Android Phone (G1)

lek_e30
post Mar 16 2009, 09:44 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 16 2009, 09:41 AM)
Well depending on the GPS receiver reception quality/strength, the accuracy can be few meters to a few hundred meters. Try disabling 'Wireless Network' locator and only enable GPS. It'll take awhile before it lock onto some satellites. I understand that the Qualcomm processor with integrated GPS receiver (same as most HTC devices) isn't the best available but it shouldn't be too bad.

If things are still inaccurate, try moving in a car once you get GPS connected. If still inaccurate there are only 2 explanations:

1. The integrated GPS is really lousy.
2. Future Radio ROM plus ROM updates could improve its performance (meaning to say current revision isn't mature).
3. Google Map's coverage of Malaysia isn't accurate.

You can verify by putting the G1 next to a standalone GPS receiver. Get the coordinates of present location from both units and compare them. If both are almost the same but the standalone GPS's accuracy is spot on and the G1 isn't, then we know the map is at fault. If G1's coordinate is far from the standalone GPS's coordinates, we know something is wrong.  tongue.gif
ok, i will try to disabling wireless network first...

how abt urs?? is it accurate??

i remember u use X1 b4 rite?
davidmak
post Mar 16 2009, 10:05 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 16 2009, 09:44 AM)
ok, i will try to disabling wireless network first...

how abt urs?? is it accurate??

i remember u use X1 b4 rite?
Nope, I didn't use X1 before but I do own a Touch Diamond for some time. But both devices uses the same chipset from Qualcomm 7xxx 528MHz (X1 has 288MB while Touch Diamond only had 192MB of RAM).

Speaking of RAM, is there any indication of how much Android uses from time to time? I only see indications of how much ROM storage is available. But I do know that you can have 10+ apps running in the background without any problem which is comforting to know.
grazy
post Mar 16 2009, 10:32 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 16 2009, 10:05 AM)
Nope, I didn't use X1 before but I do own a Touch Diamond for some time. But both devices uses the same chipset from Qualcomm 7xxx 528MHz (X1 has 288MB while Touch Diamond only had 192MB of RAM).

Speaking of RAM, is there any indication of how much Android uses from time to time? I only see indications of how much ROM storage is available. But I do know that you can have 10+ apps running in the background without any problem which is comforting to know.
Think there are few apps in the Market that can monitor the Free RAM available for linux (some for the physical RAM) and also their status of running in the background.

My preference are:

-Advanced task manager (root) - paid apps, can kill running apps.
-Dxtop+Memory widget - paid apps, got second tab on home screen showing apps/services running at the background, but can't end them.
-System monitor - free, general monitoring
-MemoryUp - paid apps, working but itself taking up more memory to run it, not really recommend it, but the crxcked ver is everywhere:hehe:

Don't know this answer ur Q or not?! sweat.gif

davidmak
post Mar 16 2009, 11:26 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 16 2009, 10:32 AM)
Think there are few apps in the Market that can monitor the Free RAM available for linux (some for the physical RAM) and also their status of running in the background.

My preference are:

-Advanced task manager (root) - paid apps, can kill running apps.
-Dxtop+Memory widget - paid apps, got second tab on home screen showing apps/services running at the background, but can't end them.
-System monitor - free, general monitoring
-MemoryUp - paid apps, working but itself taking up more memory to run it, not really recommend it, but the crxcked ver is everywhere:hehe:

Don't know this answer ur Q or not?!  sweat.gif
Yeah, just that these are paid apps. The System Monitor does not indicates on the RAM but rather ROM storage that the program use. However, there's one section that says 96MB is available but usage is already 70%, not much leeway. What about you guys? What are you remaining RAM levels?
liquid_ooze
post Mar 16 2009, 11:29 AM

My name is Iman, and I'm Malaysian
1,385 posts

Thanks for the info grazy. Seems that my build is the "Holiday" version.

By the way, I can't seem to download anything from the Market. It just says "Starting Download" and it seems like forever sweat.gif

Also, Youtube isn't working for me also. It just says no network connection or something like that. Sheesh, there must be something that I have to do to get past all this. Really a noob when it comes to Android OS.

Appreciate all the guidance from you guys in this notworthy.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 16 2009, 11:43 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 16 2009, 10:05 AM)

ops maybe i mistakenly abt someone... but ur name rings a bell....just cant recall from which thread..

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 11:29 AM)

By the way, I can't seem to download anything from the Market. It just says "Starting Download" and it seems like forever sweat.gif

Also, Youtube isn't working for me also. It just says no network connection or something like that. Sheesh, there must be something that I have to do to get past all this. Really a noob when it comes to Android OS.

yo bro!! using G1 also now huh brows.gif welcome to da family..

have u done the initial settings i.e apn...internet settings?
liquid_ooze
post Mar 16 2009, 12:01 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 16 2009, 11:43 AM)
ops maybe i mistakenly abt someone... but ur name rings a bell....just cant recall from which thread..

