Android Phone (G1)

grazy
post Apr 9 2009, 12:30 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 9 2009, 12:19 PM)
Grazy's problems are expected because it was a direct port from Magic. Remains to be seen when Cupcake G1-version is made available. I guess most of us will be happier. Hehehe...

Lets hope Cupcake is not half-baked  tongue.gif
Heh! You are rite. This Magic rom is simply too big for G1, left very little space for the apps.

Really hope our G1's cupcake come in before the official Magic launched. biggrin.gif

There is a paid app in the market to overclock (or clocking) the rooted G1. If anyone tried it, please have some report on the performance here also ^^;

----------------

Just a little update: Installed overclock app on my Hybrido. Set it to 528MHz (the max our droid meant to handle is 528, but being underclocked to 328MHz (high) & 248MHz (low/sleep) by default). Will see how it goes further. ^^;

--- > Overclock is not working on Magic rom. Any JF rom users clocking his droid back to 528 MHz?

Guys, have you watch this:

This post has been edited by grazy: Apr 10 2009, 02:17 PM
lek_e30
post Apr 10 2009, 02:36 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Apr 9 2009, 12:30 PM)
Heh! You are rite. This Magic rom is simply too big for G1, left very little space for the apps.

Really hope our G1's cupcake come in before the official Magic launched.  biggrin.gif

There is a paid app in the market to overclock (or clocking) the rooted G1. If anyone tried it, please have some report on the performance here also ^^;

----------------

Just a little update: Installed overclock app on my Hybrido. Set it to 528MHz (the max our droid meant to handle is 528, but being underclocked to 328MHz (high) & 248MHz (low/sleep) by default). Will see how it goes further. ^^;

--- > Overclock is not working on Magic rom. Any JF rom users clocking his droid back to 528 MHz?

Guys, have you watch this:

wow!!! the power of G1!!!! is so seducing!!! whistling.gif

nice to share bro!!!
schrodinger_cat
post Apr 11 2009, 05:48 PM

85 posts

ehem....new android user here blush.gif ...err...how to setup GPRS?

Added on April 11, 2009, 6:14 pmargh...my GPRS setting (Digi) was for the old phone...cracking my head on how to enable it as i can't go on the browser?

This post has been edited by schrodinger_cat: Apr 11 2009, 06:14 PM
grazy
post Apr 11 2009, 07:16 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 11 2009, 05:48 PM)
ehem....new android user here  blush.gif ...err...how to setup GPRS?

Added on April 11, 2009, 6:14 pmargh...my GPRS setting (Digi) was for the old phone...cracking my head on how to enable it as i can't go on the browser?
No worries, rescue on da way: (credit to St@nZ) rclxms.gif

If any Digi user got problem setting up mms in, this is the setting:

APN : digimms
Username & Password : mms
MMSC : mms.digi.com.my/servlets/mms
MMS Proxy : 203.92.128.160
MMS Port : 80
MCC : 502
MNC : 16

Cheers ^^;

Busy playing Magic rom 5.01H, will update here soon brows.gif
schrodinger_cat
post Apr 11 2009, 08:29 PM

85 posts

Err...the GPRS for my number is already setup

But, my droid still cant access to the net. I'm so C3PO now. Is those GPRS & MMS setting doen in setting-->wireless controls? But i see nothing there
grazy
post Apr 11 2009, 08:34 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 11 2009, 08:29 PM)
Err...the GPRS for my number is already setup

But, my droid still cant access to the net. I'm so C3PO now. Is those GPRS & MMS setting doen in setting-->wireless controls? But i see nothing there
Oh! You will need to create a new APN for your Digi under settings:

Press Menu --> Settings --> Wireless controls --> Mobile Networks --. Access Pointt --> Press Menu --> create new APN as above --> Save

Done ^^)

Let us know if you need further explanation laugh.gif
schrodinger_cat
post Apr 11 2009, 09:10 PM

85 posts

I created the APN for digi mms. An icon of "EDGE" appears beside the GSM signal band, but there seems to be no data flowing. What bout the setting for GPRS? I havent seen the icon yet.
grazy
post Apr 11 2009, 09:25 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 11 2009, 09:10 PM)
I created the APN for digi mms. An icon of "EDGE" appears beside the GSM signal band, but there seems to be no data flowing. What bout the setting for GPRS? I havent seen the icon yet.
Hmmm...if not mistaken, there must be another setting for Diginet which St@nZ has mentioned before. But I seem like can't locate it in this forum.
He's also a Digi subsriber.

By the way try put the Diginet figure from this page. Put all the MMS and Net setting in the same APN. Hope it will work for you. ^^;

St@nZ, can provide the G1 APN settings for DIGI as well? So future users can benefit from it. notworthy.gif
schrodinger_cat
post Apr 11 2009, 09:33 PM

85 posts

so what APNs do u use for ur droid? Can i just follow? Pretty frustrated with it now...

Added on April 11, 2009, 9:37 pmoh, i follow flexispy...used 203.92.128.131 as proxy but to no avail...

Added on April 11, 2009, 9:38 pmah yeah, ur using maxis....grrr....so much for a PDA illiterate like me...

