been edited by White Palace: Oct 2 2008, 12:56 PM
Reanne
post Oct 2 2008, 02:29 PM

2,903 posts

Wait a minute, I'm curious to know about some statements earlier. If there were gliders that suffered or are suffering from a result of feeding slurp, why didn't the owner contact Hun? She had not received any complaints from customers but yet there are claims suddenly appearing in the past month regarding gliders falling sick.

The thing I don't get is, if your glider did fall sick or had problems with the slurp, why didn't you contact the seller? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
sharil_routh
post Oct 2 2008, 02:40 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Oct 2 2008, 09:53 AM)
Smoothie or Slurp doesn't matters, the good thing is the consumer (Hazzy) suspected something and took it for further testing, and the results shown that the sample contained cynaide and Ca:P ratio is not sufficient for healthly SG growth... Even if it is contaminated in anyway, is very unlikely that the Ca:P ratio is in a not healthy level if she has added Rep-Cal... There are so so so many possibilities.. No point for us to assume things. Let's wait for the seller to make her statement.

Now is the festive season. Maybe she had too sent her slurps for testing. And labs doen't work on festive season.. Sharil_routh, hazzy and bonai, know you all are very concerned about your glider's health. But maybe we should give her a bit more time to get the results and such.

Of cause there are possibility that she will 'upgrade' the slurp. But like bonai says, karma exist..

But what's done cannot be undone... Is just like all inventions, nothing 100% safe... And if indeed was the slurp, then she'll have room to improve her products... Besides, now Raya ma. Cool down and enjoy the holidays lo.. And forgive and forget...

Now I know that I myself don't own a glider. But I do own other pets, and I know how it felt to see a pet under my care injure, hurt and die... Yesterday was one of it, and bonai have given me some info on what could possibly be the cause, and I thank him alot... Later got to bring him over to Doc Jenny..
U awesome!!! thumbup.gif Hope it will be karma if lie happen here...
we should thanks again to 'someone' dat give an idea for supplement test. thumbup.gif

P/s : is Hazzy trustable...? hmmm .. how about The slurp maker?? hmm.gif, huhuhu..

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 2 2008, 02:53 PM
White Palace
post Oct 2 2008, 03:02 PM

2,309 posts

That's the thing, I felt Hazzy not trustable since he is not posting BOTH reports for Smoothie + SLURPS. Of corse, as for you, you do trust Hazzy. Me, I trust Hun.

My statement ends here.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:14 AM