Hi bro, thanks for the warm welcome smile.gif

Well, I've only set up the Internet access. Currently on Celcom and set the APN to "celcom3g". That's the only thing that I change, everything else remains empty laugh.gif Any tips for new users like me?
grazy
post Mar 16 2009, 12:03 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 16 2009, 11:26 AM)
Yeah, just that these are paid apps. The System Monitor does not indicates on the RAM but rather ROM storage that the program use. However, there's one section that says 96MB is available but usage is already 70%, not much leeway. What about you guys? What are you remaining RAM levels?
Sorry, bit confused here! ^^;
Are you looking at how much memory available(free)? Or want to know how much each apps is taking?

I got those 3 paid apps. If you want to try out, pm me ur gmail ya. cool2.gif

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 11:29 AM)

No prob & you are most welcome! ^^
Same as me lor, I'm using ADP1.1 holiday as well.

Ok, are you able to retrieve ur gmail through the native G1 gmail client?
I assume you accessing your data through 3G, have you tested using WIFI to surf the market and the youtube?

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 16 2009, 11:43 AM)

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 12:01 PM)
Hi bro, thanks for the warm welcome smile.gif

Well, I've only set up the Internet access. Currently on Celcom and set the APN to "celcom3g". That's the only thing that I change, everything else remains empty laugh.gif Any tips for new users like me?
Besides what lek_e30 suggested, better check out your gmail login also hor!
Hope you didn't bypass the gmail login as Holiday version able to do that. biggrin.gif
liquid_ooze
post Mar 16 2009, 12:08 PM

1,385 posts

Here's the actual build version for my G1:

holiday_devphone_userdebug 1.1 UNLOCKED 130444 test-keys

The weird part is, I'm able to retrieve gmail on the first run but seems that it didnt get pushed to the device now. As a matter of fact, my Gmail is not receiving emails at all (Even through webmail)

Still a lot of things that I need to learn on Android..
grazy
post Mar 16 2009, 12:14 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 12:08 PM)
Here's the actual build version for my G1:

holiday_devphone_userdebug 1.1 UNLOCKED 130444 test-keys

The weird part is, I'm able to retrieve gmail on the first run but seems that it didnt get pushed to the device now. As a matter of fact, my Gmail is not receiving emails at all (Even through webmail)

Still a lot of things that I need to learn on Android..
Your first run (retrieve gmail) done it on 3G or through WIFI?

You may browse internet with celcom 3G rite?

^^)
liquid_ooze
post Mar 16 2009, 12:24 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 16 2009, 12:14 PM)
Your first run (retrieve gmail) done it on 3G or through WIFI?

You may browse internet with celcom 3G rite?

^^)
First run done using 3G nod.gif

Yup, I can browse the net using Celcom 3G, that's for sure.
grazy
post Mar 16 2009, 12:29 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 12:24 PM)
First run done using 3G nod.gif

Yup, I can browse the net using Celcom 3G, that's for sure.
Then pretty sure you APN settings is correct and working.

Maybe, all ur Android need is a few boost by restarting/rebooting it!! ^^ Give it a try.

liquid_ooze
post Mar 16 2009, 12:33 PM

1,385 posts

Will give it a try sir nod.gif

Am thinking of rooting my droid, but dunno what RC my droid is now (refer my build no. Above), so weird. Not even sure if it can be rooted at all.
grazy
post Mar 16 2009, 12:37 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 12:33 PM)
Will give it a try sir nod.gif

Am thinking of rooting my droid, but dunno what RC my droid is now (refer my build no. Above), so weird. Not even sure if it can be rooted at all.
Ha..ha...u are having Holiday!
Your android should be able to access to root leh!! ^^;

When u are able to surf the Market, try download "terminal emulator".
Once installed, type 'SU', see you got '#' in return or not, if do, you got root access as super user. smile.gif
liquid_ooze
post Mar 16 2009, 01:02 PM

1,385 posts

Access Denied sweat.gif
grazy
post Mar 16 2009, 01:10 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 01:02 PM)
Access Denied sweat.gif
Funny, it shouldn't be. sad.gif

Better give your seller a buzz to clarify on what version you have! ^^

Anyway, seems like you can surf the Market edy heh rclxms.gif
liquid_ooze
post Mar 16 2009, 02:17 PM

1,385 posts

Wow, now this is getting weirder. Just now when I try to run the Su command it says access denied. But now I got the # symbol already sweat.gif
grazy
post Mar 16 2009, 02:23 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 02:17 PM)
Wow, now this is getting weirder. Just now when I try to run the Su command it says access denied. But now I got the # symbol already sweat.gif
Ta..da...now u are communicating with ur Android

Enjoy! & soon you will be amazed by his ability. flex.gif
liquid_ooze
post Mar 16 2009, 02:27 PM

1,385 posts

Nice. Now I should follow grazy's step and upgrade to JF v1.43 ADP1.1h multitouch laugh.gif
lek_e30
post Mar 16 2009, 02:47 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 16 2009, 02:27 PM)
Nice. Now I should follow grazy's step and upgrade to JF v1.43 ADP1.1h multitouch laugh.gif
sleep.gif sleep.gif lucky u

81 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:41 PM