This post has been edited by schrodinger_cat: Apr 11 2009, 09:38 PM
grazy
post Apr 11 2009, 09:44 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 11 2009, 09:33 PM)
so what APNs do u use for ur droid? Can i just follow? Pretty frustrated with it now...
contacted St@nz, he will post the Digi APN here soon, watch this space, k ^^)
schrodinger_cat
post Apr 11 2009, 09:51 PM

85 posts

haha, thanks! you guys r really helping here! btw...i'm just wondering was my setting wrongly configured or digi is plain suck?

As u can see....no signal at all for EDGE...let alone GPRS...which langsung tak da
lek_e30
post Apr 11 2009, 09:56 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

keep cool man!!! help will come, just a little bit patient....(i know is hard tongue.gif)...

St@nZ
post Apr 11 2009, 10:05 PM

47 posts

sorry i took some time, im in my frens hse n had to login n look 4 this post.

anyway, here u go-

follow this method to create new apn :
Press Menu --> Settings --> Wireless controls --> Mobile Networks --. Access Pointt --> Press Menu --> create new APN as above --> Save

key in this info in the field wen u choose to create new apn:
name : digi
APN: diginet
usename: digi
password: digi
mcc: 502
mnc: 16

leave rest of the field empty n delete ur other apn with mms setting n other previous setting. do remember that u will always b connected to gprs once u did the setting. go to market n find the program to turn it off. so sorry if u r unclear of anything. u can gtalk to me at thana23@gmail.

p/s: im rushing to watch MU game.
schrodinger_cat
post Apr 11 2009, 10:18 PM

85 posts

LOL! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif !!

Thanks to Grazy, St@nz & Lek. Thanks for yours tremendous help! Otherwise, I might hammer this droid in rage....

obiwan85@gmail.com is now in the party! Wait...i know i'm asking a bit too much...is there anyway to boost the speed of EDGE signal?

Oh, any nice apps i should get in the market?
grazy
post Apr 11 2009, 10:41 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 11 2009, 10:18 PM)

LOL!  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif !!

Thanks to Grazy, St@nz & Lek. Thanks for yours tremendous help! Otherwise, I might hammer this droid in rage....

obiwan85@gmail.com is now in the party! Wait...i know i'm asking a bit too much...is there anyway to boost the speed of EDGE signal?

Ha..ha...congrats!! ^^) and welcome aboard ^^]

Ok, these are the few FOC apps that I recommend:

- SMS popup - pop up sms instantly when they are arrived
- AK notepad - jotting note
- Bar Control - to put icon on the notification bar
- Palringo - "kiasu" all in one IM
- Astro file manager - versatile file management
- Twidroid - if you are tweeting
- Close everything - close some running programs, but not really all of them.

And many more, you may try to browse them here.

Enjoy your Droid.... icon_idea.gif

-------------------------------

Just installed the latest Magic rom 5.01H, it runs faster and my droid is having HSPDA (H) instead of 3G brows.gif
Faster browsing speed but the unit runs much hotter now, not to mention that the battery being drained like a bullet train sweat.gif

This post has been edited by grazy: Apr 11 2009, 10:51 PM
St@nZ
post Apr 12 2009, 12:51 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 11 2009, 10:18 PM)

LOL!  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif !!

no prob n welcome onboard. rclxms.gif the speed could b slow coz u will b running in gprs if outside of EDGE coverage area. EDGE is available in klang valley only if im not mistaken.
schrodinger_cat
post Apr 12 2009, 10:54 AM

85 posts

only in klang valley??? Assuming i'm oversea, does that mean i'm forced to use GPRS?

Oh, st@nz, what is ur APN setting for MMS? I followed grazy's setting but still cant send a proper MMS till now.
grazy
post Apr 12 2009, 10:57 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(schrodinger_cat @ Apr 12 2009, 10:54 AM)
only in klang valley??? Assuming i'm oversea, does that mean i'm forced to use GPRS?

Oh, st@nz, what is ur APN setting for MMS?  I followed grazy's setting but still cant send a proper MMS till now.
Think you need to create another new APN for your Digimms as it need username and password. ^^

schrodinger_cat
post Apr 12 2009, 11:47 AM

85 posts

This was what i did...

Name: DiGi MMS
APN: digimms
Proxy: not set
Port: not set
Username: mms
Password: mms
Server: not set
MMSC: mms.digi.com.my/servlets/mms (also tried http://mms.digi.com.my/servlets/mms)
MMS Proxy: 203.92.128.160
MMS port: 80
MCC: 502
MNC: 16
APN type: not set

Added on April 12, 2009, 11:48 amstrange though i still cant send any mms...yet...correct my setting if i'm wrong

This post has been edited by schrodinger_cat: Apr 12 2009, 11:48 AM
feichai
post Apr 12 2009, 12:18 PM

275 posts

guys.. urgently needed help here.
i got the G1 not long ago.. and i've done few time factory reset and had no problem.. but i seem to have a problem now.. i can't login anymore... the 3G sign is not coming out this time.

i'm using Maxis
and setting for the first login at the APN i put
APN : unet
User : maxis
Pass : unet

this work well few time back.. but not anymore... i dunno why..
i even went to change my sim card.. but still the same.. and
i did the Alt+W to reset the phone few times also.. and it's still the same..

any expert here can help me to get out of this problem?

URGENT.
thanks.

81 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:01 